R1. Carl v Rich Match-ups

Keep in mind 112 that Richmond are going to have to find matchups for Fevola, Kennedy, Fisher (and Waite and Whitnall should they play forward).

Johnson will take Stevens for sure, and they still have to find guys that can go with Simmo, Murphy and Walker.

It will be a good test for us, and to see how much improvement the list has made over the Summer.
Absolutely. These middle-of-the-road teams are the ones we will need to start beating on a consistent basis if we are to press for finals and flags in the coming years. We seem to match up ok with the Tigers, add to that; lack of game time for Brown, Simmonds will be underdone and Coughlan gone for the season and I reckon the Blues should be confident they can put on a good show. The last thing we need is the boys to start the year of with a schlacking. Hopefully a close game.

I'm just not sure Carrazzo has the game to go with Brown, and that's why I thought T-Bird would be a better matchup. Remeber, T-Bird has played on Williams before, and done a reasonable job there.

Williams is no N Brown. On song Brown is total freak.

I know it takes him off half back, but I'd love to see Walker match up on him.

If he could do a job on him like the one he did on Robertson. Mmmm.

Absolutely. These middle-of-the-road teams are the ones we will need to start beating on a consistent basis if we are to press for finals and flags in the coming years. We seem to match up ok with the Tigers, add to that; lack of game time for Brown, Simmonds will be underdone and Coughlan gone for the season and I reckon the Blues should be confident they can put on a good show. The last thing we need is the boys to start the year of with a schlacking. Hopefully a close game.

IMO Richmond and Hawthorn are on a very similar rebuilding path to Carlton ie. spent a number of seasons near us at the bottom of the ladder and have instituted similar youth policies to utilise their high draft picks to rebuild for long term success (with a lot of exciting young KP prospects coming through, particularly at Hawthorn).

I'd suggest that these two clubs were half a step ahead of Carlton in 2006 but 2007 should be the year that we can overtake them. In any case I am looking forward to growing rivalry between the exciting young lists at these clubs and the mighty Blues in coming years, while we easily glide over our other more traditional rivals such as Collingwood, Essendon and possibly even Melbourne as their ageing lists see them head south on the ladder to begin their rebuilding phases.

IMO Richmond and Hawthorn are on a very similar rebuilding path to Carlton ie. spent a number of seasons near us at the bottom of the ladder and have instituted similar youth policies to utilise their high draft picks to rebuild for long term success (with a lot of exciting young KP prospects coming through, particularly at Hawthorn).

I'd suggest that these two clubs were half a step ahead of Carlton in 2006 but 2007 should be the year that we can overtake them. In any case I am looking forward to growing rivalry between the exciting young lists at these clubs and the mighty Blues in coming years, while we easily glide over our other more traditional rivals such as Collingwood, Essendon and possibly even Melbourne as their ageing lists see them head south on the ladder to begin their rebuilding phases.
Keep in mind Richmond have been rebuilding for over 20 years and have barely given the finals a nudge in that time. They have, and will finish middle of the road for a very long time as they know no better.
Hawthorn do not seem to have the potency of the Carlton KPP's/Spine. Expect them reach no higher than 6th during their drive for the finals in the next 5 years.

Brown would kill Thornton on the deck ...Carazzo would be a much better matchup
Brown'd turn Thornton inside-out yeah.

We still lack a decent Back Pocket. Carrazzo might get the job but i prefer him up the ground.

I think Bower would be the best matchup.

Walker could be a plan B, but i prefer him up the ground too. Maybe Bannister's another option?? They must've kept him on the list instead of Cory McGrath (who wasn't much better) for a reason.

Keep in mind Richmond have been rebuilding for over 20 years and have barely given the finals a nudge in that time. They have, and will finish middle of the road for a very long time as they know no better.
Hawthorn do not seem to have the potency of the Carlton KPP's/Spine. Expect them reach no higher than 6th during their drive for the finals in the next 5 years.

I've only been into footy for about 5 years now (I know impecable timing for a Blues supporter) and while I try to make up for lost time, I really know nothing of pre-2001 AFL.

I'm still 100% with you that the team we are rebuilding is for MULTIPLE premishership success, but still rate Hawthorn's young spine, not as highly as I rate ours, but I'm thinking the next big AFL rivalry will be Blues Hawthorn 2008 and beyond.

Keep in mind that N. Brown is a massive girl, and an even better sook, so if things don't go his way early on, his game is down and he's a sooky - la-la all game.

Whoever plays on him, I dont think they have as much to wory about, as the Richmond people do of our young kids...!

Keep in mind that N. Brown is a massive girl, and an even better sook, so if things don't go his way early on, his game is down and he's a sooky - la-la all game.

Whoever plays on him, I dont think they have as much to wory about, as the Richmond people do of our young kids...!

I'd have to disagree with you there. Nathan Brown is a damn good player and it is going to take one of our best defenders to shut him down.

Brown'd turn Thornton inside-out yeah.

We still lack a decent Back Pocket. Carrazzo might get the job but i prefer him up the ground.

I think Bower would be the best matchup.

Walker could be a plan B, but i prefer him up the ground too. Maybe Bannister's another option?? They must've kept him on the list instead of Cory McGrath (who wasn't much better) for a reason.

That's a pretty good call there DIG. I hadn't even considered Bower for that role, and maybe he should be given a chance on Brown.

One thing though, we now have some serious options down back. Just one thing with Richo though, if he is ON for his standard 2-3 games per year, then no-one will stop him. Hopefully he has a bad one in round one.

Oh yeah, He's a very good player BG.

Just a massive ponce as well.

I just have a certain dislike for AFL football players that spend a lot of time on their hair prior to a match :p

He's good. Dangerous even. But just a bit of a show pony and a ponce.

Lets give Richmond a Guessing game to make it hard for them to match up then we can Blow em right out of the Water, lets make them the 2nd time we win rd 1 Melbourne 2006 & Richmond 2007 :D don't let them in to the Game smash it wide open early in the game ;) to show we won't be easy beaters this year ;)