Random Violence

KingNothing

In light of what happen to close friend last night (and not for the first time), I want to hear other peoples thoughts on this kind of stuff.

As a pre-cursor there's nothing out of the ordinary about my mate, he's average height, average build, doesn't stand out, would just disappear into any crowd. And yet for the third time he's been randomly assaulted in public.

Time 1: Is actually so long ago I can't remember the details, but a drunk guy set on him in a park. He was so drunk however he could barely stand, so this barely even counts as a time, but the intent is there.

Time 2: Is walking home in the evening from the shops. As he walks there are three guys going the other way. One nods and says "mate", he nods back and says "mate", and all three start beating the shit out of him. Chipped teeth, deep facial wounds, concussion, left lying in the street and wandering around for hours desperately trying to find someone to help him as he was completely disorientated.

Time 3: Is at a gig. Random guy asks innocent questions such as "Having a good time?", "What band has been your favourite tonight so far?", etc, then as he's answering, guy just punches him directly in the face and walks off.

So, what the hell is wrong with people that we just walk around attacking other people for no ****ing reason? I'm not even really talking about the guys who go out looking for fights, starting verbal confrontations and then getting physical, I'm talking about the 100% random stuff. None of these three instances involving my mate gave any indication of an impending assault, and yet all of a sudden he's being attacked.

Has this sort of thing happened to you before? Has it happened often? Chances are with how wide-ranging the BF community is there has to be some of these random attackers in our midst. Perhaps you've matured since then, perhaps not, either way; what possessed you to commit such a dog act?

Discuss.

I was the victim of a good old fashioned ****ta bashing about 15 years ago. I'd been out with some friends on a pub crawl when one of my more "flaming" friends upset a group of Pikies who then proceeded to jump us and belt seven bells of shit out of us as we were making our way home. My cheek bone was broken and they busted my nose. On the plus side I got to travel in the back of an ambulance, which had always been an ambition of mine.
Ringleader got seven years for it.

I was the victim of a good old fashioned ****ta bashing about 15 years ago. I'd been out with some friends on a pub crawl when one of my more "flaming" friends upset a group of Pikies who then proceeded to jump us and belt seven bells of shit out of us as we were making our way home. My cheek bone was broken and they busted my nose. On the plus side I got to travel in the back of an ambulance, which had always been an ambition of mine.
Ringleader got seven years for it.

It's a shame that neither of you were 6'5", the cowards leave those gays alone.

Sounds like your mate has one of those punchable faces
Hahahaha. It would appear that way.

In all seriousness though thats pretty unlucky for your mate OP

I have had a knife pulled on me twice, and a machete pulled on me once. Nothing came of it though.

Once me and a mate were just kicking the footy at the park and then this guy came up with a machete, off his face from chroming and wanted to fight.

First time I had a knife pulled on me I was 16 at and at Dandenong Plaza with mates about to watch a movie. Bunch of guys jumped us with knives and bottles for no real reason. Couple of us got away, one guy got bottled. That was a really scary situation.

The second time I had a knife pulled on me I was just walking home from a party with a mate and some guy just walked up to us and pulled this knife out. Don`t really know what he wanted, just to fight by the looks of it. But we legged it. No way I am fighting a bloke with a knife, even if there were 2 of us.

Don`t understand these flogs that go out looking for fights or randomly attack people.

Glad to hear the ringleader that bashed you Gough got some serious jail time. Deserved it.

Hahahaha. It would appear that way.

In all seriousness though thats pretty unlucky for your mate OP

I have had a knife pulled on me twice, and a machete pulled on me once. Nothing came of it though.

Once me and a mate were just kicking the footy at the park and then this guy came up with a machete, off his face from chroming and wanted to fight.

First time I had a knife pulled on me I was 16 at and at Dandenong Plaza with mates about to watch a movie. Bunch of guys jumped us with knives and bottles for no real reason. Couple of us got away, one guy got bottled. That was a really scary situation.

The second time I had a knife pulled on me I was just walking home from a party with a mate and some guy just walked up to us and pulled this knife out. Don`t really know what he wanted, just to fight by the looks of it. But we legged it. No way I am fighting a bloke with a knife, even if there were 2 of us.

Don`t understand these flogs that go out looking for fights or randomly attack people.

Glad to hear the ringleader that bashed you Gough got some serious jail time. Deserved it.

You have to finish that story??? People like that are usually the most dangerous as they have no idea what they're doing.

Time 3: Is at a gig. Random guy asks innocent questions such as "Having a good time?", "What band has been your favourite tonight so far?", etc, then as he's answering, guy just punches him directly in the face and walks off.

What gig?

My cousin was assulted in Brisbane maybe four or five years ago -

Was in the CBD waiting for his girlfriend to finish work - Three guys walk past him, have a few words and my cousin said a few words back... otherwise they kept walking..

My cousin turns around to continue to wait for his girlfriend, the three come back from behind and kick the shit out of him. The attack was caught on CCTV and two of them actually put the boot in and kicked him in the head. Three kicks to the head in total. He was knocked out and now his right eye is stuffed as there is mostly black with a bit of blurred vision on the periphery of his right eye.

The CCTV lead to three arrests and all three assailants were from affluent families and all three attended a prestigious private school. The two who put the boot in got 7 months prison, the third one got a suspended sentence (didn't actually 'do' anything, rather just was there egging them on)

The three were taken to court and sued for damages - Got a decent payout because the families were wealth (although half went to lawyers) but he would rather his eye sight back and a sense of security where he's not looking over his back half the time he is out. A little while later he was jumped at the skatepark and they too his phone, wallet and board - Didn't get injured or assualted, but it's the kind of stuff that can make someone stay inside all the time.

New years mid to late 90's.
Head down Glenelg about tea time and wait in the packed LUMPY DACKS for a feed.
Bloke randomly flies through the crowd and clocks my mate in the right cheek.
Obviously shitfaced so the 6 of us that pushed him back outside didn't lay into him or anything , just sent him on his way.

5 mins later , still waiting in line i hear a " THWACK "....he's come back and hit my mate again , now my mate SHOULD'VE gone to town on him but i snapped and scooped this guy up onto my shoulders and hurl him OVER the napkin stand......he hits the deck , i run around to keep going , stick in 2 " wrestling " stomps , he grabs my foot and i hit the deck , we both grab each others shirts in a race to our feet then BAM , 2 coppers grab us.....escorted to the police station with the crowd cheering.

numerous witnesses come forward saying i was just defending my mate , i get let go old mate goes to the cells.

Have a decent night , walk back up jetty Rd about 2am and there's old mate 100 metres up the road starting on some other poor bastard.

some men just wanna watch the world burn

Yep, there was a permanent camp just around the corner from where I lived.

DId any of them look like Brad Pitt?

Dandy Plaza... nothing more to be expected.

When you have a loaded gun against your forehead for no particular reason.Adreniline probably does more for the trigger to be pulled than it does for survival, in such instances.

One of the saddest parts of our society.

Some people are antagonists. They think they can say what they like, then go crying when they get their nose smashed in. While I'm a pacifist, I believe that every action has a reaction, whether justified or not.

What the OP describes though, is completely different. These people are just full of hate, mainly for themselves. Their victims are truly innocent and are often left with the effects, be it physical or emotional, for the rest of their lives. This is cowardice in it's most pure form. They seek power by taking it from someone else. While many are caught and punished (by the law), far more are not. I feel truly sad for the human race when I hear stories like this.

Have to learn to be loud scary its hard to explain, idiots will go for whoever they assume is an easy target when they are drunk, high or just plain looking for a fight. The trick is to learn to see it coming and I know some (most) will disagree here but these people are bullies plain and simple who got through school with no one standing up to them, so my way of dealing with it is to match violence with worse violence worked for me since about grade 6.

I'm shocked this seems to be so common. I'm 6'5" and 100kg+ so it doesn't really happen to me (and I can understand why) but it doesn't really happen randomly like that to my mates either. I did get king hit on NYE in the city when I was 14 for absolutely no reason though.

I only have one mate who it happens regularly to but he is such an obnoxious ****wit when drunk that it's bloody difficult for his mates not to beat the shit out of him, let alone strangers. He completely brings it on himself.

I'm shocked this seems to be so common. I'm 6'5" and 100kg+ so it doesn't really happen to me (and I can understand why) but it doesn't really happen randomly like that to my mates either. I did get king hit on NYE in the city when I was 14 for absolutely no reason though.

I only have one mate who it happens regularly to but he is such an obnoxious silly person when drunk that it's bloody difficult for his mates not to beat the shit out of him, let alone strangers. He completely brings it on himself.

Had a mate about your size (maybe even a bit bigger) when I was a bit younger. I felt sorry for him because every time our group went out on the town, one "mate" would enevitably start a fight and expect our bigger friend to bail him out. He wasn't violent at all, but knew it was either help or watch our mate get beaten to a pulp.

I'm not violent either (unless really pushed to breaking point). Works well for me, people leave me alone and I don't pick fights.

When I was 16 I was in a beach town with my cousin walking back to our place from the store at night

Car pulled up next to us and 5 blokes walked out at least 21 and started following us asking questions about who we were etc

After about a minute and 50m of walking I told one of them to **** off and got clocked for it, then all 5 of them went to town on us, kicking us while we were down etc

Got back into their car and drove off, that was that. Didn't tell parents, I had a swollen jaw and said it was from playing footy which we were doing that day

Ran into countless blokes out on the town looking for trouble but nothing has ever really developed

Being older now I wonder what would make a bunching blokes want to belt up 16 year olds so I guess these ones must have been a special kind of feral

Have to learn to be loud scary its hard to explain, idiots will go for whoever they assume is an easy target when they are drunk, high or just plain looking for a fight. The trick is to learn to see it coming and I know some (most) will disagree here but these people are bullies plain and simple who got through school with no one standing up to them, so my way of dealing with it is to match violence with worse violence worked for me since about grade 6.
Yeah I get what you're saying.

I used to walk home thinking I'd keep to myself, look down, hands in pockets etc, thinking everyone would leave me alone, but no surprise that every possible moron who could approach me would do so. It was only later that someone said they're picking on you because you look soft and like you won't fight back.

Don't have to be tall/heavy build or whatever, but you gotta project that if someone messes with you, you'll at least be a handful to deal with. Loud scary is probably a decent way to describe it.