MadDawg said:No I mean Courtney Johns, the big hopless that fills a jumper for Essendon![]()
oh thought you meant dawson, the small scrawny hopeless that doesnt fill the jumper for hawthorn.

Due to a number of factors, support for the current BigFooty mobile app has been discontinued. Your BigFooty login will no longer work on the Tapatalk or the BigFooty App - which is based on Tapatalk.
Apologies for any inconvenience. We will try to find a replacement.
MadDawg said:No I mean Courtney Johns, the big hopless that fills a jumper for Essendon![]()
Sadly hes one of those players will always has struggled with injury and always will in my opinion.Underdog said:I think he is a good kid and has heaps of potential especially if he has struggled with injury as much as Bomber fans suggest.
Probably to help him learn more about being a forward. What better way to learn than to experience first hand how other full forwards play.Mero said:Like a lot of blokes who haven't done preseason, he's struggling.
Especially after half time.
I don't know why Sheedy The Genius plays him at Full Back.
But then, he did the same to Lucas a few years back and he won a B&F playing at CHB.
But Johns leads up the middle of the ground, and can now kick.
Once Lloyd comes back and starts taking a better defender, and Johns does a preseason, I reckon he's at least worth persisting with.
They can't help it. Writing off a guy who has played 11 games after coming back from a career threatening injury is all class.Boris_Bewick said:God some Hawks supporters are absolute knobs
Ari said:Sadly hes one of those players will always has struggled with injury and always will in my opinion.
jules101 said:oh thought you meant dawson, the small scrawny hopeless that doesnt fill the jumper for hawthorn.
MadDawg said:No, Dawson can get a game for the team that has made Essendon its little bit(hes which puts him way in front of Johns as a player.![]()
Ari said:Mate.... look at it this way.
Both are kids.
When we're sitting here arguing Dawson vs Johns youve gotta see that 14 other clubs supporters are reading it as pure hilarity.
This whole thread is a tad premature.... by a couple years only!!
DaSawx said:Nah, just shows a lack of depth.
Johns has never been toweld down back and he isn't even a defender, i think he has zach covered
MadDawg said:Roughead kicked a couple on him.
MadDawg said:Sorry I cant keep up with your excuses![]()
DaSawx said:Ummm, i haven't made any
MadDawg said:Then well done Courtney Johns, you towelled Hawthorn up on the weekend, 6 of the best possesions I've seen, your not a defender and played FB and Roughie only kicked 2 goals on you. You have Dawson covered and are truly the Messiah.
jules101 said:You are whats wrong with bigfooty. A sample size of one. So a young developing player cant have one bad game?
Round 4 2006 Carlton v Hawthorn - O'hAilpin 1 kick, 2 handballs, 1 tackle and 1 free against. Can't see a future for him.....
celtic_pride said:Meh, he didn't get much game time that day.
celtic_pride said:Setanta has only been playing footy about 3 or 4 years so he is going to take time. Whereas I see Johns has at plenty of chances.
celtic_pride said:I can't see any upside to John's game. He has tried hard and has had some terrible injuries but I don't think clubs can afford to keep battlers on their list these days.
celtic_pride said:Meh, he didn't get much game time that day.
Setanta has only been playing footy about 3 or 4 years so he is going to take time. Whereas I see Johns has at plenty of chances.
Put it this way, I'm far more certain than O'Halipin will make it at AFL level then Johns. The irishman has an atheltic ability that is very exciting, but he does need to read the play better and he really needs to improve his kicking, but they can be rectified over time.
I can't see any upside to John's game. He has tried hard and has had some terrible injuries but I don't think clubs can afford to keep battlers on their list these days.
Longy413 said:And you're using sample data from a game where Johns played down back, in a position he's probably played the 5 quarters of footy in his life.
Setanta has played more footy as an adult than Johns has. In his time at Carlton he would have played three times as much footy as Johns has.
Saying Johns has had plenty of chances is crap, even you aren't giving him a chance.
You didn't see him against Collingwood then. Or against Fremantle for that matter. He can lead, he can mark, he's strong, he can read the play and he can kick.
He can't run out full games and he isn't overly fit.
That sounds like plenty of upside to me.
What's easier to improve over a pre-season, fitness or ball skills?
Johns has actually made a positive impact on a winning side. He's actually contributed to a game that we wouldn't have won had he not been there.