RDFL 2014 Thread

Change is only good if you put the work in to give it the best chance of success. Change for the sake of change is destined to fail
That's exactly right if it's for the right reasons and not for one persons self gratification .

Change is only good if you put the work in to give it the best chance of success. Change for the sake of change is destined to fail
And staying the same is only good if it suits you.
As my old man says "if it ain't broke don't fix it' I would suggest for 3 clubs in our league it ain't broke. The others May think it needs fixing.

And staying the same is only good if it suits you.
As my old man says "if it ain't broke don't fix it' I would suggest for 3 clubs in our league it ain't broke. The others May think it needs fixing.
But if it is then fix it
If you think it ain't then speak to the the other sides
True to form
What are you on self gratification and that other dribble this is a forum and a topic open to discuss what's your agenda

Sorry to chime in fellas, tell me to get stuffed if i'm out of line:thumbsu:

It sounds like their needs to be another Division implemented into your league imo.

Some clubs simply cannot sustain the level that others can, I'm talking all local footy leagues here not yours.

But, things always change, as they do, clubs that are struggling now could be a powerhouse in 5-10yr.

It would prosper your league and benefit the lesser clubs by bringing in another division imo, playing more competitive games, more clubs playing finals, more wins on the board, more premiership flags, more exposure, more crowds, more supporters, and more money.etc.

I guess the big thing here is, is it possible to create new start up clubs in your league to be able to do this?

:thumbsu:

Your argument about 'playing the local kids' is just ridiculous!! If the 'local' kids aren't up to playing in the seniors then so be it. If its in a strong side, for example like the current top 4 sides, then it pushes them to be 'better' players rather than getting a game for 'free'!! If you have a good junior set up and incorporate that into the senior club, then the 'better' players should push for senior selection. If not, then theyre not up to it!! simple!!! A points system will weaken the league and I, as a general supporter would much rather watch the highest standard of footy i can in a finals series in my league rather than a close encounter where the footy is terrible!!! The rdfl is on the way up in standard and lower ranked teams need to get off their bums and challenge the higher ranked teams which pushes the standard of the league upwards!!!

Playing local kids is ridiculous? Why do you have a club to play kids from outside your local area?
The way the comp is going you will see good finals from the top four but the most of the home and away games will be one sided. As my old under 14 coach (and riddells under 18 coach said this year) a chain is only as strong as it's weakest link.

Yeah cause the AFL is really equal isn't it. There is not a competition in the world that is 'even'. There will always be top teams and there will always be bottom teams for a variety of reasons and believe it or not it will be cyclical. The kangaroos are strong now but I can remember a time when they were cellar dwellers. I can also remember a time when Lancefield were a power house and correct me if I am wrong but didn't woodend win a flag about five or six years ago. I can also remember a time when the most successful team in recent history went into recess. Don't worry about a points system, it's way too messy and difficult to manage and police. Clubs outside the top 4 need to lift there game and if they do it properly will achieve success and the league will be more 'even' or at least more competitive and for what it is worth I think the RDFL is well on the way to achieving that.

Sent from my C625b using Tapatalk

Im all for playing 'local' kids, if, they are up to it and earn their spot, not get it given to them like a points system would do! If you set up a good junior program at your club then the good junior players progress through into the seniors anyway!!!

That's exactly right the stronger clubs in the league have extremely strong juniors and are a credit to them and are great feeders to the seniors .

But if it is then fix it
If you think it ain't then speak to the the other sides
True to form
What are you on self gratification and that other dribble this is a forum and a topic open to discuss what's your agenda
Only meant that some people get on committees for there own self gratification , no need to get so defensive it's not like I was talking directly to you calm down champ

Sunbury have been going 26 Years it is only the last 10 that they have been able to build a successful club. It is not all to do with money, but culture and Junior and Senior development.
If you build a club with a strong culture people are happy to play and stay.
Not everybody is in the same position, Look at the different sized towns we have, Juniors are not knocking the doors down at all clubs.

Diggers Rest have only a small handful of Junior teams, but work hard off the field to build a place that people want to be at. Financially and Culture.
Melton Centrals are the same, used to be the whipping boys like Sunbury that nobody wanted to play for, with little juniors, now they are working to become a finals side
Rockbank 4 or 5 years ago nobody wanted them around, a few incidents created bad publicity for the club, who would want to play there. the club has worked hard to change the image and it is starting to pay off. A town with a few thousand people, and i think 2 junior teams.
Last year it was clear that steps are being taken to attract players. I can bet they would be lucky to have a total budget of some of the other clubs 4 or 5 top players combined payments. People are now at least thinking of playing there. How would a point system help them?

Rupo would be best suited for the points system, they have one of the best junior developments in the country. As stated by Roota about a club in his league, they could go out splash cash to a small handful of guns and still be under the point cap.

Hey orange ump was that you in a strange outfit roaming around Tiger town on the weekend.??

Not quite sure what your on about here Dismayed.

While we are talking about points, how many points would i be worth???

The BFL seems to have some sort of points system, however I have no idea how it works. Team sheets often come with a couple of players with points allowances next to their name. We are managed by the BFL, who knows it may be on their agenda. Anyone know how their system works?

For me a points system isn't a solution. Why should towns like Riddell and Diggers Rest that are no larger than other towns in this league and have the same access to community numbers, businesses etc be penalised for running a successful organisation. Not too long ago, Kilmore had a one A. James, bet he wouldn't have come cheap, Broadford has/had B.Hall (don't know if he was getting paid much or at all), Lancefield has won premierships, i'm sure centrals/rockbank will be recruiting players that don't want to travel to the BFL, I hear Wallan has recruited a new assistant coach from the EDFL and a few of his mates might follow. In my opinion, leave things as they are and let the clubs sort themselves out. Most seem to be doing a very good job anyway

A point system would simply destroy this competition, I see someone suggested that without a points system that the comp will be destroyed, I would like to see some supporting evidence of that.

Currently, every side in the competition is financial or pretty damn close to it, the clubs are becoming far more effective at managing themselves without burying themselves, and the RDFNL is one of the best supported local football leagues going around on a week to week basis.

Some of our clubs would be able to manage a points based system.

The remaining clubs, some would still be competitive, but certainly not to a level that they are now, while some clubs would simply cease to exist.

Our competition is far from "broken", in actual fact, it is in the best position it has been in for several years, the discussion and debate is great, but when all the facts are put together, unneccessary.

There is still yet to be proof provided that a points system works, and I would be loathe to see our competition risk the future of several of our own clubs to be the league that tried to "prove" it works, especially when I don't believe that it does.

A point system would simply destroy this competition, I see someone suggested that without a points system that the comp will be destroyed, I would like to see some supporting evidence of that.

Currently, every side in the competition is financial or pretty damn close to it, the clubs are becoming far more effective at managing themselves without burying themselves, and the RDFNL is one of the best supported local football leagues going around on a week to week basis.

Some of our clubs would be able to manage a points based system.

The remaining clubs, some would still be competitive, but certainly not to a level that they are now, while some clubs would simply cease to exist.

Our competition is far from "broken", in actual fact, it is in the best position it has been in for several years, the discussion and debate is great, but when all the facts are put together, unneccessary.

There is still yet to be proof provided that a points system works, and I would be loathe to see our competition risk the future of several of our own clubs to be the league that tried to "prove" it works, especially when I don't believe that it does.

Gday Show, whilst everyone is talking about the clubs spending $$$$, what would happen if someone from the league ran off with the leagues $$$$? would their be a Police investigation as this $$$$$ belongs to the clubs who are the league?

I will also add, having a look back at the "suggested" points structure, why should a side that has worked hard enough to create sustained success (in this case Riddell) be punished so severely that they have only 6 points to structure themselves with?

At the end of the day, points cap or no points cap, it is up to each of the clubs to work hard enough to put themselves in a position to be a top side.

Lets not forget, administratively wise, since the "big" clubs have left the RDFNL.

Riddell were forced to fold and re-launch the football club, they are now an RDFNL Powerhouse
Lancefield have struggled, then improved rapidly, then struggled again.
Kilmore have gone from Powerhouse to struggler.
Woodend/Hesket won a flag in this decade, to struggler.
Sunbury Kangaroos were on the brink of folding just over a decade ago.
Macedon were forced to fold and re-launch the football club, administravely they are as good as any side in the comp.

If there is to be a debate about why their should be a points cap put into place, it should be a heck of a lot stronger than "the top 4 will remain the same", our clubs are financially far more stable and we don't see an EDFL or WRFL type situation where the top teams are winning games by 150-200 points.. In fact, we only had 6 games with a 100+ point margin and only one of those came in the 2nd half of the season.

WRFL Div 1 - 22 wins 100+ - 4 wins 200+
WRFL Div 2 - 41 wins 100+ - 9 wins 200+
EDFL Premier - 10 wins 100+
EDFL Div 1 - 11 wins 100+
EDFL Div 2 - 18 wins 100+ - 3 wins 200+ - 1 win 300+

I would suggest that on field, our competition is pretty damn competitive.

Gday Show, whilst everyone is talking about the clubs spending $$$$, what would happen if someone from the league ran off with the leagues $$$$? would their be a Police investigation as this $$$$$ belongs to the clubs who are the league?

That's a fair point, we're all banging on about expenditure and accountability to our club members, I guess leagues are too accountable to its stake holders .... The clubs

Not quite sure what your on about here Dismayed.

While we are talking about points, how many points would i be worth???

The BFL seems to have some sort of points system, however I have no idea how it works. Team sheets often come with a couple of players with points allowances next to their name. We are managed by the BFL, who knows it may be on their agenda. Anyone know how their system works?

For me a points system isn't a solution. Why should towns like Riddell and Diggers Rest that are no larger than other towns in this league and have the same access to community numbers, businesses etc be penalised for running a successful organisation. Not too long ago, Kilmore had a one A. James, bet he wouldn't have come cheap, Broadford has/had B.Hall (don't know if he was getting paid much or at all), Lancefield has won premierships, i'm sure centrals/rockbank will be recruiting players that don't want to travel to the BFL, I hear Wallan has recruited a new assistant coach from the EDFL and a few of his mates might follow. In my opinion, leave things as they are and let the clubs sort themselves out. Most seem to be doing a very good job anyway
Sorry Orange ump got the wrong apologises.

Back onto actual footy news, just wanted to put it out there before all the rumors take over, Shane Bishop and Darragh McGovern have decided to return to Rupo along with several ex lions boys, before anyone starts saying the wheels are coming off they have some very handy replacement already signed in Dylan Murphy and another very handy on baller waiting to sign. I along with many other clubs still on the recruiting rampage so if anyone out there knows of a full forward looking for home let me know.

You're always honest on these pages mate it's a top quality to have in my eyes :thumbsu:

Oh, maybe try that bloke Tuckey ;)

Well I have already tried one of them, didn't know the other may be on the move?
Plenty of potential recruits out there, its just trying to see who fits into an already successful side and not someone who wants to run the show.

Sunba97 that is the smartest thing put on there. Pick up the players you need to fit into the TEAM you want to coach. If they dont fit or you have too many of the same calibre dont recruit them. If you need a Full forward to fill the space in the goal square Doona is availble if he is coaching going cheep (couple of bourbons or scothes per goal). Lightning reflexes, very vocal, good mark but a bit slow on the lead.

Surely you jest!!! Haven't played footy since filling in a few times at Yea in 2005. I strained a hammy this year jogging around in a few drills one cold night in June whilst trying to give the boys something to smile and laugh about ...... it worked :D

RDFL 2014 Thread