Vic Pre-Mixed alcohol content

• Thread starter Thread starter HeLMie

So i recently finished off my stock of Jack Daniels from when they were last on special for $80 a slab so i went down to the bottle'o today to see them at $70 a slab, only thing the alcohol content had gone down from 6% to 5%.

I then looked at other brands and they were all the same. Was there any announcement about this or was it just changed overnight. I'm very disappointed i know have to carry around more cans and drink more of the pathetic pre-mixed cola to get my drunk state.

Anyone else notice this?

Just buy a couple bottles of JD and mix it yourself. I'm guessing Jack and Coke is like 1.5 standard drinks? Which makes like 36 in a slab. For $80.

A bottle will have like 20-24 standard drinks, and could be anywhere from $30 - 40.... so 2 bottles is around 42 drinks for $70. Not bad.

I hadn't noticed the alcohol % change, I only take note of how many SD's a drink is.

But they been doing similar things, like shrinking beer bottles by 30-40mL but still keeping the same price.

Or just bugga off the main brands like jacks and go for $22 -$25 bottles of whisky/bourbon and mix them. You can get some very very very bad ones but there are also some nice ones out there. Get a bit of experience and you will be right.

What sort of lazy f**cker can't mix their own drinks?

I drink whiskey straight or on the rocks, because I am rock. Saves money and puts hairs on your chest.

I did notice the other day at a club that 2 of my mates and I bought Smirnoff Double Blacks and that of the 3 drinks 2 of them only had 1.7 standards whilst the other one had 1.9 standards. The drinks were excatly the same price, so I'm preety sure Smirnoff have lowered their alcohol content in Double Blacks.

I don't drink them, but my mate reckons Red Bears have changed from 440ml to 375ml with no price change. Apparently 440ml aren't allowed to be sold under the binge drinking laws. It's times like these that I'm thankful I like beer. What are you doing Rudd, I thought you were cool when I heard you liked strippers.

Almost all of those who produce pre-mixed drinks have lowered the percentages of their stubbies and/or cans. Jim Beam were the first to do it, white label went from 5% to 4.8% and their Black label went down to 6% from 7%. UDL also lowered the alcohol content of their vodka pre-mixes, Smirnoff did the same, Cougar lowered the percentage of their XS (yet to see decrease in normal strength can), Woodstock lowered the percentage of their Woodstock Silver brand. Bulleit's 9% was banned and now they've come out with 6.9% option. Now Jack Daniel's have done the same.

With Rudd's new tax pushing up the prices on these drinks it has also increased the amount payable for each drinks alcohol content. The tax amounts for drinks having 5, 7 and 9+ percent alcohol have gone up so these brands are lowering the content in order to escape having to pay the excess tax amounts on these drinks. This has been done mainly to avoid having to pay more in order to produce these drinks but it is also to the detriment of the consumer who now pay far more for a drink which has less strength.

It's much more worthwhile to buy a spirit bottle now rather than buy these pre-mixed options. The value just isn't there anymore.

I did notice the other day at a club that 2 of my mates and I bought Smirnoff Double Blacks and that of the 3 drinks 2 of them only had 1.7 standards whilst the other one had 1.9 standards. The drinks were excatly the same price, so I'm preety sure Smirnoff have lowered their alcohol content in Double Blacks.

Men drinking pre-mixed vodka drinks are homosexual.

Don't worry about the alcohol content, when I was younger and there were only a few varieties of UDLs around you just bought a bottle of spirits and a bottle or two of coke and did it yourself.
One thing they did do though was changed the bottles of spirits from 750ml to 700ml without announcing it and there was no drop in price.

Men drinking pre-mixed vodka drinks are homosexual.

As long as it tastes good I dont have a problem drinking it. I hate guys who drink beer even though they hate it and just do it to look cool. Having said that I sometimes drink beer to save afew $$$.

As stated, when the tax came in JD 4 packs were about 19 dollars, now they are something like 6 for 22, but only 5%,

Got to do with the Rudd tax, it made the products unaffordable for most people, so the only way to drop the price was to lower the % to drop the price in the shops so sales would pick up, there was something like a 40% drop in sales on RTD products

Also you'll find any bottleshop owned by Coles/Woolworths will not sell anything 7% or over, most of the stuff like wild Turkey (was 7%, now 6.9%) 9% bulliet (now 6.9) Smirnoff Double Blacks (was 7%, now 6.5%) to Save money/sell more products, most people wouldnt have noticed

As long as it tastes good I dont have a problem drinking it.

No, it's cause you're soft. There's a difference. :thumbsu:

As long as it tastes good I dont have a problem drinking it. I hate guys who drink beer even though they hate it and just do it to look cool. Having said that I sometimes drink beer to save afew $$$.

How do you look cool by drinking beer? I guess Crownies or Coronas have a perception, but they don't count - they aren't beers.

There is a perception among males that if you drink beer your more tough or perhaps more Australian or that people will think less of you if you dont drink beer.
Have to agree about the Coronas, see heeps of people drinking them, probally think it's cool to do so. Why drink Coronas when you can get a VB or Cartlton Cold for half the price and they taste better.

I can't see how you can think VB tastes better than Coronas...

But yeah, of course you're gonna cop shit if you're drinking Breezers or Cruisers when you're a bloke. Beer tastes like crap most of the time, so you just gotta drink it fast enough so you get drunk quick, then it goes down like water.
But yeah, jimmy ftw.

I always remember Sam's mailbag on the Footy Show one night. Someone had sent in a cash register docket from a bottleshop in Kalgoorlie. They said they'd bought a slab and a 4 pack of cruisers.

On the docket it had:
1 carton
4pk ****ter drink

Obviously a register they could program themselves, lol.

I can't see how you can think VB tastes better than Coronas...

But yeah, of course you're gonna cop shit if you're drinking Breezers or Cruisers when you're a bloke. Beer tastes like crap most of the time, so you just gotta drink it fast enough so you get drunk quick, then it goes down like water.
But yeah, jimmy ftw.
I enjoy the taste of beer and I'm sure many other people do as well. When you are young and havn't had much beer in your life it's a bit different but once you become accustomed to it, it is quite a good drink.

Noone drinks beer to be cool, they drink it to be men, which in turn is cool...

Whiskey or Bourbon for me.

Which is gayer, a man drinking wine at a pub, or drinking smirnoff-esque chicks drinks?

Noone drinks beer to be cool, they drink it to be men, which in turn is cool...

Whiskey or Bourbon for me.

Which is gayer, a man drinking wine at a pub, or drinking smirnoff-esque chicks drinks?

Chick drinks.

Wine is a sign that the bloke could be a tosser or sophisticated and hence perhaps flush. I wouldn't equate it to gay.

Chick drinks show the main is a bit of a pansy.

If a bloke must drink a vodka mix, put it in coke so it looks like it could be bourbon, not mixed watermelon or pineapple.

I sometimes get a bottle of Smirnoff to drink but pre-mixed anything is ghey. As long as you mix it yourself it's fine.