RDFL Thread 2007

IMS heard a rumour of another good signing for the roos in another past player coming back to the club can you confirm this. Seems he wants some of the winning feeling seeing as there wasn,t much when he was there.

Do you have a name...???

Why do I ever doubt you mate ? YOUR info' was in fact spot on !

But then again my conclusion was correct also, guess we'll just call it one all eh ?

They should have won by 15 goals ! 10 up three quarter time switched off last quarter !

Dominated both ends plus midfield !

Should be a cracker next week given the great game there last year & all, a definite must see !

Look for me next week I'll be the one with the empty stubbie holder.

Cant wait for the game mate... This is the real barometer for us.. Reigning premiers and the number 1 side in the comp, we finally get to see just how far we have come as a side this week...

Riddell sure did send a message with the players they had out by destroying the Redbacks... Unbelievable result.... Showed why they are still the best in the RDFL by the sounds of it....

Had the radio on the ABC yesterday and they got a ripper run down from Simon O'Donnell on the Kilmore/Macedon clash during their 3rd term. He admitted Macedon looked undermanned and said the Blues just needed a win.

O'Donnell was just talking about his low key involvement with the Blues, mentioning his support and praise for Dayson and his efforts over the past few years, and then highlighted Dayson's passion for life and even highlighted "there's the president now, chest puffed out, running around with water or maybe delivering a message."

Was enjoyable on a day off footy to listen to all the country footy happenings due to no AFL clash and to have a high profile name just talking about grass roots footy where he was standing in the cold was great to hear.

Cornish 10 and Buckets 4 in his return from injury, and what about the other big name returns wasn't Hede and Duffy due back too howd they go? Would the Blues now be a game inside the 5?

Had the radio on the ABC yesterday and they got a ripper run down from Simon O'Donnell on the Kilmore/Macedon clash during their 3rd term. He admitted Macedon looked undermanned and said the Blues just needed a win.

O'Donnell was just talking about his low key involvement with the Blues, mentioning his support and praise for Dayson and his efforts over the past few years, and then highlighted Dayson's passion for life and even highlighted "there's the president now, chest puffed out, running around with water or maybe delivering a message."

Was enjoyable on a day off footy to listen to all the country footy happenings due to no AFL clash and to have a high profile name just talking about grass roots footy where he was standing in the cold was great to hear.

Cornish 10 and Buckets 4 in his return from injury, and what about the other big name returns wasn't Hede and Duffy due back too howd they go? Would the Blues now be a game inside the 5?

yeah doons trav went pretty well with a few touches n couple of goals, i couldnt really get into it till the third term, a few nice passes to Cornish and co but also so ordianry turnovers as were to be expected after an overly long pre season - just glad the margin was large and they were not too costly. Colliss also had his best game for Kilmore off half back

i feel everyone of the 5 or 6 weeks i had off! was strange to be back out there felt like i was running around in circles early. good win but we go pretty good against the weaker sides.

Graet to see cornish snag 10 and colliss play a good game, always good to see the ex Wallan players going good.

Great to see the Melton Central & Diggers Rest Auskick kids having a bit of fun during the half time break of the senior game.Even the spectators enjoyed it as well.Good to see kids line up 4 Hi 5s as Diggers ran out on the ground as well.Heard a rumour that Central will return the favour next time around .Well done to all involved

Here Here....

Always wondered why this wasn't encouraged in the RDFL, considering such a strong and well patronised junior league.

To whoever initiated this well done and may it be contagious.

1st option.....

Kilty kicking 4 goals and getting in the best for the Lions this week, has to be a kick in the guts for the Burra you would think! Especially after leaving them after a handfull of games in 2007 and a outstanding year last year!

losing any player mid year is not ideal, but as youd be aware it just presents an opportunity for another player to step up in 07 and play senior football.

IMS or Trueblue, can you confirm or deny that Simo was cleaned up in the early stages of the Kangaroos v Lancefiled game?

What are the extent of his injuries and how many week's is he going to be sidelined for? Surely a highlight for some in 2007 seeing the great man go down!:D

IMS or Trueblue, can you confirm or deny that Simo was cleaned up in the early stages of the Kangaroos v Lancefiled game?

What are the extent of his injuries and how many week's is he going to be sidelined for? Surely a highlight for some in 2007 seeing the great man go down!:D
Can confirm Simmo sustained a suspected broken collarbone as a result of a collision (not sure who with).

The man pushed on till half time before calling it quits. a truely couragous effort. dont want to give away the bloke that took him down but lets just say he doesnt mind belting out a tune or two in his spare time!

bit boring on this thread today! surely theres sumthing worth talking about from the weekend.

I made my umpiring debut yesterday in the Under 12s on my own and did Under 14s with a colleague.

I made appearances at Kilmore v Macedon, Romsey v Riddell and Sunbury Kangaroos v Lancefield.

I must say that I was very disappointed with Romsey's efforts, even though I tipped the right result.

For a side that has potential to match it with the top sides, they just don't seem to stand up.

Lancefield won a lot of respect on Saturday too, early in the third quarter they actually led the Roos before being mown down. I think Simo will be okay in a couple of weeks too. Great news! :D

Didn't see much of the Kilmore game but the result doesn't surprise me. Cornish is a freak, kicked 10.5.

I believe that if he has booted something like 32.48 for the season, that's a lot of shots on goal. There's been heaps that haven't made the distance and gone out on the full also. Maybe he has gotten over the yips?

Diggers Rest will be happy with their result, and Rockbank would be happy that they led against Woodend-Hesket at quarter time before going down to a much better side.

The Hawks will be pleased Sippy got through unscathed and now all focus goes on to this weekend's crackerjack matches.

Riddell v Sunbury Kangaroos - one word - HUGE!!!!!

Woodend-Hesket v Romsey - Romsey must win, Hawks will want to be 8-1 at the turn.

Lancefield v Diggers Rest - while both sides still have finals aspirations, a loss to either side (assuming Kilmore win) will put them two games away from fifth at the half way mark.

Macedon v Melton Central - for sides that rarely win, this game is big for the two clubs.

Rockbank v Kilmore - the Rams have been much better this year and the Blues won't want to take them lightly.

I made my umpiring debut yesterday in the Under 12s on my own and did Under 14s with a colleague.

I made appearances at Kilmore v Macedon, Romsey v Riddell and Sunbury Kangaroos v Lancefield.

I must say that I was very disappointed with Romsey's efforts, even though I tipped the right result.

For a side that has potential to match it with the top sides, they just don't seem to stand up.

Lancefield won a lot of respect on Saturday too, early in the third quarter they actually led the Roos before being mown down. I think Simo will be okay in a couple of weeks too. Great news! :D

Didn't see much of the Kilmore game but the result doesn't surprise me. Cornish is a freak, kicked 10.5.

I believe that if he has booted something like 32.48 for the season, that's a lot of shots on goal. There's been heaps that haven't made the distance and gone out on the full also. Maybe he has gotten over the yips?

Diggers Rest will be happy with their result, and Rockbank would be happy that they led against Woodend-Hesket at quarter time before going down to a much better side.

The Hawks will be pleased Sippy got through unscathed and now all focus goes on to this weekend's crackerjack matches.

Riddell v Sunbury Kangaroos - one word - HUGE!!!!!

Woodend-Hesket v Romsey - Romsey must win, Hawks will want to be 8-1 at the turn.

Lancefield v Diggers Rest - while both sides still have finals aspirations, a loss to either side (assuming Kilmore win) will put them two games away from fifth at the half way mark.

Macedon v Melton Central - for sides that rarely win, this game is big for the two clubs.

Rockbank v Kilmore - the Rams have been much better this year and the Blues won't want to take them lightly.

Any snaps from the weekend Matty, feel free to post or email! I hear you got a few!

Riddell truly are the best side in the competition... To smash Romsey without Bomber and the Allen brothers is a huge effort.. Would expect that the Allen brothers will return this week too to just strengthen an already awesome unit... :eek:

Trying on the underdog tag there IMS?

I'd just like to say how much I enjoyed the day at Boardman on Saturday. Freezing cold, but the way I was welcomed by all after the game even though I was in the oppositions colours was great. Good to see that once the siren goes we're all mates filling in a Saturday. Thanks guys:thumbsu::thumbsu:

Bombers on track
for third title

by Matt Nicholls

RIDDELL will win this year’s RDFL premiership, their third in succession.
Without trying to be offensive to fellow flag contenders Woodend-Hesket and Sunbury Kangaroos, I can’t see the Bombers being beaten in September.
On Saturday, without three key players, Riddell gave fourth-positioned Romsey an old fashioned touch up.
In a hard slogged contest, the Bombers had the game sewn up at half-time, leading 7.6 to 2.5, before going on to record a 39-point victory.
Missing from the Riddell line-up were ‘guns’ Michael and Nathan Allen, as well as Dean Besanko.
With just one game to go before the half-way mark of the season, a win this Saturday against the undefeated Sunbury Kangaroos will secure top position on the ladder for the Bombers.
The only side to have beaten Riddell this season was Woodend-Hesket in round two.
The Hawks’ only loss was to the Kangaroos in round six.
If Riddell can get over the line this Saturday, and the Hawks can overcome Romsey, it would have three sides on 8-1 at the halfway mark.
While Woodend-Hesket are just starting to fire after missing a number of stars from their line-up in the early part of the season, it would be near impossible to go past the Bombers at this stage.
On paper, they are just as capable as every other side, and have one key ingredient that no other side possesses … proven grand final experience.
However, it will be the side that keeps its best team on the park that will likely reign in 2007.
Outside the top-three clubs, Romsey, Kilmore, Diggers Rest and Lancefield will fight out the remaining two positions, with the Redbacks and Blues in the prime position to secure a finals berth.
This Saturday’s clash between the Tigers and the Burra at Lancefield Park will eliminate one side from the race, with the loser too far back to make a run at September action.
Games against Diggers Rest and Lancefield are never easy, but both sides will need to get a move on if they are to contend for the finals.
It is arguably the most even competition since the departure of the two divisions back in 1996, which has fans excited and crowds packing into grounds.
At the lower end of the spectrum, Melton Central, Rockbank and Macedon have given many sides a run for their money this year, but lack the firepower to upset upper tier clubs.
This Saturday has four games that could go either way, with just the Rockbank v Kilmore clash expected to be one-sided.
Having said that, if the Blues don’t come prepared, the Rams are every chance to cause an upset on their home turf.
Other games scheduled for Saturday included the much-hyped Riddell v Sunbury Kangaroos clash, Woodend-Hesket v Romsey, Lancefield v Diggers Rest, and Macedon v Melton Central.
For all sides involved, you can expect everything but the kitchen sink to be thrown in these games.
It has the potential to be a tipster’s nightmare but I think this weekend’s results will be fairly predictable.
My selections for round nine are: Riddell by 24 points, Woodend-Hesket by 18 points, Diggers Rest by 11 points, Macedon by 10 points, and Kilmore by 66 points.
With close margins predicted in four of the five games, my tips could easily be reversed.
It should make for a cracking weekend of football and expect to see big crowds at each of the five venues.

Trying on the underdog tag there IMS?

No mate.. They truly are... That is a huge result from the Bombers.. They are clearly still the side to beat in 07. :thumbsu: