Poker Profiles

Dallas Cowboys
Thought I'd add some personality to this thread - seems odd my small profile kicks things off... but...

Player ID: danielz_23

Where I play Online: PokerStars

Where I play Live: n/a

You'll find me on: SnGs and Multi tables

Been playing for: 3-months

My biggest win was: On PartyPoker a year-ago. I know I said I've been playing for 3-months but I played for a couple of weeks on my holidays a year ago and came 3rd in a Steps tournie, needless to say I then lost it trying to win again... haha... sound familar(?). Then they started charging me an admin fee for not playing, enough said!

Favorite Hand: Any winning one!

Why you play?: Lets be honest, to win $. But I don't (don't really lose either)... having fun all the same. Its a challenge, a frustrating one!

Final words of wisdom: Have fun with it, don't rely on the $.

Player ID: Player ID: redda1973

Where I play Online: Hansa. I hate how slow it is at PS.

Where I play Live: only played once. APL free role at Wadonga. Only just got past the 1st break.

You'll find me on: Double up S&G's 6 player. Trying to turn $1 into $400. I hate playing on the cash tables. If you find me there your in luck.

Been playing for: Nearly a year.

My biggest win was: $435 in a $5 rebuy. Bought in once and didnt add on. Finished 2nd. Also have finished 6th with no rebuy or add on for $160. Have only played a few tourny's as I find it hard to have the time to play one out. Should play more.

Favorite Hand: Dont really have a favorite but my least favorite is AA. I seem to lose heaps with it. Try and get the most out of it by betting to get called and it bites me on the a every time. Now when I get it I bet strong pre flop and on the turn and if it only gets me blinds or a little more so be it.

Why you play?: Enjoy playing online. Like the challange and would like to get to the stage I may make some good dollars.

Final words of wisdom: If you think your behind you probably are.

Player ID: not saying

Where I play Online: Party Poker

Where I play Live: Crown, Star City

You'll find me on: $33-$109 SnGs and Tournaments

Been playing for: 4 years

My biggest win was: Live - won a $100 satellite into Melbourne Poker Championships main event $1100 buy in last year and cashed for $3340.
Online - $US9250 in a multi table $215 buy in tournament on Party Poker about 6 months ago.

Favorite Hand: J9s or AA

Why you play?: For profit and also the fun of live competition.

Final words of wisdom: Play solid starting hands when you first start out. Don't get too cute until you learn the game.

Poker ID: macka07 then changed to noddy1309 due to depositing problems.

Online: pokerstars

Live: Crown very rarely and Apl on mornington peninsula

You will find me on: sit n go's and tournaments

Playing for: about 2 years, only about a year for money.

Biggest win: Online: can't remember exactly, but was around 150 in a 180 person tournament, finished 2nd

Live: Crown casino, 5/10 limit cash table. Left 300 up.

Favourite hand: has to be AA, also like 10 8 suited

Play for: Mainly the enjoyment of the game. Love making a good call or good fold or pulling of a nice bluff. Starting to try and play for profit.

Words of wisdom: don't play rubbish just because it's suited LOL

Player ID: OZ Madhouse, OZMadhouse, No1OZMadhouse.

Where I play Online: PokerStars, Hansa, Tony G.

Where I play Live: I wish!

You'll find me on: SnGs and multi tables, freerolls where I can get them, sometimes micro cash tables.

Been playing for: 11 months

My biggest win was: $US200 on a Tony G freeroll about a week ago.

Favorite Hand: I didn't know this until reviewing my stats recently on a trial of PokerTracker3 but its AQ. I have more wins with AQs than any other hand and have won more money with AQo than any other hand. Go figure.

Why you play?: Because its a great game. I play for the challenge, but I'll take the money when its on offer.

Final words of wisdom: Don't play angry.

At least we know that DockerMad isnt Doyle Brunson...:)

Anyway...

PLAYER ID: #1 Man U Fan

SITE: Stars...

LIVE: Burswood casino getting abused...

IM ON: A bit of everything online, still looking into what I have an edge with...

BEEN PLAYING: Since 2007 living on campus. Actually won 13 out of 15 6 man SnG's with uni mates one week to live with...

BIGGEST WIN: Online, 2nd in a $1 donkament on Stars good for $160ish, cant remember how much. Live, once I have pulled a profit of over 1k in a session which took me about 9-10 hours IIRC maybe 6 or 7 times profit of over $500...

FAV HAND: Two junk hands, 45o which won me my first live pot, actually to a raise and OOP too:o, the other 10 7o which stacked someone I really disliked live. Actual hands, KQs and 10's... and winners...

WHY: Because I love the game and believe that in particular live, I have an edge over my competition

MOTTO:

Player ID: Too many to list

Where I play Online: NoiQ and Eurolinx right now, but I have done some serious bonus chasing and have accounts just about everywhere.

Where I play Live: Burswood, very occasionally (once cash, plus a few tournaments).

You'll find me on: Right now 50NL (usually 2-4 tables). Previously played a lot of SH limit, but the variance busts my gut.

Been playing for: Just over a year.

My biggest win was: Live, twice satellited into $1100 buyin events. Online, 2nd place in a $10 MTT for $200 plus a couple of $300+ session wins.

Favorite Hand: Flopped OE straight flush draw. There are so many ways to win with it.

Why you play?: I have a slightly obsessive personality, and poker is my current obsession. I am very competitive, and love the challenge of poker.

Final words of wisdom: The button is your friend.

Player ID: JBartel333

Where I play Online: Stars

Where I play Live: Crown. Hardly ever. And i haven't been for ages.

You'll find me on: 9-handed NLH ring games. (5c-10c currently)

Been playing for: About two years

My biggest win was: N/A for online as just cash games, although it would probably be $50 pots (all in $25 buy in).

Crown would be the first time i played. $1/$2 $60 buy in i had $30 mate put in $30 so i tested the live game out. Called a raise with AQ, flop AQJ, bet, call, i call, turn Q, bet, call, i call, river X, bet, call, i call all in. Can't even remember what they had but i tripled up to $180 and left after being at the table for about 15 mins. :p

Favorite Hand: J9s

Why you play?: For steady profits

Final words of wisdom: Top pair is always the nuts

Why you play?: I have a slightly obsessive personality, and poker is my current obsession. I am very competitive, and love the challenge of poker.

I love this answer. I can completely relate to it, my attempts to shift my obsession to something a little less costly and time consuming are so far unsuccessful. However it is an improvement over horse and sport betting! :cool:

Thanks for the posts guys - I'd never heard of Hansa before... considering giving 888/Pacific Poker a chance at the moment.... as an alternative to big ol' Stars

Player ID: M.Colasante

Where I play Online: PokerStars the most frequent.

Where I play Live: Skycity but thats pretty rare.

You'll find me on: Tournaments and very every now and then a cash table.

Been playing for: On and off for a few years now.

My biggest win was: Online: Played a $38 45-man SNG, placed 4th for about $200.

Live: At Skycity, I played for about 6 hours one Saturday night/Sunday morning, bought in with $150 and left with $500.

Favorite Hand: Royal Flush ;)

Why you play?: I love the game and the money that can be won is tempting.

Final words of wisdom: Don't play when feeling bored.

Player ID: Falchoon

Where I play Online: Pokerroom

Where I play Live:
Infrequently Crown

You'll find me on:
Cheap NLHE tournies and OH/OH* tournies

Been playing for:
4-5 years, not much in the last 2 though

My biggest win was:
Online: won a couple of $33 OH tournies for around $400
Live: cash games won $1200 playing 1-2 no limit, $60 buy in.
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showpost.php?p=4729485&postcount=67
won $700 playing 4-8 limit, still my favourite
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showpost.php?p=4298011&postcount=23
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showpost.php?p=4298221&postcount=25

Favorite Hand:
22 or 55 - win big, lose little
Least favourite JJ

Why you play?:
Competitive individual with decent logic/maths skills

Final words of wisdom:
You take from the poor and give to the rich
concentrate

Thanks for the posts guys - I'd never heard of Hansa before... considering giving 888/Pacific Poker a chance at the moment.... as an alternative to big ol' Stars

Hansa is on iPoker, which is a very big network (third biggest behind Stars and Tilt). 888 has bad software, but very fishy players. I strongly recommend getting a good kickback or VIP deal before you sign up though.

Player ID: shamelessdav (PS), shamelessdave (FTP), shamelessdave59 (ipoker)

Where I play Online: as above, more full tilt than anything

Where I play Live: local APL tournaments. maybe 2 a week.

You'll find me on: cash tables; $0.05/$0.10 for no limit and pot limit games, $0.25/$0.50 in limit games. mainly playing stud high at the moment.

Been playing for: 6 months, only really been thinking about things since start of the year but haven't been able to play as much as i'd lke since then.

My biggest win was: not playing many tournaments so don't get those big winners. although cashed for about $250 a few weeks back at APL $34 buy-in.

Favorite Hand: trip aces in stud :)

Why you play?: fun and hopefully to start makin a bit of money on the side as i get better.

Final words of wisdom: mix up the games. constantly playing No Limit Holdem will eventually start to get boring and take your love of poker away. Even if it's still your main game it's good to be able to sit down and play anther game well. i also reckon that'll improve your holdem game as well.

Player ID: Mercs2

Where I play Online: Stars, FTP

Where I play Live: Crown but haven't been there for over a year.

You'll find me on: Omaha-Hi, HA tables on FTP generally - usually 5c/10c or 10c/25c.

Been playing for: 3-4 years online. Played manila heaps when I was younger so really its about 20 years or so.

My biggest win was: $2500 after finishing in the low 20's in a Sunday Million.

Favorite Hand: one that wins.

Why you play?: always been a punter/gambler.

Final words of wisdom: : Dont get in over your head. Also online is far tougher than live.

Player ID - GAZZA JR

Where i play online - Pokerstars

Where i play live - Crown (rarely)

You'll find me on - 1/2c 6 seat tables, $5 Sng's

Been playing for - a few months

My biggest win - can i count $1500 at crown with 4 4's on carribean stud?

Fav hand - a winning one!

Why play? - loving learning the art of Poker, strategys and mind games. The things it can do to you head.

Player ID - mrsmooth81

Where i play online - Pokerstars, FTP & Hansa

Where i play live - Occasionally at Skycity, mainly NPL freerolls in the northern adelaide suburbs

You'll find me on - $2.20 180 player SnG's, 10-25c limit

Been playing for - about 5 years

My biggest win - online - won a $10 omaha tourney abuot 3 years ago, paid out around $400, live started with 80 on a 1-2 nl table not that long ago that i turned into around 800

Fav hand - k9 suited

Why play? - just love poker, dunno why

Player ID - Cartman121, Cartman2122

Where i play online - Pokerroom, Bwin

Where i play live - Crown

You'll find me on - $10 MTT's to $50, occassionaly $100, rarely $200. Up to $100 sng's.

Been playing for - 4 years

My biggest win - around $2300 US.

Fav hand - 5s 9s

Why play? - Love the strategy involved in the game. Very competitive. Beats having a real job :D.

Falchoon, pretty sure i've played with you before. I'll keep an eye out for you from now on ;).

Player ID - kimirocks

Where i play online - Stars

Where i play live - Skycity 1-2 sessions a week, and Crown 1-2 sessions a month

You'll find me on - Horse SnG's, NLHE SnG's up to about $10, Short handed ring games up to about 50c

Been playing for - 2 years

My biggest win - Pretty consistant wins of 7-8x bankroll. Live generally
walk out with 500 from 80 start, rarely bust. Online bust in cash games a LOT more, too many fish.

Fav hand - J 2 suited, I will raise in any position and take everything

Why play? - I love the pantomime, the purity. Live games especially, I love just staring down people, waiting for the right time to pull the wool over somebody's eyes. I don't play to win big money, it's not going to happen with this level of bankroll. If I can walk out knowing that I'm the best player at the table, that at any time I can call your bluff, and know that there isn't a chance in hell that anybody can get a read on me, then my job is done.

Why play? - I love the pantomime, the purity. Live games especially, I love just staring down people, waiting for the right time to pull the wool over somebody's eyes. If I can walk out knowing that I'm the best player at the table, that at any time I can call your bluff, and know that there isn't a chance in hell that anybody can get a read on me, then my job is done.

Are these your words?

With the deletion of one sentence, it sounds like something from the teaser vids for the new season of High Stakes Poker.

Are these your words?

With the deletion of one sentence, it sounds like something from the teaser vids for the new season of High Stakes Poker.
wouldn't have a clue, don't watch it, hardly think my reasons for playing are that different to many here. I apologise for being able to string some sentences together :rolleyes:.

As for my problem with the fishies, in theory they are simple, anyone can say they are a great poker player, ffs it's the internet, lower grade players get attached, they chase, 80% of the time it's beneficial for us, but it's that 20% that kills me, the 20% that might be worth more like 70%, and only encourages them to continue as they were. Get over yourself for being a prick.

As for my problem with the fishies, in theory they are simple, anyone can say they are a great poker player, ffs it's the internet, lower grade players get attached, they chase, 80% of the time it's beneficial for us, but it's that 20% that kills me, the 20% that might be worth more like 70%, and only encourages them to continue as they were.

I have no idea what you are on about. When players play bad, you make money in the long run. If you aren't making money in the long run, you have to ask yourself whether maybe the players are not as bad as you think they are.

In my experience (and that of many others), online play is much tougher than live. The live 200NL I played last night was equivalent of about 10NL online.

Get over yourself for being a prick.
gfy

p.s Also in my experience, anyone who claims to be making "pretty consistent" wins of 7-8x bankroll per session is lying. 60bb/100 anyone?

Just a bit of clarification, bankroll was in regards to live games. My bankroll everytime I turn up is 80, I make more than that, 80 goes back to the bankroll, and the rest to a seperate account to fund overseas holidays. By means am I saying that i make 700% on my money, that's just ludicrous. Anything else keyboard warrior?