Pick 67: Jeromey Webberley

Name: Jeromey Webberley
DOB: 12/7/1988
Weight: 78kg
Height: 181cm
Club Recruited From: Clarence
Position: Utility
Bio: Hard running rebounding defender with a penetrating kick and exceptional endurance. Was runner up in the TSFL B&F award this year.

have seen webberley play live about 10 times. he just runs all day off the half back line setting up plenty of scoring chains. is a really good kick off the footy on the right boot dosnt have much off a left though. can give it a real roost to, kicked the winning goal in the gf for clarence from 53m off 2 steps on the boundary. is silky in his movements to regulary baulking and working his way around and through tackles.

finished runner up in the state player of the year which wasnt surprising considering he had 30 disposals most weeks, even had 40 a few times (45 was his best). real think he will make it as an afl player off the half back flank. at 67 i see him as a steal. if he wasnt 21 i rekan he would of went top 30:thumbsu: over the moon to have this bloke at the club, probably my favourite selection of the night:)

have seen webberley play live about 10 times. he just runs all day off the half back line setting up plenty of scoring chains. is a really good kick off the footy on the right boot dosnt have much off a left though. can give it a real roost to, kicked the winning goal in the gf for clarence from 53m off 2 steps on the boundary. is silky in his movements to regulary baulking and working his way around and through tackles.

finished runner up in the state player of the year which wasnt surprising considering he had 30 disposals most weeks, even had 40 a few times (45 was his best). real think he will make it as an afl player off the half back flank. at 67 i see him as a steal. if he wasnt 21 i rekan he would of went top 30:thumbsu: over the moon to have this bloke at the club, probably my favourite selection of the night:)
Nice report mate. Always happy to hear from someone who hs actually seen these guys play.
Apart from a weak left foot, does he have any glaring weaknesses?

Nice report mate. Always happy to hear from someone who hs actually seen these guys play.
Apart from a weak left foot, does he have any glaring weaknesses?
hmm i guess you could say his size, he can get crunched by the big fellas but he usually has the awareness to avoid them and like i said is great on his feet and rarely gets caught with the footy.

Thanks pal. Do you think he's better suited to a rebounding defender or small forward?

Webberley - words that come to mind; quick, explosive, elusive, penetrating kick.

Watched him somewhere between 10-15 times this year (must have seen you at least once Foles) and predicted someone would take a punt on him in the ND when taking my Mock Draft selections.

His ability to add run and dash off the half back flank is amazing, and he's a link player who gives off the ball,runs hard, receives, gives it off and sprints to get it again.

Kicking is penetrating and he covers 50 metres quite easily, and I'd have him as a good kicker rather than an amazing one as far as accuracy goes.

In all the games I watched him played, I never saw him tackled with the ball - his ability to back-pedal, sidestep and get out of trouble is truly sensational.

Jeromey isn't of a big build, and I believe that helps him with his evasiveness, but he'll want to get bigger over the Pre-season to step straight into AFL. Has really good goal sense and could play off both the forward and back flanks but I'd put him as a back flanker.

Webberley - words that come to mind; quick, explosive, elusive, penetrating kick.

Watched him somewhere between 10-15 times this year (must have seen you at least once Foles) and predicted someone would take a punt on him in the ND when taking my Mock Draft selections.

His ability to add run and dash off the half back flank is amazing, and he's a link player who gives off the ball,runs hard, receives, gives it off and sprints to get it again.

Kicking is penetrating and he covers 50 metres quite easily, and I'd have him as a good kicker rather than an amazing one as far as accuracy goes.

In all the games I watched him played, I never saw him tackled with the ball - his ability to back-pedal, sidestep and get out of trouble is truly sensational.

Jeromey isn't of a big build, and I believe that helps him with his evasiveness, but he'll want to get bigger over the Pre-season to step straight into AFL. Has really good goal sense and could play off both the forward and back flanks but I'd put him as a back flanker.

geezuz TFLUA after reading that I picture a hybrid of Judd/Ablett, what's he like overhead:confused:

From the few games I saw of him I think its a good pick late in the draft. Solid player, bit skinny as mentioned but can take a hit and get straight back up from what I have seen, be a good player off half back.

Nice work mate. One of the better posters on here with good reason. You know your stuff.
I just hope he can make the step up from Tassie footy to the big time/ That's a big query IMO.

great, thanks for the feedback!

I heard they had a smokie that they were super happy about for a late pick, he must be it, looking forward to seeing him out there.

Clarence, that's my footy club too... when i lived there :)

Well it sounds like it might be the end for Jake King at least we can hope. Sounds good but as Tugga said the step up is the big Q. At 21 he wont be given too much time. Good Luck Jeromey.

Seen him play a few times this year and have to admit the first time I saw him run with the ball, dish off, sprint forward and receive & then hit Dutton (FF) on the lead I turned to my mate and said WHO THE F$#K IS THAT:eek:. Then he did it again........:eek:.

He had a stellar season for Clarence and if he can take that form to AFL he will get some games without doubt.:thumbsu: As he is a dominate right footer he naturally plays down the right side and if RFC can find his left boot then great. Although I don't see him as a 150+ player he could be more than handy for a few years as a running back flanker. IMO he will put pressure on guys like MCMahon, Polo, White, Edwards for their spots.

He would have played a fair bit of junior footy with JR so no doubt he should fit in pretty well.

Actually I will go so far as to say he should play more games in 2010 than McMahon, he is after all 21 and ready to go;)

Good value pick late in the draft:thumbsu:

Pick 67: Jeromey Webberley