Player Review vs Tigers

Am I the only one who felt Blair was BOG? Forget about stats, he played for four quarters and did a lot of 1%ers. Reid would be other one I thought was food. Swan and Pendlebury made some shocking errors, they were decent but certainly not up to their normal standards.

I haven't had a chance to watch the game yet,but I've heard rumours that Daisy might be in some trouble after he hit Rance in the head from a front on bump.
Is he in trouble or not??

Thank Christ that Keeffe is now being played in position. Was absolutely fed to the wolves being sent forward last year.

A couple here have mentioned issues with Fasolo's body language and at times his selfishness.

Haven't seen him this year yet (last night in SA the crows game was telecasted) and didn't notice it too much last season (aside from one game, but he was a kid living the dream and doing well so you can forgive him for being a bit happy with himself). Can anybody shed some light on where these comments are coming from?

We could say you are being way to Harsh on Paine too mate

Paine has taken 5 marks in his two games as a KPF, he has kicked 2 goals and 1 of them came from a lucky bounce when he was being lead to the ball.

Last night he didn't have a set shot on goal, only took 2 marks....yet some people are saying he was excellent?!?!

If Wood is fit, Paine is first out of the team.

I still cringed in anticipation whenever he was under the pump deep in defense last night.

Hale and Vickery have both been Keeffed. Keeffe is going to make N.Brown earn a spot back in the side, which is great news.

Now we just need Wood, Ceglar, Witts, Gault to start playing well in the VFL to put pressure on Dawes and Paine.

Competition for spots is a healthy thing, and Keeffe looks fine down back.

Paine has taken 5 marks in his two games as a KPF, he has kicked 2 goals and 1 of them came from a lucky bounce when he was being lead to the ball.

Yet some people are saying he was excellent?!?!

If Wood is fit, Paine is first out of the team.

Well Maybe for Structure Paine would be the 1 of the 3 Tall Forwards to go out.

You Forget he is 18 Years old and in his 1st Season. He Might not be Excellent but he has been Good

A couple here have mentioned issues with Fasolo's body language and at times his selfishness.

Haven't seen him this year yet (last night in SA the crows game was telecasted) and didn't notice it too much last season (aside from one game, but he was a kid living the dream and doing well so you can forgive him for being a bit happy with himself). Can anybody shed some light on where these comments are coming from?

One of the commentators "thought" he celebrated his first few goals in the AFL a bit too much and that he "may" have been taken aside and told to tone it down a bit.

I have no probs with his behavior.

I have to say I'm tired of Brian Taylor's commentary already though.
Pretty pointless dribble most of the time.
Lingy seems OK.
Harley's always been good and Darcy is simply a token ruckman, for who knows what reason? Has no clue.

One of the commentators "thought" he celebrated his first few goals in the AFL a bit too much and that he "may" have been taken aside and told to tone it down a bit.

I have no probs with his behavior.

I have to say I'm tired of Brian Taylor's commentary already though.
Pretty pointless dribble most of the time.
Lingy seems OK.
Harley's always been good and Darcy is simply a token ruckman, for who knows what reason? Has no clue.

If we started a thread on the 7 commentary team, then Darcy, Taylor etc would cop an earful from me as they never shut up. I had to turn the sound down they were so irritating.

Ive been a colt fasolo follower since he began.. long story why. So i always watch him carefully every game.

Theirs no doubt his cocky/arrogant, but i love that about him. His got swagger, he talks the talk and walks the walk. His gonna be a very good long term player, his a gem.

I'm not really sure why Dawes is getting the flak that he is getting at the moment. He's playing a new role this year that is obviously unfamiliar to him and to be honest, I think we're getting the best we can expect from him. He's not a ruckman, yet we're forced to play him there, and I'm not sure what more you want from him. He contests, he has good second efforts and as far as I can tell, he is doing the job that is being asked of him.

Secondly, and most importantly, Dawes has been at the club for 6 years but has only just reached his 50 game milestone. That is staggering. Yeah, we know how good he can be. Yeah, we have expectations that he will be that good consistently. And after 6 years you would expect that consistency. But he's only played 50 games. In terms of experience, he is still a pup with a lot of development to come. Compare him with Cloke, who's been at the club only a year or two more (correct me if I am wrong), Cloke has over 100 games to his name and is now an absolute juggernaut.

I just think we need to lighten up a little.

yeah i am a little bemused at the flak Dawes is getting. Frankly I think he is going ok when he is running around the ground in the ruck. His worst mistake was the lack of defensive body pressure and punch against macauley but other than that his work there has been fine. He is never going to win any taps at the centre stoppage as he is to short but his tap work around the ground has been ok. The issue I have is the fwd goal kicking and marking. He needs to hang on to a few more and convert them. If he had done that against Hawks i suspect people wouldnt be as harsh. I am a massive Dawes fan but he played the contract game with the club last year and the club came good......now he has to put up.

Re Fas - yeah look he just at times makes himself a target and i am a bit old school. I reckon you get your game fully in order before that stuff comes along.

As much as I love Paine i think the side needs to have a look at Jolly and Wood this weekend. It will stretch Carlton and give us more chances at the centre restarts.

Given the comments yetserday I would also look at Ugle pretty soon. I think he has a game that can step up to AFL and with the quicker and cleaner ball movement of senior footy will help him.

Seedsman is coming along nicely. I am very interested in his development bc he looks like he has some class and we dont have a lot of young mids who ooze class at the moment.

yeah i am a little bemused at the flak Dawes is getting. Frankly I think he is going ok when he is running around the ground in the ruck. His worst mistake was the lack of defensive body pressure and punch against macauley but other than that his work there has been fine. He is never going to win any taps at the centre stoppage as he is to short but his tap work around the ground has been ok. The issue I have is the fwd goal kicking and marking. He needs to hang on to a few more and convert them. If he had done that against Hawks i suspect people wouldnt be as harsh. I am a massive Dawes fan but he played the contract game with the club last year and the club came good......now he has to put up.

Re Fas - yeah look he just at times makes himself a target and i am a bit old school. I reckon you get your game fully in order before that stuff comes along.

As much as I love Paine i think the side needs to have a look at Jolly and Wood this weekend. It will stretch Carlton and give us more chances at the centre restarts.

Given the comments yetserday I would also look at Ugle pretty soon. I think he has a game that can step up to AFL and with the quicker and cleaner ball movement of senior footy will help him.

Seedsman is coming along nicely. I am very interested in his development bc he looks like he has some class and we dont have a lot of young mids who ooze class at the moment.

Yeah Dawes has been Strugging with his Marking and Goal Kicking. Could that because he is Playing 2 Postions instead of 1

Would be intresting to see how Wood/Ceglar and Jolly will work together

I thought we played fairly average at best for the first half and last quarter. First half our structures seemed good but disposal was poor. Last quarter just looked stuffed.

The good news is we played this way and still won, perhaps as our opposition wasn't great but also for half of the 3rd quarter we were as good as we've ever been. I can't see us not improving as the year goes on with players getting fitter, better players coming back and structures and skills improving. This just needs to start happening straight away, starting against the Scum next week. We can't afford to drop too many early games to expect a top 4 finish.

Just on Fasolo, I saw him last week working with the kids at the DT Team 13 clinic and his attitude there was exactly the way it seems on the field. Seems to be just greatly extroverted in his personality which is something you can't change. Maybe some of it's cockiness, but mostly just a bright personality.

I don't see a problem with it if he plays well enough. Can't drop him for being a bit up himself, only if he starts under-performing.

I thought we played fairly average at best for the first half and last quarter. First half our structures seemed good but disposal was poor. Last quarter just looked stuffed.

The good news is we played this way and still won, perhaps as our opposition wasn't great but also for half of the 3rd quarter we were as good as we've ever been. I can't see us not improving as the year goes on with players getting fitter, better players coming back and structures and skills improving. This just needs to start happening straight away, starting against the Scum next week. We can't afford to drop too many early games to expect a top 4 finish.

Very True don't want to drop to many Early Games as we would have to try and make them up late in the Season

Just on Fasolo, I saw him last week working with the kids at the DT Team 13 clinic and his attitude there was exactly the way it seems on the field. Seems to be just greatly extroverted in his personality which is something you can't change. Maybe some of it's cockiness, but mostly just a bright personality.

I don't see a problem with it if he plays well enough. Can't drop him for being a bit up himself, only if he starts under-performing.

He could be our Pest Player;)

Dawes gets flack because he use to be a very good set shot now his missing easy shots regulary, and his marking has been below par... which are the two things u need from a full forward. His at the age now he needs to stand up, his got 50 games, and experienced body, now become a good forward that we need

Spot On and In Turn that makes Cloke and Paine better

very true

Spot On and In Turn that makes Cloke and Paine better

You're joking, right? Paine is better than Dawes? Dawes is a better kick, better over the ground, has more of a presence on the ground and is involved in the game way more than Paine. Paine isn't even up to the level of a Macaffer yet, which is the position Paine is playing.

Dawes needs to get better in the air, no question. And his kicking for goal isn't what we expect - but every player goes through a spell of bad goal kicking. Even Didak, one of the best kicks in the competition, had lean spells throughout his career. But I tell you this - seeing Paine's kicking action, I'll take Dawes every time.

Player Review vs Tigers