RDFL Thread 2007

I am not very familiar with the riddell league. I know Tim rath though. Have heard very good things about the league and the quality or umpiring in the league?

Tim Rath a very good umpire?

I am not very familiar with the riddell league. I know Tim rath though. Have heard very good things about the league and the quality or umpiring in the league?

Tim Rath a very good umpire?

The league is definately on the rise as far as quality and players, the last few years has seen the level go up in leaps and bounds, As for the umpiring, There are some very good umpires also and Rath would be considered one of the better. but like all leagues some are past their best.:D

What's the go with the RDFL & Roos sites at the moment? home page not opening. You'ld have your finger on the pulse IMS..

maddison hardiman is a good young player, big bodied fella, i heard he was captain of wrfl, its a shame that he still wants to play junior footy seeing as he was 18 last yr in august a fella of his size would be more than capable against the men, especially with his never give up attitude. i was hoping he would play at kilmore this year but hes chasing a dream n good luck to him.

death to u hede, ive played my share of senior games, not dream chasing either ,death

The league is definately on the rise as far as quality and players, the last few years has seen the level go up in leaps and bounds, As for the umpiring, There are some very good umpires also and Rath would be considered one of the better. but like all leagues some are past their best.:D

Some that are "past their best" unmpired the Macedon v Diggers Rest game.

Disgraceful.

Yes, looking at the appointment sheet on the RDFL site, i would agree strongly! Time for some to 'pack up shop' and move out! Pace of the game is to much for these blokes now!

Good to see Gilesy umpire in the Romsey v Lancefield game on Sunday. He knows what is going on.

Can't say the same about one R. Semmens though.

What's the go with the RDFL & Roos sites at the moment? home page not opening. You'ld have your finger on the pulse IMS..

Main server down for repair, happens once a week...

Good to see Gilesy umpire in the Romsey v Lancefield game on Sunday. He knows what is going on.

Can't say the same about one R. Semmens though.
Damn straight.. Good on ya Gilesy...

Semmo was great at Lancefield... Kept the game interesting for us spectators there for the fun of the game... :D

Imagine if you got both in the one game! :eek:
crying.gif

OFFICIAL PRESS RELEASE FROM THE OFFICES OF MATTHEW NICHOLLS

Dear BigFooty fans,

Today I made the first step to join the dark side.

Yes, I put my hand up to become an umpire.

After breaking my wrist and facing the possibility that it will never fully heal, I decided to make the call to umpire in the RDFL juniors.

A conflict of interest and my career would disallow me to do the seniors, so I apologise to all those interested in a laugh on a Saturday.

I hope that I have your support and that other readers may be encouraged to join.

Sincerely,

Matt Nicholls

OFFICIAL PRESS RELEASE FROM THE OFFICES OF MATTHEW NICHOLLS

Dear BigFooty fans,

Today I made the first step to join the dark side.

Yes, I put my hand up to become an umpire.

After breaking my wrist and facing the possibility that it will never fully heal, I decided to make the call to umpire in the RDFL juniors.

A conflict of interest and my career would disallow me to do the seniors, so I apologise to all those interested in a laugh on a Saturday.

I hope that I have your support and that other readers may be encouraged to join.

Sincerely,

Matt Nicholls

Good on you pickles.. We need more retired players to take up umpiring I reckon..... Or at least have the aggets to try....

:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu: up all round I say...

Plus now I can abuse you... Bwahahahahaha

'pack up shop' and move out! who will move in? yes the pace of the game is getting quicker but these experienced umpires need to teach the up and comers, some of the younger brigade umpiring 2s are still too inexperienced for the next level. sometimes you need to put up with one generation until the next is ready to take over.
As for Giles did he do the 1s? i noticed he wasn't fixtured for the game. I think he is 1 of the best 2s umpires and should be doing the main games. Perhaps a new umpire adviser would free him up and give the comp another good senior umpire.

Good on you pickles.. We need more retired players to take up umpiring I reckon..... Or at least have the aggets to try....

:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu: up all round I say...

Plus now I can abuse you... Bwahahahahaha

At least I've played the game, so that will help me a lot I reckon.

My biggest qualm with umpires is that sometimes I don't think they appreciate how difficult some of the skills are in our game.

For example, the holding the ball rule is a doozy. Sometimes you don't have prior opportunity and the bloke can get you in a ripper tackle - but if it is seen you aren't trying to get rid of it (mostly because you can't) then its often paid against you.

An example of great umpiring from saturday:

Player got ball off pack right next to boundary line...
looked up...
Had pressure on him, opposition player came at him...
pushed him off "don't argue" (no tackle) right on the boundary line...
went out of bounds...
all within 2 seconds.

Semmo's decision... HOLDING THE BALL!
Can't be pinged if you haven't been tackled.

How is this "fun" as IMS stated?
Words that come to mind are: Annoying, frustrating and disbelief...

Good opportunity for you fellas to come and have a look at the Mighty Gisborne Bulldogs v Kyneton at Gisborne this Saturday.

Should be a huge day, with this being the Gisborne football netball clubs "family day". Plenty of things for the kids to do (Eball interactive football, jumping castle, Bungee run, face painting, handball comp and a few more bits and pieces) while you blokes sit at the bar and enjoy the footy.

Always a bit of feeling in theses games (Gisborne, Kyneton) and this week will be no different, should be a cracker.

Yer Right !

Lets all us R.D.F.L. people get along & support the "MIGHTY" Gisborne Football Club.

That Massive Resource Vacuum that for so many years now has been sucking up local talent & support at the expense of the surrounding R.D.F.L. Clubs.

Come on now, let us all dig deep & give to the Club that for as long as one cares to remember has had direct access to the Macedon Ranges Shires unfettered benevolence through their surreptitious cronys entrenched in high places up there !

Have we all so soon forgoten that this was the Club that after incessantly dominating our competition to its almost fatal detriment, they then chose to cast us aside like some poor relative down on their luck in favor of "Fresh Meat" up the highway !

I say, save your petrol & keep your money in your pocket R.D.F.L. people, instead spend double the following week at your own Club,at least that way it'll be going to a worthy cause !

And anyway who really wants to see the "MIGHTY" Gisborne do to poor old Kyneton what they did to the R.D.F.L. ?

Oh & my tip................................... a 20 to 30 goal flogging !

Must be taken into account that its very hard to attract any umpires to take on the role. Let alone good ones. Look at the AFl for instance they are superb umpires but the do make a hell of a lot of mistakes.

I do agree the best situation would be to have reitring players coming back to umpire.

Possibley well repected retirees as every league has plenty of highly respected past players well n truly capable of taking on the role.

Yer Right !

Lets all us R.D.F.L. people get along & support the "MIGHTY" Gisborne Football Club.

That Massive Resource Vacuum that for so many years now has been sucking up local talent & support at the expense of the surrounding R.D.F.L. Clubs.

Come on now, let us all dig deep & give to the Club that for as long as one cares to remember has had direct access to the Macedon Ranges Shires unfettered benevolence through their surreptitious cronys entrenched in high places up there !

Have we all so soon forgoten that this was the Club that after incessantly dominating our competition to its almost fatal detriment, they then chose to cast us aside like some poor relative down on their luck in favor of "Fresh Meat" up the highway !

I say, save your petrol & keep your money in your pocket R.D.F.L. people, instead spend double the following week at your own Club,at least that way it'll be going to a worthy cause !

And anyway who really wants to see the "MIGHTY" Gisborne do to poor old Kyneton what they did to the R.D.F.L. ?

Oh & my tip................................... a 20 to 30 goal flogging !

And your word of the day is????

An example of great umpiring from saturday:

Player got ball off pack right next to boundary line...
looked up...
Had pressure on him, opposition player came at him...
pushed him off "don't argue" (no tackle) right on the boundary line...
went out of bounds...
all within 2 seconds.

Semmo's decision... HOLDING THE BALL!
Can't be pinged if you haven't been tackled.

How is this "fun" as IMS stated?
Words that come to mind are: Annoying, frustrating and disbelief...

Free kick decision was right "holding the ball' wrong. Did have a chance but took the boundry line after "don't argue" (prior opp).

Was an interesting day watching both coaches boxes shaking their heads in disbelief most off the day.