Phuket

Maby we should have a bigfooty meet up? haha.. I fly out on the 1st Feb for 10 days, staying at the Patong Beach Hotel. The one right next to the banana disco, so hoping its allright, going with 4 other mates should be good :thumbsu: first time for me as well, kind of a graduation from uni thing!

Hahaha sounds good to me, well if you see a person wearing Footy Jumpers you know who it is:D:thumbsu:

How many times have you been to Thailand?

Amari Coral is also a top hotel, located on its own private beach

I have only been once, but mum and step dad are going with friends again this march but i couldn't afford to take any time off, so im thinking instead of going to schoolies go back to thaildand and some other places.

How many times have you been?

Patong. Also the Siam Cobra show is great.

It is a great show, here is a photo I took of the show.

THAIALND240.jpg

dscf1355kl0.jpg

Had a beer with the three blokes after the show, two of them(The snake handlers) could barely speak any English. The other one (DJ Guy) was pretty cool.

I have only been once, but mum and step dad are going with friends again this march but i couldn't afford to take any time off, so im thinking instead of going to schoolies go back to thaildand and some other places.

How many times have you been?

Just asking because you claimed Patong Merlin to be far and away the best hotel in Thailand, when it would probably be no-where near the best!

been twice, going again next week.

Hahaha sounds good to me, well if you see a person wearing Footy Jumpers you know who it is:D:thumbsu:
Dont laugh, but wearing footy jumpers is a great way of attracting aussie chicks. They come to you like a moth to a flame.

If you think wearing footy jumpers is going to get you noticed then your very mistaken. You and the other 1000 Aussie Blokes walking around :)

I went over to Thailand this time last year for a month.

Spent the first week in Patong and it was good fun. Though I found it very similar to Bali: lots of nightlife, cheap and tasty food, and lots of shopping. Though after 5-6 days I was getting a bot over it.

We then jumped on a boat and went to Phi Phi for another week which was great. Still doing a fair bit of redevelopment after the tsunami but again managed to have an awesome time, one thing Id recommend is getting on one of the long boats, we had this guy that took us snorkelling around all the surrounding islands (he also had a bit of mary jane which certainly enhanced the experience).

But the best was after PHi Phi, we jumped on another boat and went down to Koh Lanta for about 8 days which was easily the best, the nightlife wasnt as huge though we had an awesome hotel and we would just wander down the beach and chill out at many of the beach bars, sooooooo relaxing.

Went and spent some time in Bangkok after that but I thought it was a bit of a dump. Wandered round heaps but after Koh Lanta nothing was as good.

Just a question for people who have been there before...do u think that after a while tailand can get a boring, its just that option has come up for me to study there for 6 months. Would i be bored out of my brain after a few weeks, there alone.
Thanks

Just a question for people who have been there before...do u think that after a while tailand can get a boring, its just that option has come up for me to study there for 6 months. Would i be bored out of my brain after a few weeks, there alone.
Thanks
It will be boring if you are boring, if you can entertain yourself and have fun and meet people then you will have a blast.

Maby we should have a bigfooty meet up? haha.. I fly out on the 1st Feb for 10 days, staying at the Patong Beach Hotel. The one right next to the banana disco, so hoping its allright, going with 4 other mates should be good :thumbsu: first time for me as well, kind of a graduation from uni thing!

Have stayed at the Patong Beach Hotel - quite impressive, service spot on and the staff lovely :thumbsu:

Is that the one in Patong or Karon? im staying at the Karon one in two weeks.

The Horizon Karon Resort & Spa shites on their Patong hotel. From what I saw of the Horizon Patong it looked ok-ish, at least close to everything, but not for me. I came back to Oz Jan 5 this year after spending 2 weeks there over Xmas/New Year. This was my 2nd time Xmas hols in a row staying at Horizon Karon. Highly recommend it. The staff were absoeffinglutely marvelous. Over Xmas a lot of Scandanavians stay there tho we met a few Aussies. As a single person travelling with another single we were upgraded to the Club Wing - the no kids wing (bliss), swim up pool bar etc etc. If you are taking a Girl Friend/Wife to Phuket I'd pick Karon, the beach goes for miles, there are plenty of eateries, shopping etc etc, but if you are going for fun and game ;) stay in Patong. Kata is just south of Karon (about 5mins walk from Horizon) it is even quieter but just as nice. Also, I noted cafes and shopping in Karon is cheaper than Patong. FYI if you get to the back street of Patong that run parrallel to the main beach road you'll come across a regular air con shopping mall about half way along - the watches/T shirts/Sunglasses that are sold in little booths around the mall are just about the same price as the ones that you have to barter for.

If you happen to be in Karon and hanging out for a pasta feed i highly recommend Sorrentos in the main drag just before you get to Kata - best brucetta i ever tasted.

The Horizon Karon Resort & Spa shites on their Patong hotel. From what I saw of the Horizon Patong it looked ok-ish, at least close to everything, but not for me. I came back to Oz Jan 5 this year after spending 2 weeks there over Xmas/New Year. This was my 2nd time Xmas hols in a row staying at Horizon Karon. Highly recommend it. The staff were absoeffinglutely marvelous. Over Xmas a lot of Scandanavians stay there tho we met a few Aussies. As a single person travelling with another single we were upgraded to the Club Wing - the no kids wing (bliss), swim up pool bar etc etc. If you are taking a Girl Friend/Wife to Phuket I'd pick Karon, the beach goes for miles, there are plenty of eateries, shopping etc etc, but if you are going for fun and game ;) stay in Patong. Kata is just south of Karon (about 5mins walk from Horizon) it is even quieter but just as nice. Also, I noted cafes and shopping in Karon is cheaper than Patong. FYI if you get to the back street of Patong that run parrallel to the main beach road you'll come across a regular air con shopping mall about half way along - the watches/T shirts/Sunglasses that are sold in little booths around the mall are just about the same price as the ones that you have to barter for.

If you happen to be in Karon and hanging out for a pasta feed i highly recommend Sorrentos in the main drag just before you get to Kata - best brucetta i ever tasted.

Thanks for the tips Gabbie! We (me and GF) fly out Monday arvo, cant wait!

BTW, have you heard of overbooking of Horizon Karon, where they move you to a different hotel on the first night then upgrade you to priveledge club for the rest of your stay? Seems common on the tripadvisor.com reviews.....

Thanks for the tips Gabbie! We (me and GF) fly out Monday arvo, cant wait!

BTW, have you heard of overbooking of Horizon Karon, where they move you to a different hotel on the first night then upgrade you to priveledge club for the rest of your stay? Seems common on the tripadvisor.com reviews.....

Yes i happened to participate in a conversation around the pool bar with some ozzies and 3 welsh guys - the welsh guys had that happen to them and were moved for their last 2 days to the horizon patong - they didn't mind - tho if that happens to you on your arrival and it's only for one night and they promise you the privilege club - take the offer tho it never happened to me. We were upgraded to privilege club wing at no extra expense but we weren't able to use the coffee shop in the block (big woop) everything else was good. FYI their restaurants are in a separate building, ground, 2nd and top (where breakky is served - grrrreat food). Also, I hope you are fit as the resort is on the side of a not so steepish hill - not that far to walk and they do provide a tuk tuk til 6pm to pick you up if you can't be fagged walking - put it like this - i'm no athlete and it didn't worry my. there is a phone at the bottom of the hill that u pick up and call the concierge to pick u up. Also. the street goes down to the main road, cross over to right to beach or walk along for eats etc, also to the right, on the cornner the girls at Number One Massage do the best foot massage and thai massage for peanuts - they also take in washing/ironing - it cost me $6ish for 2kgs of washing and ironing. To your right at bottom of hill you tackle the street/footpath/trafiic to walk to eats etc. there is a place almost first on the left that charge cheap for their eats - forget the name but it is incorporated with a 2 star accommodation - e.g. 180 baht or 195 baht will get u a plate with barbie prawns, green curry chicken rice and some fish - all on the plate - thats around $6 or so . The fruit shakes at Dinos are very good - u can get a reasonable burger there if u are sick of thai food. The massage people are cheaper in the shops than the beach. the donuts sold on the beach are great.

phew phew and enjoy

Yes i happened to participate in a conversation around the pool bar with some ozzies and 3 welsh guys - the welsh guys had that happen to them and were moved for their last 2 days to the horizon patong - they didn't mind - tho if that happens to you on your arrival and it's only for one night and they promise you the privilege club - take the offer tho it never happened to me. We were upgraded to privilege club wing at no extra expense but we weren't able to use the coffee shop in the block (big woop) everything else was good. FYI their restaurants are in a separate building, ground, 2nd and top (where breakky is served - grrrreat food). Also, I hope you are fit as the resort is on the side of a not so steepish hill - not that far to walk and they do provide a tuk tuk til 6pm to pick you up if you can't be fagged walking - put it like this - i'm no athlete and it didn't worry my. there is a phone at the bottom of the hill that u pick up and call the concierge to pick u up. Also. the street goes down to the main road, cross over to right to beach or walk along for eats etc, also to the right, on the cornner the girls at Number One Massage do the best foot massage and thai massage for peanuts - they also take in washing/ironing - it cost me $6ish for 2kgs of washing and ironing. To your right at bottom of hill you tackle the street/footpath/trafiic to walk to eats etc. there is a place almost first on the left that charge cheap for their eats - forget the name but it is incorporated with a 2 star accommodation - e.g. 180 baht or 195 baht will get u a plate with barbie prawns, green curry chicken rice and some fish - all on the plate - thats around $6 or so . The fruit shakes at Dinos are very good - u can get a reasonable burger there if u are sick of thai food. The massage people are cheaper in the shops than the beach. the donuts sold on the beach are great.

phew phew and enjoy

Yeh not too fussed if it happens to me, as long as they compensate well :D

Thanks again!!!!

Stayed at Ban Thai in Patong - hotel was good and all, but Patong beach just sucked a big ass. Can't get excited about that place.

dscf1355kl0.jpg

Had a beer with the three blokes after the show, two of them(The snake handlers) could barely speak any English. The other one (DJ Guy) was pretty cool.

How funny were they...The shit they pulled with the crowd was full on!! They Thai people as a whole have a good sense of humour.

Was in Phuket for 10 nights and stayed at the holiday inn. We had a villa in the Busakorn wing, it has its own private pool separate to the main pool and the 2nd busakorn pool. If you stay there check out the photo albums in the reading room, they show the aftermath of the tsunami wrecking the hotel. It is truely surreal to see the carnage that was...quite sad. With that said it has been renovated to the hilt and looks/is fantastic. What ever your preconceived ideas are of a "Holiday Inn" hotel I can bet they will differ once you stay here!!

I went for my honeymoon and also stayed in some great hotels in Chang Mai, Bangkok & Koh Samui. The holiday Inn was my favorite based on location, amendities etc.

As others have said, make sure you hit Bangla Rd...the nightlife is second to none. I got inked up at a tattoo joint that a mate in the industry here recommended, it was about 30-40 metres to the left of the top of Bangla rd (away from the beach). It cost a fraction of the price it would here. Right near the tattoo joint is a little local restaurant called "Dang's", it has killer food at a great price.

Fantasea is worth checking out, that sort of thing isn't normally my scene but the production is sooo big you can't help but enjoy it (to give you an idea of the size there is a restaurant/buffet with great food that sits 5000!! The stage also has at one point over 20 elephants on it!!

John Gray sea canoes are a must as well as a visit to Phi Phi islands. Don't be afraid to barter as its expected but always do it with a smile on your face as its a sign of respect!

Gonna head back to Thailand next year for our 2nd wedding anniversary, can't wait as we fell in love with the joint.....my only bad memory was watching the crows get smashed by the bombers rnd 1 at an aussie bar in Samui....nothing a few buckets didn't fix though!!!

Phuket