hobart
Brisbane Lions
NHFC demons & SH/SB sharks
lets see what the crystal ball will come up with lions folks

my selection

billy morrison - north hobart fc - tall forward apprentice for lynch

come on then lets not be shy, lets see just who is in the know on this board !!

Ben Cosgriff.... damn good player... good size...
Murray Bushrangers
Aug 19, 85
186cm
90kg
AFL Website says: Medium, inside key forward. Excellent mark and kick who has physical strength and aggression. Is capable of playing in defence and providing run. From Shepparton FC.

watched the round 2 match between Vic Country & Vic Metro & thought he was a good player...

along with the likes of
Fergus Watts.. talll agile player but i rekcon he will be gone before 18....
same with walker
still like look of Ryley Dunn as well...

thats just what i rekcon... i havent seen any of those blokes play in the flesh.. just going on the game that i saw.. i just think that Ben is a tough player who would fit in well.....

would like to have Fergus Watts but Bill i hear is about the same height.. & Fergus you owuld thin k might go higher coz he did play in teh carnival... it was unfortunate for Billy that he did hurt himself & that may see him slip down a few spots from where i hear he really should be picked....

After reading various sources, Billy Morrison is not worth pick 18 or a pick in the top 20. He will be a worth a pick in the 20's or 30's so if we get him, we should wait for a later pick because he will be available still. I'll be surprised if he's picked up before pick 30.

With that said I hope that we do get him but I hope we don't get him with our first pick.

well i get very different mail burgerfats . but who is your selection ? put your money on someone !!

Is there any chance of getting a Qld boy on the team do ya reckon? Not that i'm doubting the other blokes & their talent but this is a Qld based team and we need more of the home grown stuff.

Pity we can't keep local players, such as Copeland.Its shocking that he has not been re-signed, and looks likely to be delisted.What message does that send to local Quuensland boys who want to play AFL.He played a damn good grand final, and this is the thnaks he gets.

Well the Big Footy Phantom Draft was interesting. I was Brisbane's representative and this is a summary of how I approached the draft.

Decided to go for a tall first - thinking of a post Lynch Brisbane. Even though I didn't think I was going to get him Fergus Watts was the original target, but as I expected he was taken at eight. I then shifted my attention to Bill Morrison, but he was taken at 14 by Adelaide. When Pick 18 came the two candidates were Llane Spaanderman and Matthew Spencer from WA. After umming and ahhing for a while and studying their profiles, I narrowly went for Spaanderman. At 199 cm and 100 kg aged 17, he might be just the ready made replacement for Lynch we need. Spencer would have been handy as well and maybe I should have selected him, but Spaanderman will be good.

The next type of player on the shopping list was a tall defender or medium type defender-runner. Jay Nash was the original target but went one pick before ours at 23. Michael Pettigrew was instead taken, as a possible replacement for Shane Morrison and back-up replacement for Leppitsch.

Having secured two tall players, the thought was now to secure some medium type forwards or defenders, mainly to replace players the likes of Ashcroft and Gram. Tom Logan and Jake Furfaro were the main candidates. I would have taken Logan at #33, had he been available, but he went at #30. Furfaro, who I would have drafted at #46 if I had secured Logan was instead selected at #33.

Paul Richardson, a 183 cm half back flanker-on baller was selected at #46. Hard at the ball, good skills, he was quite a bargain at that pick in my opinion. Good replacement for Ashcroft. Brad Symes was also considered, but he went beforehand at #42.

Josh Bartel a tall 191 cm wingman, who kicks the ball a mile was chosen next at #61. Saw him as as a Martin Pike/Tim Notting type of player and perhaps their eventual replacement.

One pick left. #68. Nothing to lose. Most good young players gone. Why not. Shane Harvey from Essendon. And yes, I do understand about the salary cap. In his favor he's a ready made replacement for Craig McRae/Damian Cupido. If Copeland is delisted and goes to Richmond, we'll pick up another young player in the pre-season draft.

Luke Herrington would probably be my pick if this was the case.

Leigh Ryswyk would be my first rookie listed player.

In the Phantom draft, the picks before ours were as follows:

1. Western Bulldogs - Adam Cooney
West Adelaide 30-Sep-85 186cm 81kg

2. Carlton - Colin Sylvia
Bendigo 8-Nov-85 183cm 82kg

3. Melbourne - Andrew Walker
Bendigo 18-May-86 189cm 83kg

ROUND 1:

4. Western Bulldogs - Kepler Bradley
West Perth 13-Nov-85 198cm 88kg

5. Melbourne - Kane Tenace
Murray 4-Jul-85 181cm 80kg

6. Essendon - Ricky Dyson
Northern Knights 28-Sep-85 181cm 75kg

7. Geelong - Raphael Clarke
St Marys (NT) 24-Sep-85 189cm 78kg

8. St Kilda - Fergus Watts
Sandringham 21-Sep-85 193cm 86kg

9. Kangaroos - Troy Chaplin
North Ballarat 23-Feb-86 193cm 85kg

10. Fremantle - Farren Ray
Peel Thunder 20-Mar-86 182cm 75kg

11. West Coast - Ryley Dunn
Murray 7-Oct-85 182cm 81kg

12. Fremantle - Brock McLean
Calder 11-Mar-86 182cm 86kg

13. Essendon - Jacob Surjan
South Fremantle 15-Aug-85 180cm 75kg

14. Adelaide - Billy Morrison
Tassie Mariners 6-Jun-86 193cm 90kg

15. Port Adelaide - William Gayfer
Murray 12-Jul-85 192cm 91kg

16. Sydney - David Mundy
Murray 20-Jul-85 190cm 83kg

17. Collingwood - Daniel McConnell
Eastern Ranges 21-Jun-86 190cm 83kg

I wouldn't be surprised if Tom Logan was an early choice for the Lions

nice work CJ... it was pick #49 that he got taken with but u did very well & i reckon he will be a damn good lil player

& roylion... thanks for doing the phantom draft for the lions.. & u picked very well as well... to get the #1 pick for us is great... good work

But you have no idea...

Originally posted by dasler
You realise Brisbane just wasted pick 18

Dasler,

You didn't really rate Ray or Bradley and they went at 4 and 6.

You rated Surjan and Duffield and they didn't get drafted at all.

Maybe its just that you are a very poor judge of talent.

Re: But you have no idea...

Originally posted by Phaedrus
Dasler,

You didn't really rate Ray or Bradley and they went at 4 and 6.

You rated Surjan and Duffield and they didn't get drafted at all.

Maybe its just that you are a very poor judge of talent.

Maybe it's you are a Victorian ********?

I never said i didn't rate Farren, I said Kepler needs alot of work to physically be up to it. Farren IS the best WA player this year, so don't twist words.

Surjan should have been drafted, that I am absolutely certain of. If you are in the know as you suggest, then you would have known that.

pick #18 who and why !!