SouthSwans

Bushrangers, Liverpool, Celtics
This is a massive game. I get more worried the more I think about it. 35 goals in 6 weeks for the man who I think is borderline unstoppable.

The one thing that is keeping me from going bald from stress over this one is that we have the most versatile and arguably the most in-form defender in the comp playing on him. That's the key to Saturday night IMO. Ok lets get to the other match-ups.

Black is yet again having a ripper year and will be hard to shut down, luckily for us we have a bloke named Kirk who tends to go alright on him. Over the past four games Black has played on Kirk he's averaged 16 disposals. Not bad, but it's down from his season average of 22 and career average of 23.

Luke Power is in super form averaging 29 possesions over the last 3 weeks, normally I'd be worried but Power is one player that has had little to no influence against us due to the watchful eye over recent years of my man Ben Mathews. Over the past 7 outings against Benny he's averaged just 13 possesions. Our most recent encounter with Brisbane saw Power's lowest possesion count of the season to date racking the ball up just nine times under Ben's close guard. In that game Mathews also managed to bob up and score a goal, not a bad way to cap off a classy day for our most underrated player. Lets hope he can continue his run of blanketing performances over a bloke who was named in the Brisbane 'Fab Five'.

Nigel Lappin has averaged 30 possesions over the last 7 weeks. That's an astounding number for consistancy, personally I'm not quite sure who to put on this man, he regularly is forgotten about due to his injury and is loving not having all the attention. Instead of tagging, maybe allow Goodes to go with him around the ground, he's the only one I can think who would match him at the contests being a tall midfielder like Lappin.

Other matchups:
Hall vs. Merrett
O'Loughlin vs. Roe
O'Keefe vs. Adcock
Davis vs. Macdonald
Everitt vs. Patfull
Schneider vs. Moody
Goodes vs. Lappin
Buchanan vs. Begley
J Bolton vs. Copeland
Kirk vs. Black
Mathews vs. Power
Ablett vs. Notting
McVeigh vs. Rischitelli
Fosdike vs. Selwood
Schmidt vs. Johnson
Jolly vs. Charman/Luenberger
Malceski vs. Stiller
Kennelly vs. Mills
Richards vs. Luenberger/Charman
Brennan vs. Brennan :D
Bevan vs. Hooper
C Bolton vs. Brown

If Leo comes in I assume it would be for Brennan or Schmidt (cause the coaches love Bevan). In that case I would think Leo would take the resting ruckman and Teddy would move onto the versatile Brennan.

Those of us who don't have foxtel and can't get to the game will have to watch from your local pub. Channel 10 opted against showing our game for the West Coast v Richmond blockbuster taking place in Perth.

Brown, Lappin and Adcock have been on fire in the past few weeks. Stop them reaching their usual output and we'll go a long way to winning the game.

I think Bolton2, Ablett and McVeigh are the men for the job.

I wouldn't worry too much about Brennan. If he is on then he is unstoppable and no-one can handle him but if he isn't on then I reckon I'd give myself a chance of playing well on him he just that type of player.

The thing we need to worry about most in this match is none other than Barry Hall if this bloke cant get a kick I dont see us having much chance of progressing very far in the finals so we need him to find some form along with MOL who has also been struggling of late.

Hopefully Craig Bolton can stop J.Brown dominating us too much if he can keep him to under 5 goals I think we will win.

Kirk hopefully will do the job again on Black but its been Adcock & Lappin who have been the most dangerous for the Lions this year maybe Ablett to take Lappin and J.Bolton to play as defensive forward on Adcock like he did to Brock Mclean.

I give us a pretty good chance of winning this game and I would be tipping us to win by about 15 points.

I'm nervous!

Barry needs to have a big game. He needs to get his confidence back.

I don't think we should be thinking in terms of Barry needing a big game for the rest of the year. He's carrying a groin and only training about 20mins a week, so it'll be only incremental improvements from here on in. I'll be happy as long as he continues to throw his weight around in the packs and provide us a presence in the forward 50. Providing a contest is his job from here on in I reckon - certainly against the quality fullbacks.

But don't get me wrong a goal or 4 certainly wouldn't go astray.

It'll be interesting to see if he can break the shackles against Brissie.

I wouldn't be surprised to see Dempster brought in to play on Lappin.
But I think it depends on whether Leo or LRT or both will be brought in.
Schmidt will yet again be first in line to be omitted.
Brennan and (I hope) Ablett would be the other two looked at for dropping.

I don't think we should be thinking in terms of Barry needing a big game for the rest of the year. He's carrying a groin and only training about 20mins a week, so it'll be only incremental improvements from here on in. I'll be happy as long as he continues to throw his weight around in the packs and provide us a presence in the forward 50. Providing a contest is his job from here on in I reckon - certainly against the quality fullbacks.

But don't get me wrong a goal or 4 certainly wouldn't go astray.

It'll be interesting to see if he can break the shackles against Brissie.

He isn't giving us a presence in the forward line though. I'd just love him to have a big game so he can get some confidence going into the finals. When i say 'big game' i don't mean BOG or anything, i just want him to take some strong marks and kick some big goals.

I wouldn't be surprised to see Dempster brought in to play on Lappin.
But I think it depends on whether Leo or LRT or both will be brought in.
Schmidt will yet again be first in line to be omitted.
Brennan and (I hope) Ablett would be the other two looked at for dropping.

don't plan for leo or Three Blokes to come back this week, and i just saw on the swans website that stephen doyle is gone for the season...have we seen him play his last game in the red and white???

as for j brennan, i understand campbell brown gave him an early rough-up and then stayed on his case early, and it had the effect of putting him off pretty much for the game

i'm pretty happy that c bolton will more than likely line up on brown, he's always done a good job on the big feller and he's going as well as ever

it is a massive game, but as long as we go in with the same attitude and hunger that have characterised the past few weeks, i think we've got to be a real shot, and i'm starting to think we can go on with it now

He has a pretty good record against Brisbane and no Mal Michael allows him a bit of an opportunity to exploit someone like Roe or Merret.
hall will defitnetly play on merret and merret has been one fo the best full backs in the afl and can certainly match him for strength and merret can easily beat him in speed but hall will win in experience obviously so it should be a good battle

i've seen little of brisbane this season, i'm aware merrett has improved enormously since being given the regular FB gig, but just going on past clashes with sydney, i believe merrett's been a big disappointment, so this will be his chance to shine playing on an out-of-touch fitness-challenged hall....but i'm happy in the knowledge that we're much more than a one-trick pony when it comes to our forwards, so while we have to find a way to stop brown, brisbane need to find blokes to throw on davis, micky o, ryan o'keefe and whichever of our crumbers is up forward at the time....

I'm nervous!

Barry needs to have a big game. He needs to get his confidence back.
Sorry Nat, but Barry,has an injury in his groin,nothing to do with confidence!
If he does not come good this week for Lions game,it would probably be wise to
rest him.As we are probably going to make the finals.and he could rest his injury.

Sorry Nat, but Barry,has an injury in his groin,nothing to do with confidence!
If he does not come good this week for Lions game,it would probably be wise to
rest him.As we are probably going to make the finals.and he could rest his injury.

Regardless of the injury his confidence is down. It doesn't take much to see that. I don't want much from Barry, but i would love to see him take a big mark and/or kick an important goal. He can still have his confidence whilst carrying an injury, right now he doesn't though.

lol Brennan on Brennan.. and ftw it wont BE ON TV????

nah, once again this brilliant afl-sanctioned tv deal has bent swannies fans over the lounge and given it to us....last week, swans v saints, crucial finals battle, was on foxtel and we non-foxtel types got the gripping demons v dogs game....THIS week, i spent sunday not even bothering to check the tv guide coz i saw the two sat night games were us v lions, another crucial finals game between two sides with big victorian bases, and west coast v richmond from perth.....no worries, lay down misere, HAD to be our game
....but no.....can't wait to see weagles v tigers
sighhhh

nah, once again this brilliant afl-sanctioned tv deal has bent swannies fans over the lounge and given it to us....last week, swans v saints, crucial finals battle, was on foxtel and we non-foxtel types got the gripping demons v dogs game....THIS week, i spent sunday not even bothering to check the tv guide coz i saw the two sat night games were us v lions, another crucial finals game between two sides with big victorian bases, and west coast v richmond from perth.....no worries, lay down misere, HAD to be our game
....but no.....can't wait to see weagles v tigers
sighhhh

? we were on tv last week

on foxtel.....if you're in nsw, you'd have seen the game on ten....in vic, we're still copping it for daring to win the flag two years ago....seriously, when seven and ten had the rights to themselves, before foxtel got ordered in, it did look sweet for swans fans down here....then foxtel stuck their bib in, and suddenly we get 13 games for the year....my work hours make it unviable to pay for foxtel, unfortunately, and due to other commitments i have missed several of the games that were on

oh you live in melbourne, i know foxtel stuffed it up for you and their commentary is so crap

Regardless of the injury his confidence is down. It doesn't take much to see that. I don't want much from Barry, but i would love to see him take a big mark and/or kick an important goal. He can still have his confidence whilst carrying an injury, right now he doesn't though.

Big Baz would have to be one of the most confident players going around. The man is a fanstastic footballer, one of the best forwards of the past 3-4 years, he knows it, his team knows it, his coach knows it, but when your body doesnt do what you want it to do, I'd say that it gets down to being so bloody frustrated more than lacking confidence. For this reason, Barry hasnt enjoyed his footy as much this year, and he has admitted that. IMO Barrys biggest obstacle is something he doesnt have alot of short term control over, until he can get to the off season and get fully fit again. Its unfortunate, but we arent going to see a vastly improved Barry at least until 08. Mind you, just having the bloke on the field and knowing he is there is probably almost as good as having 2-3 fully fit players. If he can shoot a couple of goals as well, thats what he needs to do.

Saw a replay of the Saints game. Wow. That goal he missed off the outside of the boot! Could almost have been exactly what you were looking for I reckon.

ps: how did he not get a free for the smack in the gob he received just before he kicked that point? :eek:

Saw a replay of the Saints game. Wow. That goal he missed off the outside of the boot! Could almost have been exactly what you were looking for I reckon.

ps: how did he not get a free for the smack in the gob he received just before he kicked that point? :eek:

I know and we all thought it was a goal.. well down my end anyway. I think there would have been a massive pump it after it if he had got it. Oh well, hopefully this week.

Haha speaking of Barry, i just remembered i had a dream about him last night. I was talking to my Dad about him and he then all of sudden he was just there and overheard what i was saying.

Big Baz would have to be one of the most confident players going around. The man is a fanstastic footballer, one of the best forwards of the past 3-4 years, he knows it, his team knows it, his coach knows it, but when your body doesnt do what you want it to do, I'd say that it gets down to being so bloody frustrated more than lacking confidence.
How does his groin injury affect his ability to take marks or even get his hands near the ball when trying for a mark...?