Discussion Random Discussion

So every election forever in the future now is going to happen like this? Because one man can’t accept defeat? This isn’t premature. No amount of recounts will turn over these numbers.

All he’s doing is casting doubt over the entire election process. Which is hilarious because it’s already rigged in the republicans favour. Gerrymandered districts much?
Left says there's no way he will overturn the result/he should concede, while the right (and Trumps legal team) keep saying they have hundreds of affidavits from people who say that there was fraud.

In either case, nobody actually knows until the court comes to a conclusion.

I understand that there's a lot of anger around Trump messing with the election process and I completely understand that but first and foremost shouldn't we want a fair result? Whichever way it goes. Doesn't a fair election result supersede contested elections?

Honestly I don't really care who ends up winning. I like Trump but it's not like the worlds going to end with Biden in office. They both have their issues. The whole system is completely archaic. It doesn't really matter who is in office, nothing much is going to change.

So every election forever in the future now is going to happen like this? Because one man can’t accept defeat? This isn’t premature. No amount of recounts will turn over these numbers.

All he’s doing is casting doubt over the entire election process. Which is hilarious because it’s already rigged in the republicans favour. Gerrymandered districts much?

Its so much easier in Australia, we know exactly how many papers are issued and how many are counted, and at the end of it , can account for them all.

So for example. If you had the electorate of Casey , you might have total preferences - ALP 455 000 LIB 450 000, Informal 1000 Ballot paper count discrepancy: 120
Even though it seems close, you can tell the margin for error is much less.

So emotional
Must all be related. I'd react the same way if someone did that to my family.

I was borderline needing stitches, was less a scar and was more an attempt to tear the skin off my finger going by the doc.

As however I had jumped on glass when younger (not by choice, look before you leap kiddies) and had a shard through my foot, I have high pain tolerance. She'll be right, gimmie some tissues and where TF are the bandages ooo light headed...

Monday was great... but now missed a chance to show new girl at work my sexy scar, awww man.
You poor bastard. I've done the object-through-the-foot routine when I was younger too. I wasn't so lucky to have glass though. Mine was a stick...how it managed to go through I still have no idea haha

Left says there's no way he will overturn the result/he should concede, while the right (and Trumps legal team) keep saying they have hundreds of affidavits from people who say that there was fraud.

I understand that there's a lot of anger around Trump messing with the election process and I completely understand that but first and foremost shouldn't we want a fair result? Whichever way it goes. Doesn't a fair election result supersede contested elections?

Honestly I don't really care who ends up winning. I like Trump but it's not like the worlds going to end with Biden in office. They both have their issues. The whole system is completely archaic. It doesn't really matter who is in office, nothing much is going to change.

If you don''t 'care who ends up winning' you would accept that Biden has and not buy in to the actions of a man who is attacking democracy.

Yes that is a good description of how Trump is acting.

Would also call his actions the equivalent of a petulant emotional 7 year old.

His mum must have got sick of picking up his dummies from the floor near the cot.

If you don''t 'care who ends up winning' you would accept that Biden has and not buy in to the actions of a man who is attacking democracy.
Interesting spin on it. It would be stupid for me to think Biden has won it when he hasn't yet.

you can say it doesn’t matter who wins but the fact that one side is going to such extreme and potentially dangerous lengths to hold onto power is more than concerning. But most of the US is either for it or doesn’t care so I’m not sure why I do.

Surely the proof is in which side it benefits?

How do you know which side benefitted from any alleged fraud?
Like i said, perhaps Trump should have won by a lot less.

West Coast still lose sometimes even though the Umpires are trying their hardest.

you can say it doesn’t matter who wins but the fact that one side is going to such extreme and potentially dangerous lengths to hold onto power is more than concerning. But most of the US is either for it or doesn’t care so I’m not sure why I do.
But the Dems did the same thing four years ago and it was okay then?

It's okay if you want to call an election prematurely like the left have done, although mainstream media aren't the ones that certify election results. That much should be obvious to everyone by this point.
That's just what they do in the US. They did the same 4 years ago. They look at the numbers and the trend of those numbers and with a bit of guesswork they come up with what they come up with. They're very rarely wrong when they declare states.

Its so much easier in Australia, we know exactly how many papers are issued and how many are counted, and at the end of it , can account for them all.

So for example. If you had the electorate of Casey , you might have total preferences - ALP 455 000 LIB 450 000, Informal 1000 Ballot paper count discrepancy: 120
Even though it seems close, you can tell the margin for error is much less.
You would think they have a system where they tick off your name if you get issued a ballot paper.

Donald's behavior reeks of what footy fans do. Blame the umpires for losing.

That's just what they do in the US. They did the same 4 years ago. They look at the numbers and the trend of those numbers and with a bit of guesswork they come up with what they come up with. They're very rarely wrong when they declare states.

You would think they have a system where they tick off your name if you get issued a ballot paper.
It's amazing how bad the pollsters have been this year. One mob calls a state, another doesn't, it's all over the place. They've needed to sort out their election process for years.

Polling is starting to become a dying art. They can't rely on the traditional methods anymore and people are more reluctant to participate.

Over there the AP provide the numbers for most of the network then you have the American equivalent of Antony Green at each network looking at them. Even then they guess somewhat given the total number of ballots is not known until they count then.

It's just a giant mess. No one really wins in the end.

The USA is literally "United States". Far more than Australia each state has their own system.
Some allow postal votes up until a certain time.
Others allow considerable time after the election. ( seems crazy to require a particular deadline from the post office ).

Some States no doubt have very robust processes, while other have officials who had ta swear on tha Bible...threee tames .

Surely the proof is in which side it benefits?

i guess that's his point, does it benefit the republicans because of the outcome of the senate and house, or does it benefit the democracts because of the presidential election

nailed it

the left again. lol. you have no idea mate.