Private Schools

• Thread starter Thread starter Rohan_

Re: Re: Private Schools

Originally posted by Rohan_
I got called a Private School w@nker on the weekend and found it very offensive.
Originally posted by Danny Chook Fan Club
There's no difference between discriminating against a person on the basis of which school they went to and which suburb they live in.
Yeah all those people in Lalor (add dero suburb) etc. do:rolleyes:
Is this a form of self-flagellation?

Yeah all those people in Lalor (add dero suburb) etc. do:rolleyes:

You found being called a ****er offensive because you went to a private school, I lived my first 2 and a half years in Lalor. I am now offended. There is nothing wrong with outer suburbs, easily a better place to be brought up in, and it also has nothing to do with your argument on private schools.

Originally posted by Danny Chook Fan Club
Perhaps you should - there's been plenty of comedy value on both scores for the past ten years.

I hear you brudda. I love extracting the urine in regards to Luke Gooden, Paul Sharkey and Glen Sandford.

Originally posted by Bee

Wanna see mine? It's been a while since I left school, but I reckon it still fits ....... well almost!

:cool: :eek: a tight uniform?

I went to a small public high school in mid-North SA. 156 kids, 18 in my graduating Year 12 class. I had to study Geography over the DUCT system where 6 of us would sit around with headsets and talk to our teacher who was in another school once a week. We had a heavy focus on Agriculture and the school grew lucerne and raised steers, bantams, sheep etc. Half the kids lived on farms and got harvest leave.

A few kids got shipped to Port Pirie or Adelaide for private schooling but they all came back and hung about the area anyway.

You notice it most when competing in stuff like the Rock 'n' Roll Eisteddfod. Most of our fundraising went to hiring the bus just to get down to Adelaide . . . the private schools had stacks of bucks to hire costumes, choreographers, massive sets etc. So we'd get bitter but what can you do?

I'm having trouble dealing with the fact it's been 7 years since I finished Year 12! (And I still have my uniform too, comes in handy for fancy dress!!)

I went to a private school in perth (rock on St Stephen's Duncraig...). My parents main motivation for sending me there was that the local high school was bursting at the seams with close to 2000 students and they had a bit of a paranoia about all the social problems etc etc - didn't want their kids to be exposed to it all. So may I remind you that most kids dont get a say in the high school they go to!!!

I should also point out that private schools are full of useless teachers too, not to mention drugs, drugs and more drugs. AND students who just did not give a rats about their education. I was miserable for the first two years of high school because I didn't fit in anywhere, and looking back I probably didn't end up fitting in anywhere!!!

I went to uni with people from some of the roughest public high schools in Perth and they were the most intelligent people I'd ever met, not to mention the happiest with wonderful circles of friends. So please dont assume that the private school have it easy because for me and many others I'm sure, it simply wasn't the case.

I went to a public school, and it shows. My sister still goes there, and she brought home a report about last years year 12 results. The school was boasting they had the best results in 5 years, with 45% of students getting an enter above 40, or something like that (I don't have it on me right now). Not something to be proud of I'd say. I wouldn't blame the teachers. Some of my year 12 teachers have inspired me in all sorts of ways. I think good teachers who continue to work in such schools, are the great teachers. It was a huge school too, and apparently we didn't get all the funding allocated by the government per student, because there were too many students. Apparently there's a cut off mark at about 1400 or something.

There were opportunites to do well. At Melbourne uni anyone from my school, and many public schools in the area get special consideration in the middle band because we're underrespresented in universities. And anyone who really studies hard can do as well as they would anywhere, but they do have to put in the extra effort. A shy student in a large class goes nowhere. I think 4 people in my year level of over 200 got an enter above 90.

Would my enter have been lifted 10 marks if I'd gone to a private school? Perhaps, but probably not, unless I was carried through a couple of months. I just gave up for a while, so it was all my own fault that I didn't do as well as I could have. Still, I worry about my sister who works very hard, but is shy and doesn't confront teachers enough. She doesn't have the facilities she would in a private school where she would really excel. My parents would love to send her to one, but sometimes people just can't.

Okay so I'm babbling. All I want to say is that I don't judge private school students who don't judge me for having gone to a public school. In fact, I normally just think of them as being lucky to have had that opportunity, and that's the only thought I give it. Unfortunately I do get judged for it, and anyone who does that is a private school w**ker. It's not my fault which school I had to go to, and I'm not stupid because of it. When it's all said and done, the curriculum for year 12 is basically the same in every school, and it's only the facilities that are the difference.

Originally posted by Hoggy
Private school [add swear word here] would get more respect if they didn't go around the city puncing around on Melbourne's public transport like they own the place.

Only the inner-city one like Scotch. I doubt that anybody from St. Kevins or, ahem, Haileybury, would have anything to crow about.

Originally posted by wagstaff

Only the inner-city one like Scotch. I doubt that anybody from St. Kevins or, ahem, Haileybury, would have anything to crow about.

Had a lot of time for blokes from Haileybury.

Too true. That Class of 1996 was full of brillantly talented individuals in all fields. :D

That Bloods footy side of 1996 was full of champions, can't believe none of them didn't go on to AFL careers. Chris Efstahiou should be in Scott Cummings' place on the Collingwood list. I'm not sure they had the same talent, but they were about the same weight.

Too true. That Class of 1996 was full of brillantly talented individuals in all fields. :D

That Bloods footy side of 1996 was full of champions, can't believe none of them didn't go on to AFL careers. Chris Efstahiou should be in Scott Cummings' place on the Collingwood list. I'm not sure they had the same talent, but they were about the same weight.

I remember saying to Chris on the footy field in year 10 on your main oval that he had more rolls than a hot breed shop. You should have seen the look on his face but more importantly the look on the face of his opponent, he wanted to hit me more than Chris.

It was a shame that he didn't carry on the noble tradition of Haileybury footballers dominating the VFL/AFL scene. A mere sampling of names reads like a who's who of all-time greats: Stewart Edwards (poor man's Jurica), Ian Herman (just missed out on getting both Carlton and Richmond's team of the century), Paul Hopgood... the list is endless.

My favourite one is Sean Ralphsmith because the principal Michael Aikman referred to him at an assembly once as having a successful AFL career. I'll leave it others to judge how true that statement was.

one thing that i think a lot of people dont realize, is just how much pride we all have in our school.

When i walk around school and talk to people from other schools they always say 'i hate my school, i can't stand it' and i even say it all the time, but whenever i hear anybody say anything about waverley i dont back down, and this weekend is our (the year 12's) last game for the school in rugby or soccer or whatever, and i'm sure there will be plenty of pride shown from both us and knox (the other mob) when our games are over.

And i dont think it matters what school you go to, and no matter how much a person says how much they hate it, i think deep-down everyone really has a lot of pride in their school.

My favourite one is Sean Ralphsmith because the principal Michael Aikman referred to him at an assembly once as having a successful AFL career. I'll leave it others to judge how true that statement was.
They say history is written by the winners. Perhaps this is the exception that proves the rule.

The school you go to doesn't make the person. I did go to a private school in Melbourne, but many of those who get called it probably deserve it.

The private schools get their reputation from what people behave like after school by some of their former students:
1. Always judge people by the school they went to. And ask at Uni which school did you go to even though it no longer maters.
2. Keep their old school bag for there whole uni life branding themselves immediately
3. Talk insecently about who f**king good there school was.
4. Still socialize with only their old school friends or maybe a few from some other comparable private schools.

The problem is that they do behave like spoilt brats and have no idea of what it is like to discover than mummy and daddy can't send them to Bali for a holiday.

Worst offenders in Melbourne
Scotch, Melbourne Grammar(both sexes), Geelong (both), MLC, Lauriston, you know the rest follow the path.

Went to a public school in Adelaide, but had to put up with the private cathlic girls school students on the bus. They were such bitches......not saying they're all like that, but the ones on my bus were.....

Originally posted by Brett Li
I can't bear the sense of superiority that many Private School People feel. Undoubtedly in general the Private Schools in England give the individual a better chance of scoring higher in exams. Unfortunately many of these people believe it is their worth rather than their good fortune to be born into privelage that separates them from the hoi polloi (sp). If I ever had a kid who looked down his nose at another kid cos he didn't go to the right school, I'd go absolutely ballistic.

Most of my friends have been to Private School and am constantly amazed at how tied they are to their old school. Maybe it is because they truly enjoyed the school experience, but they tend to keep relationships with friends throughout their twenties and thirties.

Personally I'm proud to have achieved through a schooling system that didn't necessitate my parents paying for privelage. What erks me is that many people don't challenge the decline in teaching/education because they opt out of the system. The more money going into the private education merely widens the social divide. Those that can afford perpetuate the cycle.

I hear what you are saying, mate - and I agree with you 100%.

Dr. ;)

Re: Re: Re: Private Schools

Originally posted by Brett Li

You have to ask yourself why people have to revert to paying for an education. IF a state education provided a "good Education" then there would be no ned to spend money on a snooty school. If Private Schools have to exist, jack up taxes and give every nipper the choice.

You have to ask yourself why people have to revert to paying for an education.
Because the chances are that you will get a better education. If you have the money, then why not?

IF a state education provided a "good Education" then there would be no need to spend money on a snooty school.
This is unrealistic. The state doesn't have enough money to maintain the same standards as a private school.

If Private Schools have to exist, jack up taxes and give every nipper the choice.
I can't see the Govt outlawing them, so I would say they are here to stay.

You mean raise taxes and spend the money on public schools so they can match private schools? You'd be talking about a pretty big tax increase. Completely unfeasible and unrealistic.

As I said before, public schools should get more funding whilst private schools should get less. Apart from that, the standard of public education is ok. The Govt provides public education for everyone, and people have the option of paying extra for private education. Pretty fair if you ask me.

Oh yeah, never found myself looking up to people who went ot private school. Tall Poppy?
It's not about looking up, it's about money. Everyone wants more money, so people are envious about money. This is where the tall poppy syndrome fits in.

You seem to have the opinion (correct me if I'm wrong) that people with money don't deserve to be able to spend their money on things that other people can't afford. If this is the case, then what is the point in having a currency?

Re: Re: Re: Re: Private Schools

Originally posted by bunsen burner

Because the chances are that you will get a better education. If you have the money, then why not?

This is unrealistic. The state doesn't have enough money to maintain the same standards as a private school.

I can't see the Govt outlawing them, so I would say they are here to stay.

You mean raise taxes and spend the money on public schools so they can match private schools? You'd be talking about a pretty big tax increase. Completely unfeasible and unrealistic.

As I said before, public schools should get more funding whilst private schools should get less. Apart from that, the standard of public education is ok. The Govt provides public education for everyone, and people have the option of paying extra for private education. Pretty fair if you ask me.

It's not about looking up, it's about money. Everyone wants more money, so people are envious about money. This is where the tall poppy syndrome fits in.

You seem to have the opinion (correct me if I'm wrong) that people with money don't deserve to be able to spend their money on things that other people can't afford. If this is the case, then what is the point in having a currency?

It's not a case of being envious of money or - giving people the freedom to choose to spend money on school. The freedom I'm more concerned with in the disparity from a satisfactory level of education (private school) DOWNWARDS (to Public School) to an unsatisfactory level. I would appreciate the right for anyone to choose where they educate their kids - however you have to an acceptable base level - which is blatantly inadequate in many many communities in the UK and US (can't speak for Aus). I think that society has a duty to be more concerned with this baselevel - before it deals with extended freedoms (eg. tax breaks covering private school fees) enjoyed further up the ladder.....

Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Private Schools

Originally posted by NYPomme

It's not a case of being envious of money or - giving people the freedom to choose to spend money on school. The freedom I'm more concerned with in the disparity from a satisfactory level of education (private school) DOWNWARDS (to Public School) to an unsatisfactory level. I would appreciate the right for anyone to choose where they educate their kids - however you have to an acceptable base level - which is blatantly inadequate in many many communities in the UK and US (can't speak for Aus). I think that society has a duty to be more concerned with this baselevel - before it deals with extended freedoms (eg. tax breaks covering private school fees) enjoyed further up the ladder.....
That's pretty much what my first post says.

I went to both a public and private school. In my experience, the private school offered a better education, and provided better opportunities. BUT, I don't believe that private schools should get funding from the Govt at the expense of public schools. The Govt should do everything in it's power to improve the public system. Private schools can generate their own revenue.

I don't think we have tax breaks for private schools in this country (thank god).

I went to a public school & I don't believe I could have got a better education at any private school. My high school was considered the best public school in Adelaide......can't say the same about my primary school though.....