List Mgmt. Player Ages Thread

would be happy with Merrett, the only thing with him is that while he's got similar attributes to Jackson, he'd be 10cms shorter, basically Colyer height. Lately we've tended to go for taller mids in Heppell, Ashby, Gleeson, NOB, Merrett etc.

Say that again

Which ones specifically? Looking at the players playing in the 1999 PF who weren't a member of the flag side the next year, you had Mark Fraser, Michael Prior, Peter Somerville, Barry Young and Dean Rioli. I'm guessing you mean some of those types?
One Scotty Lucas played in the reserves that day. Should have been playing.

Aren't you getting confused with 1996? Lucas broke his leg in about Round 10 in 1999 and was out for the season. As I recall, anyway.

Rubbish, Lucas had a broken leg, Hird and Longy were injured, but you go ahead and blame sheeds, can you tell us what actual mistakes he made at selection or are you just making stuff up to suit your point..

Longy played that day too, he got 25 touches.

The definite first team absentees that day were Hird, Lucas and JJ.

Mercuri, however, was probably still below full fitness. And Alessio in particular had an absolute Barry Crocker of a game, as did a few others.

It was the 2000 qualifying final where we beat Norf Melbourne by 125 points, Hirdy was definitely there, as was JJ. Smokin' Joe Misiti had a lazy 41 touches to by the way with Lloydy kicking 7 including his 100th (was sitting in the old Ponsford stand so couldnt run onto the field.

F*** I miss that era.

Ah well, we could be on the verge of another. Pity it will coincide with the decade of GWS/GCS supremacy.

I wonder who the first team to lose a GF to them will be.

hope it's hawthorn.

what's even funnier is that he was a pies supporter growing up. and he nearly did get traded a few years ago to Radelaide

I know who you're talking about. I saw him at Bunnings in Coburg on the weekend. He was putting a motorbike in the back of a ute. I walked (NPI) up to him and asked him if he should be doing that .... "don't you remember what happened to Wanganeen". Also can you tell your mate that a lead up forward with a bit of pace would go well at Essendon.

Also I've seen him around the traps at Preston Bullants junior training sessions and the Coburg shops. A really nice human being.

It was the 2000 qualifying final where we beat Norf Melbourne by 125 points, Hirdy was definitely there, as was JJ. Smokin' Joe Misiti had a lazy 41 touches to by the way with Lloydy kicking 7 including his 100th (was sitting in the old Ponsford stand so couldnt run onto the field.

F*** I miss that era.

Same hear were unstoppable that year went to every game expecting a thumping win.

F*** I miss that era.

My mum ran on the ground ... she was already a grandmother at that stage!! I think the best thing about that day was kicking the ball on the ground while everyone else was on the ground. The match was clearly over, we were the best team of all time and we were playing a minnow club so the ground was ours! The arrogance of playing kick to kick with complete strangers was awesome!!