Pubs in Perth

New York RB, Scorchers, Warriors, Force
Anyone in here know of any good places in Perth where I can watch Foxtel coverage of games?

Most of the stuff on tv is delayed and I would rather watch it live.

I only know of 2 places: Mustang Bar and the Champions Bar at Burswood. Any others?

The Greenwood has a big screen but sometimes its hard to see the game coz the light shines off it at a funny angle.

Still, I've watched my fair share of games at the Greenwood on a Friday nite.

I watch it at home,foxfooty is a must for footy fans in WA.

only 12 bucks a week.

free to air tv sport in WA is a disgrace.

94_Eagles said:
The Greenwood has a big screen but sometimes its hard to see the game coz the light shines off it at a funny angle.

Still, I've watched my fair share of games at the Greenwood on a Friday nite.

Ah the local :D

Wow. I'm a Perth local and didn't know some of these places.

The Paddington and the Oxford also have games on Fox. I've watched plenty a game at the Paddo - top bloody pub - but they have half a dozen or so TVs all playing different stuff like kick boxing and motor sport. Sometimes the game you want might be on a telly where you have to crane your neck a bit.The big screen is absolute sheet during daylight hours - they don't even bother putting it on any more.

Anyway, I'm off to check out the Burswood!

what the! said:
Legends in Applecross

Trivia: Olympic gold medalist, Neil Brooks, got done for assault at Legends. But it was called Godiva's at the time. And if I recall correctly, he might have thumped a female.

fearlessone77 said:
Thusday nights at legends , what memories this place brings back.
Its one of the best locals I ever had, might have to pop in and have a beer when I am next back home.

Quite a "rare" pub for Perth, wouldn't you say? In terms of location. Especially since it dates back to at least the 70s.

If anyone non-Perth people are interested. It's nestled in amongst a group of shops all sharing common walls. It's like: florist, butcher, vid shop, newsagent, PUB, hairdressers. Just over the road from one of Perth's biggest car dealerships/service centres. Wonder which pub the staff drink at?!

(Wonder how many staff get a skinful at lunch and then go back to work?!!!)

fearlessone77 said:
Thusday nights at legends , what memories this place brings back.
Its one of the best locals I ever had, might have to pop in and have a beer when I am next back home.
friday arvo happy hour at Goddies.
50 cent middies.
thanks for the memories.

Anyone that grew up South of the river and not further than South St knows this place. ALthough I used to go to the Booragoon alot when I was underage which reminds of the story of my 18th.

Myself and a few mates decided to have a couple on the night of my 18th which unfortunately fell on a Tuesday so the big ******** up was organised for the Saturday, but what could a few beers with close friends hurt on a Tuesday. Well we walked in and the old bar wench, she had been there since we started there at 16, said hello as usual, we continued on playing pool and having a few for a couple of hours and she came over and said "unusual for you boys to be here on a tuesday night , whats going on" Me half ********ed and stoked I was legal said "Im 18 were celebrating".

Well what happened next could only be described as one of the most dis-concerting things I have ever experienced this 5 ft tool bar wench slapped me harder than ive ever been hit before and "You ********er ive been serving you for 2 years, you know I can lose my liscence for ******** like that" She then proceeded to put the rest of the night on the "House Tab".

Is Zebras Steakhouse still a few shops up from Legends, good steak especially when washed down with 1/2 a dozen pints from Legends afterwards.

wal said:
friday arvo happy hour at Goddies.
50 cent middies.
thanks for the memories.

50c middies!!!!! WTF, let me check your profile......

Oh, you're born in 1967, that explains it.... I got all excited for a minute there!

fearlessone77 said:
Anyone that grew up South of the river and not further than South St knows this place. ALthough I used to go to the Booragoon alot when I was underage which reminds of the story of my 18th.

Myself and a few mates decided to have a couple on the night of my 18th which unfortunately fell on a Tuesday so the big ******** up was organised for the Saturday, but what could a few beers with close friends hurt on a Tuesday. Well we walked in and the old bar wench, she had been there since we started there at 16, said hello as usual, we continued on playing pool and having a few for a couple of hours and she came over and said "unusual for you boys to be here on a tuesday night , whats going on" Me half ********ed and stoked I was legal said "Im 18 were celebrating".

Well what happened next could only be described as one of the most dis-concerting things I have ever experienced this 5 ft tool bar wench slapped me harder than ive ever been hit before and "You ********er ive been serving you for 2 years, you know I can lose my liscence for ******** like that" She then proceeded to put the rest of the night on the "House Tab".

Is Zebras Steakhouse still a few shops up from Legends, good steak especially when washed down with 1/2 a dozen pints from Legends afterwards.
Zebras has moved down the road to Bicton.
The snazzed up Leopold would now be the place to wash down those steaks.

PS: The Booragoon is Gawn.

I worked at "The Boora" in the bottle-o for a number of years. Both pre and post re-fit.

The Observation Bar would have to be one of THE most visually pleasing bars I've ever drunk at. Way ahead of its time.

Man they spent some dough on that pub. To this day I could never understand why it never took off. Except for a small period when one of the nights used to go off.

I think the statute of limitations has passed, so here comes my confession. I used to do the slack Monday night shift by myself. One night the moron bar manager forgot to add a few staff on a long weekend.

So I’m run off my feet all night and suddenly I need to take a dump.

No-one to relieve me. (Pun intended!)

I tried to hold it in but that was stupid. It got to a stage where I knew I had EXACTLY 30 seconds or I was going to fill my pants. So I snuck into the area that was being partially renovated and dropped it right on the floor.

It was quite the talk of the pub staff the next morning! Thankfully, a random, un named drunk got the blame.

Anyone want any more Boora stories?!

Ok lads what about a good pub to "pull" after the footy is over, especially for interstate and overseas visitors, as we have all heard how friendly the girls in Perth are?

Yes I know the Boora is gone along with the O bar , Friday nights back in 95 at thatplace used to be one of the biggest nights on the calender.

The thought of a snazzed up Leopole scares me , but now the choice will be difficult Zebra Steak or the best Kebabs on the planet from Bernies Kebabs across the road from the Leopold.

krator said:
Ok lads what about a good pub to "pull" after the footy is over, especially for interstate and overseas visitors, as we have all heard how friendly the girls in Perth are?

Low Strike rates - High Quality Score
The Continental Claremont
The Left Bank Fremantle (Particularly Sundays)
The Cott (Again on Sundays)
The Subiaco, Subi - Unless there is a contingent of Eagles players in there and then strike rate drops to 0.00 as every ******** and her dog tries to ******** a Weagle

Reasonable Strike Rates - Reasonable Quality
The Paramount , Northbridge
The Como , Como
The Norfolk, Fremantle
The Newport Fremantle
The Zanzibar Fremantle
The Clink, Fremantle - for your more matured vintage
The Post Office, Northbridge - Although this place is as humid as inside

High Strike Rate - No Guarantees on the Quality
Metropolis, Either Freo or Northbridge
Elephant and Whellbarrow , Northbridge
The Bog , freo and Northbridge
PAddy Hannons , Casino
Rosie O Gradys , Freo and Northbridge
(Can you see a pattern forming here)

MInd you this is Circa 2000-2001 but from mates and my yearly trips home not much has changed

fearlessone77 said:
Low Strike rates - High Quality Score
The Continental Claremont
The Left Bank Fremantle (Particularly Sundays)
The Cott (Again on Sundays)
The Subiaco, Subi - Unless there is a contingent of Eagles players in there and then strike rate drops to 0.00 as every ******** and her dog tries to ******** a Weagle

Reasonable Strike Rates - Reasonable Quality
The Paramount , Northbridge
The Como , Como
The Norfolk, Fremantle
The Newport Fremantle
The Zanzibar Fremantle
The Clink, Fremantle - for your more matured vintage
The Post Office, Northbridge - Although this place is as humid as inside

High Strike Rate - No Guarantees on the Quality
Metropolis, Either Freo or Northbridge
Elephant and Whellbarrow , Northbridge
The Bog , freo and Northbridge
PAddy Hannons , Casino
Rosie O Gradys , Freo and Northbridge
(Can you see a pattern forming here)

MInd you this is Circa 2000-2001 but from mates and my yearly trips home not much has changed

Conti?? Jesus how old are you.
Isn that which is now called "the claremont" which before was called "red rock"?

Where does CLUBBA fit into this analysis?

H. C. Loads said:
If anyone non-Perth people are interested. It's nestled in amongst a group of shops all sharing common walls. It's like: florist, butcher, vid shop, newsagent, PUB, hairdressers. Just over the road from one of Perth's biggest car dealerships/service centres. Wonder which pub the staff drink at?!

In the unlikely event that pub licensing in W.A. ever becomes reasonable I would say that the Legends model would be the way to go. Smaller pub within an existing shopping centre rather than a huge standalone pub (ie Kardy). Have a more distributed population of pubs that people can get to without driving.

The O-Bar was a great venue while it existed. It was hugely popular for a period. In the end I think minority of patrons blotted it’s copybook: fights would break out with monotonous regularity, fair bit of petty crime on the rest of the shopping centre, and the cops started putting booze buses on every street surrounding it.

Sadly, the pubs are all disappearing from this area.
Booragoon Pub – Gone
Willagee Pub – Gone
O-Bar – Gone
Raffles – Gone
The pub on Melville Waters (name eludes me) - Gone

New pubs
?Clancy’s Fish Bar?

I know there have been a few applications to build pubs nearby. I think the Melville council is knocking them all back for some reason.