Preview Rd 3 NM v Crows - Sunday 3.20PM AEST

Unpopular opinion but I don’t think we can have Arch and Lmac in the same team. Given Lmacs start to the year I’d have him continue beyond Arch’s ban and then Arch to become Lmac (but better) when able.
one of them will need to learn to provide more rebound

but i agree could easily see arch come through the vfl depending what happens the next 2 weeks as it gives others time to cement their spot, whereas if he was back this week he likely comes straight in

but could also give time for players to play their way out of a spot

Have to stop the easy supply to there big forwards. Must put doubt in them early . Perhaps complacency from the Crows might help. Win the midfield battle in any game crucial especially against them. There forward line is potent. Xerri needs a massive game it all starts with him.
Sorry to post again on your board, but this is going to be the watch from your end. Its our outside game that killed Essendon and last week St Kilda. I know North have been very good inside the contest so far,but it will be how they try and stop Dawson, Rankine, Cumming, Peatling, Draper etc once the ball is flipped outside the contest as we have been extremely good in that area so far. Of course I hope the crows win, but it would not shock me to see it be a far closer end score than whats we have had to date as you guys have 3 genuine damaging forwards and enough talent in the middle to now trouble anyone. And following on from this, it would be great if our 2 clubs play a fair bit in September in the coming years after years in the doldrums.

Suspect there will be no changes.

Understand some will expect Phillips to be dropped, but no midfielders in the VFL did enough to earn a call-up.
I suspect he won't be dropped until Wardlaw is ready

Where did you get that from? They're not exactly a Premiership team. They'll probably beat us, but I think you're overstating them a bit.
3 tall forwards who work really well together, as reported somewhere, they dont get in eachothers way and work in a system. Our defenders will have to be even better than they were yesterday.

Sorry to post again on your board, but this is going to be the watch from your end. Its our outside game that killed Essendon and last week St Kilda. I know North have been very good inside the contest so far,but it will be how they try and stop Dawson, Rankine, Cumming, Peatling, Draper etc once the ball is flipped outside the contest as we have been extremely good in that area so far. Of course I hope the crows win, but it would not shock me to see it be a far closer end score than whats we have had to date as you guys have 3 genuine damaging forwards and enough talent in the middle to now trouble anyone. And following on from this, it would be great if our 2 clubs play a fair bit in September in the coming years after years in the doldrums.

Mate, it's only taken 27 years of counselling, I'm not sure I'm prepared for another North vs Crows final just yet.

Most of your scores have been launched from the back half the last 2 weeks. Follows the eye test with your ball use being great.

Ours come from clearance, particularly the center clearances.

The crazy thing to read (given how wasteful we were in Rnd 1) was that Adelaide are #1 in the AFL after the first two rounds for kicking efficiency and we are #2. Which was wild, as we definatley could have been alot better.

15 years ago?
I was joking around.

But really mate, as much as I hope we're on the precipice of a new era where winning games becomes commonplace, that day was the single most significant North win of most of the players' careers, and JD's 300th besides. Seems as good an occasion as any to sink a few Stomping Grounds.

Mate, it's only taken 27 years of counselling, I'm not sure I'm prepared for another North vs Crows final just yet.

Most of your scores have been launched from the back half the last 2 weeks. Follows the eye test with your ball use being great.

The crazy thing to read (given how wasteful we were in Rnd 1) was that Adelaide are #1 in the AFL after the first two rounds for kicking efficiency and we are #2. Which was wild, as we definatley could have been alot better.
We were very good yesterday with ball use. Only a couple of kicks here n there, LDU butchered a few, Kerch butchered a few, Pink coughed up a stinker, RHJ one out on the full, CD kicked a couple wayward but other than that, it was probably the best ive seen em kick the footy as a group.

Against the braves, I thought it was borderline suburban reserves div 3 level of use

#2 surprises me

Good grief.

Will you look at that. Not just kicking either.

1742794707193.png

We were very good yesterday with ball use. Only a couple of kicks here n there, LDU butchered a few, Kerch butchered a few, Pink coughed up a stinker, RHJ one out on the full, CD kicked a couple wayward but other than that, it was probably the best ive seen em kick the footy as a group.

Against the braves, I thought it was borderline suburban reserves div 3 level of use

#2 surprises me

There's just been numerous brain explosion type actions.

Curtis kicking a bullet straight to a man 10m away in the final qtr etc.

There was about 15 of them against the Braves.

It's definitely a positive overall, as there is a lot of room for improvement.

Would we be any worse off replacing Tucker with Eddy Ford ? Tucker trys hard, and can run, but to me, he seems to regularly stop any momentum we have whenever he gets involved in a chain, Eddy 100% has more tools in the kitbag.
I feel like Curtis still needs to mentally sharpen up around the game. Not skill wise, can’t criticise him. But awareness will and needs to improve. Which makes me think ford is still so far behind and can work on his game sense in the twos until he nails it. I’d rather see Tucker or Duursma. Because mentally tough and smart players are needed for this next jump in development and I don’t know if Ford has it

We are the highest scoring shot side from our i50 with the crows sitting second. They take more marks i50 and most of their goals come from on the lead.

Dare I say it, they haven’t played a side with our contested ball winning capacity at centre bounce, plus with out level of pressure.

On the flip side they will smoke us on turnover if our midfielders are as loose defensively as they were yesterday. If we get within 6 goals it’s a positive

We are the highest scoring shot side from our i50 with the crows sitting second. They take more marks i50 and most of their goals come from on the lead.

Dare I say it, they haven’t played a side with our contested ball winning capacity at centre bounce, plus with out level of pressure.

On the flip side they will smoke us on turnover if our midfielders are as loose defensively as they were yesterday. If we get within 6 goals it’s a positive

Yes, our one wood is we might have close to the best midfield in the comp for the next 5-6 years. Starting now.

LDU, Powell and Sheezel might all be top 20 mids this year. We have the #1 ruck in the league feeding them. There's probably no other side with that sort of combo.

Then you have a support crew of McKercher, Simpkin, Parker and Wardlaw to come.

Given our investment in it, it was (hopefully) eventually going to happen at some point.

It's the one outlier to the odds.

Can we simply overwhelm some of our weakness' with pure weight of numbers from stoppage and the center bounces.

It's not really a sustainable game plan, but I'll take it for now to starting getting some wins on the board and be more competitive.

If this midfield truly believe they can dominate every single opponent, every week, we will rise rapidly.

Would we be any worse off replacing Tucker with Eddy Ford ? Tucker trys hard, and can run, but to me, he seems to regularly stop any momentum we have whenever he gets involved in a chain, Eddy 100% has more tools in the kitbag.
Love to see Eddy in but I have a sneaking suspicion that Fisher will be first cab off the rank if / when a change is made to a running player.

Yes, our one wood is we might have close to the best midfield in the comp for the next 5-6 years.

Given our investment in it, it was (hopefully) eventually going to happen at some point.

It's the one outlier.

Can we simply overwhelm some of our weakness' with pure weight of numbers from stoppage and the center bounces.

It's not really a sustainable game plan, but I'll take it for now to starting getting some wins on the board and be more competitive.

Agree we're not sure how sustainable it will be yet, but conversely a team that can pull 8 goals in a quarter like that will now start to be more dangerous for opponents. Hopefully we become the hunter a bit more with teams not being able to head into the 4th quarter 3 goals up and feeling comfortable.

Yes, our one wood is we might have close to the best midfield in the comp for the next 5-6 years.

It's the one outlier.

It’s the only way we win this. Restrict their capacity to even get their hands on the footy and stop their uncontested makes.

O’Brien is a potential weakness if xerri goes like he did yesterday then id expect us to go well at stoppages, plus I dont think their backline has been tested from a forward line like ours. Hinge and Michaelaney are both very good footballers but I reckon they’ve got a weak link in the key defensive stakes

I'd guess a fair proportion of our fan base was not even born back then, although I remember that game well.

But you won't want to let this happen too often this weekend (posted for friendly banter purposes this week only) - we rested Izak in the 3rd quarter to make sure he is up for this game

You r
I'd guess a fair proportion of our fan base was not even born back then, although I remember that game well.

But you won't want to let this happen too often this weekend (posted for friendly banter purposes this week only) - we rested Izak in the 3rd quarter to make sure he is up for this game

You rested Rankine so he is up for our game? Right

Don’t think Eddy is the answer for a Tucker swap. In my opinion Eddy is last in line for his position - that being the half FWD, he would be last in line for the wing role, and has he ever defended ? I think a couple of these type players should be tried in the VFL across half back.

Preview Rd 3 NM v Crows - Sunday 3.20PM AEST