Phantom Draft

Pick 5 - Ben Cunnington

North need Midfielders and I rate this kid very highly (4th best), an inside ball winner who has an excellent defensive game, and good to above average skills. He is also a goal kicker who will provide a good option up forward for North.

Pick #6- Gary Rohan

His sheer pace and tenace will be a great asset for the swans. He is so deadly with the ball and although he doesnt get much of it he makes his possessions count. Can play anywhere and has great versatility and flair which i love about his game. Also tossed up picking Lucas but there will be plenty of those workmen like midfielders around at #14 and i think it is best that the swannies take the risk here with Rohan.

Pick 7 - West Coast - Kane Lucas (East Fremantle)

Good inside midfielder also capable of playing on a half-forward flank. I reckon the club will go for Jetta but for mine Lucas is the safe bet. All-Australian and has put in some solid performances at club level. Will be a vital cog in the Eagles' future midfield along with Masten, Ebert, Shuey and Swift.

As well as Jetta, also considered Tapscott (who I rate really highly) and Butcher, who would slot nicely into our future spine along with Kennedy, Brown and McKenzie.

Pick 8 - Port Adelaide - John Butcher
The best key forward in the draft and if Butcher fell this far I would think Port would snap him up with one of their two picks. Butcher is a key forward with excellent agility, endurance and contested marking ability. He has slide from a certain top 3 pick midyear after a poor not impressing at champs, he was reported injured though (And for the most part of the year?) His goal-kicking is poor.... What's new with tall forwards?

http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?p=14600908#post14600908

Shows that hard-work and application will improve goal-kicking, its all up to the player.

AFL Comparison:
Kurt Tippett
Also Considered: Daniel Talia, Jake Carlilse

Pick 10 Essendon - Daniel Taila Height: 194cm Weight:89kg Defender
Taila is a quality Backline player but can play forward or can play in the middle. Taila will fit into the Bombers side and they would be happy if they could snag him at this pick. With taking Hurley last year in the first round and taking Taila this year. It would set up the KP Spine for the future.

Others Considered: Koby Stevens, Lewis Jetta

Pick 11 Melbourne: Jake Carlisle - 197cm, 87kg

A fair bit harder than my first two selections. I was considering taking another midfielder, because there are a few quality ones still on the table. But Melbourne need a quality tall, and that was my priority in the end. I was choosing between Carlisle and Aaron Black. But there is a question mark over whether Black can truly hold down a key position, and ultimately I rate Carlisle as the second best tall in the draft (after Butcher).

At 197cm, Carlisle is one of those unique mixes of size, speed and agility. He can take a strong mark, and is a good kick of the football. With Watts playing the lead up forward, Carlisle can stay at home in the goal square and play a Koschitzke type role.

Others considered: Aaron Black, Andrew Moore, Koby Stevens

Pick 12 - Carlton - Lewis Jetta (Swan Districts/WA) - 181.4cm, 68.8kg - 04/05/89

It was a strange feeling hoping that two players would last until my pick and then having both players available. The selection between Jetta and Melksham was tough, but a slight needs factor came into this pick.

Jetta will complement our existing players, a replacement winger and HBF was needed for Stevens and Scotland. This player must be able to break the lines and deliver the ball with accuracy.

Jetta ran 2.95 in the sprints and he actually uses this speed in games to good use. He has also shown the ability to lift his game when it count, winning BOG in the state game and showed some amazing skill in the semi's in terrible conditions.

Good jump and agility, while he can kick the ball over distance, it gets a little less accurate over long distances. Obviously needs some time in the gym and is very shy. He will be surrounded by fellow swannies this should help with the adjustment in location.

pick 13: Jake Melksham, calder cannons
midfielder, 182cm, 69kg

I have gone with Melksham, because from what i've seen on youtube and what i've heard he seems to be the best available and adelaide don't have many needs. he may take 1-3 years to get full maturity but in the long run he can play inside or outside midfielder role

others considered
Jake Sheppard,Koby Stevens, Andrew Moore

Pick #14- Koby Stevens

Probably the worst way the draft could have panned out for the swannies at 14 with Carlisle, Butcher, Talia, Lucas and Melksham all been taken so no slider there. It was a tough decision between Aaron Black and Koby Stevens but I decided to take Koby for his work ethic and just being a hard at it workman-style midfielder. The swans will be able to consolidate getting a big KP in later rounds but i feel its best to go with the safe option here of Stevens.

Pick #15 - Western Bulldogs - Brad Sheppard
186cm, 78kg, East Fremantle

As swans4eva said, it's a shame there hasn't really been any sliders. I considered Black but the Dogs have gone tall in the first round for a few drafts in a row and so have some quality kids coming through already (Everitt, Cordy, Grant).

Sheppard is a hard working half-back/midfielder who will fit perfectly into the Bulldogs' running game and would be able to slot into the side pretty much straight away.

Pick 17 Geelong- Jasper McMillan-Pittard 186cm 74kg Utility Geelong Falcons

Geelong don't have problems "reaching" for players and I think with the departure of Harley, it is time to get a replacement. Jasper loves to play the same styled role as Harley and should make a great replacement in years to come. He will combine with Taylor to provide some solid defence.

Can kick on both sides of his body and is agile. While he does not have the height and strength of Harley, he should be a great rebounding defender.

Thought I would shake up the draft order a little.

I've been trying to decide between 5 players all day, and it hasn't been an easy choice because they are all very different players. Thankfully Tarquin just picked one of them, but that didn't really make my decision any easier.

Nathan Vardy and Sam Reid were considered, as they are the two next best talls in the draft. While Allen Christensen was considered as he would compliment the games of Trengove/Scully very nicely. But in the end....

Pick 18 Melbourne: Troy Taylor - 188cm, 81kg

I'm an unashamed Troy Taylor fan, and took the position of his #1 fan months ago now. And that is probably why I have decided to take him here. Given I have already picked two near certain stars (Trengove and Scully) and one of the top 2 talls in the draft (Carlisle), I figure I can take a risk here.

Based purely on potential and skill, Taylor would be a top 5 pick. He plays inside the forward 50, and after a few years I could see him having stints in the middle of the ground, but for now his endurance will mean he will stay around the goals. He might not be exactly what Melbourne need, but put him next to Jurrah and no team in the AFL could match up on them.

Richmond - Pick 19 - Ben Griffths
Monster Foward, Should fit Richmonds whole in the Forward line.
Considered: Bastinac, Black, Duncan

Pick 20 - Fremantle - Aaron Black
Exciting athletic key position that has great hands. One of those kids with natural football smarts and reads the play very well. He is versatile to go through the spine but if drafted by Fremantle I expect he will be left to do what he does best, kick goals. Another WA boy will keep the fans happy as well.

AFL Comparison: Paddy Ryder
Also Considered: Mitch Duncan, Ryan Bastinac

Pick 21 - North Melbourne - Ryan Bastinac
A very good mid prospect capable of playing both inside and outside, he has excellent skills and ball winning ability which allows him to rack up some huge numbers. His endurance is outstanding and offsets his average pace, whilst I think he is fairly well developed and could slot straight into AFL. North need more mids and he is purely a best available at this stage, although I would have liked some pace and a tall forward.

Pick #22 - West Coast - Mitch Duncan
East Perth

A midfielder with a good footy brain, Duncan along with Lucas will add to the Eagles' midfield of the future. Not overly quick but a good user of the footy.

Also considered Colyer here.

Pick #23 - West Coast - Sam Reid
192cm, 84 kg, Murray Bushrangers

One of our three picks needed to be a tall and Reid is the best available for mine.
The brother of Collingwood's Ben, Reid is a promising key defender who hopefully will form a partnership with McKenzie in the future, allowing Mitch Brown to move forward.

You got Reid, I was hoping he would last to 25, seriously considered him at 21 though. Very underrated IMO, super athlete with strong hands and good disposal, I think he could make a very good CHF, with his marking and work rate.

Pick 25 - North Melbourne - Nat Fyfe

It was hard to decide this pick, but after taking two ball winners with the first two picks I thought a medium forward with X-factor who can take a game apart would add a great deal to North, who seem to lack options up forward. He has excellent marking ability and reads the play really well, his skills are very good, although not excellent, and his hands are generally good. Has reasonable pace, but very good endurance which will allow him to play up the ground.

Player like: Steve Johnson/ Brett Burton

Just to keep the ball rolling and it has been over 6 hours since the last selection.

Pick 26 Essendon - Callum Bartlett.

Essendon need some help around the midfield. They have their talls sorted for years to come and it is time to build on the running power. Bartlett before his injury was highly rated and looked likely to be a top 15 draft pick.

I think it is worth the risk for this highly talented midfielder.

ESSENDON RECRUITER - If you wish to change this selection. If teams select before you make the change, you can no longer select that player.

Pick 27 - Brisbane - Travis Colyer

Write up to follow, wanted Bartlett but.

Colyer would suit Brisbane perfectly, he is a very quick and agile goal kicking mid who is very good inside and out. His skills are above average, although he needs to improve his goal kicking, and he is a strong tackler. He will probably start as a crumber, which he has all the tools to be very good, and have stints in the middle due to his endurance. Issues over is height, 175cm, but he is quite strong around the core which helps.

Just to keep the ball rolling and it has been over 6 hours since the last selection.

Pick 26 Essendon - Callum Bartlett.

Essendon need some help around the midfield. They have their talls sorted for years to come and it is time to build on the running power. Bartlett before his injury was highly rated and looked likely to be a top 15 draft pick.

I think it is worth the risk for this highly talented midfielder.

ESSENDON RECRUITER - If you wish to change this selection. If teams select before you make the change, you can no longer select that player.
Nah mate, It's fine. Sorry about the delay,
Was sick and wasn't able to go on the computer for the day