toeknee2

Hi guys, I haven't posted on here in a while. I wrote this player review on the blue view before christmas and thought it might entertain some of you. Enjoy, I might duck for cover.

1. Walker. What a great leap forward he has taken since going forward. I think he is a genuine multiple goal kicking threat to every team when he has some tall support around him. Huge forward pressure. He could easily kick five or six bags next year and is expected to burn in a big final.

2. Russell. His injury robbed him of opportunity and form at the wrong time in 2011. The side was settled and he was considered a risk. But he looks to be having a great pre-season and should come back a “new recruit” in 2012. At his best he is definitely in our starting back six.

3. Murphy. Probably our best mid-fielder at the moment. He took the step to elite this year and looks professional enough to back it up again next year. In and under gun.

4. Gibbs. Another gun but on the outside. Had a great finish to the year before injuring himself. He looks on the verge of becoming a genuine star of the game next season.

5. Judd. A great warrior of the game and inspirational leader. But he has put his body through a lot and will need to be managed and rested, especially towards the end of next season. (Will be 29yrs old next year.) Still a gun and his heart will be required when it matters if we are to hold up the cup.

6. Simpson. Genuine ball carrier and always seems to be inspirational when the game is in the balance. Form was a bit up and down this year and he didn’t burn as much as others in the finals. I’m expecting more of the same in the H&A which will suit us well but I want to see more in the finals.

7. Buckley. Looks like a great little speedster but he is too young to get a game next year.

8. Kruezer. No expectations from me next year, I’m happy for him to be slowly managed into form. He has massive talent in the air and below the knees, genuine ruckman/utility. And throw in a heart as big as a watermelon, future gun.

9. Lucas. By all reports this young fella is having a solid summer. He looks silky (kind of like Houlihan but I haven’t seen enough of his kick to compare them properly). Needs to show some heart to match his talent or he won’t be making a regualar appearence in the first’s next year. One to watch with interest and needs to step up. (He will definitely get a run with Ratten’s new rotation policy for 2012.)

10. Watson. He and Russell looked a clear step above in backline during the VFL prelim last year. Watto is emerging as a great one-on-one player and seems to be strong through the hips. He looks to have footy-smarts and I’m expecting him to push for Russell’s spot. Probably another year away from cementing a spot though.

11. Warnock. What a great end to the season. Murdered Hill, Ryder, Cox and Natinui in the finals. Took the next step, is now a genuine star tap-ruckman in the AFL. Crucial to our chances. Great fighter.

12. Robinson. Unexpected huge improver this year just gone. Now has above average skills and a heart of gold. Is still suspect at picking up his man but knows how to run with a burst. His bash and crash style is crucial to our structures if we want to take the likes of Hawthorn. Inspirational and more mature.

13. Yarran. Massive improver with his move to the backline. Excitement machine who makes our backline dangerous with his rebound runs. Improved backline pressure and excellent foot skills, could be huge next year.

14. McLean. Great heart but I can’t believe he is still on our list. Unfortunately he has become a complete waste of money. He is far too slow to play at AFL level now, the opposition coaches love him. All they do is play a runner on him who proceeds to cut us to pieces. He is a distant backup now and might be gone at the end of the year (and why didn't he shake Kirk's hand?).

15. Laidler. Great first year in the AFL (I’m not going to count his first three cameo games off the bench for the cats). Plays ok on talls but is better suited to a mid sized forward. I love his reading of play, will often out-mark his man when the ball is bombed or its a quick entry. Can only get better in his second season, weights are important this summer.

16. Collins. A bit disappointing to be honest. He is behind a few for a spot in our forward line but he probably will get a game under Ratten’s 2012 rotation policy. Stunk the house down in his attempt to play for us at the top level this year. Needs to concentrate on getting his goal kicking technique right. One thing I liked about him though was a genuine straight lead when in a position to do so. Could improve. ???

17. Sam Rowe. Tall, moves well and looks like a strong mark which is exactly what we need down forward. Can’t wait to see how he goes in the pre season games. Could be a great find in the Podsiadly mould. Excites me most of the newies.

18. Bower. Was probably lucky to have stayed on the list ahead of Setanta. He has potential and the body to turn his game around but I doubt he will. Reason? Because he is by far the worst “attack on the man” player in the AFL. This must change if he is to get anywhere near the firsts. Needs a complete mental overhaul.

19. Betts. Solid season, perfect age. Great mark for his size but can go missing. Should produce more of the same damage next year. Gotta love it when he’s on. Relies a bit on Garlett though.

20. O’Keefe. Haven’t seen much of him, seems to go alright at Preston but has made little waves. Needs to step up is an under statement.

21. Bootsma. I haven’t seen him yet, other than his highlights video. Some older Carlton supporters have noted the way he moves, lots to like they say.

22. Hampson. Made the transition from liability to asset in 2011, a great back up to Knockers and Kruezer now. Can take a solid mark when fresh but catches air when he’s tired. He also seems to have very good hands in close for a big guy. His reading of the play needs a bit more work especially when he is a 50mtrs off the play and half way down the ground. Its probably best to leave him in the goal square and use him as a back-up ruckman. One thing for sure is he is a better set shot than Warnock.

23. Henderson. What a great find he was for the backline this year. Has genuine punching ability and doesn’t mind carrying it for a bit. Is not in the same class as Jamo on the best but who is? Definitely in our starting back six, probably third picked behind Jamo and Yarran.

24. McCarthy. Good height and body shape but should hit the weights a bit more. No evidence of anger or confidence in his interviews, I’m suspect on that. Needs to improve to be considered.

25. Mitchell. Has made some waves, big wraps from the twos. Yet to see him myself so can’t really comment.

26. McInnes. Again good wraps but yet to have a genuine impact.

27. Armfield. You’ve got to love the way he runs through packs, massive heart. Good skills and great fast runner. On the fringe every week. Great back up mid.

28. Not on list.

29. Scotland. Our oldest player at 31yrs but doesn’t look it. Has a great constitution and reads the play very well. Can play on most sizes. Genuine AFL star. Might be rested a bit towards the end.

30. Waite. We really missed him in the second half of this year. Undisciplined but massive x-factor. Can out-mark anyone in the AFL and is very illusive. Could kick fifty goals if the stars align. Important.

31. Davies. Played in all of our recent finals because others were injured and failed to have any impact. Young and good size but a fair way off when we have less injuries.

32. Thornton. Another one who reinvented himself after losing his way and I’m so glad he did. This guy is a great footballer and is far better suited to the forward line than the backline. He is a great set shot and can plonk them from outside fifty. Top contested mark, could be huge up forward for us next year. Cool as a cucumber.

33. Not on list.

34. Duigan. What a great get last year. A genuine creative backman who reads the ball superbly. Takes marks he shouldn’t and has a set of balls the size of coconuts. Really helped settle our backline this year and I’m expecting more of the same next year. Never seems to be overawed. Will be huge again in the finals next year.

35. Curnow. Was impressive early in the year but tapered off. Could be a good backup mid if he can get himself right and find some good form.

36. Kerr. Not a bad player for Preston. Can take a mark and kick a goal but I’m not expecting much at AFL level in 2012. Our side is too strong for his type.

37. Not on list.

38. Garlett. Second only to Rioli in the AFL for dangerous running forward. Hugely creative and extremely important to our mix.

39. Not on list.

40. Jamison. The best full back in the AFL. Why? Closing speed. He also has huge body strength, a great spoiling ability and a booming kick. His backline pressure is also a feature as is his creative rebound attack. Simply the best.

41. Casbolt. In my opinion there is very little that separates Tom Hawkins from this kid. Except the obvious experience and confidence. I have seen him mark over packs too many times to be ignored forever, expect to see him play a few games this year with the rotation policy.

42. Tuohy. Great end of season by him. He is a great size, has plenty of skill and knows how to go hard. His thumping goals on the run from outside fifty are in the elite class. If anyone slips up this year he looks ready. And once he’s in I can’t see him being knocked out.

43. White. Looks ok as a backup backman but that’s about it. A limited player at the moment. Needs to improve a fair bit to be in calculation.

44. Carrazzo. Has turned himself into a very clever mid. He is the expert at the shimmy/dummy which buys himself time and kills the frantic possessions. He used to cause turnovers but now he saves them from happening. An ok kick with great hands and smart choices.

45. Joseph. When in form is a great tagger on small forwards and mids. He can take a mark for his size and gives it his all every time. But there are few more skilled smalls on our list that are pushing him to the side. I would not be surprised however if he hits some form and cements a spot in the ones.

46. Ellard. Our second best in and under player behind Murphy. Ellard has a thumping kick and offers great pressure on the man. He is not elite and probably never will be but he is very handy to our mix when we are up and going.

And my best starting line up for 2012?

Yarran Jamison Russell
Duigan Henderson Laidler
Scotland Gibbs Simpson
Betts Rowe Garlett
Waite Thornton Walker
Rucks Warnock Judd Murphy
Int Kruezer Ellard Carrazzo Robinson
Emg Armfield Thouy Joseph Mitchell

Thanks for your thoughts.

As you haven't been around of late, you should click on the 'Annual' link up the top of the page and check out some in depth reviews of our players' 2011 season and expectations for 2012. It makes for some pretty decent reading.

You mentioned you haven't posted in a while. As this is your first post with this username, can I ask what we previously would have known you as? Also interesting to welcome back ex-posters.

Comprehensive write-up, mate! Anything that makes the off-season go that little bit faster is certainly welcome.

Click through to "The Annual" to see the review drawn up by prominent posters on this board.

I posted a few times under the same username a few years ago but when i went to post my thoughts today it made me re-register a few details including my password. Its been a while.
Thanks for the tip on the annual I'll have a look. Its always interesting to read other peoples opinions of the same players. We all see it slightly differently, none of us are ever 100% right.

Edit; Just went to "the annual", bloody hell its huge! I can see theres some good reading there, thanks for that.

Nice to read your thoughts :)

Haha the annual is quite large, but it is also very good. We have some very talented writers here at BigFooty :)

and Welcome back btw :) Hope to see you post a bit more around here :)

No worries blue girl. Here's my predictions for ladder positions this year...

1 Collingwood (Still very balanced with stars on every line, great consistency and will be hungry enough to have another genuine crack this year. Should be favourites)

2 Geelong (Ling’s retirement won’t hurt as much as Otten’s. A lack of genuine hunger might play a negative roll in what looks like their last attempt for a few years. Having said that I think they will be very consistent through the H&A. For some strange reason though I just can't imagine them winning another.)

3 Carlton (The youngest team in last year’s finals series seems to be improving every year. I think a genuine premiership window may finally be opened in 2012. Our best 22 is very solid but injuries can hurt because of a lack of quality depth. A better run with injuries will be an absolute requirement to have any chance. Can definately win it.)

4 Hawthorn (I don't think their best 22 are as “complete” across the ground as the three teams above them. Top coach and some huge stars will see them win most weeks and they should go top 4 again. I am however expecting Carlton to overtake them next year. They can win it if the stars align).

5 WCE (Had a great run with injuries and form last year and their draw was ridiculous. They won’t get the same luck this year which will probably see them miss the top 4 but they are a good side when they are up and going. Another prelim would be a success.)

6 Fremantle (I think they might surprise a few this year. At least 6 genuine players to come back in and a new coach to get them going. An easier draw and half their games with no opposition supporters should see them bank plenty of wins. If Ross Lyon learns of their drug issues however it might all go pear shaped. Regardless there will be no flag)

7 St.Kilda (Hayes is back and they still have a good list and a strong team ethic. They can do damage when up and about but I feel the top teams will open a bigger gap next year. Carlton seemed to toy with them in round 22 despite losing on the board. No flag for the Saints)

8 Essendon (A few genuine star footballers emerging but not enough across the ground to warrant a genuine flag chance tag. Still building and will get better.)

9 Nth Melbourne (Can play very well on their day but not up there with the best of them. Great prospects and easy draw).

10 Richmond (Will just miss out again. They might take the Kangas place but I reckon the Kangas have an easier ride and should get more wins. Still building.)

11 Sydney (Have slipped back a bit. Still a good side but not good enough any more)

12 Melbourne (Building, can upset the best on their day but not damaging enough with ball movement)

13 Adelaide (Will win a few)

14 to 18 Throw a blanket over the rest (all re/building).

I posted a few times under the same username a few years ago but when i went to post my thoughts today it made me re-register a few details including my password. Its been a while.

I thought the username was familiar. Shame you had to re-register. Hope you stick around. Maybe you can be a part of the next annual, but the competition for players will be fierce considering we will be reviewing premiership players :thumbsu: ;)

I hope

Mmmmmmmmm Was going to do a summary for each players training to date, but you may have taken up the space. ;)
You've been one of the leading track watchers since they went back to work Harks. I'd still like to read what you have to say, as I'm sure a lot of people would.

Plus, it is the offseason ... what else are we going to do? :D

I'll be popping down the road to see the boys train tomorrow morning (if they are there). I too will post some observations if they are worthy.

Thanks for that ODN, we'll see what happens. The annual seems to be comprehensively written with a new comer in mind. It also has a "safe" approach to weaknesses and under performances which is probably necessary to avoid criticism. Personally I like to tell it how I see it but i think I am fair and friendly enough. Some of my strong comments however might not be suitable for a shared publication. For instance if I see a designated stepping stone hide from his duty to get where he should be I will call him weak. And that may offend.
I am a keen follower of footy and game plans. I have attended around 500 Carlton games but I don't consider myself a complete footy nut, just a bloke who enjoys his Blues and competitive sport.

There are always ways to articulate weaknesses by using diplomacy. I'm impressed with how much the club have been accessible to us since last season, and since they too have helped to promote the annual through their twitter account, I wouldn't want to risk that by being derogatory.

Be objective I reckon, but still remember we are here to support.