• midfielder

Votes: 24 50.0%
  • KPP

Votes: 24 50.0%

Richo83 said:
IMO, Everitt will be taken before the third round. Could be wrong, but looks a bit better than pick 42.

Is he rated very highly?

Apart from his name is he not just a run-on-the-millish HBFer?

I spose he won't be around come our 3rd rounder.

As for Selwood, bents, who would you pick if Selwood goes?

James Sellar - many had him rated as #1 before a poor outing where he appears to have dropped alot. Would be over the moon if he slips to #8. Sounds and looks a more than handy prospect. Would make up for comming 9th ;)

Leuenberger - looks outstanding the couple times I've seen him on foxfooty. It appears of late alot of people reckon his stocks have risen? Do we need another (gun) ruckman?

To throw one from left feild: Eric Mackenzie - been very impressed with this lad every time I've seen him. Mate at Claremont also reckons he is the best thing since sliced bread. Could be that good, attacking CHB we have been looking for. Regardless who we get first round, if we could pick him up 2nd round I'd be overall pleased (abit like snactching Hughes @ 24, sort of made up for JON going abit high last year).

Would you be happy with Proud? I certinally would be reasonably happy, as he seems like he has the pace, skill and ball winning ability to be a good player.

TBH - I have not seen much of Proud thus I won't comment. Going by all reports he sounds a Wallace-type. Wouldn't surpise if we picked him up.

Riewoldt looks like the 5th best KPP, so if the top 4 go and we are looking for a KPP, Riewoldt might come our way. Another one is Benjamin, 192cm, fast can play many positions.

I was not impressed with Jack Riewoldt when I saw him. Don't think he is worth our first rounder. 2nd rounder :thumbsu: Again though, you'd think he'd be long gone by then.

Someting like like:
8 - Sellwood/Sellar
24 - Riewoldt/Benjamin/Mackenzie/Reid

would be happy times.

I'm puzzled by bents. He says that we definetly need a KPP forward, and the best option looks ilke Riewoldt, yet he doesn't want Richmond to take him. :confused:

Why is he the next best option?

He has looked average when I've seen him.

Big gap between Gumbleton, Thorp ... .. .. and then Reiwoldt.

And BTW on OK, give him time ffs. He is still a teenager and has played all of half a dozen games. Wasn't my preferred pick at no. 8, but oh well.

Why give him hime?

If he is average then don't draft him with a top 10 pick in a strong draft.

Tambling was the "best available" at the time, as he was touted as the second best out of the draft, so picking Tambling was picking the "best available" as at no. 4 he was seen as the best player available.

Franklin was 'touted' as the Black Reiwoldt (the proper one, not this Jack rubbish) and has all the tools to end up one of the very most dominate players in the league. Again, I fail to understand how Franklin was rated about Tambling in terms of being "best available".

"best available" = rubbish term that has no use in the real world.

tiger4life said:
I think he wants Richmond to take a KPP, but with their second pick.
After the top 4 KPP (Thorp, Gumbleton, Hansen and Sellar) there is a bit of a drop to the next best, so we can wait until pick #26 to draft someone like Riewoldt (if he slips that far),Reid, Mackenzie, Everitt, Brown, Benjamin etc.

That's just me saying what i think until bents comes and gives his opinion.

Also, I definately want us to take either selwood or proud with our 1st pick, unless one of the super-talented KPP slides to us.

Amen.

Bentleigh said:
My oath.

1st Round: Sellwood
2nd Round: (one of) Riewoldt/Benjamin/Mackenzie/Reid

= :)

be super happy with that
Proud or hilsop to add with Selwood:thumbsu:
Benjamin or Mackenzie:thumbsu:
And maybe Daniel Conners 3rd round:)

Delediodelight said:
be super happy with that
Proud or hilsop to add with Selwood:thumbsu:
Benjamin or Mackenzie:thumbsu:
And maybe Daniel Conners 3rd round:)

Sounds like a plan.

I'll have a party if that happens.

Bentleigh said:
Is he rated very highly?

Apart from his name is he not just a run-on-the-millish HBFer?

I spose he won't be around come our 3rd rounder.

I guess, the only reason why I say otherwise is that he is always touted between 20 and 30, but it could happen.

Bentleigh said:
James Sellar - many had him rated as #1 before a poor outing where he appears to have dropped alot. Would be over the moon if he slips to #8. Sounds and looks a more than handy prospect. Would make up for comming 9th ;)

Leuenberger - looks outstanding the couple times I've seen him on foxfooty. It appears of late alot of people reckon his stocks have risen? Do we need another (gun) ruckman?

To throw one from left feild: Eric Mackenzie - been very impressed with this lad every time I've seen him. Mate at Claremont also reckons he is the best thing since sliced bread. Could be that good, attacking CHB we have been looking for. Regardless who we get first round, if we could pick him up 2nd round I'd be overall pleased (abit like snactching Hughes @ 24, sort of made up for JON going abit high last year).

I fear that Sellar and Selwood will go though. McKenzie looks okay, but might not be the TW type, as he is seen as this big lumbering CHF type, not TW's type of quick skilled players.

Bentleigh said:
I was not impressed with Jack Riewoldt when I saw him. Don't think he is worth our first rounder. 2nd rounder :thumbsu: Again though, you'd think he'd be long gone by then.

Someting like like:
8 - Sellwood/Sellar
24 - Riewoldt/Benjamin/Mackenzie/Reid

would be happy times.

Why is he the next best option?

He has looked average when I've seen him.

Big gap between Gumbleton, Thorp ... .. .. and then Reiwoldt.

True, big gap. It's more likely to be something like Proud then Ried or McKenzie IMO. Will be shocked (and very happy) if Sellar falls our way. You'd think that Riewoldt would go in the first round, possibl to the Saints, but look at Hughes last year so anything could happen.

Bentleigh said:
Why give him hime?

If he is average then don't draft him with a top 10 pick in a strong draft.

Ahh, i'm talking about Oakley-Nicholls, not Riewoldt

Bentleigh said:
Franklin was 'touted' as the Black Reiwoldt (the proper one, not this Jack rubbish) and has all the tools to end up one of the very most dominate players in the league. Again, I fail to understand how Franklin was rated about Tambling in terms of being "best available".

"best available" = rubbish term that has no use in the real world.

Agree, what is best available, who is better, Brown or Judd? It's circumstancial.

Albert Proud,

Hes tuff, hard and fast with good skills and a good footy brain :thumbsu:

and he likes a fight.......:thumbsu:

just get him :D

Polak!
While I realise the moment we get rid of him, he is going to be a star.
I am sure freo supporters and freo would trade Polak for pick 8

Which we would then hopefully on trade to the doggies for Ray...Thats the dream anyway.

Now I realise a few of you will be up in arms with this suggestion.
So if you reject my offer please some REASONABLE alternatives would be appreciated.

sabre_ac said:
Polak!

Which we would then hopefully on trade to the doggies for Ray...Thats the dream anyway.

So if you reject my offer please some REASONABLE alternatives would be appreciated.

You wont get pick 8, as Wallace has already said we wont be trading our 1st rd. pick.

Something involving Karkouer is something we would look at. Dont forget that polak cant break into ur 22 nor is his past exactly clean and i think that lower is value.

I read somewhere that a 3rd strike is not good for you career, but what that has to do with polak i'll never know.

1. Proud sounds a little like a Daniel Kerr. Would be a good pickup.
2. We are far to impaitent with the kids. Give them some time before we assess.
3. Tigers should still pick up the best available, we need a KPP and another class midfielder. The midfielder might be easier to get later in the draft.
4. Benjamin sounds like the type of player that TW would be interested in but I think we have enough of that type now.

sabre_ac said:
Polak!

We keep pick 8 and you keep Polak, that is rather reasonable.

All this talk about player X not falling through to our Pick is quite funny. Firstly everyone is basing the assumptions on a what they have seen on tape/live. There is still the Draft camp and with that player interviews. The Players tipped to go after Gibbs may come across as complete morons(doubt it) and a poor interview could see a Hansen, Gumbleton or Leuenberger fall down the list to 8. Secondly, remember everyone thought that Tambling would be at the Hawks and Roughead would be a Tiger and they ended up changing. There are always surprises come draft day and we could end up with 1 of the best so maybe just wait until whispers come out from Draft camp.

Calcium Man said:
You wont get pick 8, as Wallace has already said we wont be trading our 1st rd. pick.

Something involving Karkouer is something we would look at. Dont forget that polak cant break into ur 22 nor is his past exactly clean and i think that lower is value.

I read somewhere that a 3rd strike is not good for you career, but what that has to do with polak i'll never know.

'Unless it gets us a young, long term 100 game + good player'

I think was the clause to that statement.

Wally07 said:
1. Proud sounds a little like a Daniel Kerr. Would be a good pickup.

If he turns out 3/4's the player Kerr is then Proud would be a steal @ 8.

2. We are far to impaitent with the kids. Give them some time before we assess.

How so?

Tivendale - 27
Knobel - 26
Hall - 25
Hyde - 24
Krakouer - 23
Rodan - 22
Moore - 22

3. Tigers should still pick up the best available, we need a KPP and another class midfielder. The midfielder might be easier to get later in the draft.

'best available' is a stupid expession that has no use in the real world.

4. Benjamin sounds like the type of player that TW would be interested in but I think we have enough of that type now.

I don't think Wallace will ever have too much of those types.

Realistic Tiger said:
All this talk about player X not falling through to our Pick is quite funny. Firstly everyone is basing the assumptions on a what they have seen on tape/live. There is still the Draft camp and with that player interviews. The Players tipped to go after Gibbs may come across as complete morons(doubt it) and a poor interview could see a Hansen, Gumbleton or Leuenberger fall down the list to 8.

Gibbs, Gumbleton & Hansen having such a bad draft camp/interview that they drop to 8?

Highly doubt it.

Leuenberger, perhaps. But so we really need him? Does Wallace want to give up a top 10 pick in a stong draft on a ruckman when he is after 'JON-types', for a ruckman?

I can see us overlooking him ie. Hurn.

Secondly, remember everyone thought that Tambling would be at the Hawks and Roughead would be a Tiger and they ended up changing. There are always surprises come draft day and we could end up with 1 of the best so maybe just wait until whispers come out from Draft camp.

But everyone also said that: Deledio/Tambling/Griffen/Franklin/Roughhead were the outstanding 5, and indeed they all went top 5.

Everyone is now saying Gibbs/Hansen/Gumbleton .. Sellar/Sellwood/Leuenberger/Throp are now the outstanding 7. Its a pretty safe bet they will be close to going top 7, ie. class of 2004.

If that is the case, then I'd be happy with Proud. Remember though bentleigh that many bottom 8 sides (Geelong, Brisbane, Hawthorn) are looking to put some pace in the midfield. You could see Jetta in the top seven. Unlikely yes, but still a outside chance.

If that gets us a Sellar or a Selwood, I'm rapt. Lets hope Carlton don't get their way and get picks 1 and 2.

Drunken Wookie said:
Tambling will come good i guarantee it. he's fast, evasive, handles and marks the ball well and has a superhuman leap. he needs to work on a few things which are very fixable and when he picks them up he'll be the definition of the complete footballer. get excited.

Very well said and i agree completley.

The fact that he had an injury just before making a senior debut dosent help him, but hes struggled to get game time simply because the more senior experienced players have been playing well.

And what basis are people using to judge his games?

Games in which we get done by 100 points and there were no good players?

Or games where we thump the opposition because either Richo kicks 9 goals, Simmonds gets about 30 hit outs or Tucky gets 30+possesions, theres no room for a young kid in a side that is doing up the opposition.