Autopsy Rd 17 Blues undersized and overwhelmed

Who played well for Carlton in Round 17?

There was a real emptiness among the crowd.

We were waiting for something to get us up and about but literally nothing happened to get us going until it was far too late.

Thought it had to happen at some stage, we'd string a good run together and kick a couple but it just never did.

I can't remember the last time I saw people leaving that early.

Unfortunately we have failed every true test this year.
‘Something to get us up’ is Charlie Curnow. And he’s coming baby.

Game was done and dusted on paper yesterday with two KPP down - highlighting the lack of tall options on the list.

Despite that and surprisingly ( to me anyway)

The game could have gone either way for most part and the facts say that kicking inaccuracy was the #1 culprit in the loss. Geelong were also allowed to win the midfield battle due to a combination of poor kicking skill and some ordinary basic skills like handballing to advantage. - but that really didn't 'cost' the game I was pretty happy with the way the side played as a team - defensive pressure was much improved - with a couple of notable exceptions.

One of our better performances AFIAC.

Looking at the battlers - I would say that Jack Silvagni and Owies were a class above some much higher draft picks. Owies is under rated as a footballer - very smart player - a pity he hasn't got the distance for longer range set shots, if he did he would be one of the best smalls in AFL - that is about the only negative I can think of in his game. Jack is playing like a big modied mid - irrespective of the field position he is put in - another really smart player who gives it his all and rarely gets beaten- if McGovern/Charlie/Fisher/Cuningham wher available - SOJ could actually play a wing - much better than Newnes or Setterfield goes as far as skill and execution with ball in hand.

I thought Kennedy and Dow had low impact follwoing a couple of weeks good performances - Dow in particular was seen once too often going back into his trailing opponent shell when chasing. SPS and Setterfield were #1 examples of corralling instinct - which less generous commentary would describe differently. Martin is clearly not anywhere 100% fit - and it shows. Harry is leading the Coleman and shanks kicks from 20- meters out, dead in front against top sides - got to take your chances as they say.

Hate losing - but yesterday wasn't an example of one of the bad ones - just frustrating.

Question for you - if the same themes appear every game, regardless of the players playing, and seemingly regardless of their positions too (Walsh in centre or on wing etc) what does that suggest if not something missing in the coaching? The fundamentals coaching is not happening. Teague said it in the presser himself 'players can go Do that.' which, sure, they can but when it's this long without improvement the coaching team, as a whole, should be leading the charge to fix the fundamentals. Leading patterns, tackling techniques, goal kicking routines, front and centre crumbing etc.

Comes a point where, yes players need to wear it, but what's a coaches job if not to change and fix the constant failings?

I've not seen a team ever sit in the bottom 2 for DE as many seasons in a row as us. Not across any sport (passing accuracy in football, completion percentage in the nfl, etc). Screams coaching philosophy to me.
Question for you - if the same themes appear every game, regardless of the players playing, and seemingly regardless of their positions too (Walsh in centre or on wing etc) what does that suggest if not something missing in the coaching? The fundamentals coaching is not happening. Teague said it in the presser himself 'players can go Do that.' which, sure, they can but when it's this long without improvement the coaching team, as a whole, should be leading the charge to fix the fundamentals. Leading patterns, tackling techniques, goal kicking routines, front and centre crumbing etc.

Comes a point where, yes players need to wear it, but what's a coaches job if not to change and fix the constant failings?

I've not seen a team ever sit in the bottom 2 for DE as many seasons in a row as us. Not across any sport (passing accuracy in football, completion percentage in the nfl, etc). Screams coaching philosophy to me.
I think our game style has completely changed from the start of the year and we are trying heaps of new things. I don’t know where to find the stats but how do Richmond and Brisbane rate in disposal efficiency? I could be wrong but I imagine they are low because their game doesn’t rely on it.
At the end of the day our midfield is horrible, bottom 1-4 in the league. No good side has a crap midfield and until that is sorted we aren’t going anywhere.

There was a real emptiness among the crowd.

We were waiting for something to get us up and about but literally nothing happened to get us going until it was far too late.

Thought it had to happen at some stage, we'd string a good run together and kick a couple but it just never did.

I can't remember the last time I saw people leaving that early.

Unfortunately we have failed every true test this year.
Considering our unforced errors and missed scoring opportunities, I thought our supporters were quite good yesterday.

I still don't get the booing of ex players that left years ago though

‘Something to get us up’ is Charlie Curnow. And he’s coming baby.
Kemp, O Mac, Carroll/Ramsay will also break into the team in the coming month, we’ll look a lot different in the run home, enough to give us hope at least.

If Stocker is not signed yet that is an URGENT priority - we need his skill and “culture” for this list

Kemp, O Mac, Carroll/Ramsay will also break into the team in the coming month, we’ll look a lot different in the run home, enough to give us hope at least.

If Stocker is not signed yet that is an URGENT priority - we need his skill and “culture” for this list
Not sure Kemp gets games. They’re playing him in the backline (bizarre IMO) and the back 7 is set if Jones comes back from that lower back injury. Carroll isn’t ready. Not sure what role for Ramsay.

The effort was there.. execution to be desired in both goal kicking and biting off the corridor kick.
We missed a few then went gun shy when we really needed to be brave.

I think Teague was fine tactically on match day but I would like to know what happened with those late selections.
Fisher was named as emergency so I’m assuming was right to play?
Surely he would have added more than Setterfield. Or play one of the kids.. anyone else really. Setters hasn’t shown anything to deserve being an automatic in for 18 months.

Harry had an ordinary day. Did some selfish things and he needs to sort his goal kicking routine over summer.

Weitering was great. Saad was good, JSOS tried hard.

Best til last Sam Walsh. We are watching a truly generational talent every week. Has to be the best youngster since Judd… the kid is easily our best and one of the best mids in the comp at 21 and 50 games in. Whatever we need to do to sign him up.. do it.

I don’t necessarily think he’s the right person for the job, but Teague wasn’t the issue last night. You can’t win with kicking like that (both for goal and in general play).

Random thought: If Luke Darcy didn’t hate us we could have the All-Australian full-forward, full-back, and one of the prime midfielders. We really should be better than this.

I think our game style has completely changed from the start of the year and we are trying heaps of new things. I don’t know where to find the stats but how do Richmond and Brisbane rate in disposal efficiency? I could be wrong but I imagine they are low because their game doesn’t rely on it.
At the end of the day our midfield is horrible, bottom 1-4 in the league. No good side has a crap midfield and until that is sorted we aren’t going anywhere.

Midfields can be fixed cheaply and quickly though.

I think we did ok given Jones and Cas were late outs. If a few of those points were goals, it might’ve been a different result. Momentum definitely would’ve been with us

Yeah I agree, I think that's why people were so empty. We had the upper hand in general play for some significant portions but just could not convert.

It's like, you can't get angry because they're not playing bad but you can't cheer because they're not kicking goals...

I can't imagine what the cats will throw at Walsh to get him across.

Said it before on here. The Walsh connection with Geelong is not that strong. He was a Lions supporter and his father mad Carlton. Spent a lot of his childhood in Darwin.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Considering our unforced errors and missed scoring opportunities, I thought our supporters were quite good yesterday.

Yeah the booing I think is just a bit of fun, I doubt there's actual angst toward Hendo and Tuohy...

As for the supporters, see my previous post about why there was an empty feeling.

I don’t necessarily think he’s the right person for the job, but Teague wasn’t the issue last night. You can’t win with kicking like that (both for goal and in general play).

Random thought: If Luke Darcy didn’t hate us we could have the All-Australian full-forward, full-back, and one of the prime midfielders. We really should be better than this.

Champion team always beats a team of champions.

Not sure Kemp gets games. They’re playing him in the backline (bizarre IMO) and the back 7 is set if Jones comes back from that lower back injury. Carroll isn’t ready. Not sure what role for Ramsay.

Kemp started in the backline as a junior and after an ACL, it's the right introduction

The way I recall it, he wanted to stay but Geelong offered him 50k more to move to them. Some of their premiership defenders had retired, I think Enright was one. SOS wouldn't budge, so he left. Pity, he would have been great for us in defence.😔

It was a deliberate low-ball offer from SOS to get the trade done for Marchbank (& Pickett) & free up cash.

Stocker signed along with Walsh to 2022

I see a lot of chat regarding how Stewart’s intercept cooked us, I agree, but that is 100% a coaching problem..

Why on earth are we allowing Williams, Walsh and Dow to stream past TDK without demanding the footy? TDK is not an elite user, we gain no advantage with him kicking versus those three.

Why did we play Setterfield over Honey? Honey, from all that I’ve seen is a Jamie Elliot/Dan Butler type player. He can break lines with his run and carry, would’ve been a tricky matchup.

Why did Setters get a game after a month out of footy at any level? He’s not a walk up best 22 player, so why on earth does he get an expedited run at it over those who put in every week at the VFL level?

Why did it take 4 straight goals from turnovers from kicks into the corridor before we even considered spreading the ball out wide?

Why was the continued instruction to go for goals whenever the boys felt reasonably comfortable? Yes, we overuse the footy a lot inside 50 but why were we not telling the boys to look laterally before going for home?

Yes, some players hurt us. But **** me, stop digging into Williams, he was not one of them. He’s one of the few blokes that always looks to kick the footy. Stop blaming blokes and looking for a scapegoat. It’s the CFC hierarchy that has written this season off, not any one individual player. Not solely Teague, but the men around Teague too. I believe Teague is hamstrung at the selection panel and has to make less than optimal decisions as they are completely baffling. No one person cops it more in the media than Teague. Do I want him there next year, no. Does he deserve to cop the brunt of everything wrong with Carlton? No.

We, as an organisation are simply cooked. Teague is not the one to lead us, but neither are any of our assistants. The review will put a broom through the hierarchy and I reckon we’ll see results round one next year.

The positive takeaway from this season? We’ve found talent on every line (Stocker, Dow, Owies, TDK) and both of our recruits have been worthwhile in recent weeks (Saad, Williams) Now play more youth and gear up for 2022.

the booing gets tiresome. As to the reasoning, I can understand it in respect to Henderson. As for Tuohy, the booing was just rubbish and stupid.