Pavlich rumour

Originally posted by dbhattarai
So who should you have got in that draft instead of Croad?

Travis Johnstone and Brad Ottens were already selected. So out of top ten:

4 - Mark Bolton - No
5 - Luke Power - Would be handy, I'd say yes
6 - James Walker - No
7 - Kris Massie - No
8 - Chris Tarrant - Maybe
9 - Chad Cornes - Doubt it
10 - Shane O'Bree - No

Others of note selected were:

11 - Jason Saddington
20 - Dean Soloman
25 - Nick Stevens
31 - Simon Black
43 - Adam Goodes
45 - Matthew Scarlett
71 - Andrew Kellaway
73 - Beau McDonald
84 - Frank Raso ;)

You work it out...

The Hitman

Originally posted by The Hitman
By the way, without Croad, we wouldn't have got our hands on Hodge. In hindsight, I'm happy. :)

The Hitman

IMO we'll look back in 10 years time and say that Hawthorn easily won that trade (but bombed out badly on losing McPharlin for pick 26, but that's another story).

I wouldn't for a second consider giving up pick 1 for Croad, and this is a weaker draft than last year.

Originally posted by Macca19

J Longmuir...overrated. Ive only ever heard Freo supporters (1 in particular) speak very very highly of him. Really he doesnt do enough....if he is that badly injured and cant kick over 35-40 metres then he shouldnt be playing really. Very inconsistent to be called a 'superstar' at this stage. Has a big future if he goes near fulfilling his potential. No better than Bandy was at Freo in my opinion.

Majorly, majorly disagree with that one.

Who called him a 'superstar' anyway?

I've also heard a few Hawks supporters speak quite highly of him (since he usually beats Hay).

Longmuir is what, 22ish? Very happy with him thank you very much becasue the guy is still developing. Did you actually watch the career of Daniel Bandy at Freo?

my goodness!!!! Are you ok sabre???

---------------------------------------------------

Pavlich can play anywhere but is generally a CHF, DCFC.

Mcpharlin isnt overrated....hes done very well since coming back from injury.

Farmer...he just doesnt do enough for his pricetag and reputation...but hes always been like that. I think most people are clouded by his one awesome season in 2000. Prone to kick a bag and be a matchwinner but rarely does and dissapoints more than he excites.

Croad...well the Freo supporters here thought he would be the second coming and many stated here that they thought Croad would be a champion and that the Hawks fans were only saying he is overrated because of sour grapes and/or being far too harsh on him. Now i think the Freo supporters have woken up that he isnt a superstar and probably never will be. If your gonna go after a 'big name' like Croad and pay lots of money for him, then surely you play him where he can have the most impact...which isnt at full forward. He isnt a full forward and shouldnt be there. An absolute waste of money him being there...he is averaging under 10 possesions a game and if you take away his 7 goals againt Melbourne and 5 against Richmond then he has only kicked 24 goals in 15 games. Very dissapointing..but he should be moved somewhere else so he can actually do something cos at the moment hes probably getting paid $3000 a kick.

J Longmuir...overrated. Ive only ever heard Freo supporters (1 in particular) speak very very highly of him. Really he doesnt do enough....if he is that badly injured and cant kick over 35-40 metres then he shouldnt be playing really. Very inconsistent to be called a 'superstar' at this stage. Has a big future if he goes near fulfilling his potential. No better than Bandy was at Freo in my opinion.

Wouldnt call Medhurst overrated. Inconsistent yes but no way overrated.

I agree with that.

I have no doubt Pavlich will be in the top 5 players in the AFL in 3 years time.

Croad...well...he's not footy smart. His skills itself aren't too bad, he just needs to find a position that suits him.

Justin Longmuir, well, he is over-rated now but I don't think we will be saying that in 3 or 4 years time. And Hawks fans seem to rate him highly :D

Farmer, I think while he is over-rated, he hasn't been as bad as everyone makes it out to be. Sure is goals have been down but he has done some nice things. Expect a lot more from him next season though.

McPharlin...I'm starting to love him. He is going to be a heck of a player. Bad luck Hawk fans.

Originally posted by funky_monk

Majorly, majorly disagree with that one.

Who called him a 'superstar' anyway?

Sabre.

Longmuir is what, 22ish? Very happy with him thank you very much becasue the guy is still developing. Did you actually watch the career of Daniel Bandy at Freo?

Well thats your opinion and you can have it and i can have mine. At the moment i think he is overrated...injury or not. He's good...but not brilliant, and is very inconsistent.

Originally posted by The Spornstar

Cornes was stitched up by an 18 year old on the weekend.

Hardly the type of game that would suit someone like Cornes.

Cornes is a very good player that is forced to cover a role that is not necessarily his best.
He has become more consistent with time and wont peak for a few years yet.
Given a choice between Cornes and Tarrant, Cornes without a doubt.

So was Camporeale.

I don't reckon either of those players can be judged on that performance.

Originally posted by PAfolwr

Hardly the type of game that would suit someone like Cornes.

I agree, though it suited Tredrea ok.

I was more thinking that Thornton should've got a bit of media recognition for a good job (media ignores all our young players) on a very good player in Cornes, rather than bagging Cornes myself.

Yes, kicked more than any other player on the park, really stitched up :rolleyes: He didn't have the best day but that was to do with the conditions rather than the opposition.

Overall Cornes is a better player than Croad, if he played for a Vic team he would be up there with Ottens, Tarrant, etc. but because he plays for Port and alongside Tredders he doesn't get as much of the spotlight.

I agree, though it suited Tredrea ok.

I was more thinking that Thornton should've got a bit of media recognition for a good job (media ignores all our young players) on a very good player in Cornes, rather than bagging Cornes myself.

Tredrea worked his arse off like always.

All players from both sides put in big efforts. Considering the number of top-liners missing, the pressure was immense.
However purely from a skills point of view, the conditions, the ground and the umpiring stuffed that up.

The media was too busy with Carlton's first spoon, and bagging Port at every opportunity to notice too much.
Carlton recently had a very good game against a not so depleted Brisbane , but nobody said that Brisbane was caving in.

Originally posted by Zombie

Yes, kicked more than any other player on the park, really stitched up :rolleyes: He didn't have the best day but that was to do with the conditions rather than the opposition.

Read my previous post - Cornes is a good player.

BTW, he kicked two goals, neither of which were marks, and one which wasn't even a goal. Thornton had more ball and took more marks. I think he took the points.

I dont see what your point is. There was only 1 key forward that had any impact on the result and that was Tredrea...who had the majority of his possesions before 1/4 time. After 1/4 time, there was not one key forward from either side that had any impact at all.

Cornes has had a ripper of a season and there arent many 2nd key forwards that have had a better year than him.
Probably our most improved player this year.

I dont see what your point is. There was only 1 key forward that had any impact on the result and that was Tredrea...who had the majority of his possesions before 1/4 time. After 1/4 time, there was not one key forward from either side that had any impact at all.

Cornes has had a ripper of a season and there arent many 2nd key forwards that have had a better year than him.
Probably our most improved player this year.

Geez...I wish I'd never said it!:p

Read previous posts. Cornes good player. On weekend Thornton good. Conditions bad for forwards. Spornstar should keep quiet.

Overall Cornes is a better player than Croad, if he played for a Vic team he would be up there with Ottens, Tarrant, etc. but because he plays for Port and alongside Tredders he doesn't get as much of the spotlight.

I may be a little biased as Cornes has yet to play a good game against the Lions, and we play Craig Bolton on him (..who probably won't be on our list next year), but Cornes is nowhere near the Ottens and Tarrant class. He wouldn't get a kick if the best defender played on him, and from the games I've seen does a lot of his work when the game has already been won or lost.

Geez...I wish I'd never said it!:p

Read previous posts. Cornes good player. On weekend Thornton good. Conditions bad for forwards. Spornstar should keep quiet.

:D

Originally posted by cjwalkley

I may be a little biased as Cornes has yet to play a good game against the Lions, and we play Craig Bolton on him (..who probably won't be on our list next year),

From memory, this has been discussed in the past a number of times. ( horses for courses type arguments from memory)

Originally posted by cjwalkley

but Cornes is nowhere near the Ottens and Tarrant class. He wouldn't get a kick if the best defender played on him, and from the games I've seen does a lot of his work when the game has already been won or lost.

Ottens is a different type of player, and if Cornes was at Collingwood and played instead of Tarrant he would be at least as good or better.
To play that role would probably make him inconsistent as well, just like Tarrant.

May I ask why not? Cornes is a much better player than Croad.

Croad is more explosive, harder to match up on, and can be swung to both ends of the ground. Has kicked more goals this year, too. I think he is more developed than Chad Cornes career-wise.

Fair enough? ;)

The Hitman

Pavlich rumour