Bullyboy

Apr 11, 2002
The Wild Wild West
Footscray Footy Club
Guys I come in peace. I believe Peter Wilson only played a couple of seasons for the Tiges back in the 80`s but I am sure he did something out of the ordinary or something special while he was playing for you guys. Can anyone can tell what he did or do I owe my Collingwood supporter mate $50 :(

Cheers, Bully.

Guys I come in peace. I believe Peter Wilson only played a couple of seasons for the Tiges back in the 80`s but I am sure he did something out of the ordinary or something special while he was playing for you guys. Can anyone can tell what he did or do I owe my Collingwood supporter mate $50 :(

Cheers, Bully.

PLAYED some good football, but widely re,e,bered as doing a cartwheel after one famous victory v Carlton on a Friday night at the MCG!

Thanks GD, I think it was the cartwheel he did that I can remember although I might have to make it sound a bit more "special" to save my $50 so anything else you guys can give me would be much appreciated.

Cheers Bully. :thumbsu:

On a cold, wet and slippery mid-winter Friday Night at the 'G in 1988, just over 19,000 fans saw "Bartlett's babies" cause the upset of the season as the bottom-placed Tigers memorably overran the upstart reigning premiers Carlton with cub Chris Pym kicking 3 last quarter goals and Peter Wilson cartwheeling after the final siren. It would be Richmond's first win over the Blues in 5 years.

RICHMOND 1.4 4.10 9.18 15.20 (110)
CARLTON 5.6 7.12 9.16 12.21 (93)

Best - Weightman, Free, Leys, Pym.

Goals -
Richmond: Pym 3, Hogg 3, M. Pickering 2, Nicholls 2, Mitchell 2, Weightman, McKellar, Ryan.
Carlton: Rhys-Jones 3, Glascott 2, Dennis, Blackwell, Gleeson, Evans, Naley, Madden, McKenzie.

Crowd: 19,458. Umpires: Rich, Saville.

Stats stars -
Richmond: D. Weightman 21-5-12, T. Free 21-4-6, C. Pym 16-6-11.
Carlton: C. Bradley 21-7-3, W. Johnston 17-1-4, D. Glascott 13-7-7.

HERALD VOTES D. Weightman (Rich.) 8 T. Free (Rich.) 7 M. Leys (Rich.) 6 C. Pym (Rich.)

AT A GLANCE
First-bounce: 7.30 pm, Friday, MCG.
TV: Replay, Channel 7, 9.30 pm.
Radio: 3AW.
Betting: Richmond 6-1, Carlton 1-10.

Team:

B: Palm Leys D.Ryan

HB: Goodwin Laffy M.Pickering

C: Mitchell Free Nicholls

HF: Wilson Honybun Powell

F: Pym Hogg J.Pickering

R: Lee Weightman Lambert

I: McKellar, B.Bower

FROM The Sun the following day:

RICHMOND last night caused the upset of the season, beating last year's premier, Carlton, by 17

points in a thrilling game at the MCG. Young Tigers - many of them VFL unknowns - embraced one another and left the ground in a united, back-slapping bunch, as if it was a grand final victory.

Carlton coach Robert Walls was a disappointed man after his team had been knocked off by the wooden-spoon favorite. He described the Blues as "lazy". "They deserve the win and we deserve the loss - it's as simple as that," Walls said.

Excited Richmond coach Kevin Bartlett had no misconceptions about the result. "They worked hard for it. Tonight they showed a real commitment to the Richmond Football Club," he said.

One hero of the 15.20-110 to 12.21-93 win was unknown Richmond small man Chris Pym, who booted three goals in a dramatic last quarter.

Tiger forward Peter Wilson echoed the sentiments of jubilant Tiger fans when he turned a cartwheel on the MCG turf after the final siren, It was a great night's entertainment for the 19,458 spectators who braved the crisp winter night.
Three times in the last quarter the scores were level and it was thought that Carlton, with its greater poise and experience in tight finishes, would regain control.

But the Tigers were not to be denied their moment of glory; they smelled a boilover and chased it relentlessly.

Young rover Trent Nicholls had the audacity to try to bounce the ball in the heavy conditions before kicking his team's 12th goal and putting the Tigers five points ahead at the 24-minute mark of the final term.

The Tigers trailed by 20 points at half time, but put in a great third quarter to overhaul the sluggish Blues.

Carlton kicked the first two goals of the last quarter, but the Tigers attacked desperately, wresting back a narrow lead time and again.

The Blues were placed under a lot of pressure and were knocked off balance by their inexperienced opponents, who were playing on enthusiasm and persistence.

It obviously upset the Blues, including their most wayward son, David Rhys-Jones, who clashed with a Richmond opponent in the centre of the ground after the three-quarter time siren and was spoken to by the emergency umpire.

Weightman kicked his side's eighth goal at the 17-minute mark of the third term and the club everyone expects to collect the wooden spoon hit the lead. Unknown Tigers seemed to rise to the occasion.

Even the experience of Victorian state squad member Jim Buckley in defence could not save Carlton.

Richmond ruckman Mark Lee was shadowing Carlton's Justin Madden whereve
r he went, and the big Tiger put in probably his best game for the year.

In the first half Rhys-Jones looked like turning the game into a slaughter with some brilliant play at full-forward, capped off with three goals.

Walls said the Blues will train today and tomorrow but it was just normal procedure.

Of Richmond, the Blues' premiership coach said: "They were more interested in getting in and getting the ball than we were." Asked if the Blues had been complacent, Walls said: "I'd say lazy rather than complacent, and we paid the price."

As an impartial observer Bullyboy ... i would have no qualms rating Peter Wilsons cartwheel in the top 10 defining Richmond moments in the last 25 years...

Others shall no doubt give thier opinions but i say the Fiddy is yours .

Get your mate on here to read this ... he should abide by the umpires decision

and FWIW ... in the end i hated his guts with a passion

Thanks Goldust and IDGAF, you have certanly saved me from handing over a pineapple but I suspect getting the $50 out of a Collingwood supporter will be like getting blood out of a stone.

I know that he is watching this thread so if he doesn`t cough up he may need to be shamed into it and possibly named to expose him to his Collingwood cronies on the Magpie board although, they wear things like that as a badge of honour in Magpie land.

On another topic, I was with Jayden Post yesterday at our footy club getting photos with his Richmond jumper and believe me he is now a Tiger through and through. He loves the place and I know you guys have got a real good one there in Posty, he is a ripper. He has put on around seven kilos and he needs to put on another 10 so he says.

Thanks again, Bully.

Geez, it shows just how much the game has been well-promoted recently. I know it was cold, wet and miserable (I think was there - no, I didn't see the cartwheel), but 19,000 only?!?!?!? These sides played in a GF only 6 years ago and Carlton were reigning premiers.

If we got that crowd today, there would be talk of mergers.

They spanked us later that year and Walls sent his runner out to pay out on Wilson, who chased the guy around the ground for a few minutes. Apparently it was pretty funny.

It was a huge boilover. 19,000... crumbs!

Geez, KB did have it tough...

Thanks Goldust and IDGAF, you have certanly saved me from handing over a pineapple but I suspect getting the $50 out of a Collingwood supporter will be like getting blood out of a stone.

I know that he is watching this thread so if he doesn`t cough up he may need to be shamed into it and possibly named to expose him to his Collingwood cronies on the Magpie board although, they wear things like that as a badge of honour in Magpie land.

On another topic, I was with Jayden Post yesterday at our footy club getting photos with his Richmond jumper and believe me he is now a Tiger through and through. He loves the place and I know you guys have got a real good one there in Posty, he is a ripper. He has put on around seven kilos and he needs to put on another 10 so he says.

Thanks again, Bully.
Cheers bullyboy:thumbsu:

They spanked us later that year and Walls sent his runner out to pay out on Wilson, who chased the guy around the ground for a few minutes. Apparently it was pretty funny.

It was a huge boilover. 19,000... crumbs!

Geez, KB did have it tough...

That's hilarious. About time you posted something worth reading :p

The funny thing was Peter Wilson once said that the Eagles were a pack of Nobs (or to that affect) but eventually played with the same guys when he returned to WA

Peter wilson