Discussion Random Chat MegaThread

Going on school camp tomorrow until Thursday night. Should be a good time.

30t6m9d.png

It's really hard to make a good looking Brisbane thingy.

Going on school camp tomorrow until Thursday night. Should be a good time.
Make the most of it!

Thanks mate, will do!
Going somewhere good? I can't stand the camps at my school, all the places they go are horrible.
I'm going to the Mitta Mitta River in far north east Victoria. We do a hike, white water kayaking and mountain bike riding.

So it should be a decent time depending on the weather.

Thanks mate, will do!

I'm going to the Mitta Mitta River in far north east Victoria. We do a hike, white water kayaking and mountain bike riding.

Sounds pretty good, would much prefer to do that over all the camps I've done. This year I have to go to Adelaide for a work experience camp, not looking forward to it.

I went there in Year 10.

Our inebriate camp leader decided to set up our tents about five feet from the river with torrential rain forecast overnight. At around 3 in the morning half of us were floating down mild rapids in complete darkness.

Have fun :thumbsu:

Tom Waterhouse is even more awkward that Brett Kirk
Awkward? Far from it. He's so smug – the little prick has such a sense of entitlement. Kind of rich considering he makes money off of (and perpetuating) mental illness.

Been on the end of a Facebeef troll or two, have we Gibbsdawg?
Just a shit phrase that totally shows the lowest common denominator of the internet. Blight on youth culture, it is.

How does he make money of a a issue he has? Im interested? I did not realise he suffered from any problem. He seems so confident.

Silent Alarm what are your thoughts on refugees? Im interrsted in your thoughts.

No need to over-analyse it, man.
Not really overanalysing at all. It's just bogan and not even funny.

How does he make money of a a issue he has? Im interested? I did not realise he suffered from any problem. He seems so confident.

Silent Alarm what are your thoughts on refugees? Im interrsted in your thoughts.
I never said Tom Waterhouse suffered from a mental illness...

But his clients do. Not all of them. But gambling is pretty serious, and it has an addictive quality that just hooks people. If you want to a social study, go to Crown at 3am and see the people sitting by themselves. Or go to a sports bar and see the blokes mindlessly chucking chips into a machine. That shit destroys lives. Any dependency is a mental illness and Tom Waterhouse's betting agency just feeds off it. Not much respect for the little piss ant. None, actually.

North Melbourne are the only club who don't have pokies (aside from clubs like Freo and the Eagles, who are in states smart enough to see how cancerous pokies are). For a club struggling for cash, you should always respect North for that. They're a good club.

I'm not going to talk about refugees because that's just boring, dude. And it has no relevance to smug jockeys or gambling.

The harsh reality with poker machines is this. The majority of venues they are in is a very nice venue.
The things they do to suck you in

1. Offer members discounts to suck you into coming
2. Offer reduced meals or drinks for members to get them in the door.
3. Promote a poker machine in a newsletter or mail out saying new machine

I agree with you. Many target lonley people/the elderly.

I get sad when i see people playing these machines.

But the harsh reality is gambling as a whole has taken over in the past 24months.

You can not watch a sporting game without the shit popping up BET NOW!

Its not just the over 18 but the under 18's see this culture & think is acceptable.
The have the mantra that its ok to do & "cool".

Did you know Silent Alarm over half of vfl clubs have pokies.

Its not just at the top tier but goes into grass roots football aswell.

I am afraid to see the betting/afl games broadcast in 5 years. It will either be banned by then or every game will be saturated in betting

The harsh reality with poker machines is this. The majority of venues they are in is a very nice venue.
Although you've just agreed with me in that post, I've gotta say no to this. Every good pub or bar in Melbourne (that I've checked out) didn't have pokies. The places that do have pokies are sleazy, scabby, scungey looking old sports bars aimed at bogans and douches from the outer Eastern suburbs.

Many venues use funds from pokie revenue to renovate a bistro or bar.

Ask any person who manages a pokie venue & they will tell you the money is not made from the melb bitter 375 ml bottles
Or $15.50 chicken parma

But the lazy $20 somone chucks into a pokie machine who goes into these venues .

It depends on the owner of the venue as to how renovations are done.

But if as we know your venue has pokies theres a fair chance you wil have more turnover.

Which in turn normally means more profit.
Which normally means venue is maintained to keep the pokie people coming in.

Right, but that doesn't constitute a good pub.

You've just told me how some venues make profit. Which is obvious.

You will never go to a cool pub and see a pokies machine there. The gaming clientele drags down the whole place. But I reckon we have a bit of a different feeling on what a cool pub is...

It's just bogan and not even funny.

I agree, yet it's almost never a term used in real life, and therefore a it is a waste of time to judge the term at all.

No, I just have a certain degree of sophistication

Hooray for you. Since when did that apply to the internet?