dee_123

Just wondering on the status of Dunn and Polak...

Possibly trade...

Ryley Dunn & Graham Polak --> pick 30 + Paul Wheatley + Simon Godfrey

Thoughts...

despite what everyone on BF tells you dee,Polak is not a dud,so you would have to come up with something better

My thoughts are have a look at our list, and spare me your hacks and mid-range players. Perhaps more-so now after our run of success, other recruiters will be doing exactly this, certainly targeting players who can't break into our side, and thinking what in reality can we offer them that they might be interested in? The answer is a top-notch midfielder, or upgraded picks. There is no simply no room for second-hand projects or hand-me-downs.

We barely have spots to jam our current team into, and after delists and upgrading rookies at the end of the year, even less. Two players and a pick we have to use would make it even worse. I believe Fremantle simply won't be involved in trades for players unless they will slot into our top 10-15. With respect, players that would sit 25-30 on our list have no currency with where we are at the moment.

If there is interest in Dunn, I would imagine it would be entertained though. Bundling him with a better player for a midfielder in our sights might be a chance.

dee_123 said:
Just wondering on the status of Dunn and Polak...

Possibly trade...

Ryley Dunn & Graham Polak --> pick 30 + Paul Wheatley + Simon Godfrey

Thoughts...

I dont thikns so.

Polak in my opinion has to be traded, though we will probably have to bundle him with a draft pick for a top quality midfielder of a high draft pick.

Dunn I have no intention of trading, the guy has been in the system for a shorter time than Polak without given the opportunity.
Prepared to wait with dunn.

In your opinion he has to be traded.....well in my opinion we should not trade him. The guy has started to put weight and muscle on, he is maturing, he is still only 22 ! Down the track he will be a star, takes time for key position players to reach their peak. He is required for depth and you never know with some of these Vics ( & maybe pav)we have and their desire to return home. He is a much needed commodity .

theGav56 said:
Trading players is part and parcel of AFL footy. if a good trade which improves our list come along, then take it.

Dunn I could live with.

Polak is going to be a very very good AFL player. He stays.

Redgum said:
In your opinion he has to be traded.....well in my opinion we should not trade him. The guy has started to put weight and muscle on, he is maturing, he is still only 22 ! Down the track he will be a star, takes time for key position players to reach their peak. He is required for depth and you never know with some of these Vics ( & maybe pav)we have and their desire to return home. He is a much needed commodity .

I agree Redgum. Some of you people don't think far enough ahead.

Last year a fair few had had enough of the Ogre.

Even without anyone going "home" all we would need is a couple of knee injuries and everyone would be saying "We should have kept Polly"

Hotdog Man said:
Dunn I could live with.

Polak is going to be a very very good AFL player. He stays.

So assuming he does stay, which of the talls in the current team would you look at trading?

As well as Johnson, MacPharlin, Mundy, Grover, we also need to find room for Thornton, Haddril, Drum, Warnock, Campbell. While Parker has a limited timeframe in our team, Polak is not going to replace him.

But if Polak stays as a very good player one of the 4 currently in the team needs to go to get him into the backline; all are too good to be simply depth. Same in the forwrard line. Or, up forward, which of Pavlich, Murphy, Longmuir, Webster should be dropped because Polak makes us a better team up front?

My opinion is that we keep them both.As stated Polly is still only 22 and still growing and maturing I believe.Is good value as a back up in case of injury as a ruckman forward or back.To me Polly is a real backman and not a forward but his versatility is good for the club.
Dunn is 21 and has had an horrendous run with injury.I am not even sure he has been able to do a full pre season since he has been with us.He is,when up and running,a hard at it player who hits hard and is not afraid to put his body on the line.
As for trading them for a couple of half hacks why would we?Maybe for a couple of high draft picks but for Wheatley and or Godfrey,nahhhh don't think so.
Keep them both I reckon.

Pinkus, we could be in a little strife if that article is correct. There is no doubt that he would get more/better opportunities than he will get at Dockers with our stock of good talls. Luckily there are several clubs interested so a value trade may be available.

wizard_9 said:
Have to do better than that mate.
To satisfy what you want, or to beat what other clubs will offer? Surely if he's out of contract, it's just about beating what other clubs will offer.

Do you think you'll get a top 10 pick for him in this years draft?

theGav56 said:
Pinkus, we could be in a little strife if that article is correct. There is no doubt that he would get more/better opportunities than he will get at Dockers with our stock of good talls. Luckily there are several clubs interested so a value trade may be available.

I thought the word out of the club was that we were not signing anyone until the season was over because We didn't need any distractions.

Probably because in the past as soon as We have re signed someone , We have usually lost an unloseable game that week.

Fremantle are reported to be seeking high picks or an inside midfielder.
I've heard a whisper Richmond will offer Tuck or Coughlan as part of a deal....

One-eyed Tiger said:
I'd be very surprised if they were willing to give up Coughlan.

One-eyed Tiger said:

Polak for Couglan would be awesome. Imagine our midfield, Bell, J.Carr,Haselby,M.Carr,Schammer,Couglan,Headland.

Starting to look pretty awesome:thumbsu:

dockerzrule said:
Polak for Couglan would be awesome. Imagine our midfield, Bell, J.Carr,Haselby,M.Carr,Schammer,Couglan,Headland.

Starting to look pretty awesome:thumbsu:
Unless Coughlan's value has taken a serious nose dive, I very much doubt there will be a straight swap. The most likely would be Polak + 1st rounder for Coughlan + 2nd/3rd rounder. Even then I'm not sure Richmond would be willing to give him up.