Please Read RE:Nathan Ablett

• Thread starter Thread starter ablettjnr

irish_lions said:
Nathan Ablett has taken another strange move in his early career by insisting that his close mate from Moddewarre be rookie listed. The request was made to Mark Thompson and it is feared that thompsons love for Ablett will waste Geelong a rookie list spot.

The nominated player is a fellow moddewarre teamates by the name of Brendan Harvey who is believed to be just a middle tear player at that club in the Bellerine Football League. He is understood to be lightweight and it is poised to be one of the most contreversal pickings in AFL history.
The source is the MFC and a certain Geelong player from that particular area.

irish_lions said:
i went to geelong rookie trials today and i cant believe it harvey was there. He seemd small unfit and looked out of place. His skills were second to none though.
if you dont believe me i can name every other player there. there was about 30 of us. Only 2 will be picked. And i can tell you it prob wont be harvey.

What utter crap.We dont have any Brendan Harvey at Geelong,The guy who started the thread ( 16/11/04) was basically admitting it was wrong by the 24/11(above). At the most, Nathan might have asked for his mate to be allowed try out, I dont see anything wrong with that and from the 30 that tryed out we picked who we thought were the best for the position. EOS

As to any other rumour related to him I intend treat it all with a grain of salt.I intend to enjoy watching him play for the rest of this year and for as long as he wishes to play. He may or may not be he long term, thats no different to a few kids drafted and not just talking about the ones who didn't have the talent.Some kids have the tools but dont have the dedication, time will tell for NA but at least he has had a go, at least GFC have had a go.As the saying go's "It no use to die wondering" and I wont regret for one minute the time he has spent in the 23 hoops

ezbian said:
Not really related to the rumour about his mate being rookie listed, but my VFL sources tell me that Nathan's enthusiasm for the game was reignited when he started to play with his cousin Josh O'Brien. Josh was one of the ring in's that we called during our time of need a couple of weeks back.
Now this makes a degree of sense, the VFL wouldnt be place for a boy who likes mates around him.The longer we keep him with his brother the better, at least until he make some solid mates in the club

I don't know if you're talking about the same thing I heard on Sunday, but Hutchy was saying Nathan was wasn't all that interested in all the attention he was getting from being the Rising Star from the week before and that his dad told him just to forget it and enjoy his footy.

At no stage did he say it was going to be Nathan's last game.

If you heard the same thing I did, you read way too much into it.

Catman said:
I wonder if he'll attend tomorrow's Rising Star award ceremony.

For his sake, I hope he does because he'll receive more attention for a no-show than he would if he does go.
I'm pretty sure he ain't.
He didn't do that photo for the paper or the interview, and I'm pretty sure he extended it to not going to the ceremony.

It's a shame really, but if it keeps him at the club and he plays good footy, I'm not gonna complain.
Some people like Shane Crawford are made for the media, Nath isn't, so he shouldn't be forced to do it.

ablettjnr said:
Some people like Shane Crawford are made for the media, Nath isn't, so he shouldn't be forced to do it.

True. I just want him to attend as a nominee, like he should. He wouldn't be pressured into anything he didn't want to do, the club would ensure that.

I just believe it would be good experience for him. But if he's not ready then there's not much you can do I suppose.

Catman said:
I wonder if he'll attend tomorrow's Rising Star award ceremony.

For his sake, I hope he does because he'll receive more attention for a no-show than he would if he does go.

Will either him or Byrnes attend ?
Training is on tomorrow arvo.

I doubt Syd,Port,Crows or E-Girl players will attend.

Catman said:
True. I just want him to attend as a nominee, like he should. He wouldn't be pressured into anything he didn't want to do, the club would ensure that.

I just believe it would be good experience for him. But if he's not ready then there's not much you can do I suppose.

Very true. Skipping the presentation would only create more attention towards young Nath. It would do him the world of good to attend, chat to a few media people, answer a few questions (off camera) and get a feel for the media. His brother has handled it brilliantly. Fingers crossed Nath is the same.

By avoiding it, he is creating more pressure, not only to conduct media interviews but to perform on the field.

Go for it nath. You're a superstar.

N A T H A N your the best. Please keep playing we all love you!

C'MON THE MIGHTY CATS GET IT ON!