Rate my team Part III

Solid team! Would stay clear of D.Cox has had slow start to preseason and most likely fall in price. And you might want to change Morabito to Shuey, cheaper and potential higher scoring. Rains is to injury prone and ive been burnt by him twice.

Here my team, edited a millionth time.

Backs: Goodard, Hodge, Waite, Harbrow, Ladson, Hunt and Waters
(McGuire and Trengove)

Midfeild: Bartel, Cooney, Masten, Trengove, Martin and Shuey
(Jetta and Strauss)

Rucks: Sandi and Hill (Warnock and Lobbe)

Forwards: Roo, ROK, Pavlich, Higgins, Franklin, Brown, Zeibell
(Gumbelton and TDL)

Will Dean Cox play in Round 1? What Ruckman would you have instead of Cox?

Cox has had a slow start to preseason, imo will drop a fair bit in value and with NicNat good NAB cup, woosha might feel good and confortable with easing big cox with his workload.

because the team i commented on had spent more money in foward line than in the back which is bad becuase this year there are more good cheap players in fowardline than back, meaning you would be better of starting with a slightly stronger stronger backline to ensure that you didnt have to play any crap cheapies in the backline

huhhh :confused:

I strongly disagree with you here. The backline this year contains a plethora of juicy DT options >>>> than the forwards.

The only reason why you would want to 'balance' your team is to make sure you aren't vulnerable in a particular area where there may not be reliable back-up.

@Coiler
I'd start again mate. Scarlett, Bolton, Raines, Young, Naitanui, Roughead, Buchanan and Jurrah are all players taht no team should have.

Also the Xavier Ellis twins might have a hard time of it this year. Higgins and Ziebell should be in the mids. McVeigh suspended round one as is Buddy. Lobbe should be in the rucks.

Missing some rookies that should be locked in. Jessie Smith also a questionable pick.

DTdraft3.jpg

What do you think guys? 3 rookies very risky but there is very little to pick from in backs and forwards.

Yeah super team

Probably the best team i have seen on the board as of yet. Im not a fan of port Adelaide players and thats mainly due to me seeing them drop off this year even after an impressive NAB opener. I think your missing a backline player that is needed and i would look at discarding Broadbent for them. Broadbent's a questionable 22 player and his scoring doesnt look great from what i saw in the NAB however follow his progress further in the NAB he could be a good/unique pick.

I love your midfield. Will be very similar to mine. All those 3 premiums have been in my side of lat however im going to take 120 scorer in just because there the best captain and it means 240 points each week from one player. I have a theory that the captain should be the highest scoring player in the comp.

Look at Wade skipper as the number 4 ruck possibly, Lobbe is an okay pick. I have trouble seeing how he will score even if he does play. Skipper may be more short term strength and Lobbe could be more long term.

I have my doubts over Podsiadlly. He also doesnt look like a scorer. I know im only going off one game, buts a typical one dimensional sort of forward, havnt seen a whole lot of him but thats what ive heard. Although if that extra 17-20k is needed than he could be an another okay pick.

I dont have alot of love for Gray but i cant seem to say much bad about him. Just cant see him improving too much.

@Coiler
I'd start again mate. Scarlett, Bolton, Raines, Young, Naitanui, Roughead, Buchanan and Jurrah are all players taht no team should have.

Also the Xavier Ellis twins might have a hard time of it this year. Higgins and Ziebell should be in the mids. McVeigh suspended round one as is Buddy. Lobbe should be in the rucks.

Missing some rookies that should be locked in. Jessie Smith also a questionable pick.

DTdraft3.jpg

What do you think guys? 3 rookies very risky but there is very little to pick from in backs and forwards.

Buchanan may surprise this year and his form against the Bulldogs in the NAB Cup was good, so I may keep him.

What do you have in mind to replace the others though?

Yeah super team

Probably the best team i have seen on the board as of yet. Im not a fan of port Adelaide players and thats mainly due to me seeing them drop off this year even after an impressive NAB opener. I think your missing a backline player that is needed and i would look at discarding Broadbent for them. Broadbent's a questionable 22 player and his scoring doesnt look great from what i saw in the NAB however follow his progress further in the NAB he could be a good/unique pick.

I love your midfield. Will be very similar to mine. All those 3 premiums have been in my side of lat however im going to take 120 scorer in just because there the best captain and it means 240 points each week from one player. I have a theory that the captain should be the highest scoring player in the comp.

Look at Wade skipper as the number 4 ruck possibly, Lobbe is an okay pick. I have trouble seeing how he will score even if he does play. Skipper may be more short term strength and Lobbe could be more long term.

I have my doubts over Podsiadlly. He also doesnt look like a scorer. I know im only going off one game, buts a typical one dimensional sort of forward, havnt seen a whole lot of him but thats what ive heard. Although if that extra 17-20k is needed than he could be an another okay pick.

I dont have alot of love for Gray but i cant seem to say much bad about him. Just cant see him improving too much.

Thanks for the advice.

How about now? Made some changes.

Defenders:
Jason Gram, Xavier Ellis, Matthew Scarlett, Craig Bolton, Tadhg Kennelly, Josh Hunt, Beau Waters. Res: Jesse Smith, Matthew Maguire.

Midfield:
Gary Ablett, Shaun Higgins, Trent Cotchin, Jack Ziebell, Stephen Hill, Clinton Young. Res: Anthony Morabito, Lewis Jetta.

Ruck:
Aaron Sandilands, Nic Naitanui. Res: Robert Warnock, Daniel Currie

Forwards:
Nick Riewoldt, Adam Goodes, Ryan O'Keefe, Jonathan Brown, Daniel Giansiracusa, Amon Buchanan, Liam Jurrah. Res: Matthew Lobbe, Trent Dennis-Lane

How about now? Made some changes.

Defenders:
Jason Gram, Xavier Ellis, Matthew Scarlett, Craig Bolton, Tadhg Kennelly, Josh Hunt, Beau Waters. Res: Jesse Smith, Matthew Maguire.

Midfield:
Gary Ablett, Shaun Higgins, Trent Cotchin, Jack Ziebell, Stephen Hill, Clinton Young. Res: Anthony Morabito, Lewis Jetta.

Ruck:
Aaron Sandilands, Nic Naitanui. Res: Robert Warnock, Daniel Currie

Forwards:
Nick Riewoldt, Adam Goodes, Ryan O'Keefe, Jonathan Brown, Daniel Giansiracusa, Amon Buchanan, Liam Jurrah. Res: Matthew Lobbe, Trent Dennis-Lane
you need to compleatly rework your whole structure

not to keen on Bolton i would upgrade him or downgrade him. also not keen on walters because of his interupted preseason.

in the midfield you shouldnt have either higgins or Ziebell beause they are both avaliable in foward line, in fact overall you have'nt spent enough on your midfield you need mabey another 450k midfilder like selwood.possible change cotchin to morten.and get rid of young, and change morbito to martin

rucks get rid of natuni he is NOT A GOOD DT'er

i would also avoid jurrah and buchanan he wont play like he did agains the bulldogs again.
Who ever said to make those changes is not a very good DT coach =)

Yeah you are right it doesn't matter. Its not like a real AFL team where a weak part of the ground can let the others down. In the end you have the same amount of keepers across the park.

So you reckon this team would be fine

Gram, Hargrave, Goddard, Fisher, Enright, Hodge,Shaw

Martin, Trengove, Morabito, Shuey, Bastinac, Cunnington

Cox, Sandi

Chapman, SJ, Didak, Davis, Goodes, Buddy, B.harvey

By doing this you miss out on any price drops from forwards, backs and even rucks. So lets say Riewoldt gets injured in the first 2 mins of a game, with a score of 1 for the freekick:). He than returns next week trying to be a captain he is and doesnt play that well because of the injury in the previous round and scores 40. All of a sudden in 2 weeks time after that 40 hes priced at like 200k. With this team your saying you would be happy to leave a player of Riewoldt's scoring potential out and not be able to pick him up due to the team structure. You could reply by saying that if i downgrade a premium and get Riewoldt at that price i make 200k and keep the same amount of premiums.

However, i hope you get the general understanding. Team Balance is critical. Something im researching into now. Is about having a midpricer in every position. This could be important for the midfield this season. A few i know may try the 3-0-3 midfield structure. However if a gun gets injured or scores poorly early than with those rookies, you may not have enough money by round 5-6 to upgrade to them. Thus you lose money and points due to having to wait longer to get that premium because you do not have sufficient coin.

you need to compleatly rework your whole structure

not to keen on Bolton i would upgrade him or downgrade him. also not keen on walters because of his interupted preseason.

in the midfield you shouldnt have either higgins or Ziebell beause they are both avaliable in foward line, in fact overall you have'nt spent enough on your midfield you need mabey another 450k midfilder like selwood.possible change cotchin to morten.and get rid of young, and change morbito to martin

rucks get rid of natuni he is NOT A GOOD DT'er

i would also avoid jurrah and buchanan he wont play like he did agains the bulldogs again.
Who ever said to make those changes is not a very good DT coach =)

Hang on didnt he just score 115-120 (cant remember exactly) with 20 possies. Thats like 5 points per disposal. Some players would need 2 posses per 5 points.

Hes a good dtmer, your argument is incorrect.

Hang on didnt he just score 115-120 (cant remember exactly) with 20 possies. Thats like 5 points per disposal. Some players would need 2 posses per 5 points.

Hes a good dtmer, your argument is incorrect.
no way he socred 115 against a no name rookie listed ruckman hadly supprising, plus when cox comes back into the side he play more up fowerd like he did last year and even if he does play in the ruck more than last year he is still not going to be anygood agaisnt half deccent opposition. and what i said about him not being a DT'er is true he is not a natural DT'er you only have to look at his stats from under 18 level to see he doesnt rack up huge numbers. In short he is or will be a very good player but not a DT'er, he will increase in price this season but only by like max 35-45K not enough to be a good cash cow and not good enough to be a keeper

Yeah super team

Cheers for the comments. Broadbent is one of the only players i see changing. Ladson is very tempting Buckley, Selwood, Henderson and Maleceski have all been in my team at some stage. However Malceski burnt me last year so i'm hesistant. Ladson has his injury issues, Buckley is unlikely to play many games, Selwood wasn't getting the midfield time like i thought, Henderson looks good without Fev but i can't see him earning more than 80k.

As for Gray, he had his appendix taken out but is meant to be getting a lot more midfield time. I swapped him for Delicious but he has early signs of OP, which is concerning. Podsiadly is so cheap and should get games with Mr Cocaine gone but i'll wait and see. Skipper I'm considering because DT Talk have been talking about him. Barlow isn't actually on the list but should get games as he's a mature age recruit.

@WCE that's way too much money in the bank. You can get another keeper or too for that. You'd be losing upward of 200 points in the first 4-5 rounds if u stick to a normal trading routine.

And Coiler, do ur reserch mate I'm not going to spoonfeed you. Look at some of the teams going around.

So you reckon this team would be fine

Gram, Hargrave, Goddard, Fisher, Enright, Hodge,Shaw

Martin, Trengove, Morabito, Shuey, Bastinac, Cunnington

Cox, Sandi

Chapman, SJ, Didak, Davis, Goodes, Buddy, B.harvey

By doing this you miss out on any price drops from forwards, backs and even rucks. So lets say Riewoldt gets injured in the first 2 mins of a game, with a score of 1 for the freekick:). He than returns next week trying to be a captain he is and doesnt play that well because of the injury in the previous round and scores 40. All of a sudden in 2 weeks time after that 40 hes priced at like 200k. With this team your saying you would be happy to leave a player of Riewoldt's scoring potential out and not be able to pick him up due to the team structure. You could reply by saying that if i downgrade a premium and get Riewoldt at that price i make 200k and keep the same amount of premiums.

However, i hope you get the general understanding. Team Balance is critical. Something im researching into now. Is about having a midpricer in every position. This could be important for the midfield this season. A few i know may try the 3-0-3 midfield structure. However if a gun gets injured or scores poorly early than with those rookies, you may not have enough money by round 5-6 to upgrade to them. Thus you lose money and points due to having to wait longer to get that premium because you do not have sufficient coin.

That team you have put is a bit extreme. As long as you have at least 2 premium keepers in each position then I dont really think it matters. If you think there is more value in a certain position then maybe dont get too many keepers in that possie.

If you look at the person who won dream team last year they didnt have many midpricers. I assume a midpricer is someone between about 200 and 360ish.

That team you have put is a bit extreme. As long as you have at least 2 premium keepers in each position then I dont really think it matters. If you think there is more value in a certain position then maybe dont get too many keepers in that possie.

If you look at the person who won dream team last year they didnt have many midpricers. I assume a midpricer is someone between about 200 and 360ish.

Yeah but last year you could lock in ziebell, walker, hill, suban, cheney, petrenko, etc. to get games. This year there ain't many back/fwd rookies i'd stick on the field... so what ya gonna do?

dt1y.jpg

$7,800 left.

Probably going to change it a bit before round 1, the defence is a bit shit.

G'day Boys
Can i get this team rated?

Backs - Enright, Fisher, Hodge, H.Shaw, Kennelly, Hunt, Waters..... Trengove Silvangi

Mids - Pendlebury, Mitchell, Ball, Armitage, Masten, Martin........ Shuey Barlow

Rucks - Sandilands, Natanui..... Warnock Bass

Forwards - Riewoldt, Brown, Pavlich, Higgins, Franklin, Harvey, Rockliff..... Gumbleton Pods

Cheers!

G'day Boys
Can i get this team rated?

Backs - Enright, Fisher, Hodge, H.Shaw, Kennelly, Hunt, Waters..... Trengove Silvangi

Mids - Pendlebury, Mitchell, Ball, Armitage, Masten, Martin........ Shuey Barlow

Rucks - Sandilands, Natanui..... Warnock Bass

Forwards - Riewoldt, Brown, Pavlich, Higgins, Franklin, Harvey, Rockliff..... Gumbleton Pods

Cheers!

Good team. Good bench players although gumby is risky but by the look of your backline you like a risk. Some of your players may not make the best 22 all of the time i.e Rockliff, Hunt, Armitage and waters so just keep an eye out and you could make a damaging impact in 2010!

Thanks mate.. i may try the mid-range players in the midfield in the hope that i can upgrade them easily to guns after 5-6 weeks.. agree on the risky players, i have a good feeling about Armitage this year though.. he had 2 hundreds out of 3 games last year!

Yeah but last year you could lock in ziebell, walker, hill, suban, cheney, petrenko, etc. to get games. This year there ain't many back/fwd rookies i'd stick on the field... so what ya gonna do?

Well we will just have to see how many rookies get named round 1. Also, I think the new dual position rule will help a little bit with evening out the balance and covering zeros.

First ever go at a DT

Backs: Cornes, Hodge, Mattner, Bower, Hurn, Myers, Ladson (Maguire, Davies)
Mids: Bartel, Gibbs, Boak, Higgins, Masten, Martin (Banner, Lucas)
Rucks: Hille, Kreuzer (Warnock, Currie)
Forwards: Reiwoldt, Pavlich, Harvey, Franklin, Waite, Yarran, Veszpremi (Davis, Podsiadly)

Any glaringly obvious problems?

Im interested to know why so many people are getting Dangerfield... Doesnt seem a dream teamer, has had an interrupted pre-season. Didn't avg much last year, is a very good player and should improve but I don't see where all the hype is coming from he isnt really a high posession player.

Hey guys.. this is my first time through DT and i wanted to ask a question.

My midfield looks as following:

Swan
Ablett
Mitchell
Masten
Martin
Jetta

Banner
Shuey

What are the drawback from having swan and ablett in the team? I only have 16 000 left but wanted to know if it was worth trading one of the top tier guys for a cheaper option and upgrading some of the rookies. My theory has been to have 3-4 keepers in each area and rookies/previously injured coming back players to make up the rest to upgrade later.

Im interested to know why so many people are getting Dangerfield... Doesnt seem a dream teamer, has had an interrupted pre-season. Didn't avg much last year, is a very good player and should improve but I don't see where all the hype is coming from he isnt really a high posession player.

Because he's young improving and has a permanent spot in the Adelaide midfield. He will go up in price, sure he might not be a keeper but at his price with a spot every week in the middle he's hard to go past.