RDFL Thread 2008

Is there an all-stars netball match? if so, what are the squads? who is coaching? who picks the teams?

i think there definately should be a match and if there is im dissapointed in the lack of promotion/recognition it has recieved!!:thumbsdown:

i checked the website and it mentioned that the girls wont miss out either, it even had a player dressed in what looks like the all-stars uniform, but that was all the info it had. no teams, no squads, no indication that it was organised and going ahead? can anyone provide some more info??:confused:

I was 'just checking' and If you click on the 'read more' link at the bottom of what you were reading, it adds the additon information, including teams. Hope that helps. Those web pages aren't large enough to carry all the info, so the link allows you to break out to a full page.

my tips for round 11:
SENIORS:
Macedon FC to show the league that they are serious contenders by overcoming Woodend/Hesket in a close one by 10points. The Big Rig to get best on with a lazy 6.
Kilmore disappointing last week...won't even challenge the run of Riddell.. Riddell to win by upwards of 15goals..
Melton Centrals in a close one over Romsey...Must win for Romsey if they want to stay in finals contention but i dont think they have it in them.
Lancefield will be no match for Diggers despite coming off a good win.. Diggers will be eager than ever to get a win on the board after coming up short last week.
Sunbury to smash rockbank by around 15goals.

SECONDS:
Macedons winning streak could continue..it'll be a tight encounter and is a great opportunity to show the league where they're at. Macedon over W/H by 4 goals.
Riddell will dispose of Kilmore in an easy fashion.. Kilmore just dont have the depth to match the bombers.
Melton will have no trouble in beating Romsey...10goals.
Diggers and Lancefield is 8th V 9th and i reckon the tigers will be dying for a win (against someone other than rockbank).. might just scrape over the line.
Rockbank will try hard all day like they do week in week out but will be no match for the sunbury side.. keep tryin rockbank.

I was 'just checking' and If you click on the 'read more' link at the bottom of what you were reading, it adds the additon information, including teams. Hope that helps. Those web pages aren't large enough to carry all the info, so the link allows you to break out to a full page.

Who's the voluptuous old boiler in the west uniform on the site ?
Hope there are some young glamours as well on display representing the league !

my tips for round 11:
SENIORS:
Macedon FC to show the league that they are serious contenders by overcoming Woodend/Hesket in a close one by 10points. The Big Rig to get best on with a lazy 6.

I rate Warren Else as the best Fullback in the comp. If your 'Big Rig' is to kick 6 he will be the best player. Woodies by 4 (at least)

I hear there is someone out there that takes bets on the RDFL from time to time, so I shall put up a current market for him.

To make the finals
Riddell ~ No betting
Woodend-Hesket ~ No betting
Diggers Rest $1.04
Sunbury Kangaroos $1.20
Macedon $1.30
Melton Central $1.60
Romsey $1.80
Lancefield $2.50
Wallan $2.70
Kilmore $3.20
Rockbank $101

To win the flag
Riddell $1.15
Woodend-Hesket $2.80
Macedon $4
Sunbury Kangaroos $10
Diggers Rest $12
Melton Central $15
Romsey $20
Lancefield $40
Wallan $50
Kilmore $50
Rockbank $1001

Bowen Medal

Sam Young $3.50
Lee James $5
Mick Lacy $7.50
James Wright $10
Brian Wheelahan $10
James Climas $12
Blake Whiteway $12
Leigh McInerney $12
Shaun Sims $15
Simon Choate $15
Jeremy Jose $15
Cam Dawson $20
Justin Belleville $20
Kar Weng Ng $20
Peter Robertson $25
Tom Waters $25
Brendan Chugg $25
Matt Robertson $25 (suspended ATM)

It's a pretty hard market to compile this year, you would expect the Bowen to go to a Riddell player, but you just don't know what the umpires are thinking when they give votes. You would think the Bombers would draw the 3,2,1 in almost every game, but in the past the men in orange have pretty much always given the opposition at least one vote. I think the winner will come from this list of players, with Sammy Young my pick at this stage to take it out.

Ill put 100 on Brendan Chugg at those odds, he has been Melton Centrals Best in almost every game this year and especially in the wins they have had.

Very generous odds for Riddell to take flag

No comment today for Nicholls, must be on stress leave following Robbos departure

True, but i must back ours up a little have you seen our ground lately, the council have spent a fait bit of time and invested a bit of money into our reserve the last couple of years, It could have something to do with the phone tower that was put up, apparently funds from that are all put back into the reserve.

Nothing to do with the phone tower (although the rental money all goes into the council coffers and helps), it was the $300,000 that was granted by the state govt and council to connect the recycled water, the Kangas ground was re sown, and with the luxury and sometime hardship of not using it for the first 6 or so rounds the ground is great, Boardman 2 will be in the same condition next year as it will be re sown at the end of the footy season. Boardman 1 can now host Under 9 and 10 footy as the cricket pitch is gone which means no more FRIDAY night games for the LIONS, which we are thankful for.

The Kangas and Lions have worked well together this year so some of the Lions Under 16's game will be on Boardman 3, the first happened a few weeks back, it's a win win for both clubs, the Kangas get canteen revenue and the Lions get Friday nights off.

Very generous odds for Riddell to take flag

No comment today for Nicholls, must be on stress leave following Robbos departure
He may have also been under a bit of stress due to the fact that the big boss at the rdfl isn't to happy about some of the things that he has posted on big footy of late. It's not before time that someone holds him accountable
for some of the rubbish he puts out.

I think matt is still recovering from staying up late on thursday when he had a little gig on sen. I must say it was a VERY proffessional interview from the guy before him ;-)however was a little dissapointed when it sounded like melton south and gisborne were made to sound like they played in the rdfl.

Tips round 11.

Woodend just over Macedon by 2pts.
Riddell by100+ over Kilmore.
Melton by 30pts over Romsey.
Diggers to defeat Lancefield by 25pts.
Sunbury by 100+ over Rockbank.

Good Luck All.

Current score updates: About 3 quarter time for most games.

Riddell by 21 goals
Kangas by 5 goals
Romsey by 7 goals
Lancefield by 3 goals
Woodend/Hesket by 1pt

Final Scores around the grounds...

Riddell won 24.12 to Kilmore 2.7, No contest. Mick Allen 8 goals.
Lancefield 73 to Diggers 52 - Good win to the Tigers.
Romsey 16.16 to Centrals 13.14 - Centrals came back from 8 down close to 3 quarter time.
Kangaroos 15.14 to Rockbank 11.14 - Great effort from the Rams.
Woodend by 4 goals - Macedon a few out, clearly Woodend and the Cats clear 2nd and 3rd sides at this point.

Final Scores around the grounds...

Riddell won 24.12 to Kilmore 2.7, No contest. Mick Allen 8 goals.
Lancefield 73 to Diggers 52 - Good win to the Tigers.
Romsey 16.16 to Centrals 13.14 - Centrals came back from 8 down close to 3 quarter time.
Kangaroos 15.14 to Rockbank 11.14 - Great effort from the Rams.
Woodend by 4 goals - Macedon a few out, clearly Woodend and the Cats clear 2nd and 3rd sides at this point.

Redbacks 9 goal 1st term shocked the centrals,never in the game after that, 3 late goals to the centrals flattered the score board.Great effort from the Redbacks after loosing Ben Richmond 1st 10 mins with an ankle injury

Redbacks were awesome in the first quarter, their pressure was intense. AJ as always, lifts against us. I watched our boys and after last week they were slack and lazy and the pressure made them look ordinary! They didnt even look like winning today, a big game to win and they threw it away! :mad: Now we have 2 weeks to think about the second half of the year!! See you boys at the East West game. Go West!!!

Really looking forward to this week, a huge week in RDFL football, seeing the best players in the competition all running around on the same ground, this weeks East/West game will be pure entertainment.. Hope to see everyone at the game... Should set up an RDFL Thread Marquee for the day... :D

kilmore very very ordinary today would struggle to beat rockbank twos on todays performance,flooding the opposition forward line with 16 players will not win games of football

Anyone willing to have a crack at picking the 2 sides for the East/West game?? Would be interesting to see people's opinions on the line up's... Looking forward to checking out the Under 16's game too...

2008 R.D.F.L. East v West Showcase.

..........................West.........................

B. Craig Thompson Matt Krull Bevan Green

HB. Bobby Johnson Jason Allen Brian Whelehan

C. Leigh McInerney Sam Young Peter Robertson

HF. Jeremy Jose James Petran Brendon Chugg

F. Cole Laurie Lee James Mick Allen

FOLL. Brenton Sutherland James Climas Justin Belleville

INT. Aaron Blade Steve James Glen Nankervis

Luke Walker Shaun Sims Jamie Cuffe

2008 R.D.F.L. East v West Showcase.

.......................East...........................

B. Warren Else Warren Kairns Daniel Trotta

HB. Brian Mathews Kar Weng Ng Allan Carroll

C. Chris Collins Sam Bowen James Wright

HF. Paul Podbury Mick Lacy Blake Henderson

F. Rick Dowling Cam Dawson Dave Fowler

FOLL. Tom Waters Guy Donovan Blake Whiteway

INT. Ryan Connellan David Cornish Ben Johns

Myles Dorman Robert Martin Aaron Christiansen

Was very impressed by the Tigers yesterday. Looked to have improved a fair bit since the early matches. Should be a ripper local derby when these two sides meet in a fortnight. Sunday game should see a massive crowd for what might be an elimination final!?

Not bad sides there OMNI, these are what mine would be:

EAST
B:
Warren Kairns, Warren Else, Brad Colliver.
HB: Phil Conway, Kar Weng Ng, James Hardwick.
C: James Wright, Cam Dawson, Simon Choate.
HF: Ben Richmond, Mick Lacy, Tristan Salter.
F: Dave Cornish, Ryan Connellan, Rick Dowling.
R: Tom Waters, Blake Whiteway, Guy Donovan.

WEST
B:
Bevan Green, Matt Martin,Craig Thompson.
HB: Matt Krul, Jason Allen, Bobby Johnson.
C: Peter Robertson, Leigh McInerney, Shaun Sims.
HF: Brian Wheelahan, James Petran, Brendan Chugg.
F: Mick Allen, Lee James, Cole Laurie.
R: Jeremy Jose, Sam Young, James Petran.

Was very impressed by the Tigers yesterday. Looked to have improved a fair bit since the early matches. Should be a ripper local derby when these two sides meet in a fortnight. Sunday game should see a massive crowd for what might be an elimination final!?

Not bad sides there OMNI, these are what mine would be:

EAST
B: Warren Kairns, Warren Else, Brad Colliver.
HB: Phil Conway, Kar Weng Ng, James Hardwick.
C: James Wright, Cam Dawson, Simon Choate.
HF: Ben Richmond, Mick Lacy, Tristan Salter.
F: Dave Cornish, Ryan Connellan, Rick Dowling.
R: Tom Waters, Blake Whiteway, Guy Donovan.

WEST
B: Bevan Green, Matt Martin,Craig Thompson.
HB: Matt Krul, Jason Allen, Bobby Johnson.
C: Peter Robertson, Leigh McInerney, Shaun Sims.
HF: Brian Wheelahan, James Petran, Brendan Chugg.
F: Mick Allen, Lee James, Cole Laurie.
R: Jeremy Jose, Sam Young, James Petran.

Petty playing on the ball and at CHF.. Good form from the young man, although I think in a game like this he should give others a shot too... :p