Xsess

Seeing as the "other" Matt Priddis thread has descended into farce, I'd like to kick off the Matt Priddis thread that should have been started in the first place. The one celebrating the beast that is Matt Priddis. Reigning brownlow medallist, lynch pin of our midfield and best contested ball winner in Australia. Unstoppable in the way a sherman tank is, with half a season left Matt has improved on his Brownlow Medal form and is quite likely running second in the Brownlow medal (behind run away leader Fyfe). There's every chance he could go back to back.

This is an amazing performance and testament to his durability and ability to rack up contested footy week in and week out. He's always amongst our best players and now with improved structures around him he's in a position to play to his strengths of ball winning and feeding to the outside. He may not move around the field like a Ferrari but, in his own own way watching him in close is one of the great sights in footy. It doesn't matter how many blokes are fighting for it he'll just reach into a mass of bodies GRAB the footy and RIP the bastard out. Then once he's wrenched it free he'll waddle off with three blokes hanging off him (and he'll aways gets his hands free anyway). Fking awesome.

I think he will poll well but I cant see him beating Fyfe. Fyfe has probably won enough votes already. Not many guys in his team are going to steal votes off him. That's one thing that helped Matt last year. This year we have been more even across the ground.

Heard Percy Johnson ( WA great ) compared his inside work to that of Ben Cousins this season .

Reckon Gaff will poll pretty well this season also .

Plenty more games for Fyfe to drop his bundle and belt someone. If Freo come off the bye poorly against the Pies it could happen this week...Buckley got any niggly taggers he can deploy?

Priddis biggest risk to polling strongly is the improvement in the squad - Gaff, Lecca, Naita etc all much more likely to pinch some off him.

In truth it depends on whether Fyfe keeps his hand to himself (or not).

Whatever. The point is Priddis is a star

First few games he was a bit shit - hes improved but and whilst i wouldnt agree with him getting any 3 votes - i can see him consistently polling 1's and 2's for the last 4 or 5 games - if he keeps that up and fyfe has his yearly brainfart it would be such a delicious freo troll.
Im hoping for something like :

Nat fyfe 42 votes (ineligible)
Matt priddis 32 votes
Stephen hill 31 votes

Fyfe to be suspended for the first ever derby final - which freo narrowly lose to west coast - we get the rest - they dont - they roll into a gf with us very sore from a hard fought victory over hawthorn (who absolutley pantsed us in our only game against them in the year)

We get over them in a nailbiter - freo get out to an early 40 point lead - but we peg it back - and they run out of steam in the last - nicnat takes a screamer over pav and sandi - goals after the siren for a one point win.

Can you imagine how much they would hate us. They knock out the one team we didnt want to meet for us - then lose to us.

I think the hate would be so much it would create a dark side of the football - delicious

And to absolutely rub it in - brad shepherd wins the norm smith.

Muaaaaaaahahahahahaha

Fyfe wins assuming he doesn't get himself suspended. Priddis is certainly a chance, but the main thing for me is that he's playing better and providing more for the team this year. He's already got one anyway, let's not get greedy.

I wonder if the umps will be less favourable to Priddis this year?

Couple of games he surprised me with votes last year, I wonder if now he's going to be marked harder given he won it last year - and perhaps wasn't expected to.

Given that, it's great to see him really kick on and become even more professional this year, although it was never a concern as he seems like the most humble person on earth, he's done his legacy a great service to kick on post-brownlow.

While the medal is Fyfe's to lose (a lot like Gary Ablett last year) indications are that Priddis will again poll strongly. Clearly the umpires appreciate his work as he not only got votes last year but has polled well in earlier years. The lack of competition in the team assisted him last year with McKenzie being our other standout, but lock down defenders never get Brownlow votes, so that left Matt with a clear run. He is playing better this year, but I believe that's simply because those around him are playing better and this allows him a bit more freedom. Despite what a few in the "other" Matt Priddis thread are suggesting he's always been a star at standing up in tackles and dishing off a handpass and would always prefer to give off a handpass to a faster, better kicking team mate. Unfortunately in years past those guys weren't always there, but this year they have been. So rather than Priddis improving aspects of his game I feel it's a case of him getting more opportunity to play to his strengths.

I think this thread is obviously predicated on Fyfe either hitting someone or getting injured first to open the door for anyone else.
I don't think it's that clear cut.
Even if fyfe doesn't get suspended he could still win it. BOG only gets you three votes no matter how much better you were than another BOG from another team.
Competition is better in the eagles team this year but if he consistently polls three or two votes he could still end up around 25-30.
Obviously the umpires love him and he is using the footy better mostly by hand this year. And all the stat munchers will note his numbers are higher than last year.
Would love him to win it by one vote over fyfe. That being said fyfe is likely to get suspended cause he is a freo douche.

I don't think it's that clear cut.
Even if fyfe doesn't get suspended he could still win it. BOG only gets you three votes no matter how much better you were than another BOG from another team.
Competition is better in the eagles team this year but if he consistently polls three or two votes he could still end up around 25-30.
Obviously the umpires love him and he is using the footy better mostly by hand this year. And all the stat munchers will note his numbers are higher than last year.
Would love him to win it by one vote over fyfe. That being said fyfe is likely to get suspended cause he is a freo douche.

Yeah true, I mean more like an injury that rules him out for enough weeks to put it in doubt. If he does a hammy and only misses 1-2-3 weeks he would still win it.

My main point was that Fyfe will win it unless one of the two things occur, and was in response to some suggesting the thread was basically use less because Fyfe is a monty.

Fyfe wins assuming he doesn't get himself suspended. Priddis is certainly a chance, but the main thing for me is that he's playing better and providing more for the team this year. He's already got one anyway, let's not get greedy.
Fyfe will wack somebody and get rubbed out because he is like the scorpion in the story. It's in his nature to do so.

Fyfe will win the Brownlow this year, probably with the most votes ever recorded.

Fyfe probably has enough votes to win this year - it is all about whether he can go another 11 rounds without whacking someone

Pity that Ballantyne is a Frocker as he is someone most AFL players would want to hit. Do we have anyone that we could play in the next derby that would get up Fyfe's temper like Ballantyne and leave it for a Priddis repeat?

Wait until Freo play Hawthorn and he has to line up next to Jordan Lewis...the last guy Fyfe whacked.

Did I read right.. foxsports suggests Priddis is #1 in the AFL for effective disposals? Is that a made up stat that is different to disposal efficiency? Must admit he's playing good footy as he now in his niche and doing that well.

The top 5 is -

#1 Priddis
#2 Gaff
#3 Fyfe
#4 Masten
#5 Shiel

Pretty interesting. Not sure how the stat works though in all honesty.

2 things I've noticed from Priddis this year:

(1) He seems to have acknowledged his game's greatest deficiency and is looking to handball at every opportunity, rather than kick. Like someone said above, perhaps this is partly due to the fact that he has better mids around him.

(2) His handball clearances under pressure are becoming - dare I say it - Kerr like. A few times on Friday night I was left gob smacked at his ability to extract the pill and lay it off efficiently while 2-3 Tigers were hanging off him. Sure, this has always been a strength of his, but I think he is taking it to another level.

I used to be a Priddis fence sitter, perhaps my legs hanging over into the haters side. But these days my legs are on the opposite side and my feet are damn near touching the ground.

From Perth Now : Priddis is ranked first in the competition for total disposals, tackles and effective disposals, second for contested possessions and — surprisingly for many — third for goal assists.

Gotta be some votes amongst that lot. :thumbsu: