Post Release Feedback

I don't feel that the game is boring but after only playing for a few hours, I'm turned off by how many bugs there are. Honestly, I don't really want to keep playing my Carlton season thanks to the Round 5 bug. Surely a patch will be developed ASAP to fix a few things.

Mate relax, the games barely been out yet. On the 21st when its the official release date im sure they will bring out a patch like they do everytime a game is released..

the gameplay seems like all you do is hold triangle to tackle.

Just thought I'd highlight this, 'cause I completely agree. After my third game I noticed that most of the time I'm holding Y (tackle on 360 controller). Not only while the opposition has the ball but during marking contests you need to hold Y as well. I reckon about 85% of game time is spent holding Y. The other 15% is spent in the ruck and kicking.

I think it's a great game. The tackling is intense, but I think you can handball yourself out of contests pretty well, even If it's a bit messy. The pace is great and the momentum shifts are cool.

Steep learning curve, but rewarding.

Great player animation as well, the (rare) replays that we see look really good!

I think the sprinting is fine in some situations, however the ball carrier is always slower than the chaser. I really like how there's pressure involved though, it makes it really rewarding once you work yourself into space :)

Great stuff :D

So far my AFL Live experience has been very enjoyable and the minor bugs have not gotten in the way of the gameplay. In all honesty I am super appreciative for having an AFL game to play at all. It is by far the best AFL game we've ever had and is a very solid foundation to build from. Hats off to BigAnt for taking the risk and putting out a game which is of such a high standard all things considered (budget, AFL market size, company size etc.)

The problem a lot of others on here have is that due to the extremely high standards set by decade-running franchises like FIFA/NBA2K/Madden is that this game falls short of the bar while still asking for the same amount of money.

For a full priced game you expect a certain level of features. This game is very bare bones in both the single player & multi player formats. Yes I understand its first time franchise, but surely a few more features wouldn't have hurt. A proper career mode. Better custom team options. A proper draft integrated into a rolling year-on-year season mode. Some better presentation of the stats. This type of basic stuff but would enhance the gameplay longevity significantly and would have required minimal development effort. The game just needs something to keep people coming back, otherwise it will start collecting dust pretty quickly.

There are a lot of bugs i've noticed but I won't be holding my breath for a patch. I'd be surprised if BigAnt have the budget to release a patch that fixes anything but game crashing. Thankfully the in-game bugs don't detract too much from the gameplay. The best we can expect is that next years game (if they make it) irons out some of the core faults in this game. Try watching the game on the most zoomed setting and you will how hit and miss some of the animations are. Graphics are also very underwhelming for a game of this generation but it does look decent on the more zoomed out camera angles.

The gameplay overall was quite enjoyable from the 3-4 hours I played today and it is a great simulation of AFL experience. But things like marking, spoiling, ruckwork, kick-ins and especially goal kicking all feel like they are pot luck. There does not feel to be any element of skill in these components of the game. As many others have mentioned the tackling is way too excessive in online modes. I've never seen Carlton players stick so many tackles in my life - would be nice if this happened on field. Hitting a target by foot also seems a bit harder than it should be.

I'm also having a lot of trouble with camera angles. Get too close and it makes it impossible to accurately field kick. Get too far out and you can't see anything. Anyone found the optimum angle yet which is the best mix of both?

Overall, a very good attempt at an AFL game which has significantly exceeded my expectations. Well done BigAnt, I can see that i'll be playing this for weeks to come.

Can't believe the amount of tugging going on bout this game...

One word sums up my impression: disappointment.

I feel bad bout saying this cos I know a lot of people have put in a lot of effort, but seriously, it blows. :eek:

If you like it, you've either never played NBA 20xx, Madden, FIFA etc, or you are just in denial cos you were looking forward to its release so much. As was I.

First thing I thought when I started playing was "holy S@$t, this is AFL 1998!" A few more hours and this has proved to be exactly correct. From the embarrassingly bad animations, to the weird AI, to the non-existant atmosphere and mind-numbing commentary, it's all here. Don't even start me on the controls... I know, I know, that's just my problem but I won't be able to put up with the rest long enough to figure them out.

Played with a mate for a few hours now and we just can't stand it any more. We were trying so hard to be positive and forgive some shortcomings, but we stopped. Not out of frustration or anything cos we couldn't get a win or take a screamer, just cos it's...well, kinda lame.

Now I know this is harsh, but let's be serious for a second: If you just looked at this game objectively, no bias because you were looking forward to its release so much, you would have to admit it's average at best.

Flame me, whatever, I really don't care. I don't even necessarily think it's the developer's fault; Aussie Rules is just a game that does not lend itself well to a video game. Would be nice to get my $90 back!

Get tackled, get tackled, handpass, get tackled, turnover, goal. Tackled, tackled, tackled, goal. Tackled, tackled, tackled, goal....

:(

I love how most of the people who bag the game then go on to say how it isn't a true representation of the sport, but FIFA is (a true representation of football).

FIFA is the WORST football game franchise in history.

ISS (back in the day) and now PES by Konami crap all over it gameplay wise.

I immediately stop reading a post once I see somebody mention FIFA.

Back on to AFL Live:

Does the game have bugs? Sure.

Does it ruin the game? Hell no.

The gameplay is very realistic, I feel. It's very hard to work the footy around the park and maintain possession, which I love. Much more realistic than FIFA ffs. X, X, X, X, X, X, X/^, O, goal.

You need to handball your way out of trouble, pack marks are really hard to take, holding the ball seems to be very fair in this version too. I can't say enough positive things about the game.

Offline and online multiplayer alone will keep me playing this game until the next version with career mode comes out, so re-playability isn't an issue either.

Are there a handful of little things that REALLY piss me off? Yeah, but then you keep playing and you realise that the good far outweighs the bad.

I think Big Ant have done a GREAT job for their first AFL game, and if they bring out another game in two years (I hope it's every two years, would give them more time to get it 100% right) I can't imagine how good it would be. All the niggling bugs gone, a full fledged career mode with a draft. It will be epic.

If you don't like the game, fair enough, each to their own. But a lot of people are making it out to be a lot worse than it really is. And saying that FIFA is a better representation of football (albeit a different code of football) is ridiculous.

One word sums up my impression: disappointment.

I feel bad bout saying this cos I know a lot of people have put in a lot of effort, but seriously, it blows. :eek:

If you like it, you've either never played NBA 20xx, Madden, FIFA etc, or you are just in denial cos you were looking forward to its release so much. As was I.

First thing I thought when I started playing was "holy S@$t, this is AFL 1998!" A few more hours and this has proved to be exactly correct. From the embarrassingly bad animations, to the weird AI, to the non-existant atmosphere and mind-numbing commentary, it's all here. Don't even start me on the controls... I know, I know, that's just my problem but I won't be able to put up with the rest long enough to figure them out.

Played with a mate for a few hours now and we just can't stand it any more. We were trying so hard to be positive and forgive some shortcomings, but we stopped. Not out of frustration or anything cos we couldn't get a win or take a screamer, just cos it's...well, kinda lame.

Now I know this is harsh, but let's be serious for a second: If you just looked at this game objectively, no bias because you were looking forward to its release so much, you would have to admit it's average at best.

Flame me, whatever, I really don't care. I don't even necessarily think it's the developer's fault; Aussie Rules is just a game that does not lend itself well to a video game. Would be nice to get my $90 back!

Get tackled, get tackled, handpass, get tackled, turnover, goal. Tackled, tackled, tackled, goal. Tackled, tackled, tackled, goal....

Although i agree on some points with the commentary and actions of players, but the bold part explains it all. How can you expect this game to reach the heights of those with the budget big ant had.
I'm just glad that I have an AFL game to play and so what if it isn't perfect, the players run funny, etc.
It's great to sit down and play with the mighty bombers and watch them win preimership 17 (just like real life soon enough:p)
It's fun to play against my mates who think their the best and show them who the real boss is.

Good points made rarebreed. But I am having fun with the game I know there are a lot of flaws.

Anyone else dissapointed about the create a team? Not a major part of the game but I was hoping to have a little more customization, like not being able to select your own colours is pretty poor.

Although i agree on some points with the commentary and actions of players, but the bold part explains it all. How can you expect this game to reach the heights of those with the budget big ant had.
I'm just glad that I have an AFL game to play and so what if it isn't perfect, the players run funny, etc.
It's great to sit down and play with the mighty bombers and watch them win preimership 17 (just like real life soon enough:p)
It's fun to play against my mates who think their the best and show them who the real boss is.

Yeah fair point, did think about that just after I posted. As much as I hate to say it though, AFL 2011 feels a LONG way behind, relatively small budget considered. As I said before, can't help but think this is AFL '98 in a different box.

Plus '98 had Bruce commentating.... gold... (Just a personal preference obviously, I know there are plenty of Cometti fans out there!)

People saying that it's boring need to get some friends. I just played it with 2 other friends (all on the same team) for several hours and we had a blast. There were alot of laughs as we got smashed by gold coast while playing as collingwood in our first game. I think having 3 noobs playing together made it harder to learn, but slowly we got better and better. We learned how to work with each other, ruck palming straight down to mid, sheparding for a player running towards goal, kicking in front of a leading player, chaining handballs and one-twos. Still yet to take a speckie though, which is good because it means its still a challenge, and I haven't even upped the difficulty yet.

This is a great game, best afl game by a long long way. I think people get too caught up with the little things like a dodgy animation or a commentary glitch. It is a game, the gameplay is the important thing, and I think that big ant got the gameplay spot on.

Thanks big ant, also thanks to whoever broke the release date as now I get a few days to play it exclusively before portal 2 comes out and I have to split my time.

I challenge anyone to go back and dust off their AFL Premiership 2007 and tell me that's better. A bit too much complaining here IMO, seems like everyone was expecting the world. Personally I love it, although so far I have only played with a mate and co-op online.

Think its okay.

Annoys me that the opposition makes like 90% of their targets by foot.

Also annoys me when they quickly kick it forward from the center the CHF is always about 5-10 meters in front of the CHB and takes easy uncontested marks.

Commentary is pretty horrible.

Is there only one eye brow to choose in the Create a Player?

Otherwise its pretty fun, just want to verse friends now.

Were you expecting it to be as good as those games?

Nah not really, as I reckon Aussie Rules would be a super-hard game to replicate on the xbox/PS3, but to be honest I was expecting a lot more.

Graphics, gameplay, immersion... all feel kinda old already.

Didn't even notice the lack of team songs, Footy Factory craziness, some teams not being able to complete a season, Jeff Darling issues as mentioned in the above review. The "Con" list is rapidly outgrowing the "Pro" I'm afraid.

Anyway enough from me, I've said my bit. :)

Can't stress the fact that we need 7.5 minute quarters! Playing on 10 minute quarters and getting ridiculous high scores on Veteran mode.

5 minutes is wayyyy to short.

Other things
- Replay option in menu
- Live individual stats in the menu (im a bit of a stats man)

Most importantly 7.5 minute quarters PLEASE!!!!!

I never expected EA/2k quality but I was hoping the $100 and extra 12 years would make the game a worthwhile purchase rather than wishing AFL 99 was available on PS3/Xbawks... sadly I dont think it is.

PS3 plays PS1 games. Just stick your AFL 99 disc in and away you go.

I am really enjoying it. It is miles ahead of the last AFL game I had (AFL Live 2003 for Xbox), where you simply had to win the ruck contest, have your rover kick a (perfectly straight) torp to full forward. Full forward marks and goals. Rinse and repeat.

My only real complaint (of gameplay) is that a lot of my games turned into a tacklefest. Playing co-op made this better, since you could shepherd for your teammate. I think the real fun and longevity is going to come playing in online leagues against real people, who can make mistakes.

I liked the little bit of recent history provided before the game starts by the commentators, but I wonder how many were recorded for each set of teams or if they will just be repeated over and over.

A few glitches but nothing game breaking (commentary stops for second half sometimes, a few weird animations).

Nitpicking, but as someone else posted North are referred to by Dennis as "Kangaroos". Not "North Melbourne", or "the Kangaroos". Also, I noticed a lot of the jumper selections are just wrong, eg North's away kit is the reverse of our home jumper (blue with white stripes), rather than just the home jumper and white shorts Also, Essendon's away and clash are round the wrong way, Richmond's away and home are the same (no white shorts for away)...etc (Note: I remember Ross stating that the clubs had to green light the different jumper combinations, so this is probably not Big Ant's fault, rather the lazy clubs).

I think overall once I learn the game a bit more it will be alot more enjoyable. Just have to break away from all those tackles!

Post Release Feedback