Pre-Match: Melbourne v Bulldogs

• Thread starter Thread starter Deestroy

After seeing Whelan struggle though the VFL match against Coburg two weeks ago, i have serious reservations about his chances of getting through an AFL game.

Always happy to see him in the side, but just reckon he might still be underdone.

Dogs by 5 goals.

Okay I don't want to sound negative, but I'm scared we are going to get pumped. On the back up from Perth, without key versative backmen in particular Frawley and Garland who match up brilliantly on dog forwards I'm a little worried. We'll need Bruce in the backline so we take some pace out there, and I love Valenti and McDonald but geez it would be nice to have some pace to rotate through like Buckley, Blease or Bail.

Whelan - Warnock - Bruce
Grimes - Martin - Cheney
Davey - Jones - Morton
Bate - Miller - Sylvia
Maric - Robertson - Petterd
Johnson - McLean - Moloney

Valenti - McDonald - Dunn - Bartram

Valenti and McDonald rotate through the middle and half forward, not sure who should tag and who should slot into the backline rotation. I fancy taking the risk and trying Dunny across half back and getting Barts to tag Cooney.

Match Ups - I think it will be a case of really changing it up, especially when Martin goes into the ruck, and some of these match ups scare me but I'd start with:
Warnock on Minson (straight forward match up)
Whelan on Hahn (despite lack of height we need the strong body)
Bruce on Johnson (obvious match up for Bruce, has done the job before)
Martin on Murphy (need height for Murphy and Martin's closing speed will be useful)
Cheney on Akermanis (no one else from our back half has the pace)
Grimes on Hill (left overs, not a bad match up for us)

I was galavanting down the strip the other day i ran into an old chum, from the proper side of town off course, and we began to talk football. i tell you now, neither of us were please to be playing at the ghastly Etihad Stadium, especially not against Fitzroy. For starters how do they expect us to attend the game if we can't use our members passes and even if we could attend the game it's just not football unless you're in the dining room having scones for tea. What's more, do they really expect us to sit near those working class from that other side of town? I'm sure that they are nice people but you just don't know what you can catch from them.

Oh man, I damn near fell off my chair pissing myself laughing at that one! Cheeky bugger :D

Right up there with Steve Martin on irony & sarcasm that was... "Oh irony, no, we don't get that here... last time we had any irony round here was back in '93 when I was the sole practitioner of it, and I stopped because I was tired of being stared at!"

Ever seen much Monty Python by any chance Omit? (The bit about scones brought back a memory or 2 ;) )

PS- Thinking that Fitzroy mention just didn't scan right though... I mean, working-class Roy loyalists like me wouldn't be seen dead watching football in such a posh environment- could get thrown out of the union! But skiing's allowed... ROFL

What is the go with tickets to this one?

Its our home game, but my sisters a dogs member and it says on their fixture thats its also their home game??

Is that just one of those designated ones that they can use their memberships for as well?

Warnock on Minson (straight forward match up)
Martin on Murphy (need height for Murphy and Martin's closing speed will be useful)

Found these match ups completey the opposite! Y do you need height for Murphy he is 190? cm and why would you not put a ruckman come defender Martin who is bigger and stronger than Warnock on their resting ruckman in Minson?

Warnock to Murphy will have him covered for height and strength but not as agile.

Martin can match Minson for height strength and probably more agile!

Martin is quicker than Warnock and I'd say we would need that pace for Murphy.

Warnock on Minson and Martin on Murphy is the way to go.
Pretty much what I meant but didn't say in the first place, thanks Dez!

Also I like Martin up the ground because when he is deep he seems to get caught ball watching at times and his man has a gap on him. When he is up the field he seems to stick tighter. My reference to needing height on Murphy was that we need either Warnock, Martin or even Dunn to play on him. Cheney, Grimes, Whelan etc would get exploited over head.

On the other hand Warnock can get led to the ball up the ground but is better when he can use his body and suits Minson.

Hi guys.

Think your mob have been OK this year - and a lot better than the credit handed out to them.

Could have had WCE last week and pushed Geelong. Robbo finding form?

Could be on three wins with some luck.

Anyways, I'm currently sitting on 40 (4 from the lead in the 250K Sportsbet Tipping Comp) and I'm tipping you guys this weekend to take down the Dogs.

Thoughts?

You've won 3 of your last 4 against the Western short people at the MCG.

Also will be outlaying coin, more than likely a Pick 8 (or all-up) and a Melbourne - Adelaide double.

Have I gone mad?

Just looking over things, my biggest worry is your ability to find the big sticks.

Where do you see your goals coming from this week? Any of the INS?

Have I gone mad?
You've tipped more winners than I have but.

But I really think you have. Half of our backline is out (Garland, Rivers, Frawley, Bennell) and whilst the dogs don't have power forwards they have 6 very good forwards capable of tearing a backline apart. Their midfield will also be up and running, whilst ours we be on a 6 day break from Perth after playing with 20 men. That said I think Robbo and Miller can each kick some goals, and the rest of our forward line is traveling okay.

You want to be 4 off the lead not 5 right!

If it was any other team, yes, the backline thing would steer me to the other side.

But not the Dogs.

Even though they score well, there forward line is awful and I think their scoring power is due to a strong midfield and running half-back line.

I just think you guys match up well in this regard - and I love the fact it is at the 'G.

Also, don't forget the Dogs are coming off an Adelaide road-trip (and a 'must-win' game). If I'm correct I think you may catch them slightly off their guard.

Oh and yeah - I'm chasing that 250K down baby and it's tips like these that can get you there!

Free piss-up for all the Melbourne BF posters if we both win.

:thumbsu::cool:

Quixote - Lets put it this way I wouldn't be tipping Melbourne as my upset this round. There are plenty of other possible upsets on the cards.

Cool. These are my tips this round:

Fremantle (marginal favourite)
Melbourne (gross outsider)
Geelong (favourite)
Adelaide (outsider)
Sydney (favourite)
Port Adelaide (favourite)
Carlton (favourite)
St Kilda (favourite)

From the favourites, my only real worry is the Sydney game. I'm confident Freo will do in the Hawks.

What do you reckon?

Geelong (favourite)
Adelaide (outsider)
Sydney (favourite)
Carlton (favourite)
St Kilda (favourite)

From the favourites, my only real worry is the Sydney game. I'm confident Freo will do in the Hawks.

What do you reckon?[/quote]

That you are clueless....Your reasons don't make sense, you said because Dogs are coming back from Adelaide roadtrip yet Melbourne are coming off West Coast road trip which is much harder on a shorter break...

Martin is quicker than Warnock and I'd say we would need that pace for Murphy.

Warnock on Minson and Martin on Murphy is the way to go.

Pretty much what I meant but didn't say in the first place, thanks Dez!

Also I like Martin up the ground because when he is deep he seems to get caught ball watching at times and his man has a gap on him. When he is up the field he seems to stick tighter. My reference to needing height on Murphy was that we need either Warnock, Martin or even Dunn to play on him. Cheney, Grimes, Whelan etc would get exploited over head.

On the other hand Warnock can get led to the ball up the ground but is better when he can use his body and suits Minson.

Agree Martin is quicker, but you'd b surprised with Warnocks speed and has "long arms" like dustin Fletcher and is more comfortable playing up the ground on long leads than i think Martin would be.

I would prefer warnock being beaten on the lead up the ground on the wing like murhy likes to do than see Minson out wrestle Warnock in the goal square. Both player swill probably spend time on these opponents, show you how important Frawley has become to match up on the mid sized forward players.

Hey just recieved an sms from Jim Stynes telling me to get to the game tomorrow - is this the first time Melb FC has used SMS ... did anyone else get this?

Yeah its the first time I've got it. I think its a great idea, the SMS's must surely be very cheap, and we need to get a decent crowd to this game. 40k would be very nice, 35k I'd be happy with, anything under 30k is not acceptable. If we got 14k (say 12.5k of which where ours) to a freezing game late on a Sunday against the Crows we should get 20k of our own supporters at least. It should be a good test to see if the 'all our supporters are busy with junior footy on Sunday' hypothesis is true.

Geelong (favourite)
Adelaide (outsider)
Sydney (favourite)
Carlton (favourite)
St Kilda (favourite)

What do you reckon?[/quote]

That you are clueless....Your reasons don't make sense, you said because Dogs are coming back from Adelaide roadtrip yet Melbourne are coming off West Coast road trip which is much harder on a shorter break...

OK brainiac - I was simply pointing out that Melbourne isn't the ONLY team who played on the road last week - understand that?

Also, I think the Dee's will win for these reasons:

* Great recent record vs Dogs at the 'G
* Dogs lack of KPP's - rely basically on their midfield and running backs to set up the game. I think this will play into Melbourne's hands and believe they can match them in the above areas.
* Form of marquee Dogs players has been less than impressive. When a 30+ goose from Brisbane is your best player, you've got problems.
* I've seen some good things in Melbourne this year and think they are unlucky to be on only one win.
* Robbo and Miller would slot automatically into YOUR forward line
* I think the Bulldogs are acually pretty ORDINARY.
* It's a BET - as in, you wager an opinion and money against another. The above in mind, the Doggies are still deserved favourites. But the Dee's are well and truly over the odds.

:thumbsu:

OK brainiac - I was simply pointing out that Melbourne isn't the ONLY team who played on the road last week - understand that?

Was before they started rebuilding and were a decent team, last year we beat them by 95 points at 'G
* Dogs lack of KPP's - rely basically on their midfield and running backs to set up the game. I think this will play into Melbourne's hands and believe they can match them in the above areas.
That has been case for years, didn't stop us finishing third last year and has us currently sitting third, I suppose Aker, Johnson, Hill, Murphy etc are useless forwards :rolleyes:
* Form of marquee Dogs players has been less than impressive. When a 30+ goose from Brisbane is your best player, you've got problems.
Akermanis is a brownlow medalist you tool, have a look at the game from Cooney and Murphy coming back from injury last week, and by the way Boyd would be leading our B&F and Higgins would be close second so you clearly haven't watched many games
* I've seen some good things in Melbourne this year and think they are unlucky to be on only one win.
They sit on the bottom of the ladder
* Robbo and Miller would slot automatically into YOUR forward line
Your points being.....Robertson is passed it, Miller would.
* I think the Bulldogs are acually pretty ORDINARY.
Flogged Saints twice last year...and made preliminary final where only bad kicking kept us out of it unlike that other top4 pretender who copped two beltings
* It's a BET - as in, you wager an opinion and money against another. The above in mind, the Doggies are still deserved favourites. But the Dee's are well and truly over the odds.
I suggest you stop betting in order to keep some of your posessions in life as you are clearly not very good at it.

:thumbsu:

Saints actually remind me a lot of Dogs of last year, peaking early looking world beaters now....see how they go towards the pointy end

Ah Griff you watch far to much 20:1.

Robbo = gun
Robbo also = leading goal kicker on Saturday

Doggies may win, but mark my words; 9th is the first loser. Just ask Terry Wallace

Doggies. 2010's Richmond.

Last time these 2 teams played at the G round 2 2008
Melb 9-12-66
Dogs 24-17-161
;)

Last time these 2 teams played at the G round 2 2008
Melb 9-12-66
Dogs 24-17-161
;)

Yeah but we were completely directionless that game and have vastly improved since then and a very different mindset......

Well fellers i'm off, I don't think we will get flogged. I actually reckon it will be a pretty good game to watch. :thumbsu: