Autopsy Positives and Negatives vs Essendon

Was always going to happen. The rule is pretty much redundant now because teams are already exploiting it. They take the 5 metre hit and steal a few metres by only taking a couple of steps back anyway. Only time it makes an ounce of difference now is for a set shot where it looks extremely ridiculous for a bloke to be able to walk miles off his line, around his opponent who has no choice but to stay rooted to the spot. If you’re going to have that rule then they need to start being harsh on player kicking arcs, too bad if you can’t get the journey without swinging out
Untested and poorly thought-out AFL rule being exploited by coaches? Shocked to be sitting here.

Spot on. the AFL seem to avoid using basic rules for 80% of the time and at the same time tinker with silliness that is over umpired. I am sick of listening to outside 5 calls 1000 times a game.

I would sooner have the big blue plastic chook in bed with me than have the players running out of it with machines blowing smoke up their arses each week.

Come to think of it, might add the smoke machine to my bedroom setup too...

Regarding the game last night, yes it was sexy football. The kind I like.

On SM-N985F using BigFooty.com mobile app
Sexy football might be a bridge too far. Am not really big on the plastic chook or smoke machines tbh, but accept that AFL is heading towards that spectacle zone, as rugby already has...

He gets maligned a lot on here, from some more than others, and I’ve only ever considered him a fringe best 22 player but I really liked Waterman’s game

He wouldn’t make our top half dozen from last night but he was a very solid contributor and showed that with a bit of faith from the match committee he’s capable of becoming the sort of valuable role player all teams need
Thought he was easily in our top 10 last night after a very good game (role player standards) last week too.

Has earned a good strong month of footy from this patch imo

+
Pressure
Skills improved
Speed into the forward line

-
The song
Fumbles

Come across this pearler

290453309_3153653144893518_1180775016580045177_n.jpg

Witherden out = WCE Win

I re-watched the second quarter and realised there's been a big change with the stand rule (this may have happened a few weeks ago but I haven't been watching a lot of games on TV).

The defending player doesn't want to stand still, so they nearly always conceded territory to a point where they can move. The umps now yell when they have gone 5 meters ("outside 5") and they are free to move.

To me, this is essentially the end of that stupid rule. It is now effectively a 5m penalty (the same as field hockey). Might as well get rid of it.

This was part of a major shift in the team's defensive setup to protect the corridor.

The Eagles have been near last to the party on this simple concession to "beat" the standing rule, but it was definitely an instruction given out for this match against Essendon. Being "outside 5" means as a defender you can take up a position that can affect the angled kick into the corridor and take away overlapping handball options on the inside, both of which result in opposition possession going wider towards the wings where it becomes far easier to defend against.

The defensive line was set much higher - rather than sitting back and just defending the incoming ball, the back six continuously pushed numbers up into the corridor to deny the opposition switch kick into the middle. Combined with the wings playing narrower, West Coast was able to consistently generate numerical superiority through the corridor during the match, even when being comprehensively beaten around the stoppages.

The key thing about getting corridor superiority however, is that it makes you lethal on the counterattack from turnover. Those extra numbers in the middle also become facilitators in offensive possession chains. With the defence pushing high, the forward line stays closer to home and is more likely to impact when such an opportunity arises. That greater representation, combined with targeted forward entries in front of goal rather than the pockets, yields higher conversion of goals from those scoring chances.

It was far from perfectly executed and many times fell apart, leading to the concession of some very soft goals.

But overall, the team did what it set out to do very well, containing an opponent that had almost 40% more inside 50 entries to the same number of shots on goal and winning the match through superior conversion of those shots.

This was easily the most comprehensive tactical shift exhibited by the club since 2018. Frankly, I had given up on Simpson implementing change on such a scale. There was a lot of Richmond in the way the defence positioned and attacked the ball high up the ground; the narrow wings are no doubt inspired by the current premiers.

It felt like seeing the first few rays of light towards a new identity and approach. A method that can potentially stand up against how the game is played now and (hopefully) into the future.

May it continue.

Fck the Wooden Spoon!
Yeah totally. We're getting a top five pick, no worse. Probably #3 (Lions 1 matching Ashcroft, North 2), maybe 4 if North get a priority* or we overtake Bombers. Outside chance it's 5 if we overtake Bombers AND North get a priority at the start.

Anyway, if you can't get a gun in the top five that's on the club.

IMO wooden spoons and a losing mentality developing in a club are a bigger negative than the difference between getting pick 2 and 4. Others opinions may differ and it's pretty much impossible to quantify. And it's not a hard and fast rule. Each club and situation is different.

We bounced back very quickly from 2010 but there was still plenty of quality on that list. Melbourne have just won a flag and are still favourites this year but it's often overlooked they ****ed up the first rebuild (The Morton, Grimes, Watts, Scully, Trengove rebuild) and had to go again with Viney, Salem, Petracca, Brayshaw and Oliver and also had a shitload of AFL assistance to go with it.

Anyway.... great to see the guys get a win. Unfortunately for me BT Sport in the UK weren't showing the Eagles this week. Fortunately for me they haven't shown them for ages now and even though I said to myself this year I was going to watch every Eagles game, I just simply haven't had the motivation to watch a replay from afl.com.au knowing what was coming. Understandable right!!

From the 20 minute mini-match Jones looked good of the half back. Hough was sensational early on. JK an absolute legend. Beating 16th by 10 on our home deck is no anything special but in the circumstances it's nice to just have a little moment of happiness. I was listening to the game through the AFL app and when we went down by 20 early on I must admit I was pretty pissed off. In many ways, fighting back from the start is actually better.

Still can't wait for 2022 to end.

FTR, I've got no probs with a priority pick for North at end of first round. Priority pick should never have been at the start of the draft, including us 2001 (which should also be noted allowed us to recruit Sampi, NOT Judd - without a priority we still would have had pick #3).

As Petch's sponsor, I was disappointed in his game. He doesn't know how or when to use his speed and the dominance of Rioli and Cripps essentially nullified whatever influence he might've had. The HTB in the last quarter and contest on the wing that he lost which both resulted in goals were very disappointing. Hopefully he gets a massive rev up based on those efforts.

Gaff has become dead set awful in close. The amount of times, especially early where he did a 3m handball to a team mate in a poor position about to be tackled was nauseating.

I understand you can’t always find someone in space but never once does he encourage the tackler to commit to him before giving off the handball to open space for a team mate nor handball and provide a shepherd for a team mate.

Expect this kinda stuff from a junior

Negative - the way holding the ball/incorrect disposal is adjudicated against us as opposed to how it is adjudicated against our opponents.

Caldwell gets caught cold in a CBD situation, one arm free just puts the ball on the ground and knocks it out; waved play on. Very next contest TK gets caught in the same scenario F all prior and tackled by Shiel;HTB.

Then just before the half time break Draper takes the ball out of the ruck, tackle with an arm pinned and umpire pays a bullshit “knocked out, play on” call.

Two games in a row we’ve had umpire #6. He gives us absolutely nothing but has loved pulling out tiggy touchwood ones for the Cats and Bombers.

Negative - the way holding the ball/incorrect disposal is adjudicated against us as opposed to how it is adjudicated against our opponents.

Caldwell gets caught cold in a CBD situation, one arm free just puts the ball on the ground and knocks it out; waved play on. Very next contest TK gets caught in the same scenario F all prior and tackled by Shiel;HTB.

Then just before the half time break Draper takes the ball out of the ruck, tackle with an arm pinned and umpire pays a bullshit “knocked out, play on” call.

Two games in a row we’ve had umpire #6. He gives us absolutely nothing but has loved pulling out tiggy touchwood ones for the Cats and Bombers.

It's the most inconsistently applied rule in any sport I've ever watched. And the dumbest part of all is that the AFL wants less stoppages, so if they were harder on the HTB rule then players would work harder at moving the ball on.

Just pure frustration from a spectator POV.

I just finished watching the replay as I could only listen to the game on 6PR yesterday. Petrucelli wasn't as bad as it came across from radio; he put lots of pressure on, lots of pressure acts, and many nearly moments. A bit more luck and he could have had an okay game. One thing he needs to do more though is put his body behind the ball.

I can’t stand the song in its current form - it’s an abomination.

I’m also not a fan of them playing music after every goal. They do that in the AFLW to keep people entertained coz the product is crap - AFL doesn’t need that rubbish.

The sooner they get rid of the stupid stand rule the better.

I can’t stand the song in its current form - it’s an abomination.

I’m also not a fan of them playing music after every goal. They do that in the AFLW to keep people entertained coz the product is crap - AFL doesn’t need that rubbish.

The sooner they get rid of the stupid stand rule the better.
This is so needless. If you don’t like goal music, you can say that (as you have). To drag an entirely unrelated pot shot at AFLW is nasty for the sake of it.

I don’t like goal music either, but the Eagles mens has had it in the past. If it’s something like every player picks a goal song, that can be kind of interesting. Brisbane did that against us earlier this year and it grinded me to the core every time I heard it, which is sort of the point for oppo fans I guess?

This topic has nothing to do with women’s footy and whether or not you rate it.

This was part of a major shift in the team's defensive setup to protect the corridor.

The Eagles have been near last to the party on this simple concession to "beat" the standing rule, but it was definitely an instruction given out for this match against Essendon. Being "outside 5" means as a defender you can take up a position that can affect the angled kick into the corridor and take away overlapping handball options on the inside, both of which result in opposition possession going wider towards the wings where it becomes far easier to defend against.

The defensive line was set much higher - rather than sitting back and just defending the incoming ball, the back six continuously pushed numbers up into the corridor to deny the opposition switch kick into the middle. Combined with the wings playing narrower, West Coast was able to consistently generate numerical superiority through the corridor during the match, even when being comprehensively beaten around the stoppages.

The key thing about getting corridor superiority however, is that it makes you lethal on the counterattack from turnover. Those extra numbers in the middle also become facilitators in offensive possession chains. With the defence pushing high, the forward line stays closer to home and is more likely to impact when such an opportunity arises. That greater representation, combined with targeted forward entries in front of goal rather than the pockets, yields higher conversion of goals from those scoring chances.

It was far from perfectly executed and many times fell apart, leading to the concession of some very soft goals.

But overall, the team did what it set out to do very well, containing an opponent that had almost 40% more inside 50 entries to the same number of shots on goal and winning the match through superior conversion of those shots.

This was easily the most comprehensive tactical shift exhibited by the club since 2018. Frankly, I had given up on Simpson implementing change on such a scale. There was a lot of Richmond in the way the defence positioned and attacked the ball high up the ground; the narrow wings are no doubt inspired by the current premiers.

It felt like seeing the first few rays of light towards a new identity and approach. A method that can potentially stand up against how the game is played now and (hopefully) into the future.

May it continue.

I honestly didn't realise the outside 5 thing was a thing. Was petrified we were going to give away a silly 50m penalty every time I saw us dancing on the mark and was confused why the umpires let it slide. Especially when I first noticed it when Rioli did it, because he's the master of the silly 50m.

Excellent post.

As Petch's sponsor, I was disappointed in his game. He doesn't know how or when to use his speed and the dominance of Rioli and Cripps essentially nullified whatever influence he might've had. The HTB in the last quarter and contest on the wing that he lost which both resulted in goals were very disappointing. Hopefully he gets a massive rev up based on those efforts.
Yeah Petch is a straight line player - give him the ball and watch him run. Thats it. Doesnt look like he has much of a footy brain, he never seems to be able to predict the play and most times you catch a glimps of him on the TV behind the play.

May it continue.

Glad this has been picked up and discussed. I came here to mention it this morning. Was clear as day on the TV.

I don't recall the umpires shouting the "outside five" so much, but maybe they do. Wouldn't be surprised if we actually informed the umpires we would not be manning the mark so please listen for our players to inform they are falling back off the mark into free space.

We had been strict on manning the mark this year and when we aren't a particularly fast side by foot it was giving the opposition a great advantage to just run around us.