mdc

Veteran 10k Posts
I'm sure a lot of you would have seen this already, but it's always worth another go:

[youtube]fgZ-KQKrzZ0[/youtube]

My question is - what pisses you off the most in pickup ball? (whether it's one of the 11 stereotypes mentioned or something completely different).

Lol haven't seen this one.
The ones I hate the most, in order:
Clear-out guys.
Always Fouled Guy, especially when they can't take any body contact. These are often the same guys who are the Never Fouls Guy.
Player-coach, especially when I'm better then the guy giving me advice.

I'd also like to add; 'Too Serious Guy'.

Gets pissed at everyone else when they do something wrong, then doesn't acknowledge it, or swears at others when he makes a mistake.

back in 2001 i was at venice beach watching a pickup game. one white guy was fouled stealing the ball, and broke away for an uncontested layup. some one called out foul and to waive the basket and play a side ball. the white guy puts on his hip hop accent and starts asking the guys questioning him "yo, where you from?" - insinuating that they dotn know the rules

That video is absolutely hilarious :D

I play at school everyday, and without a doubt its the "Always foul guy". We've got a few of them aswell, makes it worse when they turn into "Never fouls guy" :(

Second would have to be the "clear out guy". The guy that does this is usually the ball hog/guy who dribbles the ball around the perimetre for a good 20-30 seconds

White Guy That Acts Black Guy - As soon as they step on the court they get all 'ebonic', start strutting, talking in a "hip hop" accent as pnorth mentioned.

Be Like Mike Guy - There was always some ****** who used to wear black and red sweat bands on his forearm, and every move would be a "reverse layup" with his tongue out.

Trash Talk Guy Who Couldn't Back it Up - We had heaps of these n00bs.

Man great vid. Great tunes too, some AWB, James Brown, geez even Kurtis Blow got a run in there.....

But the one guy I hated most that isn't in there is the 'Light's Always On' Guy. This is the bloke who never met a shot he didn't like, and wouldn't take. Basically, give this guy the ball, and not only are you not getting it back, but he will take the shot from half court if it means jacking one up.

We had a guy like this in our playground games once that was so bad, he'd even throw the ball over his head just to get the shot off.

Man great vid. Great tunes too, some AWB, James Brown, geez even Kurtis Blow got a run in there.....

But the one guy I hated most that isn't in there is the 'Light's Always On' Guy. This is the bloke who never met a shot he didn't like, and wouldn't take. Basically, give this guy the ball, and not only are you not getting it back, but he will take the shot from half court if it means jacking one up.

We had a guy like this in our playground games once that was so bad, he'd even throw the ball over his head just to get the shot off.

I played with a guy who had absolutely zero hesitation in launching shots from half court. In fact he would actually dribble back to half court to launch them. He once cracked it at me for taking a lay up instead of dishing back to him at half court because he was open. Dear oh dear!!!

Great vid :thumbsu:

Loved the block by the kid.

White Guy That Acts Black Guy - As soon as they step on the court they get all 'ebonic', start strutting, talking in a "hip hop" accent as pnorth mentioned.

Be Like Mike Guy - There was always some ****** who used to wear black and red sweat bands on his forearm, and every move would be a "reverse layup" with his tongue out.

:D for some reason it's always the Asian guys (though thankfully only a small % of them) who fit these categories. Though where I play it's "Be Like AI Guy".

Great vid :thumbsu:

Loved the block by the kid.

:D for some reason it's always the Asian guys (though thankfully only a small % of them) who fit these categories. Though where I play it's "Be Like AI Guy".

that is true in some parts. being asian myself ive seen it time and time again. tsk tsk, the influence of tv these day *shakes head*

They just don't realise that to be cool they need to be Austin Croshere wannabes like me.

is this you?

act_brian_cardinal.jpg

yeah, so um asians dont shite me as much as say indians/pakistanis and sri lankans thinking theyre african americon on and of the court. that really shits me.

They were scary. When they'd back down they'd drench you in their sweat :(

again, venice beach 2000-2001. big white guy with very low centre of gravity. losing hair, unathletic, cant jump but can certainly play using his smarts, court savvy and general court awareness.

Mate they are not ones to take a hard foul from thats for sure. Those big bastards seem to know the perfect moment to clog up the lane.

A couple of my personal favourites (these only really apply to full-court games):

- The cherry picker
- The guy who always tries the fancy no-look, behind-the-back pass on a 3-on-1 fastbreak and ends up throwing it out of bounds. Much to the dismay of his two teammates who'd just run the length of the court for nothing.

We actually have a genuine "bad gear dude" at one of my weekly runs. He comes in wearing jeans and black shoes. Absolute hack, and always complains when a decent player tries to sub in for him. :thumbsd:

^^^
If the pickup game is full court, then yeh you will always have your cherry pickers. They like to call it - 'transition offense'

99.9999% of the games ive played pickup ball have been halfcourt.
Although the full court pickup games were awesome at the old albert park stadiums. :memories:

I played with a guy who had absolutely zero hesitation in launching shots from half court. In fact he would actually dribble back to half court to launch them. He once cracked it at me for taking a lay up instead of dishing back to him at half court because he was open. Dear oh dear!!!
A couple of weeks ago we played against a team where one guy just kept launching shots from half court. His team mates got really pissed off but he didn't listen, but as soon as they tried to play some real offense he would yell at the because he was 'open' at the half way line :rolleyes:

How bout the bloke that doesnt know the difference between footy/basketball.

Go to the rack and get hip and shouldered. "nah man, thats just a good bump".

How good is it when the tension keeps building with 2 players and your just waiting for 1 bloke to throw a punch. Happened a few times at school.