Apr 17, 2008
New Orleans Saints
Gday! First thread / post of the 2011 season (bring it on!)

Just curious on peoples thoughts on absolute "must have" rookies from the get go in Round 1 onwards in each position. Also if you have any "out of the ordinary" or "unique" picks that could make or break!

Or is it a big secret to get the edge on the competition...? ;)

Also if possible / applicable add position, why, whispers / late mail, expected games played in AFL this season, expected SC average for this rookie and must have / lock / gamble or 50/50. Can be brief or detailed... i.e ----->

Re: Rookie possible must haves / locks!

David Swallow

Position: Mid

Why: Number 1 draft pick 2010. Very obvious pick, majority of SC sides will have him (I think). Looks AFL ready. He works very hard, earns his footy, and has some good skills to cap it off. His endurance is also great and he knows how to slot a goal making him more dangerous.

Late Mail / Whispers: Just keep an eye on his pre season form

Expected games in AFL this season: (pending injury and byes): 18-22

Expected SC average this season: 75+

Must have / Lock / Gamble or 50/50: 50 / 50 (for mine at the moment)

There is not much to be said, we don't know how much all ther ookies will be given the GC club's involvement, and we haven't exactly seen much to go by if anything at all really for some.

And as for leachyness, most teams will be 95% similiar come round 1 lockout, and the greatest differential will be wheather you got rid of the last minute rumoured saints player injured this year... :p

For my picks I'll probably just go through the first few draft picks and check out what they're doing and alkso a few players who get mentioned in reports who I haven't heard of before.

Dan - thought i'll give you some food for thought.

Backs - Heppell (b/c), Jacobs (b/c), GC Hunt - Iles - Coad - Toy, Duigan apparently played well in the intra club match:D

Mids - Gaff, Weller (GC), Smith

Forwards - Cullinan, Matera, Krak

Just a few for all of us to keep our eyes on during the NAB cup i reckon - im sure there will be names to add to this list - i am certain the DP versatility will serve us well this year(to counter the bloody byes) so keep the extra eye peeled on them.

BTW - i thought it was a great idea for a thread ;)

Dan - thought i'll give you some food for thought.

Backs - Heppell (b/c), Jacobs (b/c), GC Hunt - Iles - Coad - Toy, Duigan apparently played well in the intra club match:D

Mids - Gaff, Weller (GC), Smith

Forwards - Cullinan, Matera, Krak

Just a few for all of us to keep our eyes on during the NAB cup i reckon - im sure there will be names to add to this list - i am certain the DP versatility will serve us well this year(to counter the bloody byes) so keep the extra eye peeled on them.

BTW - i thought it was a great idea for a thread ;)

I heard somewhere that Duigan had a cracker in the Carlton intra club game.

I know its a case of following NAB Cup / NAB challenge games. I was just trying to jump the gun a little pre SC opening tonight / tomorrow morning just to the the ball rolling and the rookie cash cow juices flowing :D

I heard somewhere that Duigan had a cracker in the Carlton intra club game.

I know its a case of following NAB Cup / NAB challenge games. I was just trying to jump the gun a little pre SC opening tonight / tomorrow morning just to the the ball rolling and the rookie cash cow juices flowing :D

Thing is I reckon it's a perfect time to start up this thread and once the NAB/Challenge games start we can post using your copy/paste template and get a gr8 shortlist of potential starters.

So I'll be expanding on the kids as we see some action.

The reason i get on this forum is to share some player thoughts and gain perspective from like minded SC tragics:)

1 Gold Coast Suns - David Swallow

2 Gold Coast Suns - Harley Bennell

3 Gold Coast Suns - Sam Day

4 West Coast Eagles - Andrew Gaff

5 Brisbane Lions - Jared Polec

6 Richmond - Reece Conca (Perth)

7 Gold Coast Suns - Josh Caddy (Northern Knights)

8 Essendon - Dyson Heppell (Gippsland Power)

9 Gold Coast Suns - Dion Prestia (Calder Cannons)

10 Gold Coast Suns - Daniel Gorringe (Norwood)

11 Gold Coast Suns - Tom Lynch

12 Melbourne - Lucas Cook

13 Gold Coast Suns - Sebastian Tape

14 Adelaide Crows - Brodie Smith

15 Geelong Cats - Billie Smedts

16 Port Adelaide - Ben Jacobs

17 North Melbourne - Shaun Atley

18 Carlton - Matthew Watson

19 Hawthorn - Isaac Smith

20 Fremantle - Jayden Pitt

Please keep this thread on topic. The next personal comments will not just be deleted.

Duigan is way too old for rising star, however as you said will slot right into the backline and provide something we've been missing for a long time, a decent kick out of the backline without sacrificing Gibbs' midfield role. Can also play a bit on the wing.

Paul Bower could be another interesting selection, with Watson looking like he's ready to play and the inclusion of Laidler, Bower should regain his third man up role, a role which he is extremely good at which and one he also scores highly. Durability is the biggest concern with him.

Bench Players.

Which rookies will come in and play early in the season? Any players taken as mature age players that will come in and play straight away?

Right now, my benches look like:
Def: Heppell, Puopolo, Duigan.
Mid: Conca, Prestia, Atley. (Gaff as the 6th Midfielder)
Ruck: Z. Smith, Campbell.
For: Richardson, Mzungu, I. Smith (Day as 7th Forward after Round 1)

What are my other options? I dont mind spending up to 150K for a bench player but only if they will be worth it.

Wouldn't consider Ablett a lock. Looking at the variables that may affect his scoring such as being captain, not having the protection from taggers like last year, and the groin issues that will keep him out of the NAB Cup.

Ben Jacobs (Port) has been struck down with glandular fever, may set him back a bit. May miss the whole NAB Cup.

Re: Bench Players.

gotta love it that no one is willing to 'give away' their secret rookie picks on a public internet fozza...

These are the rookie-priced players I'm most interested in:

Mzungu, Duigan, Heppell, Swallow, Callinan, Atley, Z Smith, Strauss, Toy, Richardson, C Beams, B Matera, M Hibberd.

I'm also picking Krakouer and Otten - who is slightly cheaper than D Swallow.

I'm unsure about Conca, Polec, Gaff, Bennell, etc, at the moment. I might get them if one of them proves to be a consistent SC scorer and looks like getting a lot of games, but for their price you need to be sure. There's the possibility that you could pick one of them and find that they get subbed off halfway through a game, which would hurt more than if you had picked, say, Atley or Beams. You need huge scores from those high draft picks to see a significant rise in price, but some clubs might seek to protect these players by subbing them off.

So far, in terms of rookies in my squad (including Interchange players), I've gone for Duigan, Puopolo, Gorringe, Day, Tape, Conca, Callinan, Wallis, Atley, Hallahan, Z. Smith, M. Otten, and Heppell. Could change before the start of the regular season, though.

Re: Bench Players.

Hardly any secrets with the rookies. Nab hasnt even been played.

Well said. At the moment it's basically if the player was drafted in the top 25, is over-aged, is a father/son or plays for the Gold Coast they'll be in for consideration.