RDFL Thread 2008

Re: R.d.f.l Thread 2008

any confirmation on finchy and MK...

also who r the young guns that the kangaroos are looking at losing??

i have heard bout timmy @ kangaland also so im guessing that 1 is no secret..

Wallen to get voted in on Monday night at the RDFL presidents meeting ??Would create a bye in the seniors the league want them in but will the clubs oppose , this they are struggling in 2nd Division DVFL. Heres a curly one for you ,maybe Halful can answer this- Omnipotent contemplating sitting on the tribunal now that would be interesting. How do you reckon you would go Grub with him??

i doubt whether omni would have the right temperament 4 this tribunal:confused:
one must be outdated,know bugger all about the game,have his verdict decided b4 the player enters the building,and one must make sure he attends the game that the offence occurred at.

Rumours are that M. Welsh, J. Baddeley, J. House, L. Smith, D. Ellery will not play

you said it thommo. RUMOURS.
they are all required players and at this time of the year,who doesnt wanna forget football.give it another 6 weeks and everyone will be missing footy again

i would probably get life.....:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

they are all required players and at this time of the year,who doesnt wanna forget football.give it another 6 weeks and everyone will be missing footy again

i wont be missing it mate:):):)

Think the guys at head office are looking to revamp the tribunal with an AFL delegate to chair it.

Thats right Deano thats why i said rumours. No Confirmation yet.. We got a few ourselves down at diggers but i wont mention any of those.. Are you pulling the boots on again mate or just gonna be the assistant?

Gday mongrel, not long to go now... the count down begins! Can anyone tell me what the actual credentials required are to apply to sit on the tribunal. maybe u and I can apply Deano!!!!!!!!!! That would be interesting viewing. Rotate in Grubb, Waddsy, Brinks and Colesy???????????

i doubt whether omni would have the right temperament 4 this tribunal:confused:
one must be outdated,know bugger all about the game,have his verdict decided b4 the player enters the building,and one must make sure he attends the game that the offence occurred at.

Fair points pal. :D
Guess we will just have to see............................... MAYBE ! :cool:

Gday mongrel, not long to go now... the count down begins! Can anyone tell me what the actual credentials required are to apply to sit on the tribunal. maybe u and I can apply Deano!!!!!!!!!! That would be interesting viewing. Rotate in Grubb, Waddsy, Brinks and Colesy???????????

ill have you notice big scotty that 3 out of the 5 rdfl bad boys u just mentioned are from riddell.theres definately a bad element down there at riddell:D:D:D

Just saw on the Kilmore site they have released the name of their new senior coach. It is Campbell Speers ... I did a quick google and found he has played footy at Craigieburn. Has anyone got information on him ? Is he going to be a playing coach or non playing ? :thumbsu:

campbell came to the club last yr, he played a few senior games and a few reserve games, hes much loved at the club as he is a character of the game. he coached the under 14 junior club. but his experience from senior footy will make him a very good coach, his main principls will be work ethic, discipline. he is a very good communicater which is prob what got him the job, confident he will be great for the club. non playing coach i belive

ill have you notice big scotty that 3 out of the 5 rdfl bad boys u just mentioned are from riddell.theres definately a bad element down there at riddell:D:D:D

Also mention 3 retired, 1 should be, 1 might be!!!!!!!.:):):):D

The time is now

by Matt Nicholls

CAMPBELL Speers, an astute professional with over 17 years of senior football experience, was appointed as a non-playing senior coach of the Kilmore Football Club last week.
Already he has big plans for the Blues in 2008.
“We’re not playing to make the finals,” he said.
“We’re playing to win a premiership. I wouldn’t have taken the job if the best we could finish is fourth or fifth, the time is now for the Kilmore Football Club.”
The local father of three said last season’s list had the potential to be anything, but lacked the discipline and desire to really challenge the top sides.
While Speers believes it’s important to retain all listed players, he said that he was only interested in players who were prepared to commit to the Blues’ premiership goal for 2008.
“We had a huge opportunity to go all the way last season. There is no side in the Riddell District League that we can’t beat if we play well,” he said.
Despite being appointed on Friday, Speers has spent the better part of a month talking to prospective players from around Victoria in anticipation that he would get the job.
He said he wasn’t cocky about getting the coaching gig, but believed that if he didn’t start recruiting a month ago, he wouldn’t be in a strong position to obtain players now.
Without giving names, Speers is confident he can lure at least one or two ruckmen, some classy onballers and some key position talls.
Having played junior football in Lalor, Speers played for Carlton’s Under 19s, which is the equivalent to what the TAC Cup is now.
From there he went to Southport to play a season in the QAFL, before returning to Lalor.
The now 37-year-old also spent a season for North Launceston in the Tasmanian State League under the coaching of former Carlton great David Rhys-Jones.
After short stints at Lalor and Mernda, Speers unwound his career at Craigieburn, where he spent the best part of a decade.
Last season, Speers played five games for the Blues – three in the reserves and two in the seniors.
He was also the coach of Kilmore’s Under 14 side where he took a side no-one expected to make finals into the grand final.
HIGH STANDARDS
Speers believes the key ingredient to success next year will be total commitment from the playing group.
“If guys don’t meet the standards we set they won’t play senior footy.”
Pre-season will be tough for the Blues this summer, but not unmanageable.
According to Speers, players will be required to do two basic things over pre-season, running and ball work.
“Our skills were shocking last year. The main difference between us and the top sides was our turnovers,” he said.
“In RDFL footy, every side runs forward, few run back the other way. Those who don’t play two-ways won’t play senior footy at Kilmore.”
While drawing a tough line, Speers is one of the most popular blokes off the field. He has a natural charisma and is deemed to be the off-field joker.
But when it comes to football there is no time for jokes.
Speers plans to treat his players professionally, and change the entire culture of the club.
“We’re going to take Kilmore to a new level of professionalism never seen before.”
A big percentages man, the new coach believes it’s important to play the odds in football.
“If you have the ball in the back-flank and you have two options, to either switch the ball back through the other side, or to play the boundary, we want our players to take the option that is both in favour of us getting the ball up forward, and also reducing the chance of getting a goal kicked if the ball does turnover.”
Speers will be assisted on the sidelines by John Bordignon, a former Broadford captain/coach who also had success at Tullamarine for many years.
Kilmore will also be boosted with an Under 18s side, which Speers said is a definite next year.
“Nathan Phillips will coach the boys. he’s played a really good brand of footy before, only to be cut down by injuries.”
The position of reserves’ coach is likely to be finalised this week.
MEET THE COACH
On Monday, November 12, Speers is offering a presentation to all prospective Kilmore players, supporters, sponsors, friends and family.
“It will basically be what next year is going to be about,” he said.
“We want Kilmore boys to return to Kilmore. The time is now. Kilmore Football Club will not accept anything less than a premiership next year.
“Get on board!”

care to elaborate big fella?

Certainly my good friend.... Coles, Wadden,Brinks gone.. Me should be!.. and You haven't made ya mind up yet...... or have you????? Only time will tell my good man.:) 173 days to go :thumbsu:

The time is now

by Matt Nicholls

CAMPBELL Speers, an astute professional with over 17 years of senior football experience, was appointed as a non-playing senior coach of the Kilmore Football Club last week.
Already he has big plans for the Blues in 2008.
“We’re not playing to make the finals,” he said.
“We’re playing to win a premiership. I wouldn’t have taken the job if the best we could finish is fourth or fifth, the time is now for the Kilmore Football Club.”
The local father of three said last season’s list had the potential to be anything, but lacked the discipline and desire to really challenge the top sides.
While Speers believes it’s important to retain all listed players, he said that he was only interested in players who were prepared to commit to the Blues’ premiership goal for 2008.
“We had a huge opportunity to go all the way last season. There is no side in the Riddell District League that we can’t beat if we play well,” he said.
Despite being appointed on Friday, Speers has spent the better part of a month talking to prospective players from around Victoria in anticipation that he would get the job.
He said he wasn’t cocky about getting the coaching gig, but believed that if he didn’t start recruiting a month ago, he wouldn’t be in a strong position to obtain players now.
Without giving names, Speers is confident he can lure at least one or two ruckmen, some classy onballers and some key position talls.
Having played junior football in Lalor, Speers played for Carlton’s Under 19s, which is the equivalent to what the TAC Cup is now.
From there he went to Southport to play a season in the QAFL, before returning to Lalor.
The now 37-year-old also spent a season for North Launceston in the Tasmanian State League under the coaching of former Carlton great David Rhys-Jones.
After short stints at Lalor and Mernda, Speers unwound his career at Craigieburn, where he spent the best part of a decade.
Last season, Speers played five games for the Blues – three in the reserves and two in the seniors.
He was also the coach of Kilmore’s Under 14 side where he took a side no-one expected to make finals into the grand final.
HIGH STANDARDS
Speers believes the key ingredient to success next year will be total commitment from the playing group.
“If guys don’t meet the standards we set they won’t play senior footy.”
Pre-season will be tough for the Blues this summer, but not unmanageable.
According to Speers, players will be required to do two basic things over pre-season, running and ball work.
“Our skills were shocking last year. The main difference between us and the top sides was our turnovers,” he said.
“In RDFL footy, every side runs forward, few run back the other way. Those who don’t play two-ways won’t play senior footy at Kilmore.”
While drawing a tough line, Speers is one of the most popular blokes off the field. He has a natural charisma and is deemed to be the off-field joker.
But when it comes to football there is no time for jokes.
Speers plans to treat his players professionally, and change the entire culture of the club.
“We’re going to take Kilmore to a new level of professionalism never seen before.”
A big percentages man, the new coach believes it’s important to play the odds in football.
“If you have the ball in the back-flank and you have two options, to either switch the ball back through the other side, or to play the boundary, we want our players to take the option that is both in favour of us getting the ball up forward, and also reducing the chance of getting a goal kicked if the ball does turnover.”
Speers will be assisted on the sidelines by John Bordignon, a former Broadford captain/coach who also had success at Tullamarine for many years.
Kilmore will also be boosted with an Under 18s side, which Speers said is a definite next year.
“Nathan Phillips will coach the boys. he’s played a really good brand of footy before, only to be cut down by injuries.”
The position of reserves’ coach is likely to be finalised this week.
MEET THE COACH
On Monday, November 12, Speers is offering a presentation to all prospective Kilmore players, supporters, sponsors, friends and family.
“It will basically be what next year is going to be about,” he said.
“We want Kilmore boys to return to Kilmore. The time is now. Kilmore Football Club will not accept anything less than a premiership next year.
“Get on board!”
Good post Matty.. Can you help me with the criteria needed to be a tribunal member?

Certainly my good friend.... Coles, Wadden,Brinks gone.. Me should be!.. and You haven't made ya mind up yet...... or have you????? Only time will tell my good man.:) 173 days to go :thumbsu:

has colesy retired?

i will let u know in due course big fella about my plans for 2008.are u sure u dont wanna venture down to sunbury.BIG things happening there,and i guess theres plenty happening throughout the comp.not just at kilmore mr niccholls:D