Positives

• Thread starter Thread starter ThisIsJake

He replaces Blair surely. He crumbs very well and tackles just as hard. Plus he is a genuine midfielder who wins clearances. He is a similar height, so I don't think we want to go out there with Elliott, Blair and Kennedy
Yeah i think it's time. I love Blair, and i generally love him with ball in hand but it just doesn't happen enough.

Kennedy's last 2 games including the sub have been better than all of Blair's performances this year except one( 3 crucial goals vs West Coast ).

Kennedy is a must and I think that he is Blair 2.0 . he is slightly quicker / taller and kicks more goals with the same defensive attitude.
Witts I think has really come on.
Langdon didn't miss a beat and slotted straight back in.
and Adams and Thomas need to be played ahead of Ball.
Williams should be almost AA for back pocket. I can't name a player this kicked multiple goals on him this year.

Time for a bit of honesty about where we are at .To be in premiership contention you need a good run with injury, which is not 2014 for us.
However, Bucks is putting together a great list. We still have the cream of our premiership midfield and have added Adams, Thomas,Kennedy and Freeman and two genuine ruckman. Witt's will develop strength in time, and be able to hold his position better. But his ability below his knees and skills are sensational. Has already shown he can go forward and kick goals.wait until this lot have played 50 games.
The back line looks sound with Langdon, Seedsman,Marley,Frost all showing heaps. Seedsman has missed the preseason and first half of the year, but his run and carry is exciting, and kicking is exceptional.Haven't seen the berg yet.
None of our goal kicking forwards in Elliott, Fasolo Reid or White played against GC, and GC are very good at home. Smashed geelong two weeks ago.
Tons of positives and Darcy Moore will be at the club next year,have a look at his under 18 carnival.
We have a quality young list.Be patient and realistic.we are not gunna win every game by ten goals,2011 has passed.

Prior to the weekend, I was positive because I thought we'd be adding Ben Reid into the mix and we had Grundy + White battling it out for the 3rd tall position.

Now I have given up on Reid, and neither White or Grundy are really worthy of the 2nd tall spot.

I'm also waiting to hear an update on Kyle Martin as he was withdrawn from the VFL team.

Ultimately, I believe our issue is the forward line.

I think we need more danger up there.

Therefore, I think in the short term we should bring in White, Karnezis and Elliott for Blair, Dwyer and Grundy.

The 3 named can kick goals. White has been dissapointing, but will offer more than Grundy. He might benefit from Karnezis in the side as well if Paddy can somehow attract the better defender. Otherwise, Karnezis gets the 3rd best and will prove a handful.

I don't think we can carry a forward line with GRundy, Goldsack and Blair because none of those 3 hit the scoreboard. Ultimately, your forwards need to kick goals. I'd only keep Goldsack for now because he is versatile and the best tackler we have.

Kennedy can rotate forward as well.

Long term, we can look towards Fasolo and Reid to perfect our forward line

Kennedy is a must and I think that he is Blair 2.0 . he is slightly quicker / taller and kicks more goals with the same defensive attitude.
Witts I think has really come on.
Langdon didn't miss a beat and slotted straight back in.
and Adams and Thomas need to be played ahead of Ball.
Williams should be almost AA for back pocket. I can't name a player this kicked multiple goals on him this year.

See, I reckon Williams is down on form a bit at the moment.

He is doing a good defensive job which is important. But I expect him to also offer a bit more offensively and also break a few more lines. He has also made a few fumbly errors lately which have cost us.

See, I reckon Williams is down on form a bit at the moment.

He is doing a good defensive job which is important. But I expect him to also offer a bit more offensively and also break a few more lines. He has also made a few fumbly errors lately which have cost us.
but I wonder if that is also due to lack of continuity in the back six. with the experience of N Brown and Maxwell you could always attack knowing that they have your back.. but yeah have to agree with you.

We were not better than Gold Coast. They smashed us in the clearances and were 300% more effective going forward.
We get smashed in the clearances all the time yet we still find a way to win more often than not. The "going forward" part falls under the scoreboard aspect, does it not?

We were all over them.

Clearly Young should have been paid a mark in the last few minutes
lol Yeah I forgot all about that one. Those bloody campaigners. FFS how long does a guy have to hold the ball before they pay it. The replay clearly showed that he had control of the ball.

As this is the positive thread I say it is time to pick up our collective lips and put the loss behind us. In the immortal words of Kevin Keegan..."we're still going for this title". I can't wait for Sunday!

Lol yeah.... But did Keegan say that before or after Newcastle went on a losing streak to drop from an unassailable lead to lose the title to Man U?.. wait.. either way.. that is NOT positive!

- Sidey showing some leadership and stopping Grundy from giving away a free kick, if you missed it it's on the AFL website. But showed good leadership to come over the top and lay down the law to one of our young guys.

Saw that on Footy Classifieds and it was very smart by Steele.

He knew that Grundy can be a Hot Head at times when Pushed. Steele sore what was coming and he went and settled Grundy down before he did something Stupid.

Great Leadership and he Knowing about your teammate

Good thread - we should always have one of these after a loss. Obviously doesn't mean anyone is overlooking the issues involved in the loss, but life is more enjoyable if you can think at least a few happy thoughts.

So for mine:

- Ben Kennedy: I've been a bit of a doubter about this kid, because his first few games had not been impressive and featured some quite horrible disposals but I'm now officially a convert. Showed excellent speed and lateral movement, and disposal was excellent all game. I had a quite literal front row view of a couple of his passes off the non-preferred right foot which were exquisite. Nothing impresses me more about a player than possessing a good non-preferred foot but also having no hesitation in using it. Collingwood has only really had two of these guys for years (Beams and Sidey) but Kennedy looks like he could be another. Also actually crumbed a Cloke marking contest and kicked a goal from it. Cannot remember the last textbook crumbing goal we actually kicked before that.

- Witts: developing nicely. The rocket that Bucks gave him has certainly seemed to work. He now looks like a proper ruckman. Will have a great combination with Grundy in time, we just have to be patient and remember Grundy has just turned 20 and you don't normally even see a ruckman until they turn 22. Grundy has already got 19 games under his belt. From 2000 onwards there have been roughly 21 genuine ruckmen play in premierships. By Grundy's age 18 of them had played 10 games or less, with 7 of those yet to debut. Only Brad Ottens and Jamie Charman had played more games than Grundy at the same age.

- Langdon: this kid is an absolute gem. Has composure oozing out of him. I can only think of 2 mistakes that he's made all year (both against WB, both ended up conceding goals). Has 200 game player written all over him.

Also some positives not directly involving Collingwood: The stadium up there is fantastic, the atmosphere was great, the weather was perfect. If you get a chance, go up there and see a game.

Good thread - we should always have one of these after a loss. Obviously doesn't mean anyone is overlooking the issues involved in the loss, but life is more enjoyable if you can think at least a few happy thoughts.

So for mine:

- Ben Kennedy: I've been a bit of a doubter about this kid, because his first few games had not been impressive and featured some quite horrible disposals but I'm now officially a convert. Showed excellent speed and lateral movement, and disposal was excellent all game. I had a quite literal front row view of a couple of his passes off the non-preferred right foot which were exquisite. Nothing impresses me more about a player than possessing a good non-preferred foot but also having no hesitation in using it. Collingwood has only really had two of these guys for years (Beams and Sidey) but Kennedy looks like he could be another. Also actually crumbed a Cloke marking contest and kicked a goal from it. Cannot remember the last textbook crumbing goal we actually kicked before that.

- Witts: developing nicely. The rocket that Bucks gave him has certainly seemed to work. He now looks like a proper ruckman. Will have a great combination with Grundy in time, we just have to be patient and remember Grundy has just turned 20 and you don't normally even see a ruckman until they turn 22. Grundy has already got 19 games under his belt. From 2000 onwards there have been roughly 21 genuine ruckmen play in premierships. By Grundy's age 18 of them had played 10 games or less, with 7 of those yet to debut. Only Brad Ottens and Jamie Charman had played more games than Grundy at the same age.

- Langdon: this kid is an absolute gem. Has composure oozing out of him. I can only think of 2 mistakes that he's made all year (both against WB, both ended up conceding goals). Has 200 game player written all over him.

Also some positives not directly involving Collingwood: The stadium up there is fantastic, the atmosphere was great, the weather was perfect. If you get a chance, go up there and see a game.
Perhaps I am the 'yin' to your 'yang' and we should somehow morph into the one being.

Agree with you about Kennedy. Dual sided players are valuable commodities. Looks like he is the first of our 3 SA draftees to show his true worth.

I'd be interested to compare the progress of Ottens and Charman at the same stage as Grundy, particularly given that Grundy seems to have hit a bit of a trough.

Positive
BF becomes much more active after a loss and I have read some very witty and funny and sarcastic posts which have given me a good laugh
thanks fellow BF users.

BF being more 'active' is good for some:(

Positive
BF becomes much more active after a loss and I have read some very witty and funny and sarcastic posts which have given me a good laugh
thanks fellow BF users.

Sure Does.

When we lose it’s the most busiest it is on the Board, can be quiet after a win

Saw that on Footy Classifieds and it was very smart by Steele.

He knew that Grundy can be a Hot Head at times when Pushed. Steele sore what was coming and he went and settled Grundy down before he did something Stupid.

Great Leadership and he Knowing about your teammate
Grundy was about to do something stupid, but seriously, how on earth was that not a free kick? Got shoved in the back straight into the fence.

Because Collingwood player got Shoved and you can get away with anything on a Collingwood player.

Just ask Cloke