Pickett = Cheat

• Thread starter Thread starter jo172

Macca19 said:
My entire point is that a lot of Crow supporters here think that Pickett deliberately tried to put him into a wheelchair. My opinion is that he didnt try and delibareatly hit him as hard as he could on his head to try and paralyse him.

That's a complete strawman argument.

Just because

(a) a lot of people here believe that Pickett's contact was deliberate

and

(b) a lot of people here believe that a potential consequence of a strong compressive impact on the head/neck area may be paralysis

it does not follow that

(c) a lot of people here believed Pickett tried to paralyse Begley.

I for one, believe (a) and (b) but not (c). In fact, I've seen no-one on the board arguing (c). Feel free to prove me wrong if you like.

For the record, and for the last time from me, I believe Pickett did try to strike Begley's head deliberately. My single reason for believing this is that Pickett's momentum was moving forward and downward at the time of impact. He had reason to move forward in order to try to contact Begley. The only possible reason his momentum would have been going downward was that he was aware that Begley's body position was still low to the ground. This negates the arguument that he expected that by the time he arrived, Begley would have cleanly gathered the footy and would be a legitimate target for a shirtfront. If his awareness extended to the fact that Begley was low to the ground and that Pickett had to get his centre of gravity low, and if he had time to react accordingly, he must have been aware that Begley's body position was such that he was going to contact the head/neck area.

The club would have been disappointed that he'd aired those views publicly. In any team sport the expectation is that you stand by your teammates-even if he is copping heaps behind closed doors for his totally irrational act on Sunday night.

Brett Montgomery needs his head read. The best way to "beat" Burton is to give him a bath ON the field, not getting rubbed out every time we play you guys. It's time he grew up and concentrated on his footy. His spot is there for the taking by any number of youngsters with a clean record.....He's very lucky he only got 1 week IMO.

My last word on Choppy. I reckon he should have gotten 4 weeks, I think he was anticipating that Begley would see him coming and try to avoid contact more-not blaming Begley in any way btw.

Bringing up ancient history is totally irrelevant now. This interest is in how future cases are handled as this is an entirely new system. What DOES concern me is how each case is "rated" . Having a sook like Schwab in charge of it all will make many players nervous methinks.

and if you think this is all crap, fair enough. Still feeling the effects of a general anaesthetic I had yesterday so a bit "groggy". Not allowed to drink or drive either........sobs.

SpringChoke said:
I just saw the vision of the inciudent again. Can someone explain to me why Roo would pat him on the back??

Be interesting to find out, maybe "see you next showdown" or "have a nice holiday" , looking forward to the next showdown is the Clown prince of the port plays.

captain ebert said:
hardly the case :rolleyes: ;)

Of course he has, his coach has come out and condoned his actions, yet an article comes out saying the PAFC are now ********ed with Primus, cause Primus came out and said it was stupid, what do you call it then????

Primus stood up and was man enough to say it was a gutless act.

Macca19 said:
You completely miss my point and i love the way how you get personal. Have trouble debating things reasonably or do you just have a much higher opinion of your self worth to the world??

My entire point is that a lot of Crow supporters here think that Pickett deliberately tried to put him into a wheelchair. My opinion is that he didnt try and delibareatly hit him as hard as he could on his head to try and paralyse him.

You continue to twist,contort & contrive & put your biased presentation of the facts....
...You are nothing but a propagandist & a bloody poor one at that.How can you expect anyone to debate the points you make when they are so totally false.You choose to present a Pickett point of view as if you are/were reading his mind at the time...even the best defence attorneys dont play mindgames like you so pathetically attempt to.
Your total ignorance of the facts, & blatant attempt to distort what actually happened & then accuse Crows supporters as you did,shows the standards you support.....Finally you seem to need reminding...Pickett PLEADED GUILTY..
& was prepared to accept the verdict ...its only once he got 6 weeks that he & the club decided to change the plea....
But we are in the realm of facts here ...something that you chose to distort & ignore....

dreamkillers said:
Each side has them - we just generally delete their posts on the Port board to prevent things going to the extreme like it has here.

You say anything closely remote to having a go about the PAFC on the Port Board and you are deadset GAWN :rolleyes:

Are you saying the Adelaide Board is moderated poorly??? This is an open discussion about a player that is a low, gutless wimp you took out another player with his head down going for the ball :mad: Oh forgot you dont agree cause it is a Port player that happens to be the low, gutless wimp.

maccas_no1 said:
You say anything closely remote to having a go about the PAFC on the Port Board and you are deadset GAWN :rolleyes:

Are you saying the Adelaide Board is moderated poorly??? This is an open discussion about a player that is a low, gutless wimp you took out another player with his head down going for the ball :mad: Oh forgot you dont agree cause it is a Port player that happens to be the low, gutless wimp.
For a player that supposedly is the biggest thug since Genghis Khan and, according to a number of people on this board, goes out of his way to do these illegal things you talk about week in week out, it is pretty amazing that in 160 AFL, plus x number of pre-season games, had NEVER EVER been suspended for this type of indiscretion before this one.

Oh, and yes, he did break Wakelins ribs a few years back, and there was none of this incessant sulking and whining on the Port board about it.

*PAF said:
For a player that supposedly is the biggest thug since Genghis Khan and, according to a number of people on this board, goes out of his way to do these illegal things you talk about week in week out, it is pretty amazing that in 160 AFL, plus x number of pre-season games, had NEVER EVER been suspended for this type of indiscretion before this one.

Oh, and yes, he did break Wakelins ribs a few years back, and there was none of this incessant sulking and whining on the Port board about it.

I dont see where anyone has said he is the biggest thug since Genghis Khan :confused: What you have to understand is this this is the AFC Board it involved an AFC player and it had alot of potential to be more serious than it was, it was low and gutless, Pickett isnt a thug, he needs to think about his actions on the footy feild, AFC supporters have a right to 'vent their spleen' about this incident on this board, simple if PAFC supporters dont like AFC supporter's view of the incident dont visit this board, saves us all alot of hassel ;)

captain ebert said:
hardly the case :rolleyes: ;)

Did you even read the article? Primus was blatantly slamming his teammate for that crude and callous act. I mean you could not get anymore scathing then the comments Primus made. Port Power supporters, however, choose to live in denial, prefer to sugarcoat it and think, 'Oooh yeah he said that but that's not what he meant'. Quite pathetic really.

But then of course, Port Power supporters are the type of human beings who consider a murderous drink driver a 'Hero' so what more could you expect of their type.

Macca19 said:
You completely miss my point and i love the way how you get personal. Have trouble debating things reasonably or do you just have a much higher opinion of your self worth to the world??

Stop bitching and moaning about getting upset from the comments on this board. If it upsets you so much, just don't read it. Simple, isn't it?

dreamkillers said:
Each side has them - we just generally delete their posts on the Port board to prevent things going to the extreme like it has here.

Which why Port Power supporters are, by far, the most precious group of people that exist on the planet.

To say the majority are that way though might be taking things a bit far

No, it is a completely accurate statement.

jmorg1 said:
Did you even read the article? Primus was blatantly slamming his teammate for that crude and callous act. I mean you could not get anymore scathing then the comments Primus made. Port Power supporters, however, choose to live in denial, prefer to sugarcoat it and think, 'Oooh yeah he said that but that's not what he meant'. Quite pathetic really.

But then of course, Port Power supporters are the type of human beings who consider a murderous drink driver a 'Hero' so what more could you expect of their type.

jmorg1 you must be banned from the Port Board like I am :p ;)

jmorg1 said:

Considering what a bloody good player he is, as proven by him getting the best on ground on GF day is it really a surprise that us Port supporters would love him? What he does outside footy is irrelevent. But as for your "murderous" comment....what the ******** are you on about?

Port1978 said:
Considering what a bloody good player he is, as proven by him getting the best on ground on GF day is it really a surprise that us Port supporters would love him? What he does outside footy is irrelevent. But as for your "murderous" comment....what the ******** are you on about?

Explain how he is "murderous".
If you can't come up with something relevant to support your arguement, STFU.
Let's all think about ronnie burns... what did he do? :rolleyes:

crowsarethebest said:
Why don't we stop this thread... its already 34 pages long :rolleyes:

But it's nearly 500 posts. Come on guys, just a couple more.

Port1978 said:

Oh, so you don't think somebody who is completely p.issed off his face and driving a car at full speed is capable of murdering someone? Typical Port Power supporter who thinks drink driving is perfectly acceptable as long as you play for Port Power. What more could we have expected.

jmorg1 said:
Oh, so you don't think somebody who is completely p.issed off his face and driving a car at full speed is capable of murdering someone? Typical Port Power supporter who thinks drink driving is perfectly acceptable as long as you play for Port Power. What more could we have expected.

Where did I say that drink driving was acceptable?? How is that typical for a Port supporter? Fact is, there are plently of people who drink drive......they just don't all get caught & if they do they're not well known so it's not all over the media.
And what happens off the field is irrelevent to what a great player Pickett is.