Pride

After watching Morris' interview about yesterdays loss, the word Pride was mentioned about 1000 times. And this isn't new. How many times does Dimma, in his dissection say the word 'pride?'
"Something we really pride ourselves on, pride in the jumper, blah, blah, blah"

As a member of the RFC, it's really hard to show 'pride' in your club when they continue to **** up and let you down.
They ask for 75,000 after 30 years of Failure. They ask for donations to save the club and all that.
I went onto the site yesterday and was greeted by a banner asking if I was 'giving 110%'

Why should I give 110%, when the players and the staff can't do the same? I'm already a broke, uni student paying for membership. And they ask for more? And then proceed to give us efforts like yesterday, and the week before and the week before that?!

I think it's about time that we start questioning just how much 'pride' the club actually has. We already know the members are full of passion, but how can there be pride when we are stuck with mediocrity?

Answer your own question after we win a game. If you have the same answer then you're onto something, if not then it's just anger and bitterness at the loss.
I asked it last week and got murdered on here. So, can't say it was the loss that did it. Loss certainly didn't help matters.

I'm under no illusions that probably about 75% of the list have no pride in the club/jumper at all.
They are worried about surviving and the next contract.
Only success can change that mindset.
I accept it. It's the modern world of cut throat football.
But I do admire those teams that have a prolonged run of success like Geelong,Hawthorn,Collingwood
Etc where that percentage of players who care for one another instead of themselves increases dramatically.
You can't manufacture it,you have to build it and success is the only way.
Then blokes care more about the result and protecting and maintaining what they've built rather than sub consciously playing for themselves.
Their new kids come in and that culture embraces them which obviously whilst it's harder for them to get games,they develop in the right way with the right mindset.
Playing footy the way we did last year for a few years would build that "pride" they go on about.
Right now we are right on the precipice of either building on what we had last year to get towards that very thing or going straight back to square one.

Pride, motivation, etc are just media buzz-words that don't mean much. Particular when they talk about 'Pride in the Jumper' as if they mean it - 'The Colors are sacred' - 'Never let it hit the Floor' etc. It's just laundry. You can have pride in doing your job to the best of your ability under all circumstances, no matter what outfit you are wearing at the time.

Just because a player has a bad game doesn't mean he didn't try his guts out.

Just because the team wins doesn't mean some players didn't coast occasionally.

Now, a happy workplace means that it's easier to put in a serious effort and do what's required. Back up your mates on a difficult assignment. Do a bit of unpaid overtime because it needs doing.
A miserable workplace, and we all 'go through the motions' a bit.

In a sporting environment, the happiest workplace is a winning one.

Pride, motivation, etc are just media buzz-words that don't mean much. Particular when they talk about 'Pride in the Jumper' as if they mean it - 'The Colors are sacred' - 'Never let it hit the Floor' etc. It's just laundry. You can have pride in doing your job to the best of your ability under all circumstances, no matter what outfit you are wearing at the time.

Just because a player has a bad game doesn't mean he didn't try his guts out.

Just because the team wins doesn't mean some players didn't coast occasionally.

Now, a happy workplace means that it's easier to put in a serious effort and do what's required. Back up your mates on a difficult assignment. Do a bit of unpaid overtime because it needs doing.
A miserable workplace, and we all 'go through the motions' a bit.

In a sporting environment, the happiest workplace is a winning one.

o_O

I ... admire those teams that have a prolonged run of success like Geelong,Hawthorn,Collingwood ... where that percentage of players who care for one another instead of themselves increases dramatically ... You can't manufacture it

One thing that sticks in my mind is a game against West Coast c. 2009. It was near three-quarter time. We were getting ourselves back into the game but West Coast got a goal against the run of play. Going to or returning from the break, they had a slow motion shot of the look on the face of Ben Cousins - who I think was standing the mark - as the ball was going over his head for a goal. It was a look of disappointment. Almost anger. The look of someone who wasn't used to losing. Who hated losing. It sticks in my mind because - other than maybe from Matthew Richardson - I can't ever really remember seeing it from our other players.

West Coast ****ed us by 80 points in the last game of 2009 over in Perth, everyone should've been like Benny C that night.

West Coast ****** us by 80 points in the last game of 2009 over in Perth, everyone should've been like Benny C that night.

True. Although I think the game I'm thinking of was earlier in the season. Possibly at Telstra Dome. You're right, though, you'd reckon by now they'd be sick of losing. But oddly not. Oddly, you seem to see a lot more energy when they're winning. When they're winning, they line-up like Rockettes to get the next goal. When they're losing, nobody moves. Nobody leads. Nobody chases. Anyone who compares our 25-goal win against GWS with the way we played at the SCG three or four weeks earlier will know what I'm talking about.

Oh I hear thee don't worry.
Soft front runners who don't even capitalise when in space.

Unbelievable. That sticks in your mind?
You saying JR doesn't hate losing? Cotch, Lids, Newy, Kingy, etc etc?
It's the coaches fault mate, he's teaching them to not care.:rolleyes:

Oh I hear thee don't worry.
Soft front runners who don't even capitalise when in space.

Because they just don't care, do they? Don't even capitalise when in space...ffs
It's an indictment on the club.:rolleyes:

Lolwut. I understand there have been some less than impressive coaching decisions recently, but some of the shit you guys come up with is hilarious.

Sorry mate, mine comes with a massive sarcasm smiley face thing. I'm chucking it back at those 2 clowns who only ever appear when we lose and pot the coach.

You saying JR doesn't hate losing? Cotch, Lids, Newy, Kingy, etc etc?

Jack Riewoldt is an odd cat. I think he would love to be a great footballer. Maybe in his own mind he is a great footballer. But he's too slow to be a midfielder. Not big enough to scare a top defence. Not athletic enough to play centre half forward. I like Trent Cotchin. I could see him winning a Brownlow if we can ever finish top-four. Brett Deledio. We could do with about six of him. But the worrying thing is that the difference between our best and our worst is massive - and has been massive for a long time. Cast your mind back to 2008. Early in the season, we drew with Footscray (preliminary final losers), lost by a kick to St Kilda (preliminary final losers), lost by two kicks to Hawthorn (premiers), and led Geelong (runners-up) at half-time. A few weeks later, we trail Sydney at half-time by something like 80 points. Nothing has changed. Last year, we beat Fremantle (runners-up) and Hawthorn (premiers) but get smashed by Sydney in between. The same Sydney that was totally outclassed in the finals by Fremantle and Hawthorn.

I'm chucking it back at those 2 clowns who only ever appear when we lose

It's a cheap shot to say that people only appear after losses when well over half of our matches under Hardwick have resulted in losses. What are you suggesting? They close the board after we lose? Or are you just sore that we are right?

Jack Riewoldt is an odd cat. I think he would love to be a great footballer. Maybe in his own mind he is a great footballer. But he's too slow to be a midfielder. Not big enough to scare a top defence. Not athletic enough to play centre half forward. I like Trent Cotchin. I could see him winning a Brownlow if we can ever finish top-four. Brett Deledio. We could do with about six of him. But the worrying thing is that the difference between our best and our worst is massive - and has been massive for a long time. Cast your mind back to 2008. Early in the season, we drew with Footscray (preliminary final losers), lost by a kick to St Kilda (preliminary final losers), lost by two kicks to Hawthorn (premiers), and led Geelong (runners-up) at half-time. A few weeks later, we trail Sydney at half-time by something like 80 points. Nothing has changed. Last year, we beat Fremantle (runners-up) and Hawthorn (premiers) but get smashed by Sydney in between. The same Sydney that was totally outclassed in the finals by Fremantle and Hawthorn.

Nice deflection. You suggested they didn't hate losing...post#7

More dribble.

It's a cheap shot to say that people only appear after losses when well over half of our matches under Hardwick have resulted in losses. What are you suggesting? They close the board after we lose? Or are you just sore that we are right?

Cheap shot? You wanted to sack him in May 2012.

Show me your positive posts after strong wins in the last year or two. What did you think of his move of Ellis on to Gibbs last week? His development of Griffo. The wins against Hawthorn, Freo, Sydney...show us some of your positive analysis and I'll back off.

I think the topic is more than a fair one to ask of the club.

The supporters have been asked to dip into there pockets for season after season to get the club in to a position of financial independence which has finally been achieved. Now we have our off field dramas from yesteryear under control what excuse does the club have for substandard on field performances?

I know people are going to say most of these reactions are because we lost yesterday, but in fact I still had these questions about our on field performances looking forward after last week. The scary thing is I can see us being middle of the road this year and then where does that leave us going forward?

After 5 years of hardwick where is the on field consistency? The members are living up to there part of the deal but is the club?

Jack Riewoldt is an odd cat. I think he would love to be a great footballer. Maybe in his own mind he is a great footballer. But he's too slow to be a midfielder. Not big enough to scare a top defence.
You don't need to be big to scare a defense. Theres a reason most teams try to have him double teamed as much as possible.

Yeah I would say jack one out inside 50 would be one of the scariest propositions for any defender..... Ahem Damien..... Helloooo.....Dimmer???? Lol
Seriously though he would be.

Cheap shot? You wanted to sack him in May 2012.

Show me your positive posts after strong wins in the last year or two. What did you think of his move of Ellis on to Gibbs last week? His development of Griffo. The wins against Hawthorn, Freo, Sydney...show us some of your positive analysis and I'll back off.
Won't be any - the constant & significant improvement over the past four years doesn't count, the fact that our % improves every year doesn't count, the fact that our list is now balanced age wise after Wallace & Miller stuffed everything up doesn't count. Basically our wins don't count as they are despite the coach, only our losses count because they are 100% the coaches fault!:rolleyes:

The wins against Hawthorn, Freo, Sydney...show us some of your positive analysis and I'll back off.

Like many of your holier-than-thou clique, you have a spectacular habit of missing the point. Point being that fans of clubs who are doing really well don't sit around reminiscing about three or four occasions where their side played good football. Playing good football is a regular occurrence. It's expected. It happens 18 or 20 times. It's a bumper sticker, cap, or jacket that says "Premiers". I see these in brown and gold. In red and white. In blue and white. In black and white.

Ah I see! Well then go get one of each, whack 'em on the back of your car & be happy!