Training Pre season training

Training report 11/11/24
CAVEAT: ALL OPINIONS ARE MY OWN BASED ON OBSERVATION FROM THE OTHER SIDE OF THE FENCE. NO CONCLUSIONS SHOULD BE DRAWN ABOUT FITNESS, ATTITUDE OR WHY CERTAIN PLAYERS ARE ON MODIFIED/REDUCED WORKLOADS.

Clark, Butler, Jones, Wilkie, Steele training.
Wilson Pou leading the sprints
Owrns Garcia next
Naz and Irish next
Macrae in Sebs number.lol
Got some height in Macrae and Pou.
A long haired Stocker running laps. Must be in a good place mentally. Lots of yelling encouragement and very vocal. Good to hear.
Drill chain passing, with Macrae, Clark Wilson distributing into the leading forward.
Also practising turnover positioning
Hammer repeat runs but looks hampered by a leg injury, strange running cadence.
Walked across to the rehab group. Hammer really struggling. Stocker lots of encouragement.
Bolton taking turnover practice, looking for the run both ways and straight back to the corridor.
Pretty intense, although non pressure drills.
Bolton taking drills very clear and concise in what he wants.
Too early to tell positioning, using Arie through the middle, Keeler up forward, but the backs on the lead as well so who knows.
Next drill full field, high energy, sloppy at times
Good signs early for Jones and Clark both look sharp and fit.
Really started to hit their targets near the middle and end of the drill. High energy, hard running, accurate disposal.
Macrae not much taller than Clark.
Max Hall is quite small, well compared to the other lists.
Older players doing laps, Heath and Roh at the back as usual.
1 to 4's running repeat boundary runs
Repeat shuttle runs, Wilson killing it, Lancyboy struggling big time.
RTB sitting up top watching proceedings with one of his henchmen while Bolton, Lenny and bj took training.
No Carroll but think someone said he will have no.19.

On SM-S908E using BigFooty.com mobile app

Training report 11/11/24 - addtional
CAVEAT: ALL OPINIONS ARE MY OWN BASED ON OBSERVATION FROM THE OTHER SIDE OF THE FENCE. NO CONCLUSIONS SHOULD BE DRAWN ABOUT FITNESS, ATTITUDE OR WHY CERTAIN PLAYERS ARE ON MODIFIED/REDUCED WORKLOADS.

Clark, Butler, Jones, Wilkie, Steele training.
Wilson Pou leading the sprints
Owrns Garcia next
Naz and Irish next
Macrae in Sebs number.lol
Got some height in Macrae and Pou.
A long haired Stocker running laps. Must be in a good place mentally. Lots of yelling encouragement and very vocal. Good to hear.
Drill chain passing, with Macrae, Clark Wilson distributing into the leading forward.
Also practising turnover positioning
Hammer repeat runs but looks hampered by a leg injury, strange running cadence.
Walked across to the rehab group. Hammer really struggling. Stocker lots of encouragement.
Bolton taking turnover practice, looking for the run both ways and straight back to the corridor.
Pretty intense, although non pressure drills.
Bolton taking drills very clear and concise in what he wants.
Too early to tell positioning, using Arie through the middle, Keeler up forward, but the backs on the lead as well so who knows.
Next drill full field, high energy, sloppy at times
Good signs early for Jones and Clark both look sharp and fit.
Really started to hit their targets near the middle and end of the drill. High energy, hard running, accurate disposal.
Macrae not much taller than Clark.
Max Hall is quite small, well compared to the other lists.
Older players doing laps, Heath and Roh at the back as usual.
1 to 4's running repeat boundary runs
Repeat shuttle runs, Wilson killing it, Lancyboy struggling big time.
RTB sitting up top watching proceedings with one of his henchmen while Bolton, Lenny and bj took training.
No Carroll but think someone said he will have no.19.

The noticeable changes with the recruits from last year:

• Arie has fined down with a more mature physique
  • Hugo looks to have more arms and legs muscle definition
  • Max Hall is powerfully built..a cross between Windhager & Stocker
  • Gus McLennan a much more AFL looking body
  • O’Connell looks bigger upper body
  • Keeler still slight but may have put on some size
  • Unfortunately Hastie & Collard look the same in body development

Ball movement again a focus, with 45 degree kicks into the corridor when on offer.

Training report 11/11/24
For those that watch training, how is collard’s work ethic?

Collard is a really difficult guy to assess. I will say this much though. Did he take it easy? No. Did he slack off? No. Did he drop his shoulders and give bad body language? No.

He was the only one in the group at the end of the session who couldn't keep up with the times, so clearly still doesn't have the engine and may never. Again, very hard to assess because that's not his role. I will say he has definitely improved, ran out of petrol tickets in the end but I think he had a really positive session. He may not be the modern prototypical small forward but he definitely has something so it's very difficult to gauge with him.

Not sure what I'll remember from today but I'll write down some stuff and see where it goes. I'll try not to rehash too much of what's already been said.

I'll start with a pair of Max's. Max Heath, the difference between how he has presented back to the club is absolutely chalk and cheese when compared to last year. He looks significantly leaner, but not in a skinny way, if that makes sense. Kept up with Ro for 3/4 of the running, which is definitely an improvement. He was actually very clean with his skills today especiallyby foot. Main takeaway was that he started last year waaaay behind the 8 ball in terms of fitness, this year, he's not the finished product but he's definitely on the right track. I left today thinking there's a good chance he'll be a better option than any state league ruckman we can find.

Max Hall, today I got huge Darren Minchington vibes from Max, not sure how I never really saw it until now. He looks like a good depth player, I am somewhat unsure as to where he fits. I don't think he sneaks into our midfield, so is it the Butler type role that he will be aiming for?

Jack Macrae, his class was obvious within a few minutes of him picking up a ball today. I don't think he missed a target by foot during the entire session. With respect to Steeley, I think he is our best midfielder in 2025. I'm still not quite sure how anyone was critical of his recruitment to be honest.

I'll sound like a broken record this year I feel, because I feel like I'm going to say Mattaes, Darcy and Hugo were standouts more than once.

There is something about Phillipou, he is morphing into Bont before our eyes. I never stopped saying stick with him last year when some were having doubts, eventually it clicked. He is special, like, seriously special - I don't know how else to put it.

Pou's mate at the front of the sprinting groups was of course Wilson. Pou works hard to stay with Wilson, but Darce just glides. The kid sets serious standards with his fitness. Having said that, he was really clean and confident today with ball in hand.

Garcia, there's just something about him that scares me, terminator like. There is this epic intensity to the way he trains. I liked Seb and feel guilty speaking ill of him, but over the years I'd be so frustrated with him at training. He'd often lack training intensity, joke around after losses, etc. I bring it up because I feel it's hopefully a good comparison to what type of era we are moving into. With guys like Garcia, Phillipou, Wilson driving standards we can only be on the right track. Hugo isn't the finished product, but you'd have him in there and just accept that while you won't get perfection from him yet - you'll get a kid who will carry you over the line on his shoulders.

Irish, let's be honest, I've only nicknamed him Irish because I always forget if it's O'Donnell, O'Connell, McConnell, etc - so Irish it is. I'm sure he is taller than his listed height of 189cm. There is something about him, he has a spark, he's actually got a great natural footy brain and can pull off the weird lateral kicks that only a Gaelic footballer can do. I haven't seen him play enough competitive footy to truly understand his scope - but I'd not be shocked if he became the bolter for Battle's spot. Like Arie, he probably needs to improve his 1 on 1 game, I've not seen enough in games to know for sure.

As for Arie, I believe the kid was set a challenge in the off-season as to whether he really wants it and his condition is peak. Certainly looks the part, he was covering ground quite well today and we all know what he can do with his left boot.

Hastie, well last year I joked that he looked like he could've been on the set auditioning for the remake of the remake of Point Break. That demeanour hasn't really changed, but I'm not going to hang him out to dry for it. I hope he has the hunger to make it like the other recruits seem to have. He definitely has the talent.

Keels is possibly in a similar boat in that it may just be decided that he doesn't have the drive to make it. I personally think that's rubbish and that he would thrive if given the chance. His skills below his knees and by foot are simply too good to see him not make it. His fitness is quite good too, for a big guy, he's pretty athletically gifted.

Windy, Owens and Nas were just doing their thing all at a high standard. I actually think that its great for these 3 to just keep being pushed by the younger ones and not have the spotlight focussed on them. Mitchitos kicking for goal was superb, kudos to him for the work he put in last year.

Caminiti was getting smaaaaaaashed with fitness stuff in his rehab session. I actually thought he was going to collapse at the end of his running, working incredibly hard.

Watching today, and it's early days with no pressure, but our kicking looked really sharp. The inclusion of Macrae will be huge, his delivery into the F50 is just amazing. Our recruitment from the last few years has been top notch, the recruitment focus on speed and kicking was on display today.

The positive thing about our list is that noone really looks like they are making up the numbers. We won't be challenging for the 2025 premiership, but the signs are there that they have the skill and temperament to build into a premiership contending list in the coming years.

Training report 15/11/24
Pre-Season Training 15/11/2024

Rehab:

Caminiti, Stocker, Windhager (Pool).

Not Training:

King, Wood, Sinclair, Windy, Higgins, Butler, Steele, Dougs, Henry, Marshall, Webster,

Wilson has put on some size. Same as Keeler.

O’Connell looks good. Good size and nice skills. Fantastic runner (kept up with Darcy Wilson)

Macrae very good skills. It’s nice to have left footers who can actually kick (sorry Seb!)

Max Hall - solid unit. Built like the proverbial brick you-know-what! I feel that others will be ahead of him as he doesn’t really have any standout strengths.

Byrnes continues to be one of our best runners. I reckon Ross loves him.

Mitchito moving his opponents around with ease. Very powerful boy.

Collard good skills but very lackadaisical. His fitness is shocking, and his demeanour in general is not great. Looks disinterested but maybe that’s just his vibe.

Cordy runs like he’s got a shoe full of pebbles. It’s a worry if we go into the season with him in our starting 22.

Jack Carroll nice skill set. Will be a good depth player. A definite upgrade on Seb. Younger and better skills.

Keeler trained as a forward. Looks good. Surely he debuts in 2025. As mentioned, he looks to have put on some size and is starting to 'clunk' marks. Last year during pre-season I noticed he was double grabbing his marks, so perhaps his confidence is growing?

Hugo. Very involved. Good skills and decision making. Looks to have put on some size as well, and a very good runner.

Arie looks to have lost his baby fat body. More muscle definition. I’m going to watch his fitness over this pre season as last year his fitness was very poor. He’s the most skillful on the list but if he’s going to make it, he needs to improve his fitness in order to be able to run out games. A few times last year he couldn't keep up with his opponent particularly late in games.

Pou and Mitch practiced goal kicking at pretty much every drinks break. Mitch really needs to perfect his goal kicking as this is the only thing holding him back from really making his mark on the competition. He is a beast and will cause chaos for defenders with his aggression. Pou just loves the ball in his hands. Both of these lads are very committed and professional. They are the future leaders of this club.

Running drill at the end. Two groups. Darcy Wilson clearly the best runner, just glides across the ground. Hugo & O’Connell not far behind. We all know Hill is a great runner, so my observation/comment is based solely around the younger brigade.

Collard in the second group. Back of the group. I’d be surprised if we see a lot of him this year. Maybe as a sub? Just has this look of being disinterested which I’m sure he’s not. Just a very chilled character. He’s the type that won’t touch the ball for three quarters and then do something absolutely breathtaking.

That’s all for now. I’ll try to pop in regularly and provide updates.

Training report 22/11/24
Some thoughts on today’s training:
. Liam O’Conell has come a fair way since this time last year
. Max Hall continues to impress with his movement & ball use
. Keeler moves like Nas…effortless, very dual sided which is unusual for a guy 198cm
. Ball movement a massive focus
. Jack Carrol has good acceleration in first few metres, moves well & a lovely kick
. Garcia’s work rate, even at training is a standout
. Aries 40 metre bullets on show
. Mattaes lean & hungry
. Gus McLennan and Hastie will be banging on the door for Jimmy’s spot

I’ll be going to the time trial Monday so will give a report after that

Training report 22/11/24 - addition
Just an important addition to my training notes from yesterday…young Ari took it upon himself to do extra running after training yesterday when all coaches & players had gone in!
Hopefully this dedication will be recognised & rewarded accordingly with senior opportunities.

Traning report 22/11/24
So I felt like I was drenched in sweat on Friday and I was sitting in the shade sipping water the whole morning. I say this because it gives an idea of what the boys trained in! It was a dead set stinker of a morning but they worked incredibly hard in the conditions.

My biggest takeaway from Friday was Pou's leadership. I'm not sure if he was given a specific role at training but he was so vocal, giving direction constantly and being so ridiculously encouraging. He displayed leadership well beyond his 19 years and I'd be inclined to say that Friday was the biggest display of a player taking charge at training since Roo/Lenny.

I know that's a massive call, but I'd actually be shocked if he isn't in the leadership group for season 2025 and beyond. Pou, Wilson, Hugo and O'Connell led the running drills. Wilson and Hugo taking the piss in front as they were running in pairs. I saw taking the piss because they were just chatting away at a great pace while everyone else was struggling to breathe being clearly hampered by the heat.

Pou, Wilson, Gus & O'Connell all pushing for their final lap, not cutting any corners - which was great to see. Hugo was last to complete his running due to a break and he literally had to have the trainer run over and block his path to make him stop running an extra lap. The guy is a terminator, absolute machine!

Ballwork, well won't Jack Carroll be a pleasant surprise for everyone questioning his pickup. I really honestly don't understand how or why he was delisted, unless we gave a strong offer and he asked for it. He is quite elusive in close, change of direction and strength is quite good. Good kick, slightly sloppy by hand a few times but has great positioning - I think he is a huge chance to debut in round 1.

Hugo goes hard, at one point in a competitive drill Pou was jogging into an easy goal and Garcia put the burners on making him earn it - I think the kick hit the post. He then ran back to the centre like a machine resetting - the kids work ethic is manic! There was another moment when he tried to smother Nas. I'm not exactly sure if he made contact with him, but Nas came off second best. It hampered his running but came back and finished it off.

Windy running solid laps and may have done some work in the pool, definitely recovering/rehabbing from something but I'm sure it's not serious as he was moving well.

Irish is one I've been watching closely. He keeps on impressing me, moves very well and rarely misses a target by foot. I'm not sure who previously mentioned that he should be played on a wing, but they really were spot on. It's easy to just talk up everyone, but he is really catching the eye early days.

Max was there with Wood (another one or two in his group but I forgot), they were doing a bit of light fitness/ball stuff - from a distance Max looked solid. I feel his time is now, didn't look like a 200+ centimetre beanpole anymore.

Im a bit vague on my memory, they worked incredibly hard in the heat, that's probably my biggest take from it. Much to be impressed by considering the conditions and seeing noone taking a backward step so early on in the preseason.

Can't wait to see the draftees join in and the time trial next week.

Observation - 25/11/24
I was walking the dogs this morning down at the beach when [PLAYERCARD]Tarryn Thomas[/PLAYERCARD] came past jogging with an older guy following on a bike.

As with many of today’s players he’s quite thin, at first glance in the light rain and wearing a dark top and shorts I thought it was Brad Hill. I have no idea when he’ll be cleared to play again but he’s miles off the pictures being posted off our guys. While they seem to have put on some size and have come back looking fit and ready to go TT seems to have lost size and conditioning.

Looked a forlorn figure in stark contrast to Ugle - Hagen at the ammos ground a couple of weeks back where a jog and kick turned into a kick to kick and autographs with the kids.

Training report 25/11/24
King, Wood, Winghager, Stocker in rehab, running laps.
Run-through at a good pace.
Missed the time trial but one of the Brains Trust guys said Wilson by a mile.
Henry doing vertical jumps in the gym.
No recruits training. Did the 2 k then into the gym.
Boyd is coming over on Wednesday apparently.

Repeat sprints. Max Heath in the lead group.
Recruits on the sideline kicking to each other Dodson is a gangly bloke, looks like a young Bee Lee, Boxshall looks like he is about 35.
McLennon, fluro hat, must have a nick didn't run well apparently.

Arie with a lazy 55 metre kick at goal, sails through.

Three groups contested work.

Wilks,Arie, Carroll, Pou, Steele, Wilson,Irish. Higgins sporting a wicked tash and beard.Chito.

Contested work to a leading player.
A bit sloppy in the greasy conditions.
Carroll a very nice size, slick. AFL ready.

Next group, McLobster, Collard, Hill, McLennon, Sharman, Heath, Hall, Clark, NAZ, Doogs. A bit sloppy like group one. Low intensity, maybe conditions, maybe TT, early preseason.
Lanceyboy very happy, full of beans, pretty into it. Don't understand the negativity, getting around everyone looks really settled.

Next group Sincs, Keeler, Butler, Roh, Garcia, Dow, Byrnes, Cordy, Irish. Some bloke in 48, I don't know. Roh in fluro hat.

Keeler as tall as Roh, starting to fill out. Getting a decent rump and a bit of definition through the upper body.
Holding the young blokes back on the sideline, they are chomping at the bit to get into it. Deliberate maybe?
Next full field end to end non contact. No pressure, looks OK in the wet.
Keeler improving quicker than Heath. Max may be in trouble if Dodson comes on quick.
Arie seems to be running off HB/ Midfield.
Again through the corridor. Arie's kicks from the HBF through the guts is elite.
Sharman on the fifty looking inside great smother by Hugo. **** no pressure for Garcia.
Kids have arms like sticks except Boxhall. Kids put out of their misery by going inside.
Half field congested play. Keeler with a screamer and contested mark.
Maybe getting used to the training but feel the intensity is a bit down. Greasy as well.
Contested marking extraordinary in the wet conditions, Keeler, Roh, Chito all with strong contested marks. Pou having trouble in the greasy conditions.
Carroll crumbs the spoil to Dow who snaps for a goal. Carlton connection.
Some tap drills with Roh, Keeler and the mids. Nice and neat.
Backs over the far side.
All in all a neat early preseason session in the drizzle so can't expect miracles.

Training report 25/11/24
Where did Butler finish? Hearing he ran a sub-10 min so would be keen to see how many came in under as well

I thought I noted down the top 10 but seem to have lost it. I must admit I definitely noticed that he did very well during the run. Definitely top 10 finish, I'd be lying if I said a position though.

Where did the new draftees finish?

I'm assuming Boxshall and Travaglia top 5?
The new draftees didn't run, they were there but only watching. From basic observations of them standing around, Dodson is Wool mk2, Tauru is a big kid, as is Barrat. TT and Boxshall looked a good size and Said seemed taller than 180cm. There's something about these 6 kids, without watching a ball kicked at all - they just seem to look the part.

I know Wilson demolishing the chasing pack including Hill is impressive.

But Pou coming 4th is unreal. Sky is the limit with this kid

The sky certainly is the limit with Pou. He didn't look as comfortable as he has been compared to other times he's run this preseason. Still a very good run, I'd suggest a lot of the boys, including Pou, were still recovering from Fridays running session in the heat.

steeley great player of course,but i think several behind him in this would have some work to do
Steele, Hill and Butler were super fresh from not really training yet. The boys did a tonne of work in the heat on Friday. I wouldn't be too concerned with any results.

One thing I really enjoyed seeing was both Moose and Lance absolutely sprint to the line. It's not much, but those two especially have basically died over the line last year so to see them push and accelerate towards the line was a good sign.

I'm not super keen to give out times or anything as I'm always wary of knowing my place amongst training sessions and potentially sensitive data.

Training report 25/11/24
From what I saw today on players who caught my eye, most of which has been touched on in earlier previous reports is;

Keeler was moving smoothly and physically is probably ok to manage himself as a forward at the level. There were a couple of occasions leading for the ball and floating up to gracefully take the mark nicely as you’d ever hope to see.

Max Heath has put on much needed arm and shoulder muscle.

O’Connell (there I looked it up) is wicked size, strong runner, good kick. First guy who caught the eye.

Pou is just a prime prototype. Looks stronger in the arms, verbally encouraged Garcia to the point you could cry with pride. His football physique will be through the roof. And we all know he can play, kick, mark, run. Definitely captain at some point.

No Jones and no Viking spotted.

Young boys looked on with drills being explained to them throughout the session. Barrat is man-child with big arms already. Body language from Trav was excellent as he steely looked on arms pinned behind his back. Thin but tall and with wide hangers - should fill out nicely.

Windy looking incredible just running laps. So was Caminiti and Stocker, think King was doing similar but maybe shorter stints. Same for Wood.

Sad but feels ok and kinda refreshing with no Membrey and Ross and Battle. Would still have Battle in your team obviously but there are backups in progress.

I thought the unknown guy (48?) was Watson as he was pretty sturdy but that’s been proven wrong. Couldn’t work out who Carrol was but then it twigged. Looks fast with heaps of agility/fast zig zag movement.

McLennan is definitely thinner. Had yellow cap on same for Marshall.

Saving best for last has to be Hugo. His attack on the ball and fierce concentration clear to see, getting into everything in a floating and flighty way, put on some muscle (he could potentially stack up like Ben Cousins) and clearly running super well. He’s going to be a really really really handy player.

Overall thought the vibe and skills were good and hands were pretty clean. Nice conditions funnily enough just a light drizzle. Didn’t see RTB but good to see busy Bolton trotting about and the whole crew (including Brains Trust) happy and focused. Good times.

Time Trial 25/11/24
Ok, I can't help myself. Wilsons time was 17 seconds faster than Hill. So to say he was 100 metres in front of second place is actually doing him dirty. It was more like 150m+.

To be honest, I was so in awe of Darcy the pack sort of feels like a blur. I do remember being surprises by [PLAYERCARD]Hunter Clark[/PLAYERCARD], he would be in the top 10. For the record, I think he's upgraded to Udon arms, still noodles - but definitely bigger.

Butler, Sinclair, Owens, Sharman and Clark, maybe Higgins was thereabouts. I think that was the rest of the top 10 - could absolutely be incorrect - but I think that was it.

Hastie, O'Connell, Carroll were all mid pack and Gus really struggled - his shoulder was sore during training so he may just not be 100%.

The defenders and rucks ran separately and did 2.8km. Wilkie, then Marshall, followed by Keels, Webby etc. Moose beat Caminiti in a sprint to the finish. Hammer seems to be labouring a bit with his running but is being smashed pretty hard away from the main group. Surprised he actually did the 3km, which makes me think it's more fitness than rehab that he's doing.

Training report 25/11/24
Popped into training at Moorabbin this morning:

As mentioned previously, King, Windy, Wood & Stocker all in rehab group, joined later on by Caminiti. I also noticed that Byrnes didn't participate in drills and just run laps. Might be injured?

Marshall and McLellan both wore fluro caps. No tackling due to recovering from surgery.

The new recruits were watching from the boundary. It looked like Damien Carroll was explaining the drills to them so that when they're ready to join in, they have some idea of what to do.
I walked over to where they stood and I was shocked at how huge James Barrat is. He has an AFL ready body, quite surprising for someone so young (still only 17!). Boxshall is also a good size for a midfielder, and the comparisons with [PLAYERCARD]Jack Steele[/PLAYERCARD] are spot on, although he'll need to fill out a little over the next couple of seasons.

Zane Cordy would have to have one of the most unusual kicking styles I've ver seen, but he rarely misses any targets (right or left foot).

Phillipou is the most determined and driven young guy I've seen since Roo. You can just see the sheer determination to be the best player in the comp. Like others have said, I think he could have a break out year. Similarly, Hugo Garcia is really impressive. He stands out at training and loves to be involved, and more often than not, he is. He and Pou will drive the rest of the young brigade and will set the standards for others to follow. Both Hugo & Pou command the ball and Pou in particualr is very loud and vocal and isn't afraid to give feedback. So mature beyond his age.

Lance Collard and Brad Hill are very tight, often seen laughing at each others jokes. I studied Collard particualrly closely as I'd been less than impressed with his previous efforts/attitude at training. In one passage of play he was guarding Steele and as the ball moved forward, Steele took off and ran towards the forward line (from half back). Collard took off after Steele a few yards behind but by the time the ball had entered the forward line, he'd well and truly burnt off Steele. This kid could either be anything or nothing. It's really up to him. He makes footy look easy - he just needs to be a little more focused and driven.

Brad Hill is the connector. He seems to be at the end of most handball chains and pumps the ball into the forward line. His explosive sprints are something to behold. He knows where and when to run and his team mates feed him the ball. Hill's leadership is under-rated. He's so well liked by his team mates, and sets such a great example for the younger group.

Others who stood out were Gus McLelland - he's actually got some quite nice kicking skills. He was often used to distribute the ball coming off half back, and I don't remember him missing any targets. The question for me is, where does he fit in to this side? Sincs and Nas have half back covered and there's a huge group of half backs that he would be competing with (Arie, Hastie, Irish, Travaglia, Tauru).
As mentioned by others, Keeler is ready to explode. He's been the most impressive so far this pre-season. For a guy who is 198cm he's going to be a nightmare to match up on. His skills in this morning's wet and slippery conditions were sublime. He was clunking marks which this time last year he was double-grabbing. I will be very surprised if he doesn't debut early next year.
Jack Carroll is a great acquisition - I actually think he'll play a lot of football this year. Unfortunately for him, Carlton's midfield is stacked and so he was pushed out, but I think Carlton will regret letting him go. A terrific ball user, with a sublime left foot. He may end up being the best of the group that we've picked up from Carlton (Stocker, Dow & Carroll).

Didn't spot RTB at all and it appeared as though Brendan Bolton ran training this morning.

Cheers.

Training report 27/11/24
Training Report 27/11

Rehab Group:

King, Wood, Stocker, Windy. Windy looks close to re-joining main training as he was running laps at a very quick pace which suggests he may be close to returning to the main group.

No Zac Jones or Liam Henry

Harry Boyd was training. He's a HUGE unit (arms & legs) although not overly tall for a ruckman at 198cm. Very, very strong though.

New Recruits:

All there bar Alix Tauru

Some new numbers:

Travaglia #5
Boxshall #37
Dodson #34
Said #33
Barratt #28

There was also another kid training with this group wearing number 39 (I think it might have been Elwood Peckett).

Main Training:

Three groups rotating through 3 different drills. One of these was a tackling drill. Pou and Hugo were tackling for keeps. High intensity. Darcy Wilson was also impressive in this tackling drill. Collard showing off his side stepping in the tackling drill. Macrae is also a very strong tackler. He and Steele were matched up together in the tackling drill and seem to have already formed a very strong connection.

The new recruits trained away from the main group which involved warm ups, running drills and then some light kick to kick work. Patrick Said has some pretty nice skills for a smallish guy. Boxshall also looked pretty good. Travaglia is the skinniest of our new recruits so will need to put on some size. Damien Carroll took the session with the new recruits. Looks like they will be slowly integrated into the main training group.

Most of the drills seemed to be focused on stoppage work and moving the ball into the forward 50. Given our issues in the first half of last season, it looks like it's a definite area of focus. What's clear from training is that we have a lot of good ball users in our squad, particularly kicking skills.

I watched a couple of the ruck drills where two rucks were pitted against each other. Ro Vs Heath, (Ro easily won), and Boyd Vs Keeler, (where Boyd easily beat Keeler through his sheer strength). He's a very strong boy.

Pou, Hugo & Keeler continue to be the standouts. Keeler is a very good runner for his size, and is clearly our best big man runner. I guess the only thing that has held him back is his competitiveness, but based on what I have seen so far it seems like the penny has dropped for him. Perhaps having guys like Pou & Hugo are driving him to become better?

At 11.30am, the players swapped boots for running shoes and finished off the session with some running drills. In fairness to Max Heath I think his running has definitely improved since last pre-season. Zane Cordy still needs to remove the pebbles out of his shoes :)

Overall, the standard of training is incredible. So professional, which is probably something that has been missing since the last time RTB was our coach. Everything is so well planned and co-ordinated and the players are so in sync with everything. Even the quality of the drills is very high. Lots of targets being hit, very clean, and lots of encouragement for each other. At one point Pou was yelling out encouragement to teammate in another group on the opposite side of the ground. This guy is the real deal, and someone you can build a club around. A natural born leader, and will drive standards at the club for the next 12 years. Even in the running drill towards the end, players broke into small groups and ran fast laps around the oval - Pou made sure to be in the same group as Wilson, Garcia, Irish & Steele. He does not take short cuts. So much so that when others walk to re-start a drill, he runs to the starting position. I'm really excited to see what this kid will do next season.

Cheers,

Training report 27/11/24
I really should put thoughts down straight after training. I'm not old enough to be forgetting so much, but here I am... forgetting... anyway on with it.

I think I said briefly during the session that the senior boys were really vocal and there was great intensity. That was maintained throughout training, they seem really switched on this year. So different to pre current Lyon era.

I found it sort of funny that the draftees first session was basically exactly the same as last year. I recall last year that their skills were top notch, it was Wilsons first session and even then - you just knew he was different - I think Hugo missed session #1 last year. Anyway, I digress... Barrat and Dodson were the two who really impressed me.

Barrat, good size, he just looks proportionate if that makes sense. Really clean and excellent penetrative kick.

The second most impressive was Dodson, I'll say that the Luke Jackson comparison is pretty accurate. There's someone else he reminds me of but I can't put my finger on it. Possibly a more athletic young version of Shane Mumford? Z Clarke like athleticism? Marshall like movement? Probably most like Jackson though. He moves incredibly well for his size, in the drill he kicked it and moved as well as any draftee, small or tall. He's more athletic than I'd anticipated, huuuuge ceiling. If we aren't giving him the 'Wool' nickname then we aren't trying hard enough.

Travaglia will be Ross' trademark 23 game player this year. I think I'd possibly sit him on a wing rather than push up Nas (& Sincs, Hastie, Arie, Gus, Web, Irish etc) - which I know has been suggested. He has an air of confidence about him that only the really good players have, not arrogant, just knows he belongs there - no doubt. Will Day comparisons are enevitable, not just because he's spoken about him. He is a smooth mover, neat skills, I'm didnt see an elite boot, but it's neat and hard to fault.

Said looks like another Garcia pick. Not just because he's from the same area, moreso because we all said, who (?), then thought - how did he not go earlier? I liked his disposal, looked really really sharp - standout kicking.

Boxshall, good height, in a basic session he didn't really stand out. Literally only kicked, marked, shots for goal, it was very basic. Seemed excellent by foot, then missed some targets, athletic looking - moves well.

Elwood, plenty to work with. He was a bit sloppy at times, he's definitely on the periphery though. Did some things that suggested there's plenty to work with. He would be playing for Sandy all year regardless of a list spot so to get him training with us changes nothing for him as far as I'm concerned.

Boyd, the dude has some serious junk on that trunk, or should I talk about his tree trunks, God I don't know... he certainly has the ability to bash, crash and has some real ruck craft. I don't hate the move, will protect our kids in the twos.

Good to see Keels doing work with the rucks. I've rated him since day 1. He's always excelled now though. He is athletically gifted, skills are ridiculous, does freakish things and you really think the sky is the limit when he trains. His issue isn't even workmate, he works as hard as anyone. The issue is in game stuff, not on the training track. Needs consistency, not to go missing etc, the bones are as good as anyone on our list.

Liked seeing the 1-3 year players doing some drills at the end. Looking at the 3 years of drafting all together is scary, so much talent!

After the younguns went inside after the drill Hugo and Wilson stayed out with more senior players to do boxing. OH. MY. EFFIN. GOD. Remind me never to look Hugo Garcia the wrong way. His terminator status is scary as shit, absolute animal, maniacal, I just, anything I say doesn't give it justice. He scares me how intense and committed he is. Having said that, taking nothing away from Darcy, who is just as intense - just less scary.

Those two, let's just say Brad Hill is bloody quick and punches hard during boxing - enough to embarrass the rest of the boys who look like the are going through the motions. Well, those two were incredible, even next to the energiser bunny (Hill).

When match sim started Carroll and Irish had a couple of iffy moments, nothing against them, it just allowed me to cool my jets a little perhaps.

Owens in particular trained very well, might be helping him focussing more on his forward craft.

Windy running laps needs a special mention, the guy was motoring! He looks in ripper nick, he has been a little out of sight out of mind for mine. Still so young with so much upside, I can't wait for him to get back into it. King was also running well, his shoulders seem quite broad suddenly, he's not going to be solid, but he's time has got to be now.

Training report 29/11/24
Travaglia 5, Dodson 38, Boyd 50, Barrat 28. Elwood wearing 39. Boxshall has 33 and 37 looks like Said. 39 is Elwood, Tauru isn't out there.
Hammer, Wood, Max Windy in rehab group, surprise surprise Jones in rehab group running with Stocker.
Elwood with the recruits, nice size.
Thought Boyd was Battle when I first saw him. Big boy, moves well.

Got buttonholed by a supporter so didn't watch the drills too much.

Recruits plus Elwood doing their own training. Barret is well proportioned.
Watched Carroll for a bit, another football ready body.
Had to leave early so no details on drills.

Training report 29/11/24 - replaces scare
Hopefully nothing too serious.
Walking a lap now, hoping it's just a serious cramp. Limping a bit, left leg I think. Maybe just wanted 6 weeks off over Christmas instead of 4. He seems ok, the ground where he punch 4 times could need replacing as reports coming through its already yellowing off and not in a good way.

Edit: doing a slow 100m run through now. Sorry to worry everyone, if I have to live through it so do you guys!

Training report 29/11/24
Didn’t get there till 10.30am so here’s my 5 cents worth:

First thing that struck me as soon as I got there was the energy & voice - fantastic!

Bolton and Enright ran the drills - Bolton very vocal and engaged. RTB observing most of the time from the middle

Pou looking to continue where he finished off last season - fantastic - probably taking everyone on maybe too much but maybe that’s the instruction - the turnaround since he came back from Sandy is incredible.

Macrae - don’t worry about him - he will get 25+ every week - professional

Steele looked to be moving very well.

Collard much more engaged & seems enthusiastic

Reckon the penny is close to dropping for Keeler (hopefully) -seems more engaged & stronger.

In the drills they kept giving the ball to Ari (for obvious reasons) - looks fitter no doubt - I’m still not convinced re his speed but let’s see.

Maybe I’m a bit harsh but I thought Owens was fumbly.

Boyd - what a physical specimen - don’t know how good a footballer he is yet but if he is happy to be a crash and bash type player if Ro is hurt or needs a chop out then he will give us something. Also he ran laps with Bynes and JWeb and kept up to the last lap so he is definitely fit.

The draftees worked separately from the main group (with Harvey or Carroll?) a fair way from me but they all seemed to kick the ball well including Dodson. They all ran laps at the end - Travaglia easily the quickest/fittest. Still very slight but that just takes time. Barratt and Peckett both seemed to be a bit off the pace with their running.

You don’t win Premierships in November but a lot to like today - I really think we are building something - might take a couple more years but I’m very positive we are on the improve (fixture and injuries permitting!)

Training report 29/11/24
Travaglia 5, Dodson 38, Boyd 50, Barrat 28. Elwood wearing 39. Boxshall has 33 and 37 looks like Said. 39 is Elwood, Tauru isn't out there.
Hammer, Wood, Max Windy in rehab group, surprise surprise Jones in rehab group running with Stocker.
Elwood with the recruits, nice size.
Thought Boyd was Battle when I first saw him. Big boy, moves well.

Got buttonholed by a supporter so didn't watch the drills too much.

Recruits plus Elwood doing their own training. Barret is well proportioned.
Watched Carroll for a bit, another football ready body.
Had to leave early so no details on drills.

Said is #33 & Boxhall #37

. Mattaes outstanding today..definitely covers the ground quicker since fining down his body
. Max King huge now, his upper body significantly bulked up
. Travaglia is like a whippet…like Wilson just effortlessly runs at pace for sustained periods
. I’d be surprised if Boyd makes the cut
. Keeler again impressed with his agility and skill
. The kicking again was impressive
. Intensity high but no injuries which was a plus
. Caroll, O’Connell and Max Hall will likely debut in ‘25…all looking good
. Gus McLennan was terrific today with his intercepts & one grab marking…one to watch as a lockdown defender

Training report 29/11/24
Took the morning off and went down today. Guys above have covered off a bit, few other observations:

King - massive quads on the man now. A seriously imposing unit. Hammer is also a huge man but when they were doing laps together Max made young Tony look small. Christ I hope it clicks and he gets a good run with injury.

Pou - so good. Everyone has already said it, but his leadership, engagement and 100% effort at all times is a thing of beauty. He’s athletic, has elite aerobic capacity and is a footballer. Future skip and gun.

Jerry - same as Pou, trains hard, has a good left foot and is a determined little bugger. Something weird going on with his left foot/lower leg in the running. Went down twice and was a strange sequence of events. Hopefully he’s ok.

Carroll - bit to like, afl ready body and nice left foot. Free throw at the stumps.

Trav - Wilson 2.0. Italian greyhound physique, not even a whippet, but he runs effortlessly. Gives 100% at all times, even doing warm up game activation drills which is where some blokes goof off a bit, which is also fine, it takes all types. It’s hard to tell with the 1st year guys because they are quarantined from the main group and aren’t doing major drills but he is clearly a footballer and carries himself with a healthy level of self belief. It is way too early to say whether he will play many or any games next season. Probably said the same thing about Darcy at the same time but we are stacked in HB/wing players which is where Travis would obviously fit.

Lancy Boy - seemed engaged. Feel like everyone makes a point of getting around him at all times. X factor for sure but still a long way to go.

Purple (Barrat) - very polite and contentious with the S&C people after the session. Seems like a good citizen.

RTB - from a distance, appears to be carrying less excess around the guts. Keep up the good work!

Banger - still rolling with the ankle socks.

Bolton - fairdinkum needs some stilts.

Training report 2/12/24
Blue kit today. Hammer back in the main group.
Stocker and Jones doing laps.
Typical rubbish zoomer music pumping from the gym. What happened to all the good music? (says every boomer ever).
4 separate drills, handball/ tackle, lead passing 50, contested handball, and contested marking.
Recruits with main group.
Travaglia post high from outside 50. Collard as vocal as I have heard him. Hugo out there so no issue.

Three groups, contested green and yellow bibs defence. Near side spread a bit more, disposals sloppy, all players working hard. Macrae very tidy, same with Hall.
Boyd off, straight up the race with a trainer. Not limping.
Not that impressed with Pou so far this pre season, but said the same about Wilson last preseason. Probably a bit of rust.

Dodson already a good ruck body, broad shoulders, will fill out nicely.

Can't believe Barrat is 18, he is like a ring in for under 15's compared to the other recruits.
Travaglia blowing a gale, first preseason must be a bitch in this heat.
Boyd back out, seems to be testing an ankle.
Hammer moving as good as I have seen him this preseason.
No Wilson today.
Full field drills started by Travaglia in the back 50 three rucks involved (Boyd, Keeler, and Heath) back to Travaglia who has run a 100 to get the receive. No Roh today.
Every drill HBF, to corridor, to receiver through the guts.
Elwood catches Arie in a great tackle.
Using Carroll and Dow in the guts with Said, Pou off HB, with Hugo and Arie. Disposal a bit sloppy.
No Sinclair today or Clark, or Steele

Cordy and Hill doing a lot of talking about the drill, Boris let's them talk then takes over.
Hammer back to running laps, looks fine.
Travaglia runs like Wilson. If they wanted a player who has a tank, runs like the wind and repeat efforts, this young man is the proto type.

Young and no expectation however I feel Barrat could become the Battle replacement pretty quickly. Already an AFL body, so physically he is good, obviously needs development.
Hammer getting his hip done far side, Stocker yells in his year and he says ' you scared the shit put of me you see you next tuesday' :D :D :thumbsu:
Stocker must be a real pest.
Full field drill, Hill burst away takes a bounce, Hugo catches and corrals him.
Recruits plus Boyd running laps.
Gut busting repeat full field drills up and back 4 or 5 times in a row. Lots on haunches or hands on hips.
Irish to Keels back to Irish who hits a 50 metre pass.
Good skills under fatigue.
Prominent, Keeler, Hall, Carroll, Dow, Hill, Arie. Doing the attacking, yellow bibs defending hard to see who stands out especially without the ball.
Carroll attempts a blind turn on Collard, gets collared.
Macrae big and mobile, really neat disposal. Will be an asset.
Irish looks a prospect but like Hastie needs some definition, hard to tell if we have a very even list or just vanilla. Lots seem vanilla, quick tidy, balanced, good skills, but thats what we have been recruiting last few years. Pou hard tackle on Keels both get up laughing.
Good hard contested drills some good signs.
Finished off with running drills, didn't stay.

Training report 2/12/24
Blue kit today. Hammer back in the main group.
Stocker and Jones doing laps.
Typical rubbish zoomer music pumping from the gym. What happened to all the good music? (says every boomer ever).
4 separate drills, handball/ tackle, lead passing 50, contested handball, and contested marking.
Recruits with main group.
Travaglia post high from outside 50. Collard as vocal as I have heard him. Hugo out there so no issue.

Three groups, contested green and yellow bibs defence. Near side spread a bit more, disposals sloppy, all players working hard. Macrae very tidy, same with Hall.
Boyd off, straight up the race with a trainer. Not limping.
Not that impressed with Pou so far this pre season, but said the same about Wilson last preseason. Probably a bit of rust.

Dodson already a good ruck body, broad shoulders, will fill out nicely.

Can't believe Barrat is 18, he is like a ring in for under 15's compared to the other recruits.
Travaglia blowing a gale, first preseason must be a bitch in this heat.
Boyd back out, seems to be testing an ankle.
Hammer moving as good as I have seen him this preseason.
No Wilson today.
Full field drills started by Travaglia in the back 50 three rucks involved (Boyd, Keeler, and Heath) back to Travaglia who has run a 100 to get the receive. No Roh today.
Every drill HBF, to corridor, to receiver through the guts.
Elwood catches Arie in a great tackle.
Using Carroll and Dow in the guts with Said, Pou off HB, with Hugo and Arie. Disposal a bit sloppy.
No Sinclair today or Clark, or Steele

Cordy and Hill doing a lot of talking about the drill, Boris let's them talk then takes over.
Hammer back to running laps, looks fine.
Travaglia runs like Wilson. If they wanted a player who has a tank, runs like the wind and repeat efforts, this young man is the proto type.

Young and no expectation however I feel Barrat could become the Battle replacement pretty quickly. Already an AFL body, so physically he is good, obviously needs development.
Hammer getting his hip done far side, Stocker yells in his year and he says ' you scared the shit put of me you see you next tuesday' :D :D :thumbsu:
Stocker must be a real pest.
Full field drill, Hill burst away takes a bounce, Hugo catches and corrals him.
Recruits plus Boyd running laps.
Gut busting repeat full field drills up and back 4 or 5 times in a row. Lots on haunches or hands on hips.
Irish to Keels back to Irish who hits a 50 metre pass.
Good skills under fatigue.
Prominent, Keeler, Hall, Carroll, Dow, Hill, Arie. Doing the attacking, yellow bibs defending hard to see who stands out especially without the ball.
Carroll attempts a blind turn on Collard, gets collared.
Macrae big and mobile, really neat disposal. Will be an asset.
Irish looks a prospect but like Hastie needs some definition, hard to tell if we have a very even list or just vanilla. Lots seem vanilla, quick tidy, balanced, good skills, but thats what we have been recruiting last few years. Pou hard tackle on Keels both get up laughing.
Good hard contested drills some good signs.
Finished off with running drills, didn't stay.

Great report - a couple of observations:

Macrae knows how to find it & use it (neat right foot when he has to) - will be a big plus in 2025 - reckon he has plenty of good footy left in him.

Hugo - very neat user and has started to bulk up - at one stage he lost Macrae in traffic - Boris - “what are u doing Hugo?” - needs AFL game time and learn on the job - doubt he will learn much at VFL level.

Hall - yes agree - wouldn’t be surprised to see him get some decent AFL game time

Pou - making a really conscious effort every time he gets the ball to take off and beat the on coming tackler

Ari - his 1 wood is his kicking - missed a lot a targets today & he knew it.

Draftees being integrated into the drills

Ps - I’d be cautious re expectations for Travaglia for 2025 - just a young lad who is very skinny - great to get AFL experience but maybe thinking longer term it might be better for his development to play VFL and keep plugging away in the gym. Anyway the coaches & S&C guys know a hell of a lot more than I do!

Training report 2/12/24
Training today was very much a smaller squad with most of the senior core missing.
Main focus was on quick, sharp ball movement. I could hear coaches instructing the players to spread the defence, and to take the ball out wide but to then look to bring it back through the middle.

Given the smaller squad, I focused on some of the lesser knowns. I liked what I saw of Max Hall. He's a very good ball user. It will be interesting to see where he sits in the pecking order - I think he and Paddy Dow could be fighting for the same spot. It will be interesting to watch him in the practice matches to see how he goes winning the ball.

Angus Hastie will need another year in the VFL, as well as putting on some more size.
Travaglia can run!! I'm talking Wilson levels of running. He's super quick and glides over the ground. His skills are also pretty good, but him and Wilson on either wing will be too much for most teams to handle. At one point he ran off the half back line as the link up player and ran past blokes like they were standing still.

The Irish kid (McConnell) still has some way to go IMO. He's a good size and an excellent runner, but his kicking skills under pressure are iffy. Understandable for a guy who only started playing AFL 12 months ago.

Boyd is an immovable object. The guy is a massive ball of muscle and was particularly strong in some one on one marking contests. The jury is still out as to whether he has the physical attributes to be an AFL ruckman, but we don't have many other options. The final lsit spot will be out of him and Peckett, and based on immediate needs, I think they'll go with Boyd. (Although there was another guy training, who is similar in size to Max Hall who looked pretty decent - maybe a Sandy listed player?).

Higgins trained really well today - very impressive. As did Brad Hill. He's such an on-field leader. Macrae is the midfielder we've been crying out for - a nice ball user, goof runner and tough.

Of the new recruits, Dodson stood out the most for me today. He's not a bad runner for someone his size and his skills are pretty good as well. Peckett did a few good things as did Boxshall. Patrick Said made quite a few skill errors, but generally speaking he's a pretty skillful kid.

Rehab group: Jones & Stocker

Missing: Steele, King, Wood, Sinclair, Butler, Howard, Wilkie, Nas, Mitchito, Windy, Sharman, Wilson & Clarke.