bunsen burner

Hall of Famer
Veteran 30k Posts 10k Posts
All similar type players in thet none are blessed with natural talent but all know how to find the footy. Priddis and Watson are ball magnets, clearance kings, but at the same time clanger kings. Swan and Stanton are pretty consistant around the ground without being true A grade mids.

Who's the best out of this lot? Who's the worst?

All similar type players in thet none are blessed with natural talent but all know how to find the footy. Priddis and Watson are ball magnets, clearance kings, but at the same time clanger kings. Swan and Stanton are pretty consistant around the ground without being true A grade mids.

Who's the best out of this lot? Who's the worst?

Stanton can very soon become an elite midfielder the way he is performing has the potential to be a high possesion/goal kicking midfielder. His kicking has improved 10 fold and most of his disposal is pin point and would have to be up there in the league. His getting heaps of tackles now to. Knows how to mark it. One of the hugest engines in the game and knows how to drift forward and kick a goal. :)

Gee that's close, they all play great roles for their side, umm i'd go Stanton, Swan, Priddis, Watson but gee that's close.

Swan. But given the recent slump in his disposal quality, he has taken a step backwards, and Stanton is closing the gap. But still Swan.

Swan.

Stanton's been a very good player in a woeful midfield but I think he's just a little below Swan on his day. Priddis is a ball magnet but doesn't damage teams enough. Watson's disposal is woeful and I'd put him a fair way behind the other three.

i think Swan is the best out of the 4 then it would proberly go Priddis and Staton tide then way under them would be watson

I think it's very tight between Swan and Stanton with the other two a bit further behind. Stanton is starting to add more goals into his game and his ball use is improving, so i think over time he'll become better than Swan. I also think Swan doesn't hurt opposition enough but he still finds stacks of the footy.
Watson and Priddis are players that play a vital role for their team but lack pace and good ball use.

Yeah, Swan at the moment, but I think Stanton will surpass him within 1-2 seasons. Jobe's disposal has improved over the last 2 months however, he is still a fair way behind Swan and Stanton but he is a different sort of player. He is the bloke at the bottom of the pack getting the ball out by either crashing it on the foot or finding a team mate by hand. He had a woeful start to the season but he has proved his place in the squad. I thought Priddis would start to shine this year with more attention and more of a stand out, true he had that injury but is a backwards midfielder, and has been exposed a little bit with out Judd and Cousins. I think Priddis is a fair way behind Swan and Stanton and a little bit behind Jobe.

Swan and Watson at least win their own footy.

Stanton and Priddis will be all right as long as they have players who can get the footy out to them.

Priddis is 4th for 1st possesions and 11th for clearances in the league.
Stanton is 31st for clearances
Swan is 31st for clearances and 32nd for 1st possesions.
Watson is 1st for 1st possesions and 7th for clearances.

So in terms of winning ball around the packs statistically it goes:
Watson>Priddis>>>>>>Swan>Stanton.

swan is clearly the best for me.

my list goes like this
1.Swan
2.Priddis
3.Watson
4.Stanton

you must have priddis confused with someone else, he is the man who gets the ball out to the other guys. thats his game.

edit: i would also think of swan as more of an outside player with his fitness and ability to find space, thats where he is damaging.

Watson by far the worst.

Stanton, Swan > Priddis >>>>> Daylight

Swan would be the clear player if he coud kick. Swan's the only one who gets tagged every week.

You dont think Watson plays a vital role for Essendon??
Watson and Priddis are players that play a vital role for their team but lack pace and good ball use.
As you can see, i did say that he does play a vital role for us.
I actually rate him as our most important midfielder, if not just behind McVeigh.
I was just saying he lacks the pace and good ball use (like a lot of inside mids do) and thus why not many people from opposition clubs rate him and why they make the judgement that a player like Stanton is better.

Watson by far the worst.

Stanton, Swan > Priddis >>>>> Daylight

Swan would be the clear player if he coud kick. Swan's the only one who gets tagged every week.

So I've been mistaken here thinking that Stanton has attracted the number one tag all season... Gheez... I gotta pay more attention...