Polack

• Thread starter Thread starter sabre_ac

This kid turned 17 on the weekend and kicked 6 goals for east fremantle.

Huge wraps on him, and has been compared to Keernahan.

Will be our first pick this year (well he ****ing betta be, least he wont get homesick)

Imagine a Polack,Pavlich,Longmuir,Woods and Schell forward.
Talk about unstopable.

Stop Stop Stop

Originally posted by sabre_ac

Will be our first pick this year (well he ****ing betta be, least he wont get homesick)

Talk about unstopable.

Sabre for god sake stop making kids world beaters before they even pull on a guernsey.Maybe the kid will be good,but there must be others who have played more than two games to pick.I saw him in his first game the derby or did I see him HMMMM.Don't get me wrong I am not knocking the kid just being realistic.If only half the kids who were going to be champions turned out half champs we would be sitting on top of the world,but sadly we make more of them than they are.
Let the kid settle first before making him a champion and putting a mill stone around his neck.Kernahan!!!!! good god I hope young Polak can at least talk.

Anchor man
After supporting the dockers from the begging, I have learnt one thing.
The best way to stick by them is too look for the best senario possible.Some how it makes the constant loosing allot easier to bear.
Polak looks the goods, he has big wraps, and by talking this kids chances up will not ruin it for him.

You may be supersticious, but I am not.

And being negative is not being realistic.
Most realistic fremantle supporters have thrown in the towel.

Like I said, my way of getting through this constent tough run of the dockers, is being EXTREMELY positive and best case senarios.If you dont agree, then thats your opinion.

But I am going to continue to be overly positive.

Hay will be at the club next year
Wallace will be coach
And we will sign Black and Pavlich before the end of the year
Polak will take the competition by storm

Yeah, but on who? Kent Kingsley once kicked 7 on debut for North and now he's doing very little over at Geelong.

Who made that comparison? You?

He may not be homesick, but he might get sick of playing for a losing team.

Talk about unstopable.

I agree with that. The only clubs that could stop that forward line are Essendon, North Melbourne, Hawthorn, Collingwood, Carlton, Western Bulldogs, St.Kilda, Port Adelaide, Brisbane, Geelong, West Coast, Melbourne, Richmond, Sydney, and Adelaide.

Re: Re: Polack

Originally posted by Shinboners
Talk about unstopable.

I agree with that. The only clubs that could stop that forward line are Essendon, North Melbourne, Hawthorn, Collingwood, Carlton, Western Bulldogs, St.Kilda, Port Adelaide, Brisbane, Geelong, West Coast, Melbourne, Richmond, Sydney, and Adelaide.

pavlich woods longmuir and schell have all proved they can play great footy up forward and with waterhouse back they will be better
with clem back in the ruck and the support of eastaugh longmuir will be released into the forward linewhere he can play well along with hasleby dropping in there on the usual occasions
may not be unstopable but will be a good forward line within a few years but at the moment the oldest in that list is schell and he is only 21 followed by longmuir 20 pavlich 20 in december and woods is only 19
so i'd say they all have plenty of time to develope into close to unstopablebut no whole forward line is always unstopable u will always have 1 player who is having a bad day on the day

sabre I am not being a pessimist just but a realist.The kid has yet to prove himself in any grade of footy except junior ranks.I hope for the sake of the club[if we pick him up]that he is a super star and can be a star for years to come,but let us not put the cart before the horse.

Talk about unstopable.

Unstoppable?? You are joking right?? Take Polack out, put Modra in and that is your current forward line, which happens to be the second worst attack in the league at the moment (FACT).

Youve comapred Polack to Kernahan because he kicked 6 goals in a game. Youve said that Schell kicking 8 goals in the WAFL was a fantastic achievement. You need to get with reality. Your forward line is the second worst in the league at the moment.
Your only kicking 11 goals a game at the moment. Thats hardly unstoppable. You need to start kicking 15-16 goals a game to be any threat. That was Ports problem...port have basically solved hte problem to average 111 points this season (freos average is 80 points per game).

Schell will be back in Adelaide soon (he is from Central Districts - an SANFL side). He hasnt done much. Pavlich isnt a game breaker at all. Dion Woods....who is he?? What has he done? Longmuir a forward? hmmmm dunno about that.

Pavlich, Longmuir, Woods and Schell have only kicked 30 goals BETWEEN them this year. Get that to around 90 at this stage next year between those 4 players and youll be right.

Unstoppable...hehehe...i shouldnt laugh, but you really come up with some rippers sometimes sabre.

Just to let you know, im tipping Freo to beat Port in two weeks as well...Port arent playing well at the moment, and i reckon freo will get up

Anchor man
After supporting the dockers from the begging, I have learnt one thing.
The best way to stick by them is too look for the best senario possible.Some how it makes the constant loosing allot easier to bear.
Polak looks the goods, he has big wraps, and by talking this kids chances up will not ruin it for him.

You may be supersticious, but I am not.

And being negative is not being realistic.
Most realistic fremantle supporters have thrown in the towel.

Like I said, my way of getting through this constent tough run of the dockers, is being EXTREMELY positive and best case senarios.If you dont agree, then thats your opinion.

But I am going to continue to be overly positive.

Hay will be at the club next year
Wallace will be coach
And we will sign Black and Pavlich before the end of the year
Polak will take the competition by storm

You can talk up kids as much as you like, but be realistic. How many League WAFL games has Polack played?? Talking this kid up wont ruin him you are correct...but it will just lead to dissapointment and under achievement if he doesnt take the competition by storm.

There have been so many fantastic players that have done a lot in their first few games, but nothing since. Look at Schell...you said he kicked 8 goals in the WAFL at the age of 21...yet he averages 1 goal every 2 games in the AFL.
Look at Scott Hodges...one of the greatest SANFL full forwards of ALL TIME, yet he was very dissapointing in the AFL (to most people). Pavlich hasnt exactly set the league on fire yet either (averages just over a goal a game).

Your two best bets up forward still are Modra and Waterhouse. Clive is injured, but Modra is sitll your best forward chance.

Superstition has nothing to do with this. Its plain common sense. If he kid has only played a handful of games, its best not to up his chances. Whos to say he will play for Freo anyway?? Freo will need more than another 17 year old raw rookie to make their forward line 'unstoppable'. How often does a young forward take the league by storm?? Only few in the last 5-6 years has been Matthew Lloyd, and to a certain extent (but not largely) Tredrea and only recently Tarrant.
There have been so many SANFL talents that have gone nowhere at all. There was a John Hatsitsopanidis for Port in the Under 17s and 19s. In the U17s he regularly kicked double figure scores (plenty of 12 goals a game etc), In the Under 19s it was the same, he kicked 95 goals in only about 14 games, yet he couldnt even make the reserves side. Simon Pedler was a huge potential star for port, and was picked up by Adelaide, but ended up in a back pocket. Chad Cornes is a huge talent (apparently) yet he cant get a kick. Randall Bone was a huge talent yet couldnt get a kick in the AFL, ditto Chris Groom. Chad Liddel for Collingwood was a big potential, but couldnt get a kick in the AFL.
We hear lots about Daniel Schell being a star, yet he cant get akick in the AFL. Pavlich hasnt done nearly enough either.

You say Polak looks the goods...are you basing this on one game?
If you keep building this players up and up, your just heading for dissapointment.

This is not meant to sound harsh, but you really are heading for dissapointment.

Just having a look at the WAFL website. Polak has only played 2 or 3 games.

In my opinion...Fremantles best bet, and i cant believe noone picked him up on a senior list, is Rod Tregenza. WAFL leading goalkicker in 99 and 2000, only 21 or 22. He would of been a good bet. And i dont know why Freo didnt pick him up at the end of last season...he is now on Kangaroos rookie list.

Is there something wrong with him that he cant get drafted?

Maccca please dont tell me how to support my club.

Now we have seem to have steered clear of eachother, probally because Port have started loosing.But im not going into that, just like I havent at all this season.

Polak looks to be a good player, schell can still be a good player.My way of supporting my club, is enitirely my own.

Pavlich will be a game breaker, Polak looks to be a good player.Not many positives coming out of this year for fremantle.

Looking to the future is really all freo supporters can do, if I dream unrealistic dreams, there mine.

At the moment were both speculating, sure one of might be reasonable than the other.But there boths GUESSES and at the moment neither you or me are any righter than the other.

Hows these
Wallace will be Freos first final 8 coach within the next 3 years.
Hay and Haselby will be Fremanltes first All Australians.
Polak and Longmuir will be the most feared half forwards in the leauge.
Fremanltes supporter base will be above 30 000 within 5 years.
Top 3 material within 7 years.

And Macca if Fremantle beat Port, believe me you will be hearing from me.The game will be solely dedicated to your efforts and research into my club.

Maccca please dont tell me how to support my club.

Now we have seem to have steered clear of eachother, probally because Port have started loosing.But im not going into that, just like I havent at all this season.

Polak looks to be a good player, schell can still be a good player.My way of supporting my club, is enitirely my own.

Pavlich will be a game breaker, Polak looks to be a good player.Not many positives coming out of this year for fremantle.

Looking to the future is really all freo supporters can do, if I dream unrealistic dreams, there mine.

At the moment were both speculating, sure one of might be reasonable than the other.But there boths GUESSES and at the moment neither you or me are any righter than the other.

Hows these
Wallace will be Freos first final 8 coach within the next 3 years.
Hay and Haselby will be Fremanltes first All Australians.
Polak and Longmuir will be the most feared half forwards in the leauge.
Fremanltes supporter base will be above 30 000 within 5 years.
Top 3 material within 7 years.

And Macca if Fremantle beat Port, believe me you will be hearing from me.The game will be solely dedicated to your efforts and research into my club.

Good!! I hope freo do win, and i look forward to 'hearing from you'. Not that it matters because...Port are in the top 8 at the moment...freo are winless. BIG difference.

You say we steered clear because Port started losing. Oh no, 2 games....but then again you would know all about losing wouldnt you. I think you will find the last post i did here was about round 6 or so, i stopped posting here cos i couldnt be bothered on senseless arguments about you thinking 'i have something against fremantle'. Mate you can dream and predict all you like.

How bout these predictions:
Port will be playing finals footy this season, even if Fremantle beat them in two weeks.
Port will have one of the most feared midfields in the league.
Matthew Primus will be Ports first brownlow medallist this season.
2001 will mark Ports first premiership.

You say your predictions like im gonna be jealous??
I wish Fremantle all the luck and success in the world...id rather see them win than West Coast thats for sure. I hope you snag Wallace from the Bulldogs...he would be 40x better than any other coach youve had. I hope you snare Hay away from Hawthorn (i cant see him leaving a top 4 side to go to a bottom side, despite being homesick), he will be twice as good as any defender youve ever had.
And i hope Pavlich does come of age, as well as Polak (who could also never be seen again at this stage...one game wonder).

The reason i posted is because you said "unstoppable forward line"...and at the moment i think the LAST thing fremantle need is another raw 17 year old rookie who has played one good game in the WAFL. You need experience. Go for Hay, but i dont think you need another defender. Go for a expereinced forward. I will gladly give you Chad Cornes for nothing.
What Freo need at the moment is an experienced forward (like another Modra or Waterhouse) who is known to kick goals on a regular basis. Maybe go for Scott Lucas. But dont you think youve got enough 19-20-21 year old unproven raw forwards at the moment?

ill tell you one thing tho, dont expect Hay to easily come to your club without parting ways with one or two good players yourself. You go for hay, i would say Hawthorn would be looking at Pavlich (They lack young tall forwards), J Longmuir (they need a ruckman desperatly as Rehn is going on in years and O Farrel dont look much), Walker or Black (can never have enough midfielders) or high draft picks (ie. your first and second draft positions)

What would you be willing to give up for Hay?? Also keep in mind he is Hawthorns best defender.

just being a realist

Macca on the subject of Pavlich while he has not been a game breaker or winner yet he will become that.Unfortunately by the press here yesterday it appears the Dockers are reluctant to put him on a long term contract.Why I don't know,but it would be interesting to find out because I believe the kid has it all.Put him in a good dide where he can find his way rather than having to lead the way he would be a sensation.
Our club is in serious need of leaders at the moment and I don't mean kids like Pav,Brownie and Haselby but experienced leaders,Where we get them I don't know.
On Polak as I said the kid really hasn't proved himself at WAFL level yet.He may make the grade and I hope for his sake that the does and if he does I hope it is with the Dockers.But let us not make him a super star before he is a regular with East Fremantle.
Potential has been one of the most used words with the Dockers since their inception and I am beginning to hate that word.How many players have we had with POTENTIAL?Potential only means something when it becomes consistent performance.We have had too many players who have not reached that level.
Schell is one of those I talk about.Will he make it?don't know but I do know that he is soft at AFL level and to easily pushed aside and intimidated.He has it all but does he have the heart to want and I mean really WANT to take that extra step and play with the big boys?

Macca - good to see you've got an eye on our local WAFL talent. At the end of last season I said that the 3 best pickups from the west would be Rod Tregenza (East Freo), Digby Morrell (West Perth) and Domonic Cassissi (sp?) from East Fremantle. I heard Tragenza's been doing some nice things over east and Digby :D kicked 3 goals on the weekend which is encouraging. Polak will be an AFL player for the future, but It would be best to leave him in the WAFL for the rest of this season and next to develop and mature.

Re: just being a realist

Originally posted by anchor man
Macca on the subject of Pavlich while he has not been a game breaker or winner yet he will become that.Unfortunately by the press here yesterday it appears the Dockers are reluctant to put him on a long term contract.Why I don't know,but it would be interesting to find out because I believe the kid has it all.Put him in a good dide where he can find his way rather than having to lead the way he would be a sensation.
Our club is in serious need of leaders at the moment and I don't mean kids like Pav,Brownie and Haselby but experienced leaders,Where we get them I don't know.
On Polak as I said the kid really hasn't proved himself at WAFL level yet.He may make the grade and I hope for his sake that the does and if he does I hope it is with the Dockers.But let us not make him a super star before he is a regular with East Fremantle.
Potential has been one of the most used words with the Dockers since their inception and I am beginning to hate that word.How many players have we had with POTENTIAL?Potential only means something when it becomes consistent performance.We have had too many players who have not reached that level.
Schell is one of those I talk about.Will he make it?don't know but I do know that he is soft at AFL level and to easily pushed aside and intimidated.He has it all but does he have the heart to want and I mean really WANT to take that extra step and play with the big boys?

Exactly, thats why i laughed at Sabre saying Polak will be perfect. Another 17 year old whos played 6 games of footy is not what Fremantle needs. Youve got enough young players that fill that void. An experienced forward, an experienced strong defender, is what Fremantle need. Like a Tredrea type and a Mead type forward and defender. Pavlich may be considered trade bait for Fremantle. Plus, Pavlich hasnt set the world on fire ever yet. He wasnt a game breaker in the SANFL and hasnt been yet. He is a good half forward, but ont a Wayne Carey or Chris Grant.
And who is to say Polak will be at Fremantle anyway?!?

Originally posted by GoEagles
Macca - good to see you've got an eye on our local WAFL talent. At the end of last season I said that the 3 best pickups from the west would be Rod Tregenza (East Freo), Digby Morrell (West Perth) and Domonic Cassissi (sp?) from East Fremantle. I heard Tragenza's been doing some nice things over east and Digby :D kicked 3 goals on the weekend which is encouraging. Polak will be an AFL player for the future, but It would be best to leave him in the WAFL for the rest of this season and next to develop and mature.

Yeah im surprised that a young forward who kicked 55 goals and 80 goals in two years wasnt picked up earlier or on the main list.
IM also glad the Power has Cassisi. He looks to be a very good winger in the Greg Anderson/Craig Bradley mold. Strong with a great kick and only 18!

Interesting

Sabre interesting to see your boy Polak is in the Teal cup squad playing in Melbourne over the next two weeks.Maybe we will get a better idea of how he will perform after this comp.

Originally posted by GoEagles
Macca - good to see you've got an eye on our local WAFL talent. At the end of last season I said that the 3 best pickups from the west would be Rod Tregenza (East Freo), Digby Morrell (West Perth) and Domonic Cassissi (sp?) from East Fremantle. I heard Tragenza's been doing some nice things over east and Digby :D kicked 3 goals on the weekend which is encouraging.

I don't know where you're getting your info from about Tragenza doing so well over east, but he was picked up by the Roos and put onto our rookie list. Sadly though, he injured his knee during the pre-season and has had to undergo a knee reconstruction.

In the meantime, Digby Morrell did very well against Hawthorn. He was promoted onto the senior list when Winston Abraham was put onto the long term injury list. When Winnie returned, he was put back onto the rookie list, but as soon as Burger Butt injured his back (thus getting put onto the long term injury list), Morrell was promoted again. We had Morrell on our table at a North function last week and I can say that he's a top bloke....he is a very chatty bloke and has a great sense of humour.....we were all impressed by his attitude and hope that he will play many more games for the Roos.

question to Shinboner

Now that Winnie has been out in the pasture for a while has he put on any condition?Will he make it back into the team?
Not that the Dockers would be interested but is he likely to be trade bait?:confused: :confused: :confused:

Yep your right Shinboners about Tregenza's injury. I got the report that he was doing well from a mate of mine who plays Colts for South Fremantle. So maybe it was a bit of a Fremantle dig involved.:confused:

Re: question to Shinboner

Originally posted by anchor man
Now that Winnie has been out in the pasture for a while has he put on any condition?Will he make it back into the team?
Not that the Dockers would be interested but is he likely to be trade bait?:confused: :confused: :confused:

Winnie is fast running out of time if he wants to get back into the team. With Pickett going so well up forward and Shannon Motlop taking Pickett's spot in defence (and Troy Makepeace in line for a recall), it's hard to see how Winnie, who will not be match fit, can force his way back into the senior side.

The best that he can look forward to in the future (if it's with North) is a one year contract.

As for trade bait, I'm not sure who would take him on. He's heading towards 30, and with (potentially) smaller lists and teams looking for younger players, I reckon he may just head back to WA and just play out his days in the WAFL.

could be right

Shinboner you could be right on Winnie,it might be getting to hard for him.Could be back playing for PERTH in the WAFL next year.What about Sinclair?how is he going.Is he going to be another who is going to find the going too hard do you reckon.Some who have left our club don't seem to like the hard work,or didn't here any way.

There's plenty of North fans who want Sinclair to do well for us. At the start of the season, there was a feeling that Sinclair was finding the Pagan style training too hard and that he might give up at the end of the season. At about the same time, we had noted that Pagan's public comments about Sinclair were not that positive (it was mentioned in one of the threads on the North board).....the coaches comments wearn't negative, but the fact that they wearn't positive spoke volumes to us. But at a recent dinner, Pagan spoke far more positively about Sinclair.

From what I've seen in recent weeks (when he's played with the Murray Kangaroos), he's been playing with some enthusiasm. If North are to see the best of Sinclair, it won't be until next season....the kid does have the ability, he just has to make the most of it.

Back to Winnie though, if he can't see out another year or two at North, I'd love to see him back at Freo or the Eagles where hopefully he can play some good footy in front of his family and friends.....I reckon he could blossom back in Perth. He had a horror year last year and this season has been ruined by injuries, so I'd hate to see him disappear. I'm not saying that we should trade him to you guys for a draft pick, but if he were to be delisted and there was a spare spot on your list, it would be great if one of the two WA clubs could pick him up.

no way

Shinboner,Winnie back at the Dockers I don't think so.He left here because of family.If he comes home te Eagles can have him.I don't think he would survive without good players around him.Not that I am saying we don't have good players but not of the Carey and McKernan type that Winnie feeds off.
I hope that Sinclair can pull his finger out and make a go of it at the Roos.He certainly has the goods just don't know if he has the work ethic that is required to make it to the top bracket.
On former Dockers Spider is travelling well for your mob.He is another who didn't give enough to the Dockers,loads of talent but just missed out somewhere along the line.Maybe they all gt it too easy here at the Dockers.

Anchor Man

You are right about Sinclair and his work ethic....if he can't do it whilst surrounded by the likes of Carey, Stevens, Archer, Martyn, McCartney, Blakey etc. etc., then he'll never do it.

Spider Burton has done well for us in recent weeks. It seems to me that he's lifted his fitness another notch....last year, he couldn't run games out, but this year, he's been putting in solid four quarter efforts. He plays with plenty of heart and he has a cult following amongst the North fans.

I don't know why Freo hasn't been able to maximise the talent that has gone through your club. It's interesting your comment about the players getting it too easy at the Dockers....as I said about Sinclair, he seemed to be shocked at just how hard the training is at North. When Burton came over here last year, he spoke about the professionalism of North compared to Freo. But I don't think you can just put it down to just one thing....I think the WHOLE club needs to have a certain attitude. At North, the players, coaching staff, and admin know what they want to do....it's the same at Essendon, and it's the unity that has taken Collingwood up the ladder and has given the Western Bulldogs 4 straight years of finals. Freo need to copy that if your club is to make the most of the undoubted talent that is on your list.

Re: Re: Polack

Originally posted by Shinboners
Talk about unstopable.

Thats some funny **** LOL. On Winnie though, no offence to the guy but i dont want him at WCE. He's injury prone and heading towards 30. Not what the club needs right now.