Wobbie

Rookie
To all supporters:

I'm sure we all agree that last night was disappointing, but here are a few statistics, that will show that we've improved out-of-sight this year.

-Last year we were flogged (Around 10 goal losses) ten times, including a twenty goal hiding against Geelong & many 100pt+ losses
-We lost at HOME to: Carlton, Port, Sydney, Geelong, Richmond & Hawthorn
-We lost both derbies
-We won four games against: Brisbane, Adelaide, Saints and Essendon all were at home

Last year I was happy if we lost but weren't flogged. A lot of people were of the opinion last year was the recession we had to have. Now we have a team that has some serious potential, we're all hoping to hell that they can achieve that potential, but these guys are just kids! They are going to be inconsistent, showing us glimpses of brilliance interspersed with mediocrity. Anyone who is 25 or older (my age) will understand the inconsistency of youth, when your 18, 19, 20, 21, 22 you're not going to put up consistent performances unless you're already supremely mature like Judd or J. Selwood, you can even sense their maturity during their interviews. The kids are just not going to work hard day in day out, week in week out, because they don't want to, they don't understand what is required to succeed in the AFL, a lot of youngsters were stars in underage competition and may not have needed to work for that status with their natural talent burning the others, it will come with time and maturity. I am already pleased with the season, because apart from the Saints game, I felt that if we played to our maximum potential we could've won them all, and we will hopefully fulfill that potential in time. I hope other people are also pleased with the season so far, and take things into context. If not just remember we won a premiership 3 years ago, that should cushion the blow, only Geelong and Hawthorn can claim any better.

Absolutely spot on.

Unfortunately we have a growing group of nuff-nuff supporters on this website who immediately hit the panic button every time we play badly.

Seriously, even though I hate the dockers, in a way i envy them. It's the pain you through that makes success worthwhile. When the dockers win the flag (one day maybe...), there will be one HUGE party that I will be looking on jealously at.

Absolutely spot on.

Unfortunately we have a growing group of nuff-nuff supporters on this website who immediately hit the panic button every time we play badly.

Never underestimate the power of a large group of stupid people..... Im probably one of them, but this is a forum, and we all have our opinions. Some closer to the truth than others.
We should be fostering tolerance to people like me:o, our posters are passionate and we are many. This is a good thing:thumbsu: But, dang, thats one irresistable panic button.:D

Lets all now have a group cyber-hug.....
Ahhhhhhhh thats better :)

Good post. I cant say Im surprised about the reaction to the loss but it gets a bit ridiculous after a while. Suggestions that Ebert and Masten are duds and Nottes a wasted pick is just pure stupidity from greedy and impatient supporters who want success right away.

Were starting to rebuild our backline, this time around McKenzie and Glass. Hurn has been good back there aswell. As soon as the midfield has been given a chance to develop the backline will be even better because they wont be getting r*ped by the amount of ball coming in.

If we win this week, Im sure everyone will be talking finals again, lose and Im sure it'll be coach sacking time x 2. Thats bigfooty for you

Another perspective thread, things will be better when they develope, next year will be better, tomorrow will be better.
They are kids it makes no difference that they are professionals they don't have to work hard yet, wait to their 22.

Fair dinkum guys listen to what you are saying.

What do you have to say about the 11 premiership players that played last night, the 5 players that have been in the AFL system for 4 years plus.

thats 15 of your 22 that you think need more time, will get better with developement.

Every side has 3-6 players that are kids playing every single game.
Its just and I will say maybe they are being taught a bit better than our guys.

But I like the optomism, If you guys think we have 6-10 A grade players in the making then i just can't wait for tomorrow. A few flags not to far away.

Good post. I cant say Im surprised about the reaction to the loss but it gets a bit ridiculous after a while. Suggestions that Ebert and Masten are duds and Nottes a wasted pick is just pure stupidity from greedy and impatient supporters who want success right away.

:thumbsu:

The man speaks sense, drafting system means you can throw a net over most kids.

Shuey, Swift, Masten, Ebert, Naitanui, Smith, J.Jones, none have had full preseasons, but wait till they do. Ever player on the above list has had injury issues and the one that has had the best preseason of them was Swift.

Players that have are Schofield, Houlihan, McKenzie, Brown, Notte and S.Selwood; all three have made massive progress over the preseason and shown that the could be best 22 players already and these are some of the big guys.

You reward quality players by sticking with them, Muston is proof after three years of holding a position on the list injured has come out and had an exellent debut. Hunter was one of the most heartless players ive ever seen, players will work for the coach and work for each other but they need to build confidence and trust. Again Hawthorn is the best example, look at the difference between them in 2008 and 2009, it's such a fine line, interupt that connection with retirments and injuries and the stack of cards comes falling down, we can build a strong side.

Out recruiting system is fine and our player managment is decent, if we stick with them their is no garantee of success but we will have a better chance. This core of young talent can be added to and if they develop and play together they will reward the coaching staff and the fans for sticking with them.

We should re-sign Woosha for another two years and accept whoever we draft as the best available option for our side.

Perspectic is that they performed terrible in anybodies language last night.
And Although we are in a transition period,people wont except half harted efforts whether their rookies or seasoned campaigners.
Their are alot of young guys coming through showing promise,but there also a bunch of other teams that have young talent developing and appear to be developing faster and better.
There are no guarantees that we will be back up the ladder as some people think is an automatic progression.
Teams such as Fremantle,Richmond ,Carlton,etc,also have had plans to make the finals and ultimately the grand final,year after year,and they are still working at it and may not make it for many many years.
2x new teams will be entering the competiton in the near future,taking good players and draft picks,making the competition even more competetive.
This is ultimately why people are passionate and want to see the club heading in the right and winning direction,and at the moment some of the signs and benchmarks are appearing harder than people thought or expected.
Hopefully the coaching staff and their plans are the correct mix to build another core group of players to take us to the top and if they are not on there game there are another 15 and soon to be 17 teams that will be trying to find the winning advantage.

Another perspective thread, things will be better when they develope, next year will be better, tomorrow will be better.
They are kids it makes no difference that they are professionals they don't have to work hard yet, wait to their 22.

Fair dinkum guys listen to what you are saying.

What do you have to say about the 11 premiership players that played last night, the 5 players that have been in the AFL system for 4 years plus.

thats 15 of your 22 that you think need more time, will get better with developement.

Every side has 3-6 players that are kids playing every single game.
Its just and I will say maybe they are being taught a bit better than our guys.

But I like the optomism, If you guys think we have 6-10 A grade players in the making then i just can't wait for tomorrow. A few flags not to far away.

How about you listen for a change! the OP has stated that TODAY is better than yesterday... not that things will get better that things are better!! Geez learn to be a SUPPORTER.

yes I like CAPS LOCK.

How about you listen for a change! the OP has stated that TODAY is better than yesterday... not that things will get better that things are better!! Geez learn to be a SUPPORTER.

yes I like CAPS LOCK.

Enlighten me with what a supporter should be in the world of bodazoka? didn't know I was not following the rules.

Perspective? I'm expecting mine to return sometime around Wednesday. Until then, I expect to remain seething at a sub-par effort not just from our kids but from our veterans as well.

What I can't stomach is the completely ill disciplined, selfish, disposal chasing performance of many of our players who would've looked out of place in suburban footy. The brain fades from our vets, the poor execution of our skills (so many from our vets), the lack of playing for each other (blocking, sheparding, clearing, leading), the playing for free kicks instead of playing the contest... and the list goes on.

I don't think its doom and gloom for the next few years or that the coach should be sacked or that we've stuffed our drafts etc. etc. But I am F-ing p!ssed off with that effort and with many players who didn't contribute.

I tell you what GWS Ill take the "learn to be a supporter" comment back. I still stand by my point that you missed the intention of the OP though.

Thats fine mate and I have read the OP again and you make a fair point.
We all love our club mate, just people see things differently thats all.

Here is the perspective:

Last time we were languishing at the bottom of the table, we fluked a once-a-generation draft pick who was instantly successful and sparked a reversal of our fortunes.

Every person posting on this board expecting similar instant and spectacular results from any draft pick we now have is kidding themselves.

yes I like CAPS LOCK.

Exactly! If we were getting drilled as badly as last year, I would be calling for Woosha's head. But we are playing much better this year, don't kid yourself, how exciting was it when our young team took it up to Hawthorn in Tassie, the Swans in Sydney and also the Lions in Brisbane? Not to mention the wins against the Power and the Dogs. If we were still performing at the same level next year, it will be a huge disappointment but I'm enjoying the improvement shown this year. I mean seriously we are a feared and respected club, we've missed the finals once under Woosha, whats that 6 or 7 in a row, and we've made the finals every year I'm pretty sure under Malthouse. Lets forget about the Judge years;)!

I don't think we need to get a perspective at all. It's not the fact that we lost or even that we played badly, but the complete laziness and lack of discipline or teamwork shown. That is not acceptable from any AFL side no matter how young they are.

Wholeheartedly agree.

Going through our critical errors i was amazed, proves our senior players lacked disipline and composure. We need leaders and we need a midfielder as captain.

Shoe. Judd was one player, we would have not one the 2006 GF without him obviously. But we failed to win the 2005 GF without Braun. I lookforward to us having better depth across the feild in the future than we did in 04-06.

Does anyone look at the positive behind the fact that the performance of Saturday night was absolutely disgraceful and one of our worst we've seen for a long time, yet we only lost by 22. If we played a 4/10 game instead of a 2/10 like we did on Saturday we probably would've won. Irrespective of the opposition with their missing players, its a surprise that a performance that bad we werent blown off the park. Though the Pies only had Davis, Pendlebury and Swan who really did anything and the rest of the Pies side performed pretty average too.

Had we turned up against St Kilda or Geelong with the mindset of Saturday night it would have been a hiding. I guess that's a positive too.

The danger signs v Collingwood were present v Fremantle, Melbourne and Brisbane. Our best footy has been played (bah StKilda) against teams that are much better than us and our worst footy has been played against teams we are able to beat. Melbourne were so close to beating us it wasent funny...

Its strange how it works, and its purely a mindset.. mabye the guys need to think they are playing Geelong every week and come out accordingly. The theory will be proven over the next few weeks when we play Carlton and then Geelong.

The danger signs v Collingwood were present v Fremantle, Melbourne and Brisbane. Our best footy has been played (bah StKilda) against teams that are much better than us and our worst footy has been played against teams we are able to beat. Melbourne were so close to beating us it wasent funny...

Its strange how it works, and its purely a mindset.. mabye the guys need to think they are playing Geelong every week and come out accordingly. The theory will be proven over the next few weeks when we play Carlton and then Geelong.

I was thinking about this too... and it maybe the case. But seriously! My daughter's under 14 amateur soccer team plays like this. Awesome against the top teams and crap against the bottom teams or teams around them on the ladder. These blokes aren't 14 yo girls running around the park on Saturday arvo in between talking about pimple creams and fake tans!!! These are meant to professionals. As someone above said, it wasn't the loss or that we showed how crap our skills were but the fact that we played like a bunch of amateurs with no discipline, team work or pride in the jumper... and not just the kids but especially the vets!

My perspective hasn't come back yet.... :p