Universal Love Q&A with Tim Lawrence, Lachie's manager - chapter III

Wally Walpamur and DannyTheDoorman interactions are the best things about this Freo Board.

OT: Good work Arc for setting this up again, these have always been a pleasure to read.
Thanks, but this was all Tim offering to go around again! My part is easy. My three questions he's already answered in our chats lately - but I asked again here for him to share what he said because I thought his responses were insightful and amusing. Should be a good read again

This is a highlight of the BigFooty year!

Hey Tim, thanks for your insights & candor over the past couple of years, us fans really appreciate it! And thanks Arcassius for being an awesome conduit.

I've noticed that a couple of player agents have recently been recruited (poached?) by clubs, as has Emma Quayle from a footy journo world. It's probably not a recent thing but I've noticed it in the past year or two. How has that seen within the player agent cohort? Career progression or defection? What are the pros & cons of such a move? Has somebody moved back the other way? Cheers...

Hey Wally You looking to go in the draft and manage your own contract ? Who will be left to eat the bananas and do the painting? Walpamur would be pissed with you if your taking that pathway. Cheers
Fact 1: Wally doesn't need a manager, I drop my pants, they take a look and the contract takes care of itself!
Fact 2: See fact 1. They take one look and if I tell them to paint, they paint, while I kick it with a fresh cut bunch of bananas.
Fact 3: Walpamur has been treating me like a slave for decades. They can suck a big hairy one.

Fact 1: Wally doesn't need a manager, I drop my pants, they take a look and the contract takes care of itself!

Do you use a banana for scale?
shayaraon.jpg

Can high end draftees push to stay in their state. Do clubs have quiet words to draftees & say we will pick you up if you put in a bad interview with other teams.

I read in the other threads that you dealt with Matt Scharenberg, did you also deal with his brother Jonty and if so can you explain why he was rated so highly externally but went undrafted? And do you know of any similar stories at the draft and the possible reasons for that?

Has the clubs list stratergy matched up to what you and Lachie were told when he was extending his contract?
"But I have digressed, going back to the 4 year recruiting and trading model the club has implemented, identifying experienced players within a particular age profile (getting the list all hitting their prime age and experience at the same time is a big part of giving your best chance of premiership success) as well as potentially targeting players who were originally from WA. I don’t think I am speaking out of school when I mention those two things and identifying ‘local’ talent is something a lot of non-Victorian clubs do also.

So do I know of any players wanting to go to Fremantle (apart from my 3 young pups for this year’s draft?) no I don’t but it will come. They will come.

This might sound really strange but in my eyes, Fremantle are in a better position now to build sustainable, long term success now than they were 5 years ago when Ross joined them.

That was another box ticked off."

Which players do you represent in this years draft?

Does a player's third party earning capacity vary much between AFL states and QLD&NSW?

From Tim -

Question without notice for Tim: Do you lay awake at night, staring at your ceiling and wonder why Leonardo Dicaprio has never won an Oscar?

An answer without notice for you, Dirty_banchez.

When you have a mirror on your bedroom ceiling above your bed, it is hard to think about Leonardo Dicaprio at all. In fact, it's bloody hard to even fall asleep when you have a head like mine and keep seeing it stare back at you.

For the record, I actually don't know. What I do know is he got to spend time on that tropical island with that smoking hot French backpacker in 'The Beach'. I personally think that was reward enough and would outweigh any Oscar win in my eyes.

This was the best so far. Looking for more amazing answers both footy and non-footy related. Cheers for all your work Arc and Tim!

and let's begin ...

From Tim -

Hi again everyone. As Arcassius has already mentioned, after a few beers for the Queen’s Birthday weekend over here, we were messaging each other about Freo's win over Adelaide and I jumped onto the Bigfooty site for the first time in many months and had a read…. It had been a long day but it wasn’t a late night.

So, here I am again to answer your questions. A few days have passed since Arc put the thread up and I have had a read of some of them over the weekend and, as always, they are a good bunch to contend with.

As many of you know already, there are a few areas I can’t go into. I know you all understand I am privy to some confidential information on my players and concerning some AFL clubs and I need to respect that. However, what you do need to know is that many of my thoughts are mine and mine only; not any other agents, not from the company I work for and often, there will be counter opinions on issues which could be just as valid; if not moreso!

However, looking at the questions I think we are all pretty much on the same page with this due to our past experiences together here. I promise I will answer everyone's question as I value the fact you have taken the time to ask, however, if we get a couple of very similar questions, I may combine them and give one answer.

Hopefully I can give angles on things which may either enlighten you or, possibly, totally confuse you further….

I try and talk in 'every day' language, however, if I say something that makes no sense to you, please let us know and I will explain it further.

Finally, thanks for Arcassius for keeping in touch (he loves asking a question or two) and helping again with this. I do find it interesting reflecting on some things I do and think about but above all, it’s fun and I know we all get a bit of a laugh out of things; as we all should.

Does a team going through a rebuild represent greater opportunity to a player manager?

It potentially can. At the end of the day, the club who is going into a ‘rebuild’ mode will need to work out what kind of players they need (age, experience, playing position) and come up with a recruiting strategy on how they can get these players OR as is in nearly every rebuild phase, what young talent they need to draft into the club over the next 1,2,3 years.

Now the players they wish to draft is pretty much out of a manager’s control. Yeah, the good ones with good connections can help facilitate things (meetings, information on the player) but the club recruiting staff will basically determine who they take at the drafts and not really any manager.

However, currently listed players are a different kettle of fish and managers can play a big role in facilitating moves from one club to another.

There are probably two main types of currently listed player a club may look for -

1. Those who have played footy but aren’t always in the best 22. The ideal players to look for here, are those from the always successful, regular Top 4 clubs. So the player themselves may actually be quite handy; it’s just they are up against it selection wise. Often these players are in the 22-25 yo category. These players – if from a Top 4 club – may also bring some off field benefit, having been involved with a high quality program where the player’s knowledge of high level performance (and all it entails) may be of benefit to a younger playing group.

2. The next might be that experienced veteran (think Luke Hodge at Brisbane) who is probably no longer in the age profile of their current club but feel they can go for another couple of years and of course, can also bring knowledge, experience and leadership to a younger group. We have also seen these players often transition into a coaching role at that club – another piece of fruit that can be dangled to lure them to go through another tough preseason or two!

In both cases, the manager would have had discussions with the player for some time. We have frequent discussions with our player’s club and these involve the clubs longer term plans for our client and often, if the relationship is good, what the list strategy is (who will stay, who will go, who is on their wish list) and regardless, if you study the game closely, you can see opportunity for change with your player sometime before any trade or draft period occurs.

Understanding what your player wants to do and what their current club is thinking gives intel into what opportunities may lie at another club. From there, enquiries between manager and potential suitor (new club) can occur and you go from there.

So it can bring opportunity and whilst the manager can play a proactive role, it will come down to the player, the new club and if a trade deal is required, the players current club all agreeing to it. I should add, good managers can help facilitate this process and potentially help negotiate any player movement deals between clubs.

If we consider free agents, delisted free agents may be the most common free agent ‘type’ to fit into this scenario and they would have probably sat in the above two categories. The rebuilding club then doesn’t have to give up a draft pick for the delisted FA and can use that pick on new talent at the draft, potentially killing two birds with one stone!

What is it that you see in a young player that makes you want to represent them? (aka – what do you look for)

Apart from having the potential ability/talent to make it to the AFL, I like kids who may not be as highly regarded as others going into their draft year but are super hungry to be as good as they can be. They are the ones who listen, absorb, not complain at all and take a clip if it is needed but these are the same kids who haven’t always had it their own way. Not always selected in a team and have had to battle a bit and have taken a few knocks along the way. They are resilient, willing to learn, happy to invest in themselves. They don’t get big heads and have the maturity to not need someone to tell them how good they are. We (managers) aren’t the leaders of their fan club and need to be open and honest with them at all times. They need to be able to accept this honesty on every occasion.

Of all the kids I have signed, only two of them who got drafted have come from a family with their birth parents still together (not separated) or have moved from the country to the city. I won’t go into detail on why either scenario (country/split family) could be strangely beneficial as I am sure you can all think of reasons why these kids have developed resilience and often, independence, also.

Above all we need to be able to connect. We have to be able to connect and trust each other at all times and this is really important for a young players going into their draft year – they are walking into the unknown and good managers need to have the experience to be honest, not feed them full of crap and lead them through the process. A process which is an emotional roller-coaster ride for both player and family.

I am increasingly seeing that younger kids these days (regardless of gender) often have lost the conscious ability to understand what both their decision making and actions have on other people and in fact, how their decisions and actions can have on themselves into the future!

I think I have said this in a past Q&A but I blame social media for this.
Social media is all me, me, me – look at what I am wearing, what I am eating, where I am travelling to and this is my opinion and god help you if you don’t agree…. But with some discussion we can re-open their eyes and make them think about this more and consider how their actions can impact more. Honestly, from there they usually pick it up and run with it so well, it is never discussed again.

I often say to the young fellas, "You’re 16/17/18 and you don’t know everything. But that’s ok because you’re not meant to know everything yet! So be cool with it and let’s work together to get you seeing and understanding more".

All of my boys are like younger brothers to me. They know I’ll tell them when they have done well. They know I will give them a hug when they need it, but they also know I’ll be bluntly honest with them if they need that also. But because of their characteristics mentioned above, they know it’s tough love and I only do it because I want them to be the best they can be and my desire for them achieve everything they want too, both in football and in life.

We need to be on the same level so they know, if something hasn’t gone down well and even if the repercussions haven’t hit yet, I am the first one they will call.

Good managers need to be there when the going gets tough.
Leave the fun stuff to the player’s family, friends and other loved ones.

What’s the deal with so many of your guys playing for Geelong? Is there something you’re not telling us?

Ha ha. Arc asks me this all the time and I always give him the same answer and every time I do, I know he doesn’t believe a word of it!! But I will share what I say to him, with you all, but I will give you all some background as to why he has asked this question first.

I don’t do 'management' full time (I actually also do some work focusing on Aboriginal Men’s Health in two remote communities, Yalata and Coober Pedy, over here in SA) so apart from the work I do with some lads trying to get into the AFL and a few who have been there, done that, I currently have 9 AFL listed players I oversee personally and 5 of these are at the one club, Geelong.

And to make the plot thicken further, I am a lifelong Geelong supporter (editor: and that's why I don't believe you) who has a couple of tattoos as tribute to the mighty Cats, my mother's father (my Pop) was from Geelong and as a result all of my family from mum’s side are all mad Geelong supporters (and I mean mad in every sense) and yes, whilst my main interest and care is in my boys playing (and thus an interest in the clubs they play for) I still love the Catters. So, there are some intriguing connections which seem to create some wonderful conspiracies…. Well for Arcassius anyway.

To be fair, all my extended family (the ones mentioned above) all think I have had something to do with the boys being at Geelong also. So I tell them the same thing I tell Arc (and I am about to tell you) and I am pretty sure that they, also, do not believe a word of what I say and I will tell you also, with the understanding that you may not believe a word of it either!

The reality is that I have had nothing to do with 5 of my boys being drafted to the Cats. The drafting process really has no way of being tampered with (yes, back in the day players could be hidden from other clubs to get them to a certain destination but that just isn’t possible now) and even on draft night, with all the research, vision, viewing, countless recruiting meetings, whiteboard sessions and cross – examination of a player, when the names start getting called out, no one (apart from the top 10 who are pre-selected in a private room an hour or so before the draft, for the TV coverage) no one has any control on where a player will go.

You could have spent 18 months tracking Billy Bloggs from East Freo, completed all the requirements to assure their draftability and suitability to your club – countless hours being spent on young Billy – for the club with the selection before yours to call his name out and all that work immediately flies out the window. Every year there are many surprises on draft night and nothing is set in stone.

Now, if I had moved currently listed players to Geelong, yes, you could very easily assume there is 'something' going on between the club and myself but with the draft process the way it is, it just doesn’t happen.

However, I do have a theory that has some merit as to why the 5 boys are there at the one club.

You will all have heard of Stephen Wells, the recruiting guru and more recently, List Manager of Geelong. He is the guy that is adored and adulated all across Geelong and the Bellarine Peninsula and I am sure a statue of him will be erected at Geelong someday, such is the love for him. And not some little pissy bronze statue outside GMHBA Stadium but one akin to the Statue of Liberty and the masses will carry it - Egyptian Pyramid style - down to Corio Bay where they erect it. Anyway, I digress…

Wellsy and I seem to see the same things in talent players as each other. Character, ability and all the bits and pieces. Wellsy and I do have a great working relationship and we have talked and laughed about it on many occasions. I know that the Cats, because of this, will often take note of any of my draftees because of this but trust me, for the ones they have drafted, there have been many more that they have not selected!

That’s it. That’s the honest truth and all I have for you!

I should add that whilst I still enjoy seeing the Cats win, I gain far more satisfaction and joy from seeing my boys playing well and enjoying themselves – regardless of who they play for or of they are playing against Geelong. I would love to see them all win a premiership each at some stage, regardless of who they play for.

From Tim -

How much does having to travel every second week impact player’s decision to head home to Victoria?

I don’t think it has any impact at all to be honest Snuffaluphagus

If a player is drafted to Fremantle, where they have to fly every second week, well, flying every second week is normal to them. They know nothing different, in their eyes it’s what every AFL player has to do.

Lach has never mentioned any issues with flying regularly. I am sure by the end of the season it does become draining but not enough to quit the club and seek a trade. Plus let’s not forget the massive number of Virgin Velocity points they accumulate each year which helps for end of season holidays.

Could it have an impact on trying to lure players from the East to the West? Yeah I guess it could but I honestly think it would be very low on the list of considerations. The distance, yes (family, friends etc) but the actual flying, no.

Give me half a mill every year and I personally would fly every weekend if I had to.

From Tim -

Has anyone really been far even as decided to use even go want to do look more like

Mmmm you know, tants, since you first asked me this thought provoking question some years ago, I have continued to ponder, reflect and analyse what the most appropriate answer to this is.

Like a jilted ex-lover, who creates fake social media platforms to spy on their former partner, my mind was tortured and twisted at one time, to the point where it nearly drove me to insanity. I would lay in my bed at night, in the supposed solitude of darkness, staring at myself in that mirror that’s on the ceiling directly above my bed.... which reminds me that I need to get some Windex and give it a good clean. Buggered if I can remember how those foot prints got up there.

Anyways, as my mind continued to wander - much like it did just then - my restless soul found its way to the local Flight Centre, where I booked my tickets to Nepal, with the aim of spending time with Buddhist monks high in the Himalayas to continue my quest for the answer I required.

After days of trekking to the monastery, which was high in the mountains, I got lost and had to shelter in a cave as a blizzard was closing in. I managed to get my butane cooker going which would provide warmth and give the opportunity to heat up a tin of Braised Steak and Onions. The smell lured a Yeti into the cave and whilst I was obviously terrified at the size of this being - he would have been close to 7-foot-tall- it soon turned out that he was friendly and in fact, could understand and speak some English. I thought this was strange but then realised if Harry in the movie “Harry and the Hendersons” could understand the Henderson family, surely with the 30 years or so since that movie came out, this would justify the natural process of evolution that could lead to the Bigfoot speaking some English. It turned out his name was Sandi and because of his red hair, he had been ostracised as a child by his family. I found this interesting and scientific proof, that yetis are very similar to human beings.

Any communication we had difficulty with, was quickly answered by doing basic finger painting on the cave walls. Sandi went first and expertly used his own faeces as painting material. He made it look easy, just stuck his finger in his mouth then wacko, popped it straight up his date to get the required painting material. At first, I was shocked with this unexpected turn in proceedings but after much encouragement from Sandi to follow his lead, I summed up the courage to paint my own pictures and I agreed to do the same thing as him. So, I popped my finger in my mouth to wet it up and then stuck it up his clacker also. It was lucky he was vegan (I’m sure another reason why his family abandoned him) so this gave a smooth consistency to the 'paint' which meant we could go for longer before needing to dip again.

I painted, on that Himalayan cave wall for Sandi to ponder, "Has anyone really been far even as decided to use even go want to do look more like"

Sandi looked puzzled. Then confused. Then after 5 days of us staring silently at the words on the cave wall and in between cans of Braised Steak and Onions, he jumped up and made this noise - the same noise that Chewbacca makes - claimed to me that he had the answer, ran outside, ate some unripened and green berries, then 10 minutes later wrote on the cave wall, in big, brown letters ...

"covfefe"

I returned to the western world shortly after that. I abandoned my quest to visit the monks of Nepal and I still have no idea what the statement means, nor what Sandi’s answer meant either. What I did discover, however, was a new-found love of finger painting. I’m actually pretty good at it.

From Tim -

Maybe an easier one. How often do you speak to a club for a player with an existing contract? So, a 3 years contract in their first or second year? Obviously more in their final year.

The first thing to note tants is that no two contract negotiations are the same. The dollars and contract length may seem straight forward, however, we are dealing with different people each time and moreso dealing with different considerations in regard to their personal situations.

Generally, in a 3 year deal (and if the player is going well) there may some discussions in year 2 both with the players current club and naturally, other clubs may enter the picture to have a talk and show interest also. In some instances, this could be a good time to extend their current tenure, however, if there wasn’t any rush, I would advise to hold off until at least the off season between contract years 2 & 3 then re-evaluate.

I know it is frustrating and unsettling for supporters when a free agent holds off on signing straight away, however, as you all know, we as manager’s need to ensure our client maximises their return on any deal. Currently restricted free agents are going to be 26 years old, unrestricted 28 years old and whilst we talk about FA’s leaving clubs to chase premierships, the reality is this is also potentially a prime time to get the player their juiciest contract in their career and before they start falling into the ‘old’ category. So, it makes sense to plan for this and utilise the free agent opportunity.

Like anyone else, at this age they will have mortgages or maybe starting a family, so these things need to be considered also. We need to find as much security as we can, where we can.

However, the player is always in charge and if they didn’t want to wait and wanted sign straight away, that is their call, but I think as a football community, we should expect things to drag on and be the norm, rather than things to happen quickly.

This also means we need to be braver and not jump at any shadow that subconsciously appears. Trust me, 90% of the rumour mill is based on very unfounded and unsubstantiated rumours. My suggestion to these people is to get Netflix, or maybe take the kids down the park more often or help with chores around the house so there isn’t dead time. Dead time where people sit around thinking and with their minds become overtly imaginative.

From Tim -

What talks happen when a senior player still at the club (like Danyle Pearce) when the club is clearly going in a different direction?

Whilst Danyle’s name is used as an example in tants question, my answer has nothing to do with Danyle himself; I am not his manager and I have never met him, but I have heard he is a great guy.

Players know when the writing is on the wall, especially when it comes to age and form.

As mentioned several times previously, the relationship between player and manager needs to be open and honest. There can’t be any sugar coating with things such as this as it can lead to confusion, frustration and potentially, disappointment.

If things aren’t going well and the club is stalling on a new contract, a conversation with the player is required. However, much like contract negotiations, there is no set time or way you should do this. It’s very much situational and changes from player to player.

If a player can’t get a regular game at a club, there is a message behind that. If a player is getting older or their body is struggling due to wear and tear, there is a message behind that and if, the player is getting old AND struggling to get a senior game (for whatever reason), well the message is doubly there.

I think most clubs are transparent with their players if they aren’t looking at renewing a contract reasonably early in the piece; especially in the final year of the contract. It may seem harsh but on the flip side it does give clarity to the player, gives them time to consider what the future will look like for them personally and if they do wish to continue in the AFL, gives their manager a chance to start canvassing them to other clubs.

From Tim -

Have clubs ever considered doing extreme contracts like in the US? Eg. For a superstar - $10million over 20years. Knowing that the player will only play for 6 of those years. Allowing a large portion of the contract to be spread out over non-playing years. Knowing that by then the cap will be higher

Good question, Unique Name - I am not overly familiar with how contracts work overseas, however, there are rules in the AFL that would pretty much make an option like this unviable.

In a nutshell, after a contract is negotiated it is then sent to the AFL for approval. This approval includes the league looking at the TPP (Total Player Payments aka the Salary Cap) spend going forward to ensure that the club doesn’t over commit and break the cap going forward.

Pretty much, if a player has a contract for that year, he needs to be on the playing list. This means, if you had a player receiving a wage but not actually playing, your list goes into the season a player short. Obviously if you had 2,3,4 players in this boat, it would create havoc with not only depth at the club but also it means that the club wouldn’t be able to draft and nurture talent, meaning there would be a gap, age wise, in the playing list profile. To rectify this, you then need to trade for established players, meaning you either lose currently listed players or draft picks - the same draft picks you need to not further exacerbate the gap on the list.

The other option is to pay out the player, however, that total payment would be added to the TPP in the year it is paid, meaning that cap may be exceeded and as we know, that creates problems with fines or other penalties such as loss of draft picks etc.

When it comes to rookie picks, if the club is up to their eyeballs in the TPP, the AFL can actually tell clubs they can only have a certain number of picks at the rookie draft, ensuring they stay under the cap.

From Tim -

Tim, do you think any damage has been done to our potential to recruit or retain players (established) due to the alleged issues surrounding our coach off the field.

Mmm a touchy one, freoextra - For starters, while the stories were concerning, none of us really know what went down, so much is speculation and innuendo and we need to be careful with how we view this. However, as it stands right now and if nothing further eventuates, I don’t think it will have any bearing whatsoever on Fremantle's ability retain or attract players.

From Tim -

Tim, any chance your mate JD could get Fyfe to take Cerra for a few helicopter rides? I am sure for a few Freo Pundits wouldn’t mind chipping in for fuel if it helps to get the young blokes squiggly.

Ha ha Cerra looks to be a beauty doesn’t he AAACockburn ! I reckon if a helicopter ride with Nat was to be the sealer, Fyfey would jump at it without any nudging from JD.

Again, I don’t know the young fella at all, but I wouldn’t panic because he hasn’t extended his initial contract yet. He needs time to settle into WA life, find his feet, play good footy and be happy and then work out what comes next.

Time (and games) also gives his management and the club the opportunity to work out what his actual value is, so an appropriate offer is made so that can also be a good thing for all parties.

I’m sure if he feels comfortable, plays well and is enjoying himself, time could favour Fremantle’s cause.

-------

editor: Tim, as a follow up question to this - at what point *should* supporters start panicking with new draftees, and does the timing of the panic change for older established players? :)

From Tim -

Hi Tim, thanks for taking the time. Do clubs ever talk to players directly about contracts, even if only casually, without their manager? Or it considered extremely taboo like having a lawyer present etc

Hi Deveraux . You’re the one taking the time to read my dribble, so I probably should be thanking you!

There is a possible exception to the rule, which I will touch on at the end, however, it would be very, very rare. There should be a mutual respect for the player themselves whilst they are under contract (and being paid) by another club and for companies like ours, we are big enough that it makes good business sense for the club to speak directly to us and not the player. Clubs know what they are doing as a club, a group like ours has a fair idea on what all clubs are doing so we can read the landscape clearly; this can help make an informed decision for our clients.

The players employ us to give opinion and advice based on our experiences, so players will usually want their manager involved from the get go. If they excluded their manager, you would have to ask questions about the relationship, wouldn’t you?

There was one club who chose to get their captain to text one of my players who was coming out of contract, to try and meet so he could try and talk him into considering leaving his club and join theirs. The player and the captain didn’t ever meet and whilst I wasn’t concerned greatly about it due to the strong and balanced character of my player involved, I did think it was a tad unprofessional and not the way I personally would have approached it.

Whilst the manager will always be involved at some stage, I think the exception to the above rule may come when the player is older, experienced and has a personal relationship with a key member in the footy department of the new club. Think Luke Hodge and Chris Fagan; good mates who had been through a lot together at Hawthorn and had always kept in touch. The player is experienced, knows how the system works and is mates with the coach. I am sure there were some one on one conversations initially but even then, I am sure Hodgey’s manager would have been well across everything from the start.

From Tim -

On Barrysballs’ comment - I’m still stumped lol been trying for 10 mins (in relation to tants’ initial question)

Don’t worry Barrysballs , the first time he asked me, I just thought tants was some nice guy, who comes on here to be involved but either -

a) didn’t proof read his question before posting
b) struggles with the English language or
c) was a couple sheep short in the top paddock

until Arc sent me the same link he sent you explaining it all! So at least now it makes sense whilst at the same time, making no sense at all.

From Tim -

Just for juicy gossip... without naming names, have any clubs approached your clients with deals that would be against the AFL’s 3rd Party Payment rules?

Tayl0r , I have no juicy gossip because it has never happened to me and I would suggest that it just doesn’t happen anymore anyway.

Every time we do a deal with any associate of an AFL club (associate - sponsor of any kind) we need to sign forms declaring the potential relationship between player and club associate to the AFL for their approval. When it is going to be a repeat relationship i.e. not just a one-off appearance or social media post, there may be stat decs to be signed by the associate, club, manager and player outlining things such as the term of the contract, how much it worth and what the player will do in return for the fees paid.

The AFL have systems in place where anyone who doesn’t follow this process even for one deal will get caught and the AFL will want an explanation. If they are not satisfied the fee paid to the player could then be added to the club’s salary TPP.... which isn’t going to make the club very happy.

The AFL also has the capacity to audit players also. They can get access to bank statements inc business and mortgages, contracts (playing and media/marketing), interviewing the players current partner (and/or ex-partner if they were around during the calendar period that is being audited) and any other documentation they require to cross check everything. It's akin to being audited by the ATO I guess.

I should add these audits happen all the time so if you ever hear or read about one, it doesn’t mean anything sinister is going on. It’s just par for the course.

Tim. I'd really like your opinion (and how the players feel) about the possibility of being traded without the player's permission. The way I see it - all players seem to have an almost defacto free agency. They say, "I want out, and I want to go to Club abc. Trade me."

Freo have been on both sides lately (Cam Mac and Balic for example - there are many more accross the league), but I can't help thinking that both player's original team may have got a better return for investment if they'd been able to trade to the club willing to offer the best deal (picks, player, whatever). E.g Balic want back to Vic and Freo basically send him to the club who is the highest bidder.

At the moment, having to earn free agency is almost pointless.

This is how almost all of the Pro sports in the US work and at the moment, I feel the power is tilted toward the player.

Any thoughts, whispers?

Universal Love Q&A with Tim Lawrence, Lachie's manager - chapter III