Opinion Posts That Don't Deserve a Thread (Random Opinion or Questions)

• Thread starter Thread starter RW

Sorry yes clockwise bay 4, 5, 6... ... ... 26, 27
Cool dude.

It's all personal preference really but I really love the atmosphere in the fwd pocket (bay 26-27 churchil) a few seats back from the front row if it's a midday game. But as the game is late arvo it may be a tad colder in the churchill stand. The sun sets in your eyes a bit in the BO'R stand (bay 4-approx 14) but if you take a hat & a good pair of sunnies I perfer that side as I watch the game as the sun sets. It's a beautiful sight looking up at the members etc IMO.

If you like the "cheer squad" atmosphere & wanna save a few bucks the trumper lower level is great. If it's really windy it gusts straight at tje trumper (bays 11-18) IMO. But the atmosphere down near the cheer squad makes for a great night.

I probably have just confused you but hope it helps mate. I'd try a few spots over the next few years & pick your fav spots depending on weather/atmosphere.

Hope you enjoy! The SCG is a fantastic ground for cricket & footy. When it's packed out with red & white there's almost nothing better.

Cool dude.

It's all personal preference really but I really love the atmosphere in the fwd pocket (bay 26-27 churchil) a few seats back from the front row if it's a midday game. But as the game is late arvo it may be a tad colder in the churchill stand. The sun sets in your eyes a bit in the BO'R stand (bay 4-approx 14) but if you take a hat & a good pair of sunnies I perfer that side as I watch the game as the sun sets. It's a beautiful sight looking up at the members etc IMO.

If you like the "cheer squad" atmosphere & wanna save a few bucks the trumper lower level is great. If it's really windy it gusts straight at tje trumper (bays 11-18) IMO. But the atmosphere down near the cheer squad makes for a great night.

I probably have just confused you but hope it helps mate. I'd try a few spots over the next few years & pick your fav spots depending on weather/atmosphere.

Hope you enjoy! The SCG is a fantastic ground for cricket & footy. When it's packed out with red & white there's almost nothing better.

BO'R sounds like it might be the best fit. Cheers mate, you're a legend.

Not a drama! Each to their own, I don't mind having the sun on my face as I soak up the atmosphere. Some might like the shade & view straight at the screen from the curchill stand.

Also, if it's raining I usually just run around and find a spot sumwhere undercover in the GA area in the trumper stand too.
:thumbsu:

Not a drama! Each to their own, I don't mind having the sun on my face as I soak up the atmosphere. Some might like the shade & view straight at the screen from the curchill stand.

Also, if it's raining I usually just run around and find a spot sumwhere undercover in the GA area in the trumper stand too.
:thumbsu:

Just grabbed a couple of seats 3 rows from the fence in bay 13. i suspect it will provide the best mix of atmosphere for me, with the pretty view of the old pavillions for my partner (she's not too keen on the footy but i usually drag her to a couple of games a year).

Thanks for the advice, hopefully now all thats left is that the weather is good and the swans prevail!

Just grabbed a couple of seats 3 rows from the fence in bay 13. i suspect it will provide the best mix of atmosphere for me, with the pretty view of the old pavillions for my partner (she's not too keen on the footy but i usually drag her to a couple of games a year).

Thanks for the advice, hopefully now all thats left is that the weather is good and the swans prevail!
Hope you both have a great time mate.

Cool dude.

Thanks for this mate, haven't been to the SCG before and I'm about to book tickets for the West Coast game haha.

Haha. Like I said, it's all personal preference. You may hate the seats I like & love somewhere I've never been seated. I don't even live in Sydney so I'm sure there would be others on here that would have a vast more experience than me. I've been to the SCG 10-15 times. Each time is different but the atmosphere of a Swans SCG home game (no matter where you're seated) is always great. Much better than ANZ.

Speaking of never being to the SCG before, how are the merchandise stores around there? Do they have much range of stuff or is it pretty standard? Haven't bought a Swans jersey yet this season so I'm due lol.

Also are there many stores in the CBD that would sell NSW State of Origin jerseys?

Speaking of never being to the SCG before, how are the merchandise stores around there? Do they have much range of stuff or is it pretty standard? Haven't bought a Swans jersey yet this season so I'm due lol.

Also are there many stores in the CBD that would sell NSW State of Origin jerseys?
Yeah usually really good. Behind the trumper stand is where we go. You'll generally get things for a better price online but occassionally you can grab a good deal gameday. Last year against Essendon one of my mates got one of those wool guernseys for $99 which was pretty awesome.

I booked a seat in the brewongle stand for the west coast game. I found it quite a good spot on the wing with good views last time i went.

Im just looking forward to not being surrounded by eagles or dockers supporters when i get over later in the season. My worst experience at a game was a couple years back when freo beat us pretty badly in the final at subiaco. I dont mind copping a bit of banter or abuse but my gf was sitting next to me copping it worse from the feral freo fans. Was their first grand final appearance. Think they would have been celebrating humbly not throwing things and swearing at us.

But then again the next season some freo bloke was caught on camera assaulting a woman so i guess we were lucky she wasnt punched :rolleyes:

Im just looking forward to not being surrounded by eagles or dockers supporters when i get over later in the season. My worst experience at a game was a couple years back when freo beat us pretty badly in the final at subiaco. I dont mind copping a bit of banter or abuse but my gf was sitting next to me copping it worse from the feral freo fans. Was their first grand final appearance. Think they would have been celebrating humbly not throwing things and swearing at us.

But then again the next season some freo bloke was caught on camera assaulting a woman so i guess we were lucky she wasnt punched :rolleyes:
Yeah that's a pretty horrible story mate. Sorry you & the missus had to go through that. I've never been to WA for a game and was planning on going this year but there's something else that's on that weekend now. Hypothetically, it'd be awesome to watch us.v.Freo next week over there given each teams form the first 2 rounds...

I've had a few crap experiences going to games but generally they've been enjoyable. Most people are good but it does just take one moron to ruin a perfectly good day/night out.

The final in Adel in 2012 against the Crows sticks in my mind as there was this arrogant crows flog sitting right behind us with his stuck up wife (both probably snobby redleg supporting norwood folks). He kept telling us to shut up and sit down after Sydney kicked a goal. Mind you, we were just behind the main cheersquad so it was kinda like "WTF are you even doing here anyway, this is the swans bay and... how bout YOU stfu?". Anyway, the proceeded to start arguments with a handful or so of swans supporters around us... We got the last laugh though as a goal was kicked later in the game my mates old man (who was directly in front of said bloke flog) jumped up overly exuberantly, beer in hand, lifting it up into the air and in the process tipping the beer back behind him... all over these two trolls who'd be going for 2 & half quarters. I could see them completely soaked and with looks of shock on their faces. They got up straight away and left. Never saw them again.... Oh, and we knocked their team (the favourites that day) out of the finals and we went on to become premiers. Hahahaa.

Yeah that's a pretty horrible story mate. Sorry you & the missus had to go through that. I've never been to WA for a game and was planning on going this year but there's something else that's on that weekend now. Hypothetically, it'd be awesome to watch us.v.Freo next week over there given each teams form the first 2 rounds...

I've had a few crap experiences going to games but generally they've been enjoyable. Most people are good but it does just take one moron to ruin a perfectly good day/night out.

The final in Adel in 2012 against the Crows sticks in my mind as there was this arrogant crows flog sitting right behind us with his stuck up wife (both probably snobby redleg supporting norwood folks). He kept telling us to shut up and sit down after Sydney kicked a goal. Mind you, we were just behind the main cheersquad so it was kinda like "WTF are you even doing here anyway, this is the swans bay and... how bout YOU stfu?". Anyway, the proceeded to start arguments with a handful or so of swans supporters around us... We got the last laugh though as a goal was kicked later in the game my mates old man (who was directly in front of said bloke flog) jumped up overly exuberantly, beer in hand, lifting it up into the air and in the process tipping the beer back behind him... all over these two trolls who'd be going for 2 & half quarters. I could see them completely soaked and with looks of shock on their faces. They got up straight away and left. Never saw them again.... Oh, and we knocked their team (the favourites that day) out of the finals and we went on to become premiers. Hahahaa.

Great story, He who laughs last.....

Isn't it great to see Kirky in the rooms post games.....the planets are back in alignment !!

Just a quick thought. If Rohan doesnt contribute he could come into talks at the end of the season for trade. Im not saying this is gospel but it does seem possible. They could think to cut their losses and try again with other picks or players. I dont like it but Gary needs to show something upon his return. If he doesnt then all we can say is we keep him on as depth. Plus we get criticized for being too slow and he is genuinely quick so we must keep him on the list even as depth beyond next year.

We need to think in terms of best 28 not best 22. Rohan is part of that so will play a role this year.

In my opinion, a fit Gary Rohan is best 22 every day of the week. He has serious weapons but is a confidence player more so than most...get him back in as soon as possible and give him a chance to build his confidence so that he is firing for the back half of the season.

Seen the replay of the Tigers game last year and in the first half he was marking everthing and was best on
He really needs consistency , also needs to get fit to run out games
A rohan like he was in the premlim against north in 14 of HB would be awesome
Talent there but body not atm

Seen the replay of the Tigers game last year and in the first half he was marking everthing and was best on
He really needs consistency , also needs to get fit to run out games
A rohan like he was in the premlim against north in 14 of HB would be awesome
Talent there but body not atm

Yeh that's the game I was envisioning as I typed that post out! His kicking is pretty awesome too when he is on...think his biggest issue is endurance though which would have been the main factor behind him given that 8 week block on the LTI to basically do his own pre-season. Also his manic forward pressure is as good as anyone's in the league.

Our new forward structure would suit him playing off HB. Give him the ball and let him take the opposition on. BUT he first has to get fit and stay fit.

A fully fit Rohan yes

Never fully fit poor bugger

Can anyone recommend a good weekly AFL podcast? Sunday Inquisition R.I.P:( and The Huddle seems to have gone as well.

Hopefully you'll be able to listen to ours soon once Bonz manages to get everyone together to record!!