The Artist Formerly Known As Kristof
10k Posts
Soft spot for Brisbane
Well, it's an idea.

Now, I feel happier. Monfries or Eckermann (or Wood? Can't see it -) at eight, best player who has slipped at 24 (Grundy? Whoever. Best available, regardless of where they're from), best available ruckman at 28 (Gibson, Shaw, Maric) -

- and the enigma at 40.

I think the crows should pick Jupiner at pick 40 as well. He sounds like a very talented young player. I think the crows should pick two midfielders, a ruckman and Jupiner in the national draft. If they cant get a ruckman then go for another midfielder.

Crowman32 said:
I think the crows should pick Jupiner at pick 40 as well. He sounds like a very talented young player. I think the crows should pick two midfielders, a ruckman and Jupiner in the national draft. If they cant get a ruckman then go for another midfielder.

Juniper could be gone in the late 30's from what is being said.

I'd be really happy if we could get something like;

#8 - Angus Monfries
#24 - Ivan Maric
#28 - Bain
#40 - Juniper

I would pick up Adam Pattison with pick 40.

198 cm / 90 kg, CHF/CHB/Ruckman. Had huge second half of the year, strong mark, big engine and huge heart. He can become a pretty handy player as a KPP or a ruckman.

Would also seriously consider Jarred Moore later in draft. I reckon this kid could prove to be a real bargain.

I would consider Jesse D smith, they say he's slow but he's not actually
Jesse D Smith
Details:
Club: Rupertswood/Calder
DOB: 20 February 1986 Hgt: 183cm Wgt: 83kg
Position: Onballer
Natural Foot: Right

Honours:
Victoria Metro 2004
TAC Cup Medal (Best player in Grand Final) 2004
Calder Best and Fairest 2004
State Screening Camp 2004

TAC Stats:
2002: 5 games, 1 goal, 12.0 PPG
2003: 18 games, 32 goals, 15.5 PPG
2004: 18 games, 14 goals, 23.8 PPG

Strengths: The 'other' Jesse Smith has made himself a creative centreman after playing last year as a forward. His ability to perform well in two very different positions has been impressive. He was awesome in the TAC Cup Grand Final, gathering over 35 touches.

Smith is excellent at the clearances and will win a lot of contested footy. He has good courage and fantastic goal sense, he is adept at snapping a goal or two. Kicking is usually pretty good.

Weaknesses: The main concern with Smith is his pace - I wouldn't think he is overly quick and that's a big concern when drafting midfielders these days.

Footydraft.com comment: If a club is after an inside midfielder Smith is one of the better performed over the year. However, his lack of pace might see him forced into the VFL to prove he can cut it at a higher level

Jack Juniper 190 cm / 79 kg

Don't know about you but I am nervous whenever I see a player listed as 190 cm and as a KPP. To me that is "in-between" height and more often than not those players get delisted after 2 years on the list. Unless he is slightly taller and a "true" KPP or he is capable of playing ont he wing or onball, I would pass.

crowsarethebest said:
Now footydraft.com has Wood at pick 9. Meeson is at pick 7 now.... and we have monfries at 8
I think it will be VERY interesting to see who we pick up if both Wood and Monfries are available. I would hate to be the one making the decision. Its a line ball and thats me proclaiming my bias for Monfries.

juniper is being strongly courted by both WA clubs. the dockers have their first pick in the 50's so i think they are out of the equation if another club wants him. from what ive been told the eagles have a teacher at Sacred Heart who does abit of scouting for them. also redden is expected to be gone by pick 15 for those interested.

McLeod23 said:
I'd be really happy if we could get something like;

#8 - Angus Monfries
#24 - Ivan Maric
#28 - Bain
#40 - Juniper

I would take C Gibson with pick 28. He is hard at it, just what we need more of. As for the rest of your picks, fingers crossed.

The only problem with getting Juniper at pick 40 is we don't have a pick 40. Unfortunately we decided to only disgard Gallagher and retain the rest of the current list therfore we had to give away pick 40.
I must say I am dissappointed as I believe there are some real smokies to be had and we have in the past done well with late picks..

crowsarethebest said:
Now footydraft.com has Wood at pick 9. Meeson is at pick 7 now.... and we have monfries at 8

Oy.

I think, if that happens - we go Wood at eight, and midfielders for both picks in the 20's ...

Including Jarrad Moore, who has REALLY slipped (Inside Footy has him top ten, footydraft.com has him in the FIFTIES). Or Ed Clarke? One of these "slower" footballers, who can just get the footy ... though, obviously, neither in the 20's, but as our pick 40.

Of course, Moore is slow, AND somehow top ten at the camp this year over 30m ...

Custard1952 said:
The only problem with getting Juniper at pick 40 is we don't have a pick 40. Unfortunately we decided to only disgard Gallagher and retain the rest of the current list therfore we had to give away pick 40.
I must say I am dissappointed as I believe there are some real smokies to be had and we have in the past done well with late picks..
Yes we do.

Roo has been moved on veterans list and Hart is likely to be moved as well.

So we WILL have pick 40 and a pick in teh pre-season draft.

Kristof said:
Oy.

I think, if that happens - we go Wood at eight, and midfielders for both picks in the 20's ...

Including Jarrad Moore, who has REALLY slipped (Inside Footy has him top ten, footydraft.com has him in the FIFTIES). Or Ed Clarke? One of these "slower" footballers, who can just get the footy ... though, obviously, neither in the 20's, but as our pick 40.

Of course, Moore is slow, AND somehow top ten at the camp this year over 30m ...
I think we will go with Wood @ 8 if he is still available.

I suggested Moore in another thread. He is already developed as far as body goes (178 cm / 84 kg) and he keeps getting the footy. Inside midfielder who has good disposal. He finisehd top 10 in 20m sprint at the draft camp with 3.00 sec (quicker than Monfries). Footydraft.com compares him a bit to Sam Mitchell. If he is that good I would take him in a second. Moore is quicker than Mitchell.

SpringChoke said:
I would take C Gibson with pick 28. He is hard at it, just what we need more of. As for the rest of your picks, fingers crossed.

does anyone of u crows people know much about gibson??

he sounds pretty attractive. performed really well in speed, agility, jump etc at the draft camp. a good height at 194cm and a very good size at 91kgs considering how athletic he is. also from what ive read he is really hard at it and a strong mark. all this and he's bottom age!!

what am i missing here?? on paper he sounds very enticing. all i can presume is that he isnt very cluey on the footy field or he has a poor kick :confused:

theorangeapple said:
does anyone of u crows people know much about gibson??

he sounds pretty attractive. performed really well in speed, agility, jump etc at the draft camp. a good height at 194cm and a very good size at 91kgs considering how athletic he is. also from what ive read he is really hard at it and a strong mark. all this and he's bottom age!!

what am i missing here?? on paper he sounds very enticing. all i can presume is that he isnt very cluey on the footy field or he has a poor kick :confused:
He is just SO raw and he hasn't played anywhere else but ruck for his entire career. He will need to learn how to play new position and some players aren't really capable of that because of their natural instinct. I guess the fact that he is raw and that he is a bit of a risk might be the reason he is lower than "impressions" suggest.

I would prefer to get Monfries, I havent seen alot of him but what I have seen I have liked.

This is nothing against Wood as I have never seem him play but big men seem to be a little bit more hit and miss and I wouldnt feel comfortable using our top pick on a tall. I think you can get a capable ruckman further into the draft.
Thats just me though. :o

Blue Red and Gold said:
I would prefer to get Monfries, I havent seen alot of him but what I have seen I have liked.

This is nothing against Wood as I have never seem him play but big men seem to be a little bit more hit and miss and I wouldnt feel comfortable using our top pick on a tall. I think you can get a capable ruckman further into the draft.

No, it's not just you. ;)

I see it exactly the same way you do for the same reasons.

Monfries for me every time if he's available. We'll still get a decent young ruck prospect at 24 IMO.

Blue Red and Gold said:

Agree. That worries me too. Monfries for me.

I have a feeling this guy is something a bit special. I had this same feeling about Pavlich and was really disapointed when we picked Kenny Mc. instead. Kenny has obviously turned out to be a really good lad but Pavlich is better. I hope we pick him, I'd just hate to see him killing them for someone else, especially Port.

No 1 Draft Pick said:
Crowked said:
I have a feeling this guy is something a bit special. I had this same feeling about Pavlich and was really disapointed when we picked Kenny Mc. instead.

Wasnt Pavlich taken at 3 or 4 in the draft - how could we have got him?

He was available at the previous draft as well, but not picked. We picked Kenny. I have a mate at WWT, who said Pav was something out of the ordinary and his was.