Pendlebury

smelly cat

Dec 6, 2005
Just wondering what you guys thought of Scott Pendlebury's first season. I didn't see much of him, but he seemed ok.

Has he shown enough to be someone you'd want to hang on to, or would you consider trading him for a ready made player, like James Kelly?

smelly cat said:
Just wondering what you guys thought of Scott Pendlebury's first season. I didn't see much of him, but he seemed ok.

Has he shown enough to be someone you'd want to hang on to, or would you consider trading him for a ready made player, like James Kelly?

You "didn't see much of him", yet you're willing to trade him for one of Geelongs best midfielders (says something about Geelong, not James Kelly) ;) .

showed glimpses that he will become a top notch player

courage - backed into j.brown's space in his first game of footy

seems to have plenty of time when he gets the pill

should be the goods

kelly, he couldn't even get a game for the cats this year

how bout a straight swap, Holland for Kelly??

or Lockyer for Kelly??

the pies two players both were solid performers in a team that finished 5th.......lockyer brings good leadership to the table which is something that the cats desperately need. For Kelly who couldn't get a game for a team that missed the 8........i reckon that is fair.

philhawk said:
You "didn't see much of him", yet you're willing to trade him for one of Geelongs best midfielders (says something about Geelong, not James Kelly) ;) .

Read the post again, Philof****e.

In case you thought otherwise, I actually don't have the final say down at cat land with the whole trading thing.

I'm interested in the young man's career. The post was designed to find out what the pies thought of him. If they wouldn't trade for Kelly, he must be pretty good.

Says something about your intelligence ;)

smelly cat said:
I'm interested in the young man's career. The post was designed to find out what the pies thought of him. If they wouldn't trade for Kelly, he must be pretty good.
How so? We just drafted him with pick #5, and it's generally accepted that James Kelly isn't even worth a 1st round pick this year.

So for a guy we took with the 5th pick in the draft to be worth more than a 2nd round pick this year means that he must be pretty good?

Realistically, I can't imagine how bad he would have had to be this year if we WERE willing to trade him for James Kelly...

I thought Pendlebury was fantastic.
Not as polish as Dale Thomas or intelligent in his disposal at times but for some reason I actually came to view Pendlebury as better than Dale Thomas.

But either way I think that kid has a fantastic future at Collingwood if he can keep going next season obviously.

smelly cat said:
Read the post again, Philof****e.

In case you thought otherwise, I actually don't have the final say down at cat land with the whole trading thing.

Says something about your intelligence ;)

:D

I think I just may have hit a nerve.

smelly cat said:

idiot

my only query before he i saw he play afl was whether he had the courage to be an in and under type! i reckon he does, as the evasive skills and the vision to be a dal santo type! really looking forward to his post 50 game career (when he really turns it on!)

Angelus512 said:
I thought Pendlebury was fantastic.
Not as polish as Dale Thomas or intelligent in his disposal at times but for some reason I actually came to view Pendlebury as better than Dale Thomas.

But either way I think that kid has a fantastic future at Collingwood if he can keep going next season obviously.

Dale Thomas is a freaky footballer, makes the hard things look easy. But his foot skills are very poor. Whilst Pendlebury will be a good all round footballer, he is a ball magnet ( like Scott West).
I would prefer Pendlebury over Dale Thomas every day of the week. Dale Thomas turns the ball over to many times

Blueboy Thomas has very tidy footskills and he has made a few mistakes this year. If you saw his elim final game you would of seen how good his footskills (and more importantly his vision) can be.

Pendlebury is good inclose but I'd like to see him get more involved. Either make himself availble to receive a running handball and get out in space or get to more contests.

We should make all young midfielders watch tapes of 3 current greats in Cousins, West and perhaps Judd to see how many contests and how much running they do.

What you need to remember with Pendles is that he had basically no pre-season because of Glandular Fever. So he did phenomenally well to play as well as he did and even get into the senior team. Just wait until he has a proper pre-season and puts a bit of bulk on. He will be a super player, similar to Dal Santo. He is also 190cm, can take a mark and is very accurate kicking for goal. Has a lot of strings to his bow this kid.

As for Thomas, his kicking as above average, not great. But he really does have fantastic vision, which makes up for it a lot. Always seems to pick the right option, even if occassionally he doesn't deliver perfectly. I think it also has a bit to do with his power. Once he puts on more bulk he will get more power on his kicks and likely be able to deliver better. If a player has a good kick but no vision and is unable to pick the right options then you are in trouble. Thomas will be fine.

doppleganger said:
kelly, he couldn't even get a game for the cats this year

how bout a straight swap, Holland for Kelly??

or Lockyer for Kelly??

the pies two players both were solid performers in a team that finished 5th.......lockyer brings good leadership to the table which is something that the cats desperately need. For Kelly who couldn't get a game for a team that missed the 8........i reckon that is fair.
VERY VERY good point!!
Why are people adding 2nd and 3rd rounders or whatever with Lockyer. Yet Tarks played close to every game in a finals team and was an on field leader, the other didnt even play half the year due to **** form for a team that didnt make the 8!!!

Blueboy43 said:
Dale Thomas is a freaky footballer, makes the hard things look easy. But his foot skills are very poor. Whilst Pendlebury will be a good all round footballer, he is a ball magnet ( like Scott West).
I would prefer Pendlebury over Dale Thomas every day of the week. Dale Thomas turns the ball over to many times

LOL......mate...r u blind by any chance?

He definately has shown skills, just needs more consistency in his game. He was was of the better players in todays loss to Geelong in VFL. Unfortunaely, Guy Richards skills get worse with each game, I think Pies have been patient enough with him.

Originally Posted by Blueboy43
I would prefer Pendlebury over Dale Thomas every day of the week. Dale Thomas turns the ball over to many times.

Dale Thomas has already shown he will be a great player and has done things you would not expect a first year player do. His main problem is he is too courageous. Penlebury shows great promise but no need to put down Dale. Both will be better with another pre-season, and both have vindicated Pies faith in choosing them.

Pendlebury