Pav rumour

Sep 4, 2004
I don't usually post this kind of stuff but I have it on pretty good authority that Matthew Pavlich will not re-sign with Freo unless Connolly goes. The person who heard this heard it from Pav manager.

I'm usually the first to think that these kinds of rumours are crap. I know I'll get flamed for this but I really trust this source.

Sorry CC but it's all over.

I don't usually post this kind of stuff but I have it on pretty good authority that Matthew Pavlich will not re-sign with Freo unless Connolly goes. The person who heard this heard it from Pav manager.

I'm usually the first to think that these kinds of rumours are crap. I know I'll get flamed for this but I really trust this source.

raff, any chance we can convince Pav to say no to sumich too?

I actually touched on this in another post Raf but it probably needs a thread of it's own.

I asked the question, who would the members prefer to remain if the choice is there?

Connolly over coaches. Everything is about the "gameplan" and there is little freedom for players to act on instinct. This is also why the senior side barely changes after insipid losses, because Connolly has his chosen players who he believes fits with his gameplan.

This is why our quality players invariably come to grief with Connolly. He tries to take their instinct, their natural ability, out of the game.

Will he be sitting on the interview panel I wonder?

Does he also want a better delivering midfeild too?

I hope he does sign on (so does the mrs). The list on paper is right up there, maybe it is the coach.

Let him go in the pre season draft and end up at Melbourne where cuddles could coach year after next.

Will he be sitting on the interview panel I wonder?

Does he also want a better delivering midfeild too?

I hope he does sign on (so does the mrs). The list on paper is right up there, maybe it is the coach.

Let him go in the pre season draft and end up at Melbourne where cuddles could coach year after next.

At this point in time, the stories are that if CC is coaching Freo next year, then he wont stay. There is no talk of him wanting to make any decisions as to who it should be.

I think both Pav and CC should just move on respectfully coz its never gonna work if your heart's not in it, i hate to say it but we need some freo culture back at the club
No offence to them both but i think they should move on and we should send Tarrant back to Victoria

Major points that people are overlooking re Pav leaving and why he won't:

- The Adelaide coach is just as over-scientific, technical, cryptic and stifling as CC.

- The Port coach has got the best he's ever going to get out of that team

- Port and Crows are just as far away from a flag as Freo, if not further
(Crows are a shell of last year's team and fired their best and last shot next week)

- There's more than footy keeping Pav in WA - and SA is there on the twilight, retirement horizon because the pressure cooker of Adealiade footy scene is worse than Perth.

Concluding, the SA teams have really no immediate future success to offer and if I were Pav I'd ask, "If not CC, then who?"

There is no-one.

Major points that people are overlooking re Pav leaving and why he won't:

- The Adelaide coach is just as over-scientific, technical, cryptic and stifling as CC.

- The Port coach has got the best he's ever going to get out of that team

- Port and Crows are just as far away from a flag as Freo, if not further
(Crows are a shell of last year's team and fired their best and last shot next week)

- There's more than footy keeping Pav in WA - and SA is there on the twilight, retirement horizon because the pressure cooker of Adealiade footy scene is worse than Perth.

Concluding, the SA teams have really no immediate future success to offer and if I were Pav I'd ask, "If not CC, then who?"

There is no-one.
You're assuming that he wants to go back to SA.

I have never been sold on Pav as a leader, I honestly think Bell would be a better inspirational leader.

I think it's totally unfair of me to 'judge' any decision Pavlich makes regarding his future and his 'goals' in life. But in all honesty I he would be massively under-estimating what this game means to fans, team-mates and board members if he leaves, because essentially the loss of him will royally **** everyone involved with Fremantle FC. He is a 1 in 1000 player who we have raised and paid very well since he joined, it would be a selfish move on his behalf..... but hey it's eventually going to go down that road, look at the EPL or the NBA.... it's very rare to see a top player in the game stay at one club their whole career.

As much as I hate it, it's something I am just going to have to prepare myself for. Then again, he hasn't done anything wrong yet, besides leaving us to jump to these predictions by not signing!

Firstly, I think if you are passionate about wanting to win and move forward we want you at Freo. Do you think half the youngsters (Murphy, Mundy, Schammer etc) would have re-signed if we weren't looking the goods at the time?

Secondly, I'm sure Pav just wants a coach who is focused and can instill some toughness. A mate pointed out to me yesteday, how many times have you heard CC say," Losing our first 3 games put pressure on us." I'm sick of hearing it and I reckon Pav is too.

We all make choices about where we work and live based on how we feel about our workplaces. Pav is no different. If he leaves then blame the club, not Pav.

Connolly over coaches. Everything is about the "gameplan" and there is little freedom for players to act on instinct. This is also why the senior side barely changes after insipid losses, because Connolly has his chosen players who he believes fits with his gameplan.

This is why our quality players invariably come to grief with Connolly. He tries to take their instinct, their natural ability, out of the game.

This is how I see it too. Saw it years ago - has his "one track" idea on the big bodied players that he picks week in and week out. He coaches any natural instinct out of the players and stifles the development of the younger players.

It would be good to give him the push now and lets see what Harvey can do for the rest of the year.

Firstly, I think if you are passionate about wanting to win and move forward we want you at Freo. Do you think half the youngsters (Murphy, Mundy, Schammer etc) would have re-signed if we weren't looking the goods at the time?

Secondly, I'm sure Pav just wants a coach who is focused and can instill some toughness. A mate pointed out to me yesteday, how many times have you heard CC say," Losing our first 3 games put pressure on us." I'm sick of hearing it and I reckon Pav is too.

We all make choices about where we work and live based on how we feel about our workplaces. Pav is no different. If he leaves then blame the club, not Pav.

Pavs a big boy raff - he can make his own decisions and accept responsibility for them too. One could say that had he put his kicking boots on, we'd be at least one game better off so far this season.

I think people are reading way too much into a few grabs from an interview - don't forget, the media were telling us just a few weeks back that he was on the verge of signing - have they got the same 'inside info' now as they had back then?

There just seems to be, amongst all the self-flaggellation and despair three quarters through an ordinary season that's not even over, that even though we might not be enjoying the ride at the moment, we have a knee-jerk assumption that Pav is a sad aand whining as we are and things must be better for a star player elsewhere and that elsewhere must be his home state, when, in reality, the work environment there might not be an improvement at all- might even be a backward step.

The grass is not always greener.

I also think Pav is loyal and the anti-CC brigade seem to like to connect Pav's movements with CC at every low spot.

Pavs a big boy raff - he can make his own decisions and accept responsibility for them too. One could say that had he put his kicking boots on, we'd be at least one game better off so far this season.

I think people are reading way too much into a few grabs from an interview - don't forget, the media were telling us just a few weeks back that he was on the verge of signing - have they got the same 'inside info' now as they had back then?
It's interesting because I heard this before the media reports.

You are right he's a big boy and by the sounds of it he's throwing his weight around.

I have never been sold on Pav as a leader, I honestly think Bell would be a better inspirational leader.

I think it's totally unfair of me to 'judge' any decision Pavlich makes regarding his future and his 'goals' in life. But in all honesty I he would be massively under-estimating what this game means to fans, team-mates and board members if he leaves, because essentially the loss of him will royally **** everyone involved with Fremantle FC. He is a 1 in 1000 player who we have raised and paid very well since he joined, it would be a selfish move on his behalf..... but hey it's eventually going to go down that road, look at the EPL or the NBA.... it's very rare to see a top player in the game stay at one club their whole career.

As much as I hate it, it's something I am just going to have to prepare myself for. Then again, he hasn't done anything wrong yet, besides leaving us to jump to these predictions by not signing!

I wonder if you thought the same when Josh Carr came "home" after being our V/Captain, and having just played in a Premiership side? And Josh was "raised" at Port and was well paid too! Damn short memory you have.

Players at times just want to go home, go back to family etc, its a chance you take when you draft guys from other states.

I think he will leave and come home to Adelaide, he wont go anywhere else, and as much as I would love him to play for Port I think he will want a trade to the Crows.

The key in his press conference today was "8 long years" at Freo. Just like Josh did a few years back, no matter how well they are treated, and how well you pay them, and how much they like the club, home is home. No getting away from that fact unfortunately.

On the coaching topic, what is the inside talk about the contenders if/when Connolly goes?

I saw Sumich mentioned, is he a realistic chance? I think you guys should go after Don Pyke.

On the coaching topic, what is the inside talk about the contenders if/when Connolly goes?

I saw Sumich mentioned, is he a realistic chance? I think you guys should go after Don Pyke.

Most Freo supporters hope that Sumich is no chance. He is only being pumped up by his eagle mates/friends/family in the media in WA and then the propaganda spreads outside the state (the pre-requisite for a media job in WA is that you are either a former weagle player, coach or one-eyed supporter).

There should be a raft of choices available - it would be a very keenly sought after job, our biggest issue will be whether to go the untried coach yet again (just about every assistant coach seems to think they are 'ready' this year and then you have people like Voss), or try someone like Daniher, Laidley, Pagan or go after Sheedy.

On Pyke, my understanding is that he has some kind of consulting role at the club, but wasn't keen on coaching even in an assistants role when he came back to Perth last year - I highly doubt that he would have changed his mind to the extent that he would want the head Freo job.

I wonder whether Pav's indecision has been a negative factor for the playing group this year - he is their captain, and yet won't commit to them. All Bell ever wanted to do is play for our club.

But he isn't committing because of the poor performance, so it's a a vicious circle :)

Kane Johnson left us, he didn't do it for any other reason than he wanted to go home.

Carr did the same for you guys.

I suspect Pavlich will as well - I hope if he does that you guys acknowledge the great service he's given your club, and that we both reach a trade that leave neither party too dissatisfied.

Two (long) points:

i) If we had a coach like Woosha, Roos or Craig (or dare I say it Malthouse) who constantly got the team to play at or above their ability and Pav rebelled against him then I'd say Bye, Bye Pav don't let the door hit your ass on the way out.

But we don't. We have a suspect coach who has struggled in his time here to extract the maximum out of his players, culminating in our embarrassing slide down the ladder this year. And don't give me any of this rubbish about the season not being over yet because no matter how you look at it we should be further up the ladder at this stage if we expect to be a serious flag contenders.

We already have a rumoured past of senior players rebelling against CC being the man for the job. And if our star player, captain and one of our most ambitious and professional players doesn't want that coach here then I'm happy to show CC the door if it means we're going to get Pav's signature.

ii) With regards to Pav leaving. The difference I see between him and Josh is Pav has unfinished business here. Josh stuck around at Port until he helped them win a premiership. He repaid any investment they made in him many times over.

We recruited Pav to help the club become successful. He's our great white hope. It shouldn't be up to the club to provide Pav with a premiership, it should be up to Pav to help provide the club with a premiership. If he leads us to the holy grail I will respectfully accept his decision if he decides to return home and I will be forever grateful for his contribution to our club.

But if he runs out on our club while we are relying on him to lead us to that elusive premiership then I will resent him for the rest of my days. Or at least the rest of his playing days.

I don't care what anybody says - he accepted the position of becoming our leader and you don't abandon your troops when they need you the most just because you think the other side has more chance of winning the war. An overly dramatic and irrational analogy to be sure, but being a footy supporter is an irrational past time.

Two (long) points:

i) If we had a coach like Woosha, Roos or Craig (or dare I say it Malthouse) who constantly got the team to play at or above their ability and Pav rebelled against him then I'd say Bye, Bye Pav don't let the door hit your ass on the way out.

But we don't. We have a suspect coach who has struggled in his time here to extract the maximum out of his players, culminating in our embarrassing slide down the ladder this year. And don't give me any of this rubbish about the season not being over yet because no matter how you look at it we should be further up the ladder at this stage if we expect to be a serious flag contenders.

We already have a rumoured past of senior players rebelling against CC being the man for the job. And if our star player, captain and one of our most ambitious and professional players doesn't want that coach here then I'm happy to show CC the door if it means we're going to get Pav's signature.

ii) With regards to Pav leaving. The difference I see between him and Josh is Pav has unfinished business here. Josh stuck around at Port until he helped them win a premiership. He repaid any investment they made in him many times over.

We recruited Pav to help the club become successful. He's our great white hope. It shouldn't be up to the club to provide Pav with a premiership, it should be up to Pav to help provide the club with a premiership. If he leads us to the holy grail I will respectfully accept his decision if he decides to return home and I will be forever grateful for his contribution to our club.

But if he runs out on our club while we are relying on him to lead us to that elusive premiership then I will resent him for the rest of my days. Or at least the rest of his playing days.

I don't care what anybody says - he accepted the position of becoming our leader and you don't abandon your troops when they need you the most just because you think the other side has more chance of winning the war. An overly dramatic and irrational analogy to be sure, but being a footy supporter is an irrational past time.

I can see your point of view, and to a certain extent agree with it in principle. However, the word coming out of Adelaide is that Pav wants to come home, it has nothing to do with winning a Flag or not, just simply wants to head back home.

After 8 years of service (and damn good service I might add to), it would be harsh to suggest he would be abandoning your club. He has given the best he can to help Fremantle win a flag. How long is long enough when your talking about home? Especially when your as close to family as Pav is.

Pav rumour