collingwood
I would just like to reassure the collingwood faithful that we have a better prototype (captain/premiership player) in Scott Pendelbury.

The main reason being that Joel has the luxury to rock around the field devoid of tags. Pendles is our number one mid and has alot more pressure to deal with. Just take a look at what happened to the west coast mids after the departure of cousins and judd. Some players make others look better then they are Ablett and Bartel are examples.

This is not to say that Selwood is not up there in quality, but i believe pendles is superior. Pendles beats selwood in almost every KPI bar hardness at the contest.

I dare say if you posted this in any forum other than this one you would meet some pretty stiff opposition to that call. I do agree with your comment about some players looking better with good players around them but the fact is Selwood hunts and wins his own footy mate. He's seriously good. He's a seriously good leader too.

I would be interested in comparing the 2 in 5 years time but I reckon it's pretty line ball personally.

Unfortunately this is B/S I love Pendleberry and if it were a straight trade between Pendles and Joel Selwood I probably wouldn't do it because Pendles is a pie man.

BUT there is no doubting Selwood has superior ability when it comes to winning the tough stuff. You can't tag a out a player who gets in and under and wins it for himself. Pendles is a super player but Selwood is such a good all round player. He dominated when Geelong had midfield injuries last year and finished very high in the brownlow (top 5?) as a second year player. He got a tag far more then Pendleberry did last year and still had a better year. As much as he is a good player Pendleberry seldom if ever gets a hard tag at this point in his career, Selwood has had it dealt with it and kept up his outstanding high standards. Pendles is a little bit better with the ball in his hands and has a bit better compusure but all that is shot by how much better Selwood is in terms of intensity and hardness at the contest.

Love Pendles but would take Selwood over him in a heartbeat. To suggest Pendles is better is a little biased I think. Selwood is exactly the kind of inside player that we need.

Pendles is fantastic and will continue to develop ito one of the comps elite midfielders. Bracket him at the moment with Delidio, Murphy Selwood Palmer Thomas etc Arguably as good as any of those.

Slwood stands head and shoulders above them as the premier young midfielder in the AFL. He is simply better than the others overall.

I'll echo the words of those above, Selwood is comfortably better than Pendlebury.

To suggest otherwise is lunacy and shows complete and utter bias.

Selwood has passed Pendlebury, and unfortunately I can't see Pendlebury getting back in front save for Selwood breaking down with injury. A hard-nut ball-winner who has silky skills like Selwood is pure gold, he'll be a top 3 player in the league soon enough.

Pendlebury needs to have more confidence in his ability, kick long more, and go in a bit harder to close the gap. I know he will get a lot better, but Selwood is going to be a bloody superstar.

Pendles is fantastic and will continue to develop ito one of the comps elite midfielders. Bracket him at the moment with Delidio, Murphy Selwood Palmer Thomas etc Arguably as good as any of those.

Slwood stands head and shoulders above them as the premier young midfielder in the AFL. He is simply better than the others overall.

while i do agree that selwood is ahead of pendles - the hardness at the contest and high, clean possesion rate do it for me - pendlebury has it quite easily over;
deledio - loads of potential but rarely stands up.
murphy -simply not as good as pendles
palmer -as above and like murphy not a great kick
thomas - not there yet.. will be by seasons end im expecting a copeland from this young man...

finally, i expect pendels over the journey to be top10 in the afl's best players... thats not being one eyed or biased. im just acknowledgeing his ability.

I rate Pendlebury too, and I take the point that Selwood has the advantage of playing in a far superior midfield, but I conceded a while back that Selwood is a long way in front. That kid's attack on the football is eyepopping, and as long as he stays injury free, he looks set to be a superstar.

As for Pendlebury he's already a good player and is clearly a fine talent. There's no shame in being in the 'not-as-good-as-Joel-Selwood' group -- it's a group that probably comprises every other young mid in the competition.

I think maybe most people here have misinterpreted the op.
The op saying the best 'prototype'.

In fact I think without doubt, that is actually right.
Pendlles is far more accurate, agile ad skilled in general.

Selwood clearly looks the better player at the moment, but with good reason. Minimal tagging, surrounded by skilled midfielders, it all helps.

Pendles is our no1 mid, always tagged and is surrounded by mids with much less awareness and skill than himself.

I think maybe most people here have misinterpreted the op.
The opMinimal tagging saying the best 'prototype'.

In fact I think without doubt, that is actually right.
Pendlles is far more accurate, agile ad skilled in general.

Selwood clearly looks the better player at the moment, but with good reason. , surrounded by skilled midfielders, it all helps.

Pendles is our no1 mid, always tagged and is surrounded by mids with much less awareness and skill than himself.

Bolded are plain wrong. Selwood has been tagged more the Pendles to date.

Well if that is true then you could say Selwood is way ahead of Pendles. Those Pendles was tagged in the GF and he was Shut out of the Game and did not have an impact.

I still think Selwood will be Something else because his hardness at the Ball is Amazing but still has Above Average Skills.

Where Pendles does not have alot attack on the ball but his Skills and Awareness are Elite.

Pendles is up there with the best 5 young Mids in the Comp

Well if that is true then you could say Selwood is way ahead of Pendles. Those Pendles was tagged in the GF and he was Shut out of the Game and did not have an impact.

I still think Selwood will be Something else because his hardness at the Ball is Amazing but still has Above Average Skills.

Where Pendles does not have alot attack on the ball but his Skills and Awareness are Elite.

Pendles is up there with the best 5 young Mids in the Comp
Dave pendlebury still attacks the ball, but he goes about it in a differnt way. He will never be the bulldozer that selwood is but it doesnt mean he lacks any attack on the ball.

Yes, we all rate pendlebury, he has been a breath of fresh air in the midfield. But if you had the choice of one or the other right now, I would have to go Selwood, because he has copped a tag and dealt with it effectively, he is excellent in traffic, he is very aggresive at the ball and his use of it is fantastic.

Pendles to date has had quiet periods every now and then during a game and this year will cop a heavier tag, so it remains to be seen how he will deal with that. Still if its pendlebury we have, then I am happy to have him.

Selwood currently ahead, Pendlebury has the higher upside though. Not sure he'll ever overtake him, but he has a chance. The only player on our list that does.

I'm a bit disappointed in this response, mdc. I expected you to come out all guns blazing. ;)

I'll back Pendles here, basically by asking the question; How good would Pendlebury be if he had Ablett, Ling, Bartel, Corey etc around him, compared to the current Collingwood midfield.

I believe he would have developed quicker in a greater team, but he at the moment is about to go into the top 10 mids in the comp, so we cant complain.

Hardness and inside ability is invaluable, Pendlebury is no where near as hard at it as Selwood.

I rate Pendlebury highly but he has areas he needs to improve. While Pendlebury has good foot skills he lacks depth and rarely kicks over 40 metres. Pendles also struggles badly with a tag, something he will cop a lot more of this season.

Selwood in a canter at the moment.

I'll back Pendles here, basically by asking the question; How good would Pendlebury be if he had Ablett, Ling, Bartel, Corey etc around him, compared to the current Collingwood midfield.

I believe he would have developed quicker in a greater team, but he at the moment is about to go into the top 10 mids in the comp, so we cant complain.

Ablett, Bartel, Selwood, Judd, Mitchell, Harvey, Black, Cooney, Goodes, Kerr, S.Burgoyne, Corey (in no order).

I'd love to say he belongs in there (and I know you said "about to"), but he'll need to improve a lot to be rated there.

Love Pendles but would take Selwood over him in a heartbeat. To suggest Pendles is better is a little biased I think. Selwood is exactly the kind of inside player that we need.

Spot on. Selwood in an absolute heartbeat, I would trade Pendles and more for him. Some Collingwood supporters are simply delusional.....

Until Pendlebury actually takes the game on, runs seriously hard and gets plenty of inside ball/clearances/wins the ball in dispute (oh and less chip kicking sideways) he will not be in Selwood's league.

Don't get me wrong, Pendlebury has the talent and smarts for it but has not shown it yet. I hope he does break out into this sooner than later because we are crying out for such a player. We will not win a flag without such a midfield star.....

Hardness and inside ability is invaluable, Pendlebury is no where near as hard at it as Selwood.

I rate Pendlebury highly but he has areas he needs to improve. While Pendlebury has good foot skills he lacks depth and rarely kicks over 40 metres. Pendles also struggles badly with a tag, something he will cop a lot more of this season.

Selwood in a canter at the moment.

Agree with everything said.

I love Pendles as well, but for how much his footskills are hyped, he rarely takes a risk and kicks long. He consistently chips/takes the safe option, I realise he has great foot skills but he is nowhere near as damaging with them as he should be. The fact that a lot of opposition supporters (and even our own) won't really notice him in the game, but he has finished with 20-30 touches can some time say a lot I think.
Can't cop a tag or any close attention, and struggles to get his own ball.

This is all in comparison to Selwood of course, compared to the majority of youngsters Pendlebury shines, but he still has a long way to go.

Agree with everything said.

I love Pendles as well, but for how much his footskills are hyped, he rarely takes a risk and kicks long. He consistently chips/takes the safe option, I realise he has great foot skills but he is nowhere near as damaging with them as he should be. The fact that a lot of opposition supporters (and even our own) won't really notice him in the game, but he has finished with 20-30 touches can some time say a lot I think.
Can't cop a tag or any close attention, and struggles to get his own ball.

This is all in comparison to Selwood of course, compared to the majority of youngsters Pendlebury shines, but he still has a long way to go.

Agree Pendles in his 1st season showed he can take a game on but his next 2 years he has not taken the game on

Don't think Thomas does? It isn't a matter of whether you think he will, but I certainly can see enough upside for it...