Progress?

• Thread starter Thread starter Somebody

It's just Eddie adding having a Sook over the Salary Cap for the Footy Department. He is taking a Stand that Hurts the Club and Footy Department

He has a point though, Eddie. Most of these recent changes were introduced to help equalise the competition....aka penalise Collingwood

Salary Cap on football Department
Interchange Cap (Pies were usually Top team)
F/S rule changes (Moore, 2x Daicos, Brown etcc...)

These all came about 2010 onwards after the Pies won their premiership in order to "equalise" the comp....

But in thelast ten years

Sydney 2
Geelong 3
Hawthorn 4
Collingwood 1

Most of those rules penalise the one team. Yet Syd still get assistance and academy boys and no one screaming about Hawks the way they did in 2011 about the Pies unfair advantage

AFL prides itself on this socialist bullshit which belongs in society, but doesn't belong in professional Sport to that degree and it doesn't even work anyway as Hawks going for their 5th. I can see ethically why he refuses to pay this bullshit tax!

Meanwhile Bris get 2.5m$ for being a shitruck failure of a club and Collingwood is penalised for being a success, its so backwards. Incentives and deals should be given out for these struggle clubs, not free money for being shit

has howe progressed his role within the team to sweeper or do we expect him to move forward next year if sharenberg gets a game.
I like him off half back but would also love to see him integrated into the forward structure.
having players that can play both ends well is a great asset, so I'd like to see him tried up forward again when the opportunity presents.You wound't want to flirt with form too much though.

With your background, and the information that we have at hand, do you see any issues with our injury management? Could it be improved somehow?
3 years in a row of shocking injury runs (I vaguely remember was bad before that too but not sure) is starting to look like more than random bad luck.

There's nothing to be fixed mate, this is the new landscape, players train the same way they play, flat out with manic obsessive urgency. And if they don't the other club wins. The attrition rate is here to stay, the players are formula 1 racing cars, unbelievable performance, but it's always redlining to win and engines will blow.

Don't waste your time on blame, this is the new game!
Except taht some clubs seem to consistently do better with injuries, like the Dawks. Or is that really true? would have to compare the actual figures for all clubs over last few years.

Given that until the GWS game 4 rounds ago many of us were feeling like CFC was a basket case (or a mediocrity at best) and probably would be for many years to come (wins against Freo and Carlton right after the bye, while decent didn't mean a whole lot at that point), it shows what a difference 4 rounds can make.
The next 4 rounds are not an exception, if we go 0-4 or 1-3 sentiments will be back to where they were at the bye and will be cemented in for the whole off-season so it is important. Personally I think we can go 4-0. Even a loss to Richmond would put me in a footy depression given how they are going.

This was our 5th year. Black cat, broken mirror, walking under a ladder stuff started in 2012.
IF I had the time could collect the data (average injuries for each club over last 5 seasons) and do a statistical analysis comparing with other clubs. Stat analysis gives the probability that a difference is by random chance, instead of caused by something else.
Collecting the data is the hard part, the analysis is relatively quick.

IF I had the time could collect the data (average injuries for each club over last 5 seasons) and do a statistical analysis comparing with other clubs. Stat analysis gives the probability that a difference is by random chance, instead of caused by something else.
Don't do it to yourself. It would be depressing research. I remember in 2012 commentators remarking on how well the team was doing despite our horrid injury list.
That statistical random chance that you speak about seems to be randomly selecting us at a not so random frequency.

I wonder where you get that data? It would be very interesting to see the results.

In fairness Melbourne are debatably better than we are if we take out bias. Losing to Melbourne twice was not ideal, maybe one a piece would probably be right but both days we were outplayed and shown up by a side that wanted to win more.

Carlton should not have been a loss, one of the worst performances...

Saints would probably get us at Etihad and I do rate their young list but to lose to saints at the G and get pants wasn't acceptable and that was a game we should've won comfortably.

Overall I'm extremely disappointed, only 4/4 will make me some what satisfied. Other than that it's been another season of going backwards with bucks.

Anyone complaining about lack of progress and demanding finals. Watch the feeding frenzy of the media on the rotten carcass that is Richmond right now.
Our club is far from perfect but look at where we are after 3yrs without finals vs them 3 yrs playing in a row. What did it get them?

Anyone complaining about lack of progress and demanding finals. Watch the feeding frenzy of the media on the rotten carcass that is Richmond right now.
Our club is far from perfect but look at where we are after 3yrs without finals vs them 3 yrs playing in a row. What did it get them?

Richmond's mediocrity doesn't justify ours.

Doesn't justify but is preferable. How long do you think they will spend in the wilderness after boasting reaching finals 3 yrs in a row.

Head of the football department lol.

******* none eliminating positions would be a dumb shit move, but one I would expect from our club in truth!! Pay the bloody tax!! If we can afford a damn netball team we have enough money money to pay a few hundred thousand in FD tax.

We'll make the money back immediately because we'd be in the finals :huh:
Netball team, womens football team = tax write off

Doesn't justify but is preferable. How long do you think they will spend in the wilderness after boasting reaching finals 3 yrs in a row.
They are in more poo than a Werribee duck. This is always the risk of overrating your list and settling for finals appearances as "good enough". Far better to clear the decks, take a whack or two and reset for a serious tilt. Just making finals is not good enough when that = your peak performance

But we're such a big club. Surely we should be expecting to make finals every year. It's not good enough.

I'm just not letting go of the "mathematical chance" that still exists for us to play finals. 10 goal wins against Richmond and the GC is quite possible; 5 goal win against the Doggies is possible; North play their last 4 games against teams above them on the ladder. If they lose to the Dogs (2 goals), Hawks (10 goals), Swans (5 goals) then going into the last round: Nth 48, 105%; Coll 44 100.5%. A 10 goal win to the giants and a 4-5 goal win to the pies over a guaranteed top spot hawthorn would see us snatch 8th spot. #livethedream baby!

It's almost too easy.

Netball team, womens football team = tax write off

The correct term in this instance would be tax planning. It's a theory that's popped up before and it's one I'm very dubious of.

The issue is it relies on Gubby actually coming in to work within the AFL structure (which I know he isn't) and increased funding for high performance and development.

Poaching Chris Maple as AFL women's skill development manager or Duncan Kellaway as head of rehab and conditioning would help me come around to that theory. The issue I have is that isn't a Collingwood 12-16 type move we've become a move on the best football manager in the business for a senior coach (Walsh for Eade) or best apparel company for the worst (Adidas for Star) type of club.

Essentially we've gone from league's best practice to mediocre in 5 year's which is a decent effort! In fairness though that's the responsibility of the exPert executive team we have in place...

I think you're being a little conservative;)